That rich farmer down the road.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭towel401

Don't produce phucking beef then...

They could just grow biofuels. thats where the **** is at

but then the next time some townie sits behind his computer in his 1-bedroom apartment to order a pizza through a facebook application or via email they'll have to pay more. then they'll have something else to complain about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭TheBigLebowski

Schism wrote: »
    Okay, so half of the farmers in the country should stop what they're doing because there isn't room in the market for everyone to make a profit. Lets see what the dole queues are like then.
    You forget farming is still huge in Ireland and subsidies are given out to try and keep the farmer (small ones especially) somewhat in the black.

Yes, they should stop. By your logic we should take everyone off the dole queues, have them produce something which is not profitable (like beef), and then subsidise them with EU funds, just for the sake of keeping them off the dole? Nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭towel401

Yes, they should stop. By your logic we should take everyone off the dole queues, have them produce something which is not profitable (like beef), and then subsidise them with EU funds, just for the sake of keeping them off the dole? Nonsense.

well it would get rid of 'the spongers' anyway. since those guys are too lazy to produce any beef

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭TheBigLebowski

towel401 wrote: »
    They could just grow biofuels. thats where the **** is at

but then the next time some townie sits behind his computer in his 1-bedroom apartment to order a pizza through a facebook application or via email they'll have to pay more. then they'll have something else to complain about

Ah, fair play to the farmers. Keeping going at an unprofitable business just to keep townies supplied with cheap pizza...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

If you want to begrudge farmers subsidy payments then feel free, but remember you're begrudging a large chunk of the country their livelyhood.

I'm not going to argue with you TheBigLebowski, I've made my points.

Have a nice day :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭The Don

1988: Price of a cow/bull ~€1800
    2008: Price of a cow/bull ~€1800

How many other industries are getting the same price for their produce as they were getting 20 years ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,077 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Subsidies have produced massive inefficiency, before, that was grand (from getting food to people point of view), as we were producing too much, but now, with food shortages, and fuel costs, the inefficiency is causing big problems.

It's ridiculous that with rising food prices, farmers still have to rely on subsidies, any other industry does not get these hand outs.

And thats without letting the poor dears get into competition from countries outside the EU, which can produce more food with less environmental impact (including the cost to transport it here) than any farmers we have.

The Don wrote: »
    1988: Price of a cow/bull ~€1800
    2008: Price of a cow/bull ~€1800

How many other industries are getting the same price for their produce as they were getting 20 years ago?

1988 - Cost of a PC £2000+
    2008 - Cost of a PC €300

Music albums are still the same price, televisions have dropped in price dramatically.

Yet these industries magically survive without subsidies, and there's lots of other examples.

If farmers got themselves more efficient, they could be producing 4 bulls (figure plucked from air, but not unreasonable given advances in animal care, equipment and reduction in man power needed) today at the cost of one bull twenty years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭The Don

Those examples are good astrofool. Producing technology has become easier and cheaper than back then. I'm no expert on that and I know that there are alot of other factors that have led to this. For farmers producing may have become easier in some regards but it certainly isn't cheaper. Yes there is better equipment and yes there are better medicines but their cost has gone up an awful lot. Just because you pump €500 worth of medicine and veterinary costs into keeping an animal alive doesn't mean that it still won't die. And even if it doesn't die the medicine may have poluted the animals meat so it is only fit for dog food in which case the farmer will get very little money for it.

Increasing stock and production brings with it alot of other costs. New sheds may have to be built which will require contractors and possible a loan. More land may have to be purchased. It will take more time to feed, inject medicine, clean from, raise calves, etc. More silage, feed, medicines, etc will be needed. The prices for these have all risen.

It is an option and alot of farmers have done it but it will take time, money and alot of effort to build up and in the end the profit may only be marginal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

See, part of technology getting cheaper has had a lot to do with the components getting cheaper. Funnily enough, it costs a lot more to sustain a bull two decades on than it did in the 80s. If you want to take a live animal and compare it to an inanimate object you'll never get something that balances.

Take a comparison perhaps from something more realistic.

