Enda Kenny Boobs Again with 5% Pay Cut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

rabble rabble rabble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Kenny just can't win with some people....damned if he does and damned if he don't

Yet if Ahern was to have taken a 5% pay cut, or said that he would take a pay cut, when he was in power people would have been "Ah Sure look at Bertie...he's a real man of de peeple!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Yet if Ahern was to have taken a 5% pay cut, or said that he would take a pay cut, when he was in power people would have been "Ah Sure look at Bertie...he's a real man of de peeple!"
    0_o

Yeah, right! Like fcuk I'd have said that!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

I actually really like kenny...

/waits for inevitable ****storm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Nah, everyone is entitled to their opinion, no matter how wrong! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Are you his son?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

He's weak and utterly out of touch with reality.

He has just proved this by this pathetic 5% pay cut. As someone else pointed out, he earns 110k per year plus expenses which brings his salary to about 150k per year.

If he wanted to show he's a real man or whatever the **** he's trying to do he should be offering to work for the average industrial wage. Or minimum wage. None of this "I'm going to earn only 140k per year and everyone will think I'm great" nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

Kenny just can't win with some people....damned if he does and damned if he don't

but ahearn isnt taoseach any more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Very amusing thread I must say. If it was a FF politician, by christ we would hear all about it. Guaranteed. We would have posters saying "Fair play" and giving the boys a nod of agreement. Cheers and groups of people proud that the party they voted in has got up of their arse and made some sort of symbolic gesture.

However because its Enda Kenny, who btw brought his party pretty close to being in government and was the leader of the only party to gain seats in the last general election, who is no Bertie Ahern standing in the tribunals who are questioning him about money he just keeps forgetting - he gets bashed. He ain't no defence minister who loves the sight of a camera and will do anything to be on the TV. He ain't no Harney who seems to be doing to little to keep the health service standing. He ain't no Brian Cowen.. well, what do I need to say about Cowen (bring back Bertie tbh).

5% might be only small, but its better then nothing. At least he is willing to take a cut in his wage packet, regardless of how small it is. I don't see any other politician standing up, ie Cowen, and taking a cut. At least he has the balls, regardless, to actually do something. Might not be much, but he has done something unlike the other rejects. Sure its all media attention he seeks (and he has pretty much admitted that, and agreed its not much - just a gesture of good will as such) and is getting, but maybe it might show the good folks who voted back in FF what type of party they actually voted back in.

For what its worth, I think FG has good potential and I think Enda would be a good leader in charge. I cant see him leaving anytime soon regardless of pressure. Not so sure id like them on their own in government, but that applies to any party currently in operation in Ireland (Note: I wouldn't like to see SF in power at all, and I think the Greens are nowhere near as good as they could be).

but ahearn isnt taoseach any more

....and Kenny isn't Taoiseach now. But he's doing more than Cowen by taking a 5% pay-cut during a recession. Called leading by example. When are Cowen and his cadre of supporters gonna lead by example and take a pay-cut?

People scoff at the amount, but it's more than the current "leadership" is doing.

edit
    5% might be only small, but its better then nothing. At least he is willing to take a cut in his wage packet, regardless of how small it is. I don't see any other politician standing up, ie Cowen, and taking a cut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 best boardsie

....and Kenny isn't Taoiseach now. But he's doing more than Cowen by taking a 5% pay-cut during a recession. Called leading by example. When are Cowen and his cadre of supporters gonna lead by example and take a pay-cut?

People scoff at the amount, but it's more than the current "leadership" is doing.

edit

Bollocks, this is just a preemptive strike by Kenny. He knows FF are planning a pay cut of 8% so he's getting in first with his measly 5% so he won't have to take the 8% cut. He's a pathetic little runt. Give him a punch on the cock from me, then burn down his house and blow the ashes up his arse with a trumpet.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Bollocks, this is just a preemptive strike by Kenny. He knows FF are planning a pay cut of 8% so he's getting in first with his measly 5% so he won't have to take the 8% cut. He's a pathetic little runt. Give him a punch on the cock from me, then burn down his house and blow the ashes up his arse with a trumpet.

