Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Enda Kenny Boobs Again with 5% Pay Cut

• 11-10-2008 1:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭

Enda Kenny wanted to show leadership today, so at his party’s pre-budget announcement he let it be known he has asked the Dail to cut his pay by 5% for next year. Bold. Decisive. Leading.
    Only that on Wednesday he was speaking on that very topic on Today FM’s The Last Word. Paul Gogarty suggested that all TDs get 8% cut, Enda dismissed the idea as “popuilist nonsense”.

Yet people still abuse me for voting for Fianna Fail. Think this idiot justifies decision yea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

I just saw the word boobs and clicked the thread.

Then I saw the words Enda Kenny and immediately thought tit.

So I suppose it delivered in a way, but still disappointing

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

ROFL at orestes and his funbags obsession :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭chosen1

you'd think that Enda Kenny would do it for you but at the end of the day.....

He only does it a little

thats not right chosen1 on so many , many levels :(

How so?
    Haven't you heard of mayofilia?
    The extra 'h' in start and stop really does it for alot of voters I hears.
    Certainly will do it in the next election

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

no alternatives :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

chosen1 wrote: »
    Yet people still abuse me for voting for Fianna Fail. Think this idiot justifies decision yea?
    The fact that Kenny (like many of his compadres) is a tit doesn't justify support for Fianna Fail.

Seriously, given the current alternatives, if the South Park kids stood for election next time round, I'd vote for them! :rolleyes:

unfortunately Irish democracy is a bit like American democracy; one or the other and I would personally choose the one I think aren't idiots to the best of my knowledge. Could be wrong though as I often am.....
    Never have being though

chosen1 wrote: »
    Could be wrong though as I often am.....
    Never have being though
    Says it all, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Enda Kenny is the worst kind of media whore, he trys to hard. I'd prefer if he just got a real job then we could save 100% of his wasted wage packet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Still and all, I don't see any of the other fatsos racing to tighten the belts. Enda is the only one who's actually put his wages where his mouth is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

luckat wrote: »
    Still and all, I don't see any of the other fatsos racing to tighten the belts. Enda is the only one who's actually put his wages where his mouth is.
    The only thing Enda Kenny has near his mouth is the medias big fat cock!

If you use the phrase tighten your belt all I can think of is Charlie and you know what a decent fella he was.
    Enda all the way yea...........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

Sorry misread the thread -thought you said Enda kenny has boobs and I thoght this I gotta see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Ignorant, boorish, Thick, Plank, Gombeen, Jizim-monkey, Fat Head, Dis-connected, Dittery, Hypocritical, Liar...

Some words I feel most describe the said, and every other politician.

Here is what could lead us to salvation and more Articulately too!

inrodwetrust.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

If i wanted a poodle in power I'd vote for Enda. He has as much bite as one!

Dear God, will we ever get an opposition that is actually up to the job and isn't useless!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Ignorant, boorish, Thick, Plank, Gombeen, Jizim-monkey, Fat Head, Dis-connected, Dittery, Hypocritical, Liar...

He was on the radio on Thursday evening criticising some guy from the Green Party who suggested an 8% pay cut. Bloody twats the lot of them.

Seriously, given the current alternatives, if the South Park kids stood for election next time round, I'd vote for them! :rolleyes:

at least the Dáil would be a bit of a laugh then

Anyone here willing to take a pay cut?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Myth wrote: »
    Anyone here willing to take a pay cut?

If I was on 150k or whatever he's on, I'd take a lot more than a 5% pay cut. Especially if I was doing it as some kind of media whoreism.

AARRRGH wrote: »
    If I was on 150k or whatever he's on, I'd take a lot more than a 5% pay cut. Especially if I was doing it as some kind of media whoreism.

And it would be even easier not to take any pay cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

How much of a pay cut do we reckon Michael O'Leary will take in light of Ryanair's current financial position?? a negative one perhaps?

Also assuming Fionnuala doesn't work the take home value of the current TD salary is approx. €78-€79k vs. €75-€76k with the proposed paycut....so all in all he's taking a €3k ish paycut and wants us all to be happy.

Fair play to him for being innovative with the media though.

he is no Willie o Dea -thats for sure.

I would like him make a more worthwhile gesture.

Just say he sat down with the ruling coalition and said -right guys the budget is around the corner there is another 4 years to an election - lets put some serious propsals on the table to radically reform the public service and the health service accross the board-without partisan politics.