How about how much it costs to sustain a human being. You need food, shelter, medicine etc. Then you tack on the vet bills from routine exams to ensure your herd is in peak health. As far as I know, it costs a lot more for accommodation and food now than it did in the 80s. Do you think farmers travel back in time to buy the fodder they feed their animals? I really have to get onto my Dad if that's the case, because I could be making a mint on E-bay selling genuine (new) retro stuff. I may have found my niche!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

You say let any other country compete. The thing is a lot of these countries don't live up to standards we would call acceptable.

For example Argentinean beef; more than 25% of their beef herd has Foot and Mouth disease. Now fair enough this is not dangerous to humans but the animals are living in pain and still make their way to market and into Irish stores.
    Chicken from Thailand; a lot of it is pumped full of water which increases the price of the chicken but is essentially cheating the customer. Also animals live in far worse conditions over there.

Also the government will not let the banks fold and in just the same way they won't let Dairygold or Avonmore go bust. If farmers get out of the business thats exactly what will happen.

And don't make me laugh with the environmentally friendly developing country craic. Do you think some Brazilian lad with no regulations trying his best to make as much money as he can gives a sh1te about the environment. He has no REPS scheme to hold him to. You'll have sh1te all organic food or ethically raised meat if thats the way. Also how the hell do you think the meat will come from South America to here? It won't magically appear, it has to be transported over - which is much worse than a few tractors puttering around the place over here.

People just don't understand the costs involved in farming especially PAYE people. No offence to them but they do their jobs and get paid and thats it. A farmer has to think about buying feed, insurance, renting land and machinery, veterinary costs, building costs and contractors pay before he can get anything for himself. Each of these is a small business and as we all know it's the boss of a small business that gets paid last.

Half my family are farmers.

If beef doesn't pass quality standards, then it shouldn't be allowed for sale over here, then the impetus is on that country to meet standards, not impose massive duties on them/subsidise, removing them from the market place altogether.

If people don't want beef from cattle with foot&mouth, then they won't buy it, and it won't be a problem anyway.

If thai chickens, for example, are being filled with water, then people will pay less for them anyway knowing that.

If meat can be mass produced in another country, then exported over here, then the environmental cost can be a lot lot less than producing it here. e.g. their farms might be able to rear 5000 cattle, to 50 over here, thus giving a 100:1 return on farming equipment being used through economies of scale. The impact of transport is negligible on that.

Fact is, subsidies have done nothing in the long run other than keep farmers massively inefficient, and caused false prices for our food, hurting the consumer.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

astrofool wrote: »
    If meat can be mass produced in another country, then exported over here, then the environmental cost can be a lot lot less than producing it here. e.g. their farms might be able to rear 5000 cattle, to 50 over here, thus giving a 100:1 return on farming equipment being used through economies of scale. The impact of transport is negligible on that.

Generally, mass-produced food is not environmentally friendly. Also, Brazilian beef is generally grain-fed beef. This is not environmentally friendly at all because of the amount of energy, water, etc that goes into producing that grain. In addition, as someone else pointed out, the environmental status of these farms is practically zero: they are not subjected to the same rigorous EU laws on water pollution, etc as are Irish farmers. Do they have SCIs and SPAs set aside on their land? I doubt it.

Beef in the UK & Ireland is generally grass-fed beef, which does not require the same levels of energy involved in producing grain.

Also, farming equipment has a certain mileage life so if Brazilians use less tractors, they're just going to have to replace them more often. And then add in the "not-so-negligible" impact of transporting that meat here.

From an environmental point of view, foreign-imported beef just doesn't cut it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Fair play, you probably know what you're talking about.
    If beef doesn't pass quality standards, then it shouldn't be allowed for sale over here, then the impetus is on that country to meet standards, not impose massive duties on them/subsidise, removing them from the market place altogether.

Agreed, and there are high standards in place. In fact, my local newsagent has a deli counter and on the blackboard they put the herd no, what factory was used and where in the county the meat came from. How's that for traceability! Can we say the same for Brazilian beef?
    If people don't want beef from cattle with foot&mouth, then they won't buy it, and it won't be a problem anyway.