What a stupid post. :rolleyes:

So, when will FF take 8% out of their wage packets? I think its been asked for a while now, and it has yet to come. Cowen is a pathetic little run. Give him a punch on the tit from me, then burn down his house and blow the ashes up his bum with a straw. (Changed to be a nicer, less abusive version, of best boardsies post)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Sully wrote: »
    What a stupid post. :rolleyes:

So, when will FF take 8% out of their wage packets? I think its been asked for a while now, and it has yet to come. Cowen is a pathetic little run. Give him a punch on the tit from me, then burn down his house and blow the ashes up his bum with a straw. (Changed to be a nicer, less abusive version, of best boardsies post)

I reckon there's a level of believability in best boardsie's post. It would explain the lack of comment from Government on the issue. I'd be delighthed if the 5% reduction was going to be applied to a salary 10% below Enda's projection once the budget has been delivered (i.e @ 14.5% reduction). I wonder would he instruct the PMG to pay him full whack after that?

Fair question....as anti- govt posters would aske the exact same.

Sully wrote: »

So, when will FF take 8% out of their wage packets?

when details of the budget are set out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭anthony4335

I don't like Kenny, I think that he will do or say anything to get one up on the current lot in power. His 5% is pathetic when this is applied to his wages as a TD, which after tax is a little over 2.6% this does not include the allowances for been a party leader etc which I think adds up to 60K. Which is not a real effort to give an alternative opposition , if he came out and said 20% on all his wages and allowances including the expenses and will be urging his party to do the same. Now that would have been a statement and a real effort. This is like last year he latched onto the stamp duty in an effort to grab power, without any real thought what this would do to the country, such as giving a boost to the slowing building trade, and further inflating the house prices for further year, making the slow down faster and harder to accept. Unfortunate that the government did not stick to there guns. Now don't get me wrong I do not like the idea of stamp duty for first time buyers or buyers of primary residences ,as it is a tax on items that have already been taxed. They should have done away with it years ago and increasing it for the buyers of investment properties.
    As for wage cuts in general I think that leading from the front , should mean that they take it harder then any other, if they expect others to take 5% they should at least be willing to take 20% showing that at the top of the pile they will try and at least feel some of the pain with the rest of the country.
    As to if I would take a cut in wages to help keep my Job that is a no brainer, yes I would.
    After this long rant I have one last thing to say , I like Cowan and I think and hope that he will prove to be one of the countries greatest leaders, as for Harney I have never like her and her policies of selling the countries silverware.

Yeah what I hate too about this little stunt by Kenny is the fact he's gonna be giving it the big "Oh look at me, I made FF take a pay cut" when anyone with half a brain could see they were planning on taking a cut. Considering the huge cuts that have to be made in all aspects of the budget, it's unthinkable that FF wouldn't be taking a cut themselves. Now Kenny gets to be smug about the fact he got in first, makes the big tickos on the island believe he made FF take pay cuts, and thirdly he gets a smaller cut than them. What a slimey ****head he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

Enda Kenny can't win with some people because he does not have a hell of a lot of charisma. The people bagging him out don't care about his policies they just think he's 'weedy' and 'a runt' and 'weak'. Your perception of someone should not colour your reaction to every thing they do.

If Bertie took a pay cut then it would be his 'man of the people' schtick but Kenny is just smug and making a fool of himself? Talk about double standards.

His 5% is pathetic when this is applied to his wages as a TD, which after tax is a little over 2.6%

This is either wilfully misleading or insanely retarded. You decide.

when anyone with half a brain could see they were planning on taking a cut.

Never seen, or heard this mentioned before my friend. Care to post a link proving this? All I remember was Ahern refusing to back down on his €38,000 pay increase.
    Considering the huge cuts that have to be made in all aspects of the budget, it's unthinkable that FF wouldn't be taking a cut themselves.
    [/QUOTE]

Like when Haughey went on TV in the '80's and told us we were "living beyond our means". Did they take a cut then?

passive wrote: »
    This is either wilfully misleading or insanely retarded. You decide.

