Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Walterisms

• 17-09-2008 7:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭

As a regular contributor to this forum since he beginning, I have now decided to call it a day.

This site is unfortunately suffering from an onslaught of wannabes and fantasists. Moreover these 'walters' are being left unchecked and even encouraged by some, and this has really begun to bore.

Best of luck and stay safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

metman wrote: »

Best of luck to the forum and to my friends with whom I have had a laugh or two on here.

You jumping ship then? doesnt seem very mature, rather then working to resolve the problem you run away. Now i really do doubt your military/police history if thats your attitude.

I didnt run when you hurled abuse at me left right and centre, why should you run when a couple of posters stand up to you.

doesnt make sense, I'm more then willing to chat with you in an adult manner, but to be honest your behaving like a school bully. Your on a power trip and youve got your yes men nodding eighter side of you, making you invinciable to most. but as they say the bigger they are the harder they fall.

if you are leaving, first of all i regret it has come to this and second i thank you for your informative posts during your time here, bar the last 2 weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Can I ask who are these Walters? Is it me? Or just anyone on here who isn't ES?

I have never once stated to be something I'm not i.e. a Garda. Besides the recent issues regarding a poster focusing on military issues, I can't think of anyone who has proclaimed to be something they are not. Thus I can't see where this whole Walter thing has come from. If anyone on here has a problem with me or anyone else reagarding a post, then pm them. You speak of the standard of the forum going down recently, I agree. Starting and taking over threads to crack jokes about Walters is not only a negative for this forum, but it deterrs(sp?) anyone who isn't ES from contributing to this forum. Hell, I thought I wasn't welcome here as a result.

I understand I'm not in ES, but I hope to be a Garda some day. This forum allows me to ask questions, communicate with Gardai and increase my knowledge on the organisation and the job. However, I would like to think this is a 2 way system. You can contribute opinions, why can't I? So I may not have the experience that you have, but that doesn't mean I cannot have my own opinions. You may not like them, and you may not agree with them. But instead of attacking, why not correct me instead? Realistically, if you don't like dealing with us, then why do you come onto a public access forum where members of the public such as myself are active?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

As a regular contributor to this forum since its inception, it is with sadness that I recognise that my own character and experience is now regulary being called into question.

I wouldn't mind that so much but as an ex-professional soldier (with a medal or two from PDF) and as a serving Police Officer, I have no time to waste with walters or those who entertain walters! I really have better things to be doing with my time.

Best of luck to the forum and to my friends with whom I have had a laugh or two on here.

What do you mean by "walters" exactly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭the locust

Hey man, i really appreciate your contributions and enjoy reading your posts. I know where you're coming from and have empathy with the 'wannabe' responses you seem to attract!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭the locust

What do you mean by "walters" exactly?

I take it he means 'walter mitty' personalities or wannabes or those who dream of being the real thing. Its military slang for someone who is posing or claiming to be something they clearly are not. i.e. a police recruit pretending or talking as though they are/have the authority to speak as an experienced ERU/CO19 member, but obviously thier heads are in the clouds and its bloody frustrating, Am i right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

Fyr.Fytr wrote: »
    You jumping ship then? doesnt seem very mature, rather then working to resolve the problem you run away. Now i really do doubt your military/police history if thats your attitude.

I didnt run when you hurled abuse at me left right and centre, why should you run when a couple of posters stand up to you.

doesnt make sense, I'm more then willing to chat with you in an adult manner, but to be honest your behaving like a school bully. Your on a power trip and youve got your yes men nodding eighter side of you, making you invinciable to most. but as they say the bigger they are the harder they fall.

if you are leaving, first of all i regret it has come to this and second i thank you for your informative posts during your time here, bar the last 2 weeks
    eroo wrote: »
    Can I ask who are these Walters? Is it me? Or just anyone on here who isn't ES?

