Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

here's a warm up mix from Jon The Dentist, for whats installed for this Friday the 10th of Oct

http://rapidshare.com/files/150965460/Live_at_Lakota.mp3.html

reactive10thofoctfrontback.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭craig_b

You have to go up The Killtipper Road in Oldbawn,
    then up the Ballymana LN, I think LN means Lane,
    there is a copule of feilds up there,
    I went to the one on the Right,
    I Can Draw A Map...

yea good stuff draw us a map man if ye can.
    no havnt a clue which ones te pick only ever bought dem in the shops..!!
    happy dayss mite go pickin dem durin d week..!!!:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Elfish

You don't have to go to the mountains to pick them, check out places with short grass, playing pitches between coolmine cs & blanch town centre... yum yum :-).

Longtime lurker here... downloaded a few bits and pieces from this thread over time & for that thanks to those who put them up.

Would anyone have Bumble - West in Motion on MP3 .... have searched high up and low down for it but can't get a copy. Would much appreciate it lads.

Slán!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 robynm

There's an ad out for an online adidas comp thing this month....weareoriginals.ie is the site...my mates workin on it and told me last nite they're looking for music entries from all types of music and all things arty. So anyone who's been secretly banging out homemade tunes in your bedroom, in a band or whatever should load some samples up...far as I was told theres a sh*t load of prizes and no ones really entered yet...and they have to have Irish winners!! :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭DjAloldskool

I'am reposting the links for the
    JX-N-TRANCE-DJ-PRESSURE-LIVE mix tape

JX-N-TRANCE-DJ-PRESSURE-LIVE (part1)
    http://www.mediafire.com/?mnummumfian

JX-N-TRANCE-DJ-PRESSURE-LIVE (part2)
    http://www.mediafire.com/?2t0qmjhmg2z

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭craig_b

DjAlOldskool, i've sussed out where Ballymana LN is mite head over in awhile or first ting in d mornin, what type of mushrooms grow der..?? just dem small liberty caps..?? can't wait to go over!!:pac::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭theasylumdublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Johnnyd1977

ok mushroom season . lets do it . I also know a very good spot on the 44 Bus route close to enniskerry , which we used to call MUSHY MOUNTAIN ! and it did indeed reap very many rewards , i.e first bus saturday morning with a flagon of Linden Vilage ten john player blue , a ten spot , a lighter and a packet of skins , off we went , then we ate the shrooms as we picked them! and washed them down with semi warm cider (the flagon of village) and smoked joints and tripped our way home happy as pigs in **** ! basically laughed so much at times that I even considered pulling my bottom lip over my head just to grab a breath of air !!! maybe it was the mushys ???? P .. ps

Ah mushrooms, so many stories to be told on these both good and bad but one of great memory and only happened last year......
    was begining to have enough of this poxy fcuking country and decided to take 3 months off work and go see some of the world so first port of call was thailand with main purpose getting in a full moon party in koh phanang. If any of you were ever there you'll know what i'm on about but for those who haven't it's pretty much a full on rave that lasts about 3 days with pre parties, after parties etc. It's on a beach in hadd rinn that's about a mile long with about 20 different areas that caters for all music, garage, house, techno, banging techno etc. Main drug of choice is a bucket!!!!. Basically it's a sand castle bucket filled with ice, a naggin of thai whiskey (amphetamine based) can of coke and a bottle of red bull also supposed to be amphetamine based. Anyhow, with the laws on drugs in thailand been pretty fcuking strict, good pills are hard to come buy but you can go into a chemist and buy pretty much anything ie ketamine, rohypnol etc whatever you want basically bar good pills. After a bit of searching i came across this thai lad who gave me 2 and told me bout this place called mushy mountain. It's called the blue mountain bar if my memory serves me right that the cops turn a blind eye to. You can go in and get mushy shakes, ****ing putrid taste off them especially if you hate the taste off normal mushrooms. Anyway, necked the 2 pills and went off to this bar bumping into the 2 dublin heads i'd met on another island and this looney tune from donegal. We all got a shake and after bout 20 mins the 3 lads were off their tits and i still hadn't got anything, not even a kick off the double drop!. So being the greedy c.unt that i am i got another shake and chucked it down and we all headed down to the main beach. Believe it or not, we're all bopping away at this house/hard house bar and on comes KGB burn like fire, thought i was back in my old stomping ground aka sides and bang...... 2 pills and 2 mushy shakes take me over:pac::pac::pac::pac::D. Anyhow, they have fire jugglers all over the beach with people jumping thu burning hula hoops and jumping over flamming skipping ropes. I decided to get in on the act and jump thru one of the hoops. Naturally i was tripping off my tits so this hula hoop looked fcuking huge, ran....jumped like superman...straight thru the centre of it....i'm grand i thought, but didn't see the fcuker jumping from the other side, clashed heads and landed on the burning hoop.......It was literally, "i fell into a burning ring of fire". Managed to get to the onsite hospital, 3 lads breaking their b.ollix laughing in there while i'm trying to explain to the medic what happened not realising how mad out of it i was:D.Got my burnt shoulder stiched up, medic said i needed to stay in for observation, fcuk that says me, i'm going back down to beach, so off we went and partied for another day before i headed off to vietnam to continue my travels.
    What's the moral of the story????
    Don't double drop and do mushrooms:pac::pac::pac::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭DUB1

WARREN K LIVE ASYLUM 93 ( 90 MIN MIX)-- WARREN AT HIS BEST IMO ENJOY

A
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?lmdyy2zwzz2

B
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?k1qeo3mjltz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭locked 1

DUB1 wrote: »
    WARREN K LIVE ASYLUM 93 ( 90 MIN MIX)-- WARREN AT HIS BEST IMO ENJOY

A
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?lmdyy2zwzz2

B
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?k1qeo3mjltz

NICE 1 FOR THIS MARK DID YOU GET HP 5 OFF WINNIE TRIGGER SAID HES GONNA ASK HIM FOR IT BACK LATER I WAS ON THE PHONE TO HIM EARLIER

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭easy guv'nor

Fitze wrote: »
    Cracking CDs Seany, was there a retrospective CD with Sister Bliss Djin also??

Reminicsing on Halloween nights of the past, did anyone on the thread make it to a rave in Mullingar Town Hall(I think) Halloween ’93. Cant remember who the fcuk was DJin that night but was a crazy crazy night:D...

Heheh I'm from Mullingar, I dunno under what pretenses they got the town hall that night, but from what I heard it was busloads of buzzers arriving down in the dark, X-worx'ed (remember those?) to bits! They probably booked it as a ceili or something.I wasn't there that night but I think i remember something about it in the Westmeath Examiner. Was the talk of the town anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭DUB1

locked 1 wrote: »
    NICE 1 FOR THIS MARK DID YOU GET HP 5 OFF WINNIE TRIGGER SAID HES GONNA ASK HIM FOR IT BACK LATER I WAS ON THE PHONE TO HIM EARLIER

He annoys the **** out of winnie every sunday pestering him to bring him up the radio lol sure winnie tells him hes not playing somtimes just to get som e peace :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭locked 1

DUB1 wrote: »
    He annoys the **** out of winnie every sunday pestering him to bring him up the radio lol sure winnie tells him hes not playing somtimes just to get som e peace :D

THATS TRIGGER FOR YOU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

locked 1 wrote: »
    THATS TRIGGER FOR YOU

and i thought trigger was your mate(mark & marc)

anyway winnie told me it was wonderland!!!! :D

Does anyone know what was the last ever tune played in the asylum??. A mate was telling me (what he thinks was the last night), being off his face and emptying his pockets of whatever he had on him cos everyone was searched by the gardai as they were frog marched outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

I will post up a new video of the ASYLUM in the next couple of days for what its worth:D
    Any sign of the video yet mate?, i'm curious to the other asylum video that has been posted on here a couple of times, was that staged for primetime??, i'm not not saying it was or anything but doesn't seem to be what i imagined the place to be like, sure what would i know, i was never in it!

Its uploading now chief & the other video i put together i can assure you is the real deal but i wont go into it here......its not what it was like when it really got going mid 93 your right.....that video is from Feb 1992 but like i said if you tried to film on a night in late 93 early 94 you wouldnt have seen fu.ck all but a steamed up lense:D
    great story man...is that darren doyle from greenhills your talkin about ..he was a pal of mine too if its the same fella

The very same chap man....was a fuc.kin great buzzer R.I.P.....im from greenhills me self chief the names Bonsey.....had some great craic with Doyler, Keego, Bo, Derek K & all the rest for years:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭NovaGSi

Here the third one of the Discs from this album for ya Mick & anyone who wants it,

http://www.discogs.com/release/328836

I wouldnt be into a night of this in a Rave meself but here it is for what it is.....this is the type of music that will have your parents shaking their heads in dissaproval....& probably your children to:D

http://www.mediafire.com/?gnymmotdbzc

Listened to this a few times last week in the car, it's different alright, the first 10 or 15 minns is all over the place, changing so quickly - it would actually make a great sound track for Mr. Springs Olympic vid - they flick between images and sounds at about the same rate;)

Thanks again for that!

Cheers,
    Mick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

Do Any of you have any mansion house flyers? i just managed to find 1:(
    would love to see a few more!:D

altern8.jpg

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Ha. I think that's the first mix tape I ever had too. Brought back a lot of memories listening to it. I have a compilation album at home from Kickin Records that features a few of the tracks from that mix tape. Artists like, Wishdokta, The Scientist, Messiah, etc. Must dig it out.

