Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 cribos

great to hear that SPQR again.
    Proper track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

cribos wrote: »
    cheers man :)
    Its only 2mins long though :(
    Anyone got the full version???
    great to hear that SPQR again.
    Proper track.

Heres another track i would like to get the lot of as this is also from a tape i convereted any ideas......

http://media.putfile.com/Unknown-3-15-14

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭keenc

That is called Our Tribe - I Believe In You

Heres another track i would like to get the lot of as this is also from a tape i convereted any ideas......

keenc wrote: »
    That is called Our Tribe - I Believe In You

Any chance you have a full good quality mp3 of it ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

here you go, its -Our Tribe - I Believe In You (Euphorically mix)

http://www.discogs.com/release/1127769

http://www.mediafire.com/?wqicnomy3jw

its allso a good quilty mp3. Bit rate is 207 kbps and file size is 5.10 Mb :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 d-underground

Jon PLeased Wimmin's retrospective was great and he's in dublin tomorrow night @ a new night called Graffiti in Sin doing an old school retrospective set just like that cd, one to catch :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭DUB1

Here ya go chief....cant help ya on the MOBY one a quickly im afraid:D

http://rapidshare.com/files/134991697/spqr_-_unlimited_dreams.mp3.html

I remember this was played when the OLYMPIC re opened even though it wasnt the same vibe as a few years before i just got into the middle of the crowd buzzin with a mate from Jobstown & when they played this its the closest it ever came to the feeling of the OLYMPIC of old......soon blanked the OLYMPIC after a while when it reopened & was heading into the ORMOND every week before it was totally jammers later on in its life after the OLYMPIC shut again,
    Had some completley mad out of it wasted nights in the ORMOND half empty with some great buzzers including the bouncers at this time....;)

The olympic was great when it opened back up for the first few months anyway esp. @ xmas 96 when it opened as the waterfront had long lost its appeal after kavanagh & pressures unknown pleasures nite finnished anyway back to the olympic the nite mr.spring played an old skool set is probly the nite ur on a bout i rember getting my jacket & do u feel alright was on :pac::p

DUB1 wrote: »
    The olympic was great when it opened back up for the first few months anyway esp. @ xmas 96 when it opened as the waterfront had long lost its appeal after kavanagh & pressures unknown pleasures nite finnished anyway back to the olympic the nite mr.spring played an old skool set is probly the nite ur on a bout i rember getting my jacket & do u feel alright was on :pac::p

Sound for that chief im sure it was good for some but i just felt like it wasnt the place it was & that i wasnt going to find it so i was more than happy at the nights in the ORMOND early on in its existence......:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭derra

good stuff derra! realy good tracks there! here are my 2 latest tracks i just uploaded!

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=CHYETiu7m64
    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=YmJxCzxQVmE
    Good man Stomprockin, did'nt know you were Paddyvilla :) Ya have some savage stuff there yourself Paddy, will have a proper root around them soon and gather some up into favourites folder, don't wanna have pages upon pages of favourites..
    ormond wrote: »
    hello ppl like everybody else here i to still wish i was back in the good old days of the ASYLUM .SIDES .OLYMPIC.ORMOND.:D.IM only new to this site but like everybody else i will share my memories of some ****ed up nights:D.does anybody have a tune by boomarang so dam tuff???
    good man ormond , welcome aboard :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Fitze

here you go, its -Our Tribe - I Believe In You (Euphorically mix)

http://www.discogs.com/release/1127769

http://www.mediafire.com/?wqicnomy3jw

its allso a good quilty mp3. Bit rate is 207 kbps and file size is 5.10 Mb :)

Have to say, never thought I would hear this tune ever again. Used to go down a blast in the Olympic, one of many favourites... Cheers Stomprockin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Johnnyd1977

I will post up a new video of the ASYLUM in the next couple of days for what its worth:D[/quote]

Any sign of the video yet mate?, i'm curious to the other asylum video that has been posted on here a couple of times, was that staged for primetime??, i'm not not saying it was or anything but doesn't seem to be what i imagined the place to be like, sure what would i know, i was never in it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Approaching the 4000th post. Great stuff lads. And here was me for years thinking I was the only one who remembered the Asylum....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭locked 1

Anybody got any sets of pressure when he played in the the olympic/ormond had some great nites in the oympic especially the night i got the red triangles
    oh the memories the few i can remember at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭theasylumdublin

good evening all , I have a heap of my old asylum vinyl tunes converted to mp3 ready for mediafire finally. so i am going to start putting them up later. not mixed just naked as the balls of your feet !!! . i hope some are new ones you dont have yet so fingers crossed. later ! P .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Johnnyd1977

good evening all , I have a heap of my old asylum vinyl tunes converted to mp3 ready for mediafire finally. so i am going to start putting them up later. not mixed just naked as the balls of your feet !!! . i hope some are new ones you dont have yet so fingers crossed. later ! P .

Fair play to you mate, does anyone have any of the dark sinister tunes that really made the asylum, i know a few people don't want to share them but pm them to me if anyone wants to share:pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭DUB1

Im hoping :D enjoyed ur mix's but i knew every tune i was hoping there be somthing that i havnt heared in a while but animal tunes all the same :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 ormond

:):)
    :)nice one asylumdublin cant wait for those up loads bring the memories flooding back.was anybody at the s.f.x around 97 paul okanfold and collin hood it was a perfecto night.savage night pity about the es they where poxy pink panthers:mad:.besides the raves in town i used to go to the blue bannana in clondalkin from around 1994 to 1999 thursday nights where the main night when club fm did a night in their .djs where dj kayos. latin wolf.mick walsh,steve 4 seal think that was his name warren k did a couple of nights their aswell.state of grace was their one night fine looking bird if i do say so:p.mark kavanagh and tim hanigan did a couple of gigs as well on 3 decks not a bad aul spot was the bluer friday nights where good as well for geting out of the tits.as for saturday nights toatl muck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 ormond

as i work in ballyfermot went down 4 a hair cut today .eamon from the asylum had a barbers their which is long gone now but in another one thats their one of eamons side kicks works in it his name is justin he often spun in the asylum.he was telling me a few storys about the aul place. he once tryed to buy it a couple of years ago only to be told hed have to win the lotto to aford it:mad:.lets start saveing lads:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭DjAloldskool

Cheers for the Vinyl back mark long time no hear.....you must be on the day shift again:D....thanks again & if you get a chance to look for that last one;)

Alright chief....heres a pic from the Ormond that were posted a while ago on here......Attachment not found.
    And sure heres a story that is burnrd into my memory banks as vivid as the morning i saw this....had gone into the ASYLUM one night by myself cause my mates were smashed & were just getting off the head in a mates gaff but it wasnt long before the ASYLUM had actually closed & there was rumours every week about it closing i remember before it actually did....anyway i had a great buzz in there with a few heads i knew from going in there every week & called it a night/morning about 6am & had planned to head back to my mates gaff where they would all still be....i jumped a taxi & it was driving up past dame street towards christ church, at that time of the morning there was nothing on the road & lo & behold i look up Dame street only to see a mate of mine Doyler on a mountain bike cycling down it:eek:....so i get the taxi man to stop for a minute & give him a shout to ask what the crack is! (as you would cause it is unusual to see a mate of yours at 6am on a mountain bike on dame street that wasnt in the only place left open you just came from) He tells me he just goin into the ASYLUM to make a purchase & then he's off back up to a mates gaff in Tymon....a load of other mates of mine had all put money together to get :pac:'Supplies':pac: & Doyler had volunteered to cycle from Tymon to town & back again....i ditched the taxi i was in & offered to pay for the taxi back to Tymon & put whatever else i had towards the Supplies which was only a score i was keeping for a few flagons the next day.....i kept an eye on the bike outside while he got the nescessarys & we made our way back to Tymon in a taxi bike in boot and all & had a great morning into the afternoon with a load of Doves shared between all of us to carry us through:D
    Ended up in the Cherry tree in walkinstown the next day after sourcing a few bob that i actually have a photo of somwhere......great buzz had & still can remember clearly in my head the sight of Doyler coming down Dame street at 6am eyes like Saucers:eek:

No longer with us now R.I.P. Doyler & another mate that was at the party also R.I.P. Bo...........