If thai chickens, for example, are being filled with water, then people will pay less for them anyway knowing that.
    Yes, but it's not entirely the consumers fault. Meat is imported from Brazil(riddled with foot & mouth disease btw) but packaged in Ireland as Irish beef. Don't tell me it doesn't go on, it's common knowledge. Don't know much as chicken but I've seen it posted in the fitness forum

I'm no environmentalist but I don't understand importing beef from South American when 80% of Irish beef is exported. The same way I don't understand importing Evian water from France (or is that Switzerland??)
    Anyway how is Brazilian beef environmentally friendy? Ever hear of slash & burn, sure we learned this in secondary school.
    Fact is, subsidies have done nothing in the long run other than keep farmers massively inefficient, and caused false prices for our food, hurting the consumer.

I'll agree with you there but remember, the factory and the retailer is getting a far bigger cut than the farmer. Small farmers have very little bargaining power and subsidies are one of the factors keeping them going.
    Some might say get competitive or GTFO. A fair comment but do you want to see agriculture taken over by massive farmers and congomlerates?

Remember astrofool, many farmers are only breaking even or possibly taking a loss of selling beef or other products. Want to remove subsidies ok but then pay the farmer the real cost of production plus a decent profit.
    A subsidy may go to the farmer but it's also getting you a guranteed supply of cheap food. Too cheap maybe?

Fast Food Nation, probably the best book I've ever read, I recommend it to all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Music albums are still the same price, televisions have dropped in price dramatically.

Unlike the farming industry, it's production costs which have driven down the prices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

How do you reconcile these two posts? South American beef is already raised to a poor standard. You want to remove the EU competition because its not massive enough, and you then think that giving Argentina and Brazil a monopoly on production will entice them to work to higher standards?
    And how will it not be a problem?

Forcing farmers to take the same pay they did twenty years ago, leaving them with nothing to invest in their farms, is a more likely reason for inefficency. You say your family are farmers but I get the feeling you haven't really looked beyond the farm gate on this issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

micmclo wrote: »
    Boeyenk
    I'm from a farming background and can see exactly what was paid to our farm there.
    I know exactly how payments from the EU work.

I posted "your tax money", read my post again and it was about "other benefits". So yes if you are on various benefits in Ireland, it's Irish people paying for it.
    You misread one line from my post and figured I was clueless on how the EU and farming payments work. Watch what your're at before ripping my post to shreds!
    Edit: Your first post, I hope you learn as you go on, welcome by the way

I was asking if people want this extended, starting a debate and all that.
    My own feeling is I completly against. Small farmers don't get much at all and while it may good to see what the biggest producers in the country are getting, I see little point in publishing info on small farmers.

Same here and I'm suprised how much my neighbours got knowing how much land they have etc. However I'm all for transparency and if it means that this info is displayed on a website for all to see, then so be it.

BTW I noticed a few people on the website who I know of and technically are not farmers. They just own a bit of land. They shouldn't get payments at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Ziggurat

:confused:I thought thats what the paparazzi said about actors.

Obviously, I don't mean anything goes. But they can't have it both ways. They had no problem putting themselves under the spotlight when it suited them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭Peteee

2008 - Cost of a PC €300

I don't think farms follow Moore's law!

If the farming industry was full of money wouldn't more people be doing it?

I saw one of my friends farms numbers, the cheque is not nearly as big as some people would have you believe, and was 3 or 4 times smaller then I thought it would be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,138 ✭✭✭jhegarty

2008 - Cost of a PC €300

What industry do you work in , so I can calculate you new wages....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

So I take it I'm the only one who wants to totally concrete over mayo and turn it into a carpark then.
    as long as you promise to rebuild my house somewhere else, I have a lovely acre of land for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

micmclo wrote: »
    Fast Food Nation, probably the best book I've ever read, I recommend it to all!

I second that.

I'd hate to see Irish agriculture in the same situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,778 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Just looked at the payments a few people I know received. No wonder the lads need to work a full time job next to farming. Between the scandalous prices they receive for their cattle and sheep from the factories and distribution companies and the paltry EU support ( would't buy a set of rear tyres for a the tractor to put it in perspective ) they have to be a touch masochistic continuing doing what they do.