Now thats a real stand. A 3k pay cut. ROFL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Heinrich

Biggins wrote: »
    If i wanted a poodle in power I'd vote for Enda. He has as much bite as one!

Dear God, will we ever get an opposition that is actually up to the job and isn't useless!

Dear God, by the same token, will we ever get a Government that isn't useless?

Mind you CowAn has a lot of bite considering his corpulence. Harney also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

The fact that Kenny (like many of his compadres) is a tit doesn't justify support for Fianna Fail.
    Maybe not, but at the end of the day the only realistic choices you have for who should lead the country are himself and Brian Cowen. And I know for sure which one I'd rather see in power (and it isn't Kenny)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

AARRRGH wrote: »

I think it's more like 110K. Of course, there are all sorts of allowances beyond that. And lets not forget the redundancy pay if they get fired or quit. Sure tis a grand auld life.

And lets not forget the hairspray. He must use loads of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭4Xcut

ScumLord wrote: »
    The only thing Enda Kenny has near his mouth is the medias big fat cock!

He's dropping from 106,000(ish) to 100,700. At that kind of money, 5% makes feck all difference.

Exactly Impress me give up yer contituency allowances and dail car space

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

Populist nonsense eh? Says it all about the mentality of these people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

rabble rabble rabble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Kenny just can't win with some people....damned if he does and damned if he don't

Yet if Ahern was to have taken a 5% pay cut, or said that he would take a pay cut, when he was in power people would have been "Ah Sure look at Bertie...he's a real man of de peeple!"

0_o

Yeah, right! Like fcuk I'd have said that!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

I actually really like kenny...

/waits for inevitable ****storm.

Nah, everyone is entitled to their opinion, no matter how wrong! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Are you his son?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

He's weak and utterly out of touch with reality.

He has just proved this by this pathetic 5% pay cut. As someone else pointed out, he earns 110k per year plus expenses which brings his salary to about 150k per year.

If he wanted to show he's a real man or whatever the **** he's trying to do he should be offering to work for the average industrial wage. Or minimum wage. None of this "I'm going to earn only 140k per year and everyone will think I'm great" nonsense.

Kenny just can't win with some people....damned if he does and damned if he don't

but ahearn isnt taoseach any more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Very amusing thread I must say. If it was a FF politician, by christ we would hear all about it. Guaranteed. We would have posters saying "Fair play" and giving the boys a nod of agreement. Cheers and groups of people proud that the party they voted in has got up of their arse and made some sort of symbolic gesture.

However because its Enda Kenny, who btw brought his party pretty close to being in government and was the leader of the only party to gain seats in the last general election, who is no Bertie Ahern standing in the tribunals who are questioning him about money he just keeps forgetting - he gets bashed. He ain't no defence minister who loves the sight of a camera and will do anything to be on the TV. He ain't no Harney who seems to be doing to little to keep the health service standing. He ain't no Brian Cowen.. well, what do I need to say about Cowen (bring back Bertie tbh).

5% might be only small, but its better then nothing. At least he is willing to take a cut in his wage packet, regardless of how small it is. I don't see any other politician standing up, ie Cowen, and taking a cut. At least he has the balls, regardless, to actually do something. Might not be much, but he has done something unlike the other rejects. Sure its all media attention he seeks (and he has pretty much admitted that, and agreed its not much - just a gesture of good will as such) and is getting, but maybe it might show the good folks who voted back in FF what type of party they actually voted back in.

For what its worth, I think FG has good potential and I think Enda would be a good leader in charge. I cant see him leaving anytime soon regardless of pressure. Not so sure id like them on their own in government, but that applies to any party currently in operation in Ireland (Note: I wouldn't like to see SF in power at all, and I think the Greens are nowhere near as good as they could be).

but ahearn isnt taoseach any more

....and Kenny isn't Taoiseach now. But he's doing more than Cowen by taking a 5% pay-cut during a recession. Called leading by example. When are Cowen and his cadre of supporters gonna lead by example and take a pay-cut?

People scoff at the amount, but it's more than the current "leadership" is doing.

edit
    5% might be only small, but its better then nothing. At least he is willing to take a cut in his wage packet, regardless of how small it is. I don't see any other politician standing up, ie Cowen, and taking a cut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 best boardsie

....and Kenny isn't Taoiseach now. But he's doing more than Cowen by taking a 5% pay-cut during a recession. Called leading by example. When are Cowen and his cadre of supporters gonna lead by example and take a pay-cut?