Pity you only have one side of the mix tape though, I'm nearly sure there's a track on the other side that I've been looking to get for years but it's just an instrumental and it'd be impossible to describe.

This is the track i had in mind but like i said when you posted this......needle & Haystack.....i got this off a cousin of mine from newcastle who used to treck around england to all the acid house gigs.......
    http://www.mediafire.com/?ligrrtyzgmw

Here is one .RAR file of the new ASYLUM Video i put together....servers crashing all day trying to get these files up....medifire is a pile of sh.it for large files for a start....anyway i will try & get the rest up tomorrow.....
    http://rapidshare.com/files/151415665/ASYLUM_PAST-PRESENT.part2.rar.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

This is the track i had in mind but like i said when you posted this......needle & Haystack.....i got this off a cousin of mine from newcastle who used to treck around england to all the acid house gigs.......
    http://www.mediafire.com/?ligrrtyzgmw
    Cheers man but that's not it. The one I'm talking is more of a skippy breakbeat type track. Thanks for the effort though! :pac:

craig_b wrote: »
    DjAlOldskool, i've sussed out where Ballymana LN is mite head over in awhile or first ting in d mornin, what type of mushrooms grow der..?? just dem small liberty caps..?? can't wait to go over!!:pac::D

As far as I know you can only get liberty caps up there,

psilocybe-semilanceata-liberty-caps.jpg
    Libertycap.jpg

Do Any of you have any mansion house flyers? i just managed to find 1:(
    would love to see a few more!:D

altern8.jpg

I posted a couple futher back in the Thread..
    I only got 3 myself..

Cheers man but that's not it. The one I'm talking is more of a skippy breakbeat type track. Thanks for the effort though! :pac:

Do you have a sample of the song BaZmO?
    or the lyrics, I might know the tune.

I found the Cd , with the tune on it, It was on the Noise 2 Cd compilation, from Jumpin' & Pumpin records.

http://www.mediafire.com/?wjqwzknnmyz

:):):):):):):):):):):):):):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭daragh_k

Does anyone know what was the last ever tune played in the asylum??. A mate was telling me (what he thinks was the last night), being off his face and emptying his pockets of whatever he had on him cos everyone was searched by the gardai as they were frog marched outside.

Thats true I was actually on the dancefloor at the time. The music was knocked off and a voice came over the mic 'thats it its over the Gards are outside I want evryone out' Of course a bloke had been shot 2 hrs b4 this and everyone just kept dancin... A few straglers starting shouting for more tunes but we were told this is no messing the gards are outside GET THE **** OUT!!!!!! The lights came on people were snappin and heads melting all over the place.. trying to get up the stiars to get yr jacket and people getting squased it was ****in horrible,,, One of me mates snapped badly thought evryone wanted to kill him... evryone was watchin outside at barriers as we came out and he tought they were all waiting for HIM!!! LOL....... Now do u think I can remember the last tune can i ****... It was probably San trancisco LOL...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Do you have a sample of the song BaZmO?
    or the lyrics, I might know the tune.
    There were no lyrics in it and it had one of those classic rave noises in it (can't think of another track at the moment which has the same noise) and the rhythm went....Bawbawbaw....Baw Baw Bah (:o God it sounds so retarded trying to sing a song without without music!)
    It's been a verrrrrrry long time since I heard it though, 16+ years, but it always stuck it my head. It's probably sh1te but I remember it being good.

There were no lyrics in it and it had one of those classic rave noises in it (can't think of another track at the moment which has the same noise) and the rhythm went....Bawbawbaw....Baw Baw Bah (:o God it sounds so retarded trying to sing a song without without music!)
    It's been a verrrrrrry long time since I heard it though, 16+ years, but it always stuck it my head. It's probably sh1te but I remember it being good.

I have a tune in my head, I'll see can i dig it out,
    Is it Bow sah bow, kind of like a techno rave italian tune..

daragh_k wrote: »
    Thats true I was actually on the dancefloor at the time. The music was knocked off and a voice came over the mic 'thats it its over the Gards are outside I want evryone out' Of course a bloke had been shot 2 hrs b4 this and everyone just kept dancin... A few straglers starting shouting for more tunes but we were told this is no messing the gards are outside GET THE **** OUT!!!!!! The lights came on people were snappin and heads melting all over the place.. trying to get up the stiars to get yr jacket and people getting squased it was ****in horrible,,, One of me mates snapped badly thought evryone wanted to kill him... evryone was watchin outside at barriers as we came out and he tought they were all waiting for HIM!!! LOL....... Now do u think I can remember the last tune can i ****... It was probably San trancisco LOL...

That doesn't sound good man, sounds like you're mate was well freaked out ha ha. I know it's a long shot trying to find out the last tune that was been played, was just curious to see if anyone cold actually remember. What time of day/night was it when it really became "asylum R.I.P"?.

Might be this one chief............

http://www.mediafire.com/?jxnzziymyvc