I don't give a fiddlers about someone else's opinion on this but as far as I'm concerned independent food production inside the EU is as strategically important as defence and energy supplies. I for one would not like to be depending on the Brazilian beef supply with it's quality issues or the Kenian vegetable supply where everything depends on the mood of the dictator of the week. Never mind that, if the American biggies would be the ones we're depending on I wouldn't want to be the unfortunate sharecropper trying to make a living. Even less the consumer trying to source something of any half decent quality for a reasonable price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭jaycen

Schism wrote: »
    I hate how people can be so bitter towards farmers. Farming is a very hard business to stay afloat in these days especially if you've only got a small area of land to work. In fact were it not for EU subsidies there wouldn't be any small farmers left in the country.

I don't mind that figures are being made public but now that they are, all people see are lump sums. They don't factor in how much it takes to run a farm and attempt to make a profit.

Yes farmers can be paid for keeping their farm tidy (REPS) but the criteria to be met to gain this extra funding is quite stringent and are getting tougher each year.

It's far to easy for someone safe and secure with a salary coming in steadily to slate the farmer whose income is no way guaranteed from year to year.

That's exactly why Schism, it's a business that's propped up on benefits, in normal business they'd be bankrupt and jobless, why are they exceptional to the rest of the country's workers/ business?
    It's an old argumeent but if my business dies it's tough luck but if I own a farm there'll be handouts.
    If they don't want people to know how much of handoiuts they get then don't take it, simple as that.

Stevo - My ma paid to have our fram kept, but most won't, getting gutter just shows how pathetic you are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

jaycen wrote: »
    That's exactly why Schism, it's a business that's propped up on benefits, in normal business they'd be bankrupt and jobless, why are they exceptional to the rest of the country's workers/ business?
    It's an old argumeent but if my business dies it's tough luck but if I own a farm there'll be handouts.
    If they don't want people to know how much of handoiuts they get then don't take it, simple as that.

Where to start?

1) Prices are pushed down by key points in the food distribution network. The power wielded by the large supermarket chains means they have the ability to force food prices down. These businesses also help engender the myth that food can/should cost as little as it does now. Farmers simply aren't being paid a decent price for their food. Do you think you should be able to get 2 chickens for €5? I don't, but many think this is normal.

2)Food security is very important. Issues of food security means that an indigenous food source is extremely important. Some people seem to have gotten it into their heads that the globalisation of our markets is the way to stability but the reality is Ireland is extremely exposed to the vaguaries of the international markets. I think this week has demonstrated that pretty well in the financial market. Do you want the potential of the same thing happening in our food market? I don't. At a time when oil is becoming more expensive, I don't want to depend on beans from Kenya for my dinner, thanks very much. There are too many potential interrupters to that food chain.

3) You don't pay the full price of your food in the supermarket. The environmental impact of imported food is extremely high, partly because of transport costs, partly because of the lack of environmental regulations outside the EU. This is a cost that is externalised from the price you pay at the supermarket at the moment. Irish farmers, however, are subject to these regulations and so the price is higher. Last time I checked, Brazilian farmers didn't have to set aside land for biodiversity purposes. When you buy Irish beef, you're paying for the additional cost of this protection.

Do you remember when fishermen in Spain and Ireland called on the EU for subsidies for their fuel earlier this year? That money went into depressing the market price of fish. You don't realise that you should actually be paying 2-3 times what you pay in the supermarket.

Environmental impact of growing/rearing food in an unsuitable climate > Environmental impact of growing/rearing food in a suitable climate + transport, in most cases.

We should be looking at what Ireland is good at growing, and start switching over, if we're making no money on beef (and this doesn't have to come from Brazil, it could be France/UK/USA), then switch to something we can make money on. Allowing outside food to be labelled as Irish is a regulatory issue that should be stopped, but thats beside the point, as in that case, all our food might as well be foreign.

The worst thing that can be done for a business in the long term is to prop it up by subsidising it, it causes huge problems with people taking advantage of the system, and the worst off barely seeing a penny of it (there's an economist article I'll dig up, showing that 70% of subsidies go to the richest 10% of farmers). Subsidies have caused problems such as the farmers having to accept a price for a cow below cost, and have allowed the supermarkets to gain as much power as they have.

The entire industry needs to be weaned off subsidies as quickly as possible, frankly, I'd be embarrassed earning my living on handouts, and the entire farming industry should be getting together to end them, and ensure they earn a fair living for themselves (for it's no easy life and deserves to be rewarded).