It's neither 2.6-3% is quite accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/ireland/article4926743.ece

The Fine Gael leader’s salary will be €106,581 next year and a voluntary 5% cut represents €5,329. He will not take any cut from his ministerial pension, worth more than €14,000 last year, or his Fine Gael salary of €50,000.

The guy is giving up peanuts !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Several of his TDs said they would not follow his example. “My salary is not up for negotiation with Enda Kenny or anybody else and I will not be taking any pay cut,” said Michael Ring, his fellow Mayo TD.

Have to admire Michael Ring for his straight up no **** bluntness.

redout wrote: »
    Several of his TDs said they would not follow his example. “My salary is not up for negotiation with Enda Kenny or anybody else and I will not be taking any pay cut,” said Michael Ring, his fellow Mayo TD.
    We'll see what Brian Lenihan has to say on the matter on Tuesday, eh Michael;)

ninty9er wrote: »
    It's neither 2.6-3% is quite accurate.

no, it isn't. Saying that a 5% cut is really only a 2.6% cut because of tax is completely idiotic. He loses 5% of his gross pay, incl tax, thus loses 5% of his take home pay, also... What you're trying to say is that he should lose something like 7/8% of his gross pay so the amount of net pay he loses after tax is equal to 5% of his gross pay loss, therefore something like, what, 8.26% of his net pay?

stupid, stupid, stupid...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

The fact that Kenny (like many of his compadres) is a tit doesn't justify support for Fianna Fail.

Seriously, given the current alternatives, if the South Park kids stood for election next time round, I'd vote for them! :rolleyes:

"Let's get out and vote,
    Let's make our voices heard,
    We've been given the right to choose,
    Between a douche and a turd..."

Ah, South Park. I always think of the school mascot election episode, whenever there's a discussion of Irish politicians.

passive wrote: »
    no, it isn't. Saying that a 5% cut is really only a 2.6% cut because of tax is completely idiotic. He loses 5% of his gross pay, incl tax, thus loses 5% of his take home pay, also... What you're trying to say is that he should lose something like 7/8% of his gross pay so the amount of net pay he loses after tax is equal to 5% of his gross pay loss, therefore something like, what, 8.26% of his net pay?

stupid, stupid, stupid...
    No....do the maths

€106,581 with an entitlement of Personal Tax credit only =€74,087 net

€101,252 with an entitlement of Personal Tax credit only =€70,943 net

101,252/106,581 = 95%

70,943/74,087 = 96%

My apologies. It's a 4% real cut:rolleyes:. My heart bleeds.

Look I already stated "fair play to him" and if I haven't done it in this thread, I have now.

It's just disingenuous to take a cut on basics and not on long service, and leaders allowance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

Are you his son?

No, he's his gay lover!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Why are people getting hung up on the amount involved? I think a lot of people are missing the fact that Inda Kinny himself said it was a symbolic gesture. He's not going to right the economy just by donating his wages but he's making a symbolic gesture.

Sure it's a publicity stunt but considering how much criticism he takes for being wooden and boring like his namesake Pat, is it really fair to bash him so much when he tries to do something dynamic.

When the ministers all got their rises recently, everybody was up in arms saying how they should have done the noble thing and refused the pay rise. Inda Kinny basically does what people were asking Bertie & Co. to do a few months ago and gets hammered for pulling a cheap stunt. Seems like double standards to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

The problem is Kenny is utterly fake. He's like the nerd pretending to be a cool kind. It's childish and pathetic.

Do you remember the televised debates during the general election? He was talking in an American accent, puffing out his chest, pretending to be some hard ass. It's just... ridiculous. It shows how out of touch with reality Fine Gael are.

(Note I think Fianna Fail are a bunch of useless ****s, but I'd rather have a tough crook for a leader than a fake ass pussy.)