If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Walterisms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

deadwood wrote: »
    Fyr Ftr [EMAIL="F#@ed"]F#@ed[/EMAIL] up big time.
    He was found out, named and shamed.
    His actions could have had serious consequences for a gullible person on the other forums.

He claims to be getting help for his issues and I wish him the best, but it will be a long process. A few contrite posts are a long way from seeking real professional help though - and not on the internet either. I do think he has shown courage by replying to posts and pm's. I'd have run a mile (well, about 200 yards and then waited for the car to come and pick me up).

For such a prolific poster I would assume the www is his main social outlet, so he's shot himself in the foot there (probably with a clearmagsmgsig24.5867mmcflurry;))

We've all done things we 'll cringe about for the rest of our lives (yes, I had a pair of stone washed jeans and boot runners - the first time they were fashionable, emo's me hole).

I agree that if you continue posting here, you will, at best, end up on a lot of ignore lists or suffer continual abuse. I would suggest you take a break from E.S. too(we still have to slag you for a wee while but I feel guilty while you're stll here!) but let us know how your doing.

Going soft in your old age :p

yea i will be taking a more back seated approach to the es boards, i still use others and will pop in hear for a read and the odd reply when im about, but i wont be as prolific as i was (havnt the time for a start!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Fyr.Fytr wrote: »
    Going soft in your old age :p

yea i will be taking a more back seated approach to the es boards, i still use others and will pop in hear for a read and the odd reply when im about, but i wont be as prolific as i was (havnt the time for a start!)
    Well what are you doing posting on the garda/medical training thread?!
    I was going to edit my revious post but I'll leave it.

If i'm getting too personal, i'll gladly accept a ban but you haven't learned anything and are now taking us for a ride (with the sand left in).

I said i was still going to post the odd time and just gave my opinions on what i thought would be a good idea.

I dont see whats wrong with me posting in one thread other then this, if you do please let me know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,376 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

iceage wrote: »
    Sorry you feel that way esel, I was only telling it how it was, I had deleted the same comment my from my post. If I'm correct people have been banned for far less than this kind of behaviour, which is troubling to say the least and a worry to all of us in which ever part of the forum we frequent.
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but did Fyr.Fytr really walt much on this forum? Surely you don't think he should be banned from here for his conduct on another site?

Also, please explain your logic in removing a comment from your post then including in the Reason for Edit section. I don't get it tbh.

Not your ornery onager

In light of recent goings on, if you don't see anything wrong with posting ANYWHERE on the e.s. forum for a while you're eiter very thick-skinned or oblivious to the upset you have caused to people who stuck up for you before metman provided damningevidence of your carry-on.

You had done some good damage limitation in your last few posts but I think you'll lose all respect by going on another thread at the same time claiming to know the workings of defib pilot schemes in An G.S.

Show some humility, man.

(what's your definition of a break? I said I wouldn't post here again, but i'm old an fickle, i'm allowed)

Cars in blanch and kilkenny (i think its kilkenny open to correction) have defibs on board officers trained in their usage.

Not sure wether they have been used or not. I'm sure someone will confirm or deny this.

I think this is a very good idea, the more people trained to provide emergency care the better. The pt normally doesnt care who is treating them aslong as someone is and they're doing it right.

Statistics show for ever minute lapsed from the pt going into cardiac arrest and recieving cpr the changes of survival drop by 10%

The chain of survival is

early access
    early cpr
    early defib
    early advanced care

If gardai can provide the first three it hugely increases the chances of survival

All i said is they're in the cars, i said i didnt know the whole thing just put it up there so the op could research it a bit more, the pilot project could be of intrest to him for his dissertation, nothing more nothing less.

http://fire.kilkennycoco.ie/News/2006/Automated_External_Defibrillator_Pilot_Project/
    http://www.mhb.ie/mhb/News/2006News/March2006/d9037.HTML.html

Got the info from reading the above links

The rest of the post explains the benefit of anyone providing early care to persons in v-fib

I know the upset i have caused, but that post sparked my intrested, due to my volunteer work and studying for a degree in nursing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

I know the upset i have caused, but that post sparked my intrested, due to my volunteer work and degree in nursing

No offense, but your studying for a degree in nursing.;)

Oopsey edited, cheers

Hold your horses that wasnt walterism just a simple mistake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭iceage

esel wrote: »
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but did Fyr.Fytr really walt much on this forum? Surely you don't think he should be banned from here for his conduct on another site?

Also, please explain your logic in removing a comment from your post then including in the Reason for Edit section. I don't get it tbh.

you know, if he had stuck his oar in about, say, Football, or handgliding or climbing mount Everest, it wouldn't have mattered, really, would it? naw it would'nt.