People scoff at the amount, but it's more than the current "leadership" is doing.

edit

Bollocks, this is just a preemptive strike by Kenny. He knows FF are planning a pay cut of 8% so he's getting in first with his measly 5% so he won't have to take the 8% cut. He's a pathetic little runt. Give him a punch on the cock from me, then burn down his house and blow the ashes up his arse with a trumpet.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Bollocks, this is just a preemptive strike by Kenny. He knows FF are planning a pay cut of 8% so he's getting in first with his measly 5% so he won't have to take the 8% cut. He's a pathetic little runt. Give him a punch on the cock from me, then burn down his house and blow the ashes up his arse with a trumpet.

What a stupid post. :rolleyes:

So, when will FF take 8% out of their wage packets? I think its been asked for a while now, and it has yet to come. Cowen is a pathetic little run. Give him a punch on the tit from me, then burn down his house and blow the ashes up his bum with a straw. (Changed to be a nicer, less abusive version, of best boardsies post)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Sully wrote: »
    What a stupid post. :rolleyes:

So, when will FF take 8% out of their wage packets? I think its been asked for a while now, and it has yet to come. Cowen is a pathetic little run. Give him a punch on the tit from me, then burn down his house and blow the ashes up his bum with a straw. (Changed to be a nicer, less abusive version, of best boardsies post)

I reckon there's a level of believability in best boardsie's post. It would explain the lack of comment from Government on the issue. I'd be delighthed if the 5% reduction was going to be applied to a salary 10% below Enda's projection once the budget has been delivered (i.e @ 14.5% reduction). I wonder would he instruct the PMG to pay him full whack after that?

Fair question....as anti- govt posters would aske the exact same.

Sully wrote: »

So, when will FF take 8% out of their wage packets?

when details of the budget are set out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭anthony4335

I don't like Kenny, I think that he will do or say anything to get one up on the current lot in power. His 5% is pathetic when this is applied to his wages as a TD, which after tax is a little over 2.6% this does not include the allowances for been a party leader etc which I think adds up to 60K. Which is not a real effort to give an alternative opposition , if he came out and said 20% on all his wages and allowances including the expenses and will be urging his party to do the same. Now that would have been a statement and a real effort. This is like last year he latched onto the stamp duty in an effort to grab power, without any real thought what this would do to the country, such as giving a boost to the slowing building trade, and further inflating the house prices for further year, making the slow down faster and harder to accept. Unfortunate that the government did not stick to there guns. Now don't get me wrong I do not like the idea of stamp duty for first time buyers or buyers of primary residences ,as it is a tax on items that have already been taxed. They should have done away with it years ago and increasing it for the buyers of investment properties.
    As for wage cuts in general I think that leading from the front , should mean that they take it harder then any other, if they expect others to take 5% they should at least be willing to take 20% showing that at the top of the pile they will try and at least feel some of the pain with the rest of the country.
    As to if I would take a cut in wages to help keep my Job that is a no brainer, yes I would.
    After this long rant I have one last thing to say , I like Cowan and I think and hope that he will prove to be one of the countries greatest leaders, as for Harney I have never like her and her policies of selling the countries silverware.

Yeah what I hate too about this little stunt by Kenny is the fact he's gonna be giving it the big "Oh look at me, I made FF take a pay cut" when anyone with half a brain could see they were planning on taking a cut. Considering the huge cuts that have to be made in all aspects of the budget, it's unthinkable that FF wouldn't be taking a cut themselves. Now Kenny gets to be smug about the fact he got in first, makes the big tickos on the island believe he made FF take pay cuts, and thirdly he gets a smaller cut than them. What a slimey ****head he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

Enda Kenny can't win with some people because he does not have a hell of a lot of charisma. The people bagging him out don't care about his policies they just think he's 'weedy' and 'a runt' and 'weak'. Your perception of someone should not colour your reaction to every thing they do.

If Bertie took a pay cut then it would be his 'man of the people' schtick but Kenny is just smug and making a fool of himself? Talk about double standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

His 5% is pathetic when this is applied to his wages as a TD, which after tax is a little over 2.6%

This is either wilfully misleading or insanely retarded. You decide.

when anyone with half a brain could see they were planning on taking a cut.

Never seen, or heard this mentioned before my friend. Care to post a link proving this? All I remember was Ahern refusing to back down on his €38,000 pay increase.
    Considering the huge cuts that have to be made in all aspects of the budget, it's unthinkable that FF wouldn't be taking a cut themselves.
    [/QUOTE]

Like when Haughey went on TV in the '80's and told us we were "living beyond our means". Did they take a cut then?