I have never once stated to be something I'm not i.e. a Garda. Besides the recent issues regarding a poster focusing on military issues, I can't think of anyone who has proclaimed to be something they are not. Thus I can't see where this whole Walter thing has come from. If anyone on here has a problem with me or anyone else reagarding a post, then pm them. You speak of the standard of the forum going down recently, I agree. Starting and taking over threads to crack jokes about Walters is not only a negative for this forum, but it deterrs(sp?) anyone who isn't ES from contributing to this forum. Hell, I thought I wasn't welcome here as a result.

I understand I'm not in ES, but I hope to be a Garda some day. This forum allows me to ask questions, communicate with Gardai and increase my knowledge on the organisation and the job. However, I would like to think this is a 2 way system. You can contribute opinions, why can't I? So I may not have the experience that you have, but that doesn't mean I cannot have my own opinions. You may not like them, and you may not agree with them. But instead of attacking, why not correct me instead? Realistically, if you don't like dealing with us, then why do you come onto a public access forum where members of the public such as myself are active?

Jesus lads, its a free country, as for all this shouting, it seems that you two have axes to grind. Oh and if I might add, you might be taking it all a bit too personally...oh and by the by, I'm not a Cop, Garda, NInja, etc. Well, not since i last checked anyway. Best of british Metman ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭McCrack

I check into this forum from time to time and I find myself reading this.

I suppose if you can't take the heat etc etc.

Metman are you expecting people to say "Ah please dont go away, it won't be the same" or something to that effect.

Rather silly really but you seem to know best. Good luck.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Do you not think your taking this a bit seriously/personally...

its an internet site thats accessible to all.. people are going to be on pretending they're people they're not... not much you can do about it except ignore it and move on

I think leaving the forum over a couple of eejits is a bit extreme tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

As a regular contributor to this forum since he beginning, I have now decided to call it a day.

This site is unfortunately suffering from an onslaught of wannabes and fantasists. Moreover these 'walters' are being left unchecked and even encouraged by some, and this has really begun to bore.

I know where you're coming from. Stay away for a few weeks and then come back when your tolerance level has recovered.

A few posters have criticised metman in this thread. However he has some very valid points and i happen to agree with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭dredre

Paulzx wrote: »
    I know where you're coming from. Stay away for a few weeks and then come back when your tolerance level has recovered.

A few posters have criticised metman in this thread. However he has some very valid points and i happen to agree with them

Some does not mean all. There is also a need to recognise when you've gone too far and apologise. Others have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Others have manned up and said "ok i was wrong sorry" not this "im going home and taking my ball with me" type of crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭CO19

Bye now ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

The thing about Internet forums is the low barrier of entry and idiots get in all the time. Trick is not to let them drag you down to their level where they beat you with experience. Thick skin is required.

However this forum is about Emergency Services not exclusively for the Emergency Services, yet some think it is and create the us and them attitude and too often us neutrals get the feeling we're lumped in with the walters, so we post less. The sometimes dismissive, arrogant and aggressive execution of this does nobody any good.

That said, most of your posts have been top-notch and thanks for them, some have not.

Good luck and stay safe out there.

There are no ****ing walters here! Jesus H, some people just decided to label other people because they didn't agree with their opinions. . Can we not just drop it rather than go on and on about crap. This forum has gone bad, but only because of threads like 'shed at hereford' and this etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭m4j

Metman,

I would be very sorry to see you go and do hope you change your mind, I for one have learned a great deal from you, you are a valued member of this forum and I believe have been a major part of its success. I hope that you will reconsider.

Commitment to such a site is an atribute that those who may well be using the forum in the wrong way do not have and time will see the changes I think you are looking for.

I have read alot of the threads and did not notice anything that may well p*** people off but then again I have not been as committed to the site as you have been and so completly respect your decision. We too have shared differences before but I have found you to be very understanding and open to challenge, I do think that there is a balance to be found between sharing your insight and experience with all posters be it ES members or not who want to learn about such things and just not replying to those that may well cause you concern. Possibly time away will help to put things in perspective.

I will PM you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

We'll miss you metman, always a good insight into things across the pond, you and john andterton!