Environmental impact of growing/rearing food in an unsuitable climate > Environmental impact of growing/rearing food in a suitable climate + transport, in most cases.

Interesting idea. Do you have any references/articles? I would be willing to argue that it isn't quite as simple as that... Also, what is your opinion of food security, if we only grow the few things that are considered optimal for our island?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭ageary08

I think this is unfair, you can`t look up somebodys dole payments or tax credits. Thats not to mention the fact farmers are a contrary lot and Im sure there`l be fist shaking over fences because one fella looked up another fella and saw he was getting more than him.

Most people have the right idea in this thread, farming just isn't profitable in ireland, the average farm size in ireland is 32 hectares, in the UK its 57 hectares. In large country's like america or austraila farms can be vast. Its more intensive too as you have less animals and they are more valuable, you spend more time looking after each one and on vetinary care.

The amount of paperwork has increased alot too as well as regulation of veterinary medicines, back when I was a kid 20 years ago my dad could just buy and administer drugs to animals himself, now for alot of illnesses he needs to call a vet out so he can get a medicine for something he knows how to treat himself. I am not saying these are bad things, its nice to know where you meal came from and that alot of care and attention went into it, but people demand these things but yet would not be willing to pay the additional expense on the food. I saw in one quite expensive restaurant that they sell Argentinian beef, I mean what the hell, we have our own quality beef but these guys sell beef from a country half ways around the world where an animal could have foot and mouth, and could be pumped to the nines with hormones and antibotics (I am not 100% sure on regulation in Argentina to be fair here).

Then we have the amount of work in farming, its pretty much 8 to 8, when I was young there might have been a bit of time off on some afternoons, but paperwork filled those gaps nicely. Then for 6 months in the year it could be calving season so you could be checking animals 24 hours a day. Then other times you could be harvesting and working until midnight. I couldnt live that life, imagine if you worked 365 days a year and if you wanted to take a holiday you`d have to pay somebody to do your work.

Finally farming is a business, its easy to look at 20k grant check out of context and go ****in hell, but if you saw the farmers accounts you`d realise there are alot of expenses. I think personally as a farmers son the only profit in the last few years was in selling the farm as the price of land went up. (and yes it is a load of money, which is even more reason to have respect for many farmers)

taconnol wrote: »
    Interesting idea. Do you have any references/articles? I would be willing to argue that it isn't quite as simple as that... Also, what is your opinion of food security, if we only grow the few things that are considered optimal for our island?

Off the top of my head, examples would be american farmers growing sugar beet, when brazilian sugar cane is much easier to grow and contains 5 times as much sugar. Cotton can be grown much more cheaply and plentifully in Africa than it can in Europe\America.

In both cases, export duties and subsidies are used to keep foreign cotton/sugar cane out of America/Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

You mean like raising cattle in the Amazon? Something that has a far greater environmental impact that cattle farming in Ireland.
    Ireland is of course suited to cattle farming, you only need to look at the thousands of years of history behind the industry, the fact that cattle were used as currency, the huge emphasis that was put on owning and raising cattle for centuries. Do you think they'd do that with an animal that was more likely to keel over than reach maturity?

The worst thing that can be done for a business in the long term is to prop it up by subsidising it, it causes huge problems with people taking advantage of the system, and the worst off barely seeing a penny of it (there's an economist article I'll dig up, showing that 70% of subsidies go to the richest 10% of farmers). Subsidies have caused problems such as the farmers having to accept a price for a cow below cost, and have allowed the supermarkets to gain as much power as they have.
    The people taking advantage of the system are the Supermarkets and factories paying below the odds for the meat and produce of farmers worldewide. Not on the label should be mandatory reading tbh.
    The entire industry needs to be weaned off subsidies as quickly as possible, frankly, I'd be embarrassed earning my living on handouts, and the entire farming industry should be getting together to end them, and ensure they earn a fair living for themselves (for it's no easy life and deserves to be rewarded).

Firstly, no farmer is earning their living on handouts, if you knew the industry and had even glanced at the figures on that site you'd know its not the case. I thought the one good thing that might come from this whole thing would be that people would finally realise that farmers are not rich, but clearly not. Secondly, how do you propose farmers ensure a fairer living? You seem to have all the answers.