But when you get into conversation in these fields of professions, then it dangerous territory. I don't believe that fyr fritter's intention was to cause harm, but he persisted in flaming others when he was sussed and questioned. Where were you then esel? when all that happened? He was telling Gardai and policemen how to suck eggs!

If I'm not mistaken hes giving advice as we speak. or maybe earlier? but at least it seems to be in a field thats he supossedly "qualified" ie. CPR+ defibrilation and so on, god i hope hes not around if I have a ticker flutter.

As to my logic in removing my post. If you had seen the things I was GONNA post you would have banned ME!....................................................

and rightly so, because that kind of language is unacceptable on an open forum,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭santosubito

I suggest people might be taking this a bit far. This is the interweb, people do stupid things on it all the time - I presume that's one of the reasons why few of us give our real names. We can talk ****e, safe in the knwledge few of us will be identfied. I know it certainly is in my case.
    So, can people just lighten up a bit?
    He didn't kill anyone, ffs. Boards.ie is just a place where largely anonymous people come on to have a bit of craic. C'mon. Who here has never done anything silly on a discussion board?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

As to my logic in removing my post. If you had seen the things I was GONNA post you would have banned ME!....................................................

Mods can actually look at original posts after you have edited

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭santosubito

But when you get into conversation in these fields of professions, then it dangerous territory. I don't believe that fyr fritter's intention was to cause harm, but he persisted in flaming others when he was sussed and questioned. Where were you then esel? when all that happened? He was telling Gardai and policemen how to suck eggs!

If I'm not mistaken hes giving advice as we speak. or maybe earlier? but at least it seems to be in a field thats he supossedly "qualified" ie. CPR+ defibrilation and so on, god i hope hes not around if I have a ticker flutter.
    [/SIZE]

But what if he was? Big deal. Jesus, anyone can say what they want. If he's a muppet, out his muppetry - people who take anyone's views seriously on this forum are even bigger muppets. If you have a problem, get some real, concrete, advice - not from some board where someone claiming to be a Garda could be a nine year old with a fertile imagination. And I'm sure gardai are well used to civilians telling them how to suck eggs...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

May I ask what was up with Darren254? Oh I have an idea but does anyone know for real?

Not qualified. He's in training. Any nursing forums?

To clear things up ive 3 years expereince in a vol amb org, i am qualified in cpr and aed usage, I'm a Pre-Hospital Emergency Care Council Cardiac First Responder

May I ask what was up with Darren254? Oh I have an idea but does anyone know for real?
    Post #52, karl.
    I have a suspected offender.

To clear things up...
    You've a bit to go yet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

Post #52, karl.
    I have a suspected offender.

You're saying Batman is Darren254? :eek: I find that highly improbable.

I suggest people might be taking this a bit far. This is the interweb, people do stupid things on it all the time - I presume that's one of the reasons why few of us give our real names. We can talk ****e, safe in the knwledge few of us will be identfied. I know it certainly is in my case.
    So, can people just lighten up a bit?
    He didn't kill anyone, ffs. Boards.ie is just a place where largely anonymous people come on to have a bit of craic. C'mon. Who here has never done anything silly on a discussion board?
    You're right, of course but it's good crack, isn't it:D.

You've a bit to go yet!

Ask and you shall recieve. Ive answered any questions directed at me honestly so anything else you want cleared up feel free to ask

What's all this talk of sucking eggs?! I'm lost, and feeling a little qeuasy!!

eroo wrote: »
    You don't teach your granny how to suck eggs.
    So young, so young.

You don't teach your granny how to suck eggs.
    So young, so young.

Is that a question, or a piece of advice?:pac:

I'd rather be young and not an egg sucker of the highest proportions!!:p:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭JonAnderton

eroo wrote: »

You know, every training day you hear that phrase. (I'm not teaching you to suck eggs, but...) I know what it stands for, but I never did find out the origin of the phrase... "you don't teach your Granny to suck eggs"... do you suck eggs???... I'm not a big egg fan so I don't know....

So Fyr Fytr, how long have yo been a Ham?

You know, every training day you hear that phrase. (I'm not teaching you to suck eggs, but...) I know what it stands for, but I never did find out the origin of the phrase... "you don't teach your Granny to suck eggs"... do you suck eggs???... I'm not a big egg fan so I don't know....

Can't say anyone has ever mentioned sucking eggs to me, and no, I don't!:D

So Fyr Fytr, how long have yo been a Ham?

Ham?

Surely you know what a ham is? that di-pole you have in your loft.

Nah never got into the ham, too expensive and complicated.

Myself and my dad use to use a scanner to listen to planes are were close to flight path, its just gathering dust now.

Right.....

Night Fyr Fytr.