Stay safe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

........ hows your morse guys?:( I agree metman and that anderton fella had a lot of sound input and info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Mutz

What did this all start over anyway? Had my head in the sand while ma and da were fighting! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭dredre

Effort at a concise summary of events (clearly a personal interpretation):

1. Several posters making comments (often repeatedly) which implied they had more experience/knowledge of emergency services/military than they had. Sometimes they had none. These posters have been termed "Walters" and their comments "Walterisms". Posts related almost exclusively to police/military.

2. Regular posters taking exception to this growing trend.

3. Which led to efforts to expose Walters through a series of threads designed to expose inaccurate/inadequate knowledge. E.G. "What colour is the boatshed at Hereford?". There is none...

4. In turn, this resulted in extension of the intolerance of Walters and Walterisms by aforementioned posters to other posters who are not in the emergency services but who seek to make comment and start debate.

5. Also, the situation arose where some posters were so used to (and fed up with) responding to Walterisms that regular posters got caught up to and it became difficult to question without being seen as a Walter. It seemed as though people with no direct experience were not fit to comment or question at all.

6. Perception by all sides that each had an axe to grind.

7. Here we are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

My my my, whats going on? Its like Neighbours around here.

Metman,
    I like your posts even though your first one was mean to me but you speak your mind and I like that. Its also nice to hear from other agencies and I hope your not following PSNI out the door as I havent seen him in a while either.

AS for Walters, etc. A walter is a bull**** artist not an enthuasiast or a 'could be' as I like to use (Wannabee is a bit unfair as it implies you couldnt make it) but by the same token I do feel people are overly talking without experience in place, not always but sometimes. By the same token some people are getting very defensive and aggresive on occasion.

Relax, you disagree you disagree. You dislike someone, use the ignore button. Dont like a thread, dont post in it. Getting pissed off? take a break like Paul suggested and for the love of god relax. Arguement and off topic friendly banter makes messageboards entertaining.

Its also a strange state of affairs when Im calling for restraint and calm but I have been on messageboards that have been dragged down by arsholes and gone from great places to either morgues or a place for idiots to pretend they know what they are talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭JonAnderton

ok, i appologise for the boathouse thread.it seemed fitting at the time.obviously my humour isnt shared and for that i appologise.

Comments have been made,not by the regulars on here that were not for question or debate,but accusations levelled at officers and guards by people who have no knowledge of the facts about the things they are stating.

It is these posts that were getting on my wick.

In response to these,lengthy posts were created which often went into detail which people took to be overly defensive.to a degree it was defensive of our colleagues. but they were intended to be explainatory.the fact we are passionate and proud of our jobs obviously got the better of us and overspilled into our posts.

My annoyance wasnt aimed at the regulars on here who arent in any of the ES but at those who chose to 'pop in' and make blatantly false assersions and comments.if they were posed as questions or topics of debate,they would have been responded to as such.i have no problem with people questioning the actions of our services,but is here the appropriate place to make statements of wrongdoing without any evidence or basis of fact?

This has not been an US (Serving) against THEM (non serving but intrested)..its been about challenging those who are puporting to be who they are not from saying things they dont know anything about.

Those of you who are not serving in any of the ES and have been part of previous threads (before the troubles) and have felt this has been aimed at them,i appologise for any offense caused.if we were only interested in talking to other 'job', we'd stay at work.to me the term walter was attributed to someone who believed themselves to be someone they weren't..not someone who was interested and enthusiastic about a particular subject like the majority of posters here.

Maybe this definition got misinterepreted in the ensuing kerfuffle..

Dont blame Metman for taking this leave of absence..sometimes the best option is to walk away and leave them to it.

Here's to a speedy return to normal service being resumed soon.

Well said Jon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭wicklaman83

If you happen to agree with him name who yous are on about.i might not be a frequent poster but i am a daily visitor so anyone on here regurlarly will know who it is.as far as im concerned metman and maybe yourself dont seem to like any one posting on this other than ES personal but since its a public forum yous can stop your tantrums cause there is nothing you can do about it.

Metman close the door on your way out!

1. I've never had a tantrum on here. All my posts are quite level headed.

2. Well done on spotting its a public forum. Didn't realise it myself but appreciate the heads up.

3. If your trying to re stir up the issue go ahead and do it yourself. I'm not your gilly. Find your own names

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

This forum has survived well and generated some intelligent debates since it was set up. I thought at first it might be hijacked by anti-garda posters etc.. but that hasn't happened and I find it an interesting place to visit and read the views of ES personnel, non ES people who have an interest and those who want to be ES personnel.

I don't refer to the latter as wannabes because anybody who is currently serving was at some stage a wannabe and then they became "a got to be" and when they retire they will be "has beens":D

I have no bones about naming eroo and fyr fytr as two enthusiastic posters who have a strong interest and a lot of opinions on this forum, but I would not describe them as walters because they have never claimed to be what they are not and have always been restrained when they have had to defend themselves on this forum. I far prefer these people to the ones who throw stones at me.

Sorry to see metman go, he generated a lot of debate here, and I enjoyed our forum and PM chats. In a way jonanderton and himself can speak more freely about what they do because they are outside this jurisdiction, some of the garda posters here have to be a bit reserved if you know where i'm coming from.

While on the subject of metman and I know he will be checking in without logging in to see what we are saying about him, I think you may have been a bit hard on one of the civvies here and I was surprised to see you "throw the glock out of the pram:P" but it would be a shame if you didn't continue to contribute to the forum.

Jonanderton got pisssed of with a certain poster who parachuted in to talk shyte about seals and rangers and sas and in the process insult his colleagues, I think if these donkeys were ignored by all we wouldn't end up bickering amongst ourselves

I just noticed deadwood has also bailed out, I hope its not going to be a case of "Will the last person to leave turn off the lights".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

CLADA wrote: »
    I just noticed deadwood has also bailed out, I hope its not going to be a case of "Will the last person to leave turn off the lights".
    So. What have I missed?:D

ok, i appologise for the boathouse thread.it seemed fitting at the time.obviously my humour isnt shared and for that i appologise.
    Look what's on TG4 at the minute! (21.00)
    I'll get me coat...again.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

Others have manned up and said "ok i was wrong sorry" not this "im going home and taking my ball with me" type of crap.

If you're going to cast aspersions on people's character then you'd best have your own house in order first Al.

I would have let sleeping dogs lie but its irritated me that you've persisted in seeking an apology and making out that you have been victimised. I took issue with you on this site for a valid reason; you repeatedly posted comments written to imply that you were experienced and/or serving when clearly you were not. Other regular posters agreed with me on this. I pulled you up on it but to no avail, as it carried on and on until a number of members got so fed up with it that this whole walter thing took over.

However a lot of other forum users didn't see what I and other members were referring to in your 'waltering' and so it looked as if we were having a go at you undeservedly. Not so. The reality is that this is just one of many forums where you make yourself out to be something you're not, isn't that right Sgt.Al, of the Garda National Drugs Unit? And are you really 31 years of age and married?

You've been posting on here and on other sites for years pretending to be a skipper in AGS (amongst other things) and giving advice and 'speaking from experience' to serving Specials in the UK services. If this doesn't make you the epitomy of a Walter, then I don't know what does. What concerns me is that you are using 'friendships' with real serving members on here to post 'insider' views on other websites. Not to mention possibly misleading serving Special Constables who might actually believe you or take you at face value, and committing criminal offences into the bargain.

Anyways sonny, if you choose to question my character or call me a liar as you have done, be prepared for the fallout.... Sergeant :rolleyes:

Don't embarrass yourself any further on here.

so ya couldnt stay away.obviously you were forgot about and now looking for more attention

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

Infraction to darren254 for personal abuse.

dont see anything about metman getting an infraction.was his last post not personal abuse to fyr.obviously regular posters have the run of the place.telling someone they are looking for attention is now personal abuse.ya learn something new everyday

Obviously integrity, honesty and truth of fact isn't a concern of the visitors to this forum :(

Shame

whatever metman has to say would be full of that wouldn't it.will ya stop lickin civicf's arse

I have to disagree with you Darren, I think you may be missing the point overall as to what is being said, but I respect that this is your opinion.

I am a regular reader but only post in relation to areas I want to learn about and to share my experience and support others if I can, I present myself in an open and honest fashion at all times and am greatly concerned with the information metman has uncovered, as a result I also completly agree with metmans post. He raised in a very mature and honest fashion concerns that had previously he felt concerned him, at the time those that no him from his posts understood his concerns but suggested that maybe he needed a break away, I had also said that I didn't share in his concerns at the time but respected his stand on the issue and based this respect on his insight, knowledge and passion for his profession, however, now that new information has come to light I now see completly that metman was well witinin his rights as a member of this forum to address these issues both now and in the past.

I take the vast majority of posters here at face value, I used the information shared here to help raise awareness and to try and adapt policy on behalf of those members of the ES who actually face extreme challenges each day and night in order to ensure our peace and security, if one presents as untruthful then it puts all information in doubt and in fact puts a dark cloud over every aspect of discussions here.

There has always been a welcome to everyone here, I am a non member and have had differences of opinions at times, however I have always been welcomed and I have always received support, to elude that an outsider is not welcomed is wrong, to make yourself out to be something that you are not when in fact it could really impact of those that are is wrong. Sites like this allow for people to remain annomyous in order to share opennly but to bring this into question is wrong.

This is my humble opinion and I am open to being proven wrong on my concerns, I also appreciate that someone actually cares enough to address this and had felt that the comments leveled at Metman were wrong from the beginning and apologies to metman for not stating this at the time openly here.

Asking for or offering of opinions... Everyone should be free to and entitled to give and receive both.. I've said this from the start. Questions and items for debate... everyones invited to the party.

But
    Giving advice to people and 'retelling' experiences under the pretence that other people believe you to be someone you are not, well, That can't be right in anyones book...

and in some circumstances could be dangerous, ie offering legal advice, or tactical/officer safety techniques or exposing incorrect methodolgy of ES working practices.

ps I recall m4j came on here asking for the opinions of active service members regarding a very important issue, and the work he was doing regarding this... If he had people giving him experiences and advice which was completly false and untrue, this could have influenced and affected his work greatly, which in turn could have been detrimental to serving and retired AGS members.

Surley this shouldn't be condoned or encouraged

i also respect your opinion but i feel as an established member like metman to just up and leave and publicly state he was leaving cause of one or two members highly childish.why state to us all that he was leaving other than draw attention to himself i dont know.if indeed he is a member of garda/police god help us when a member of such an organisation feels he has to leave cause the heat is rising or he has a problem with another member

darren254 wrote: »
    i also respect your opinion but i feel as an established member like metman to just up and leave and publicly state he was leaving cause of one or two members highly childish.why state to us all that he was leaving other than draw attention to himself i dont know.if indeed he is a member of garda/police god help us when a member of such an organisation feels he has to leave cause the heat is rising or he has a problem with another member

As previously stated, the posts were going nowhere and sometimes the best thing is to stop, and back off a bit. Metman did this, collected his thoughts, then returned. His stating he was departing was to highlight the facts why he was taking a leave of abscence as opposed to just the fact that he was... well, thats my understanding of it.

Good points made above.
    As a prolific poster, fyr ftr has sometimes been given a "fools pardon" here. He was seen as a bit innocent/naive and maybe a bit too enthusiastic.
    Metman has, it seems, exposed a person who has used the relative anonimity of Boards to pose as a Garda, amongst other stuff. This would also call into question the veracity of every poster here claiming to be a member of an E.S.

We can only wait for fyr ftr to confirm or deny these claims.

I think everyone is allowed express an opinion here but will be corrected quickly on points of law, policy etc., whereas on other forums (fora?) these can go uncorrected. e.g. "...and he wasn't wearing his cap when he arrested my mate..." kind of comments. Visitors might see this as hostile as there usually isn't another post to support them with a "...and my mate who knows stuff says they're obliged to give you a lift yadda, yadda..."