Always good to hear the storys of years ago,

cheers man :)
    Its only 2mins long though :(
    Anyone got the full version???

S.P.Q.R. - Unlimited Dreams EP

http://www.mediafire.com/?wzy0jy54b3u

http://www.discogs.com/release/234974

I'am going to look for a better copy for you..

S.P.Q.R. - Unlimited Dreams EP

http://www.mediafire.com/?wzy0jy54b3u

http://www.discogs.com/release/234974

I'am going to look for a better copy for you..

I found a better copy on my Hard Drive, here it is Mate.

http://www.mediafire.com/?a2nhyztoutw

http://www.discogs.com/release/446210

The Dublin Mountains are full of them in October,
    I know a good place to Pick them...

It's the weekend, and I thought that you needed something to start the Friday night off with,
    Found these tracks from years ago, thought you might want a listen to them,

the first two tracks are from Rabbit City Records, from years ago,

[CUT 014] Submerge - Land Of Creation.mp3
    http://www.mediafire.com/?mzkgwmwnjgx

[CUT 015] Syquest EP - Miquel Miguel - Blackwaters.mp3
    http://www.mediafire.com/?g4q1gt2ht1h

The rest are Just oldskool classics....:):):):)

Dance 2 House
    http://www.mediafire.com/?cd0miyojbwj

Hardcore Uproar
    http://www.mediafire.com/?muzmbmzxkin

Party People
    http://www.mediafire.com/?netzl4ivocn

XTC Muther F**ker
    http://www.mediafire.com/?mciaydwzswg

Extrasyn
    http://www.mediafire.com/?gtjgwkuidea

The Omen (Psycho Mix)
    http://www.mediafire.com/?yg9j11269m0

:):):):):):):)

One of the Members was looking for these tunes,
    I'am reposting these tunes! Cant find two of them.

XTC Muther F**ker

Dance 2 House

I was unable to find them on my portable H/D,

When I find them I will post them....

http://www.mediafire.com/?ianymmnyyzg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 25 punts for 1

Always good to hear the storys of years ago,

great story man...is that darren doyle from greenhills your talkin about ..he was a pal of mine too if its the same fella

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭craig_b

[/quote=DJAlOldskool
    I know a good place to Pick them...[/quote]

wer abouts up d mountains do ye pick dem...???
    wudnt mind goin pickin a few in d next week or so havnt done mushrooms in ages..!!:pac::)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Luke G

ormond wrote: »
    as i work in ballyfermot went down 4 a hair cut today .eamon from the asylum had a barbers their which is long gone now but in another one thats their one of eamons side kicks works in it his name is justin he often spun in the asylum.he was telling me a few storys about the aul place. he once tryed to buy it a couple of years ago only to be told hed have to win the lotto to aford it:mad:.lets start saveing lads:D

Yeah remember eamons barbers well, i am unfortunate enough to be from and currently residing in ballyer ha, did justin try to buy it yeah??

craig_b wrote: »
    [/quote=DJAlOldskool

wudnt mind goin pickin a few in d next week or so havnt done mushrooms in ages..!!:pac::)[/quote]

Where I picked them years ago was up behind The Thomas Davis Gaa club up in Oldbawn Tallaght, I can Draw a Map for you if you like,
    Do You know the ones to pick?

You have to go up The Killtipper Road in Oldbawn,
    then up the Ballymana LN, I think LN means Lane,
    there is a copule of feilds up there,
    I went to the one on the Right,
    I Can Draw A Map...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

craig_b wrote: »
    [/quote=DJAlOldskool

wudnt mind goin pickin a few in d next week or so havnt done mushrooms in ages..!!:pac::)[/QUOTE]

craig, close to bray theres a lethal spot, the back of sugarloaf mountain(calary), half way between kilmacanouge and roundwood.

don't forget to get there before the first frost;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

senan s wrote: »
    wudnt mind goin pickin a few in d next week or so havnt done mushrooms in ages..!!:pac::)

craig, close to bray theres a lethal spot, the back of sugarloaf mountain(calary), half way between kilmacanouge and roundwood.

don't forget to get there before the first frost;)[/QUOTE]

and early in the morning cause half of Bray is up there :D