Let's hear what Fyrftr has to say.

Hi Darren,

I understand what you are saying but for me I learned along time ago that sometimes other factors in life can impact on me and as a result I possible may do or say things that really dont reflect my true personality at all.

I base my opinion of metman not on what was (in my opinion at the time) a very out of character decision but on all of his posts and contributions, I also try and understand that we can all do and say things at times that are not a real reflection of who we are.

Keeping this point in mind I have looked at all the other sites in relation to the poster concerned and would be concerned about the fact that they have made themselves out to be 31yrs married, home owner, Garda Seargent, College Student in UCD, Barman, living at home, expert in many things etc etc, maybe there is a logical reason, maybe this person is in need of support in someway, I dont want to judge them of vilify them but am concerned that others may in fact of been misinformed and even hurt as a result. It is very strange behaviour that could impact on others badly.

I hope this helps to share were I am coming from and again am open to be proven wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,074 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Metman, where is the connection between Fyr.Fytr and Sgt. Al of PoliceSpecials.com?

Not your ornery onager

esel wrote: »
    Metman, where is the connection between Fyr.Fytr and Sgt. Al of PoliceSpecials.com?

Esel, if it helps last night I was able to link Sgt Al to Fry Fytr on another site, both are from Swords, the link seems to be gone now but I am sure myself that both were the same. Again, I looked out of concern in relatio to conversations I have had with this poster.

I could be wrong but was very sure earlier.

Hope this helps

m4j wrote: »
    Keeping this point in mind I have looked at all the other sites in relation to the poster concerned and would be concerned about the fact that they have made themselves out to be 31yrs married, home owner, Garda Seargent, College Student in UCD, Barman, living at home, expert in many things etc etc, maybe there is a logical reason, maybe this person is in need of support in someway,

Something a few of us thought but were afraid of coming across as patronising.

if indeed he is a member of garda/police god help us when a member of such an organisation feels he has to leave cause the heat is rising or he has a problem with another member
    Sometimes it's about taking a step back. An old bull and a young bull were sitting on a hill..."

esel wrote: »

The Skype username....amongst other things.....profile below.

Personal Photo

Add as Friend
    Send Message
    Rating
    Rate me
    Personal Statement
    STOP ARMED GARDAÍ
    Visit My Website
    Personal Info
    Sgt. Al
    PoliceSpecials.com Regular
    31 years old
    Male
    Dublin, Ireland
    Born Jan-25-1977
    Interests
    Rugby, Driving, Motorsports, Scuba Diving, Worknig Dogs, Emergency Medical Care, Ambulance Work
    Other Information
    Police Force: Garda Siochaná
    Skype profile: fyrfytr.al
    Statistics
    Profile Views: 719*
    Local Time: Sep 28 2008, 8:38 PM
    399 posts (0.3 per day)
    Contact Information
    No Information
    ask me
    Send Message
    Private
    * Profile views updated each ho

deadwood wrote: »
    Sometimes it's about taking a step back. An old bull and a young bull were sitting on a hill..."

:D;)

Personal Statement
    STOP ARMED GARDAÍ

Sorry, thats funnier than the bulls quote....
    Maybe the grammers wrong...

Personal Statement
    STOP? ARMED GARDAÍ!

Well done on the detective work Metman. As you are already aware i was of the same opinion as you on this issue from the start of this saga. I am delighted you have been vindicated and hope you will continue posting.

I'm sure you'll have loads of pm's from all those that disagreed with you;)

Nearly as funny as Garda Intelligence!

Well done on the detective work Metman. As you are already aware i was of the same opinion as you on this issue from the start of this saga. I am delighted you have been vindicated and hope you will continue posting.

I'm sure you'll have loads of pm's from all those that disagreed with you;)

Cheers Paul, thanks for that mate.

We've discussed this previously in PMs and with your own operational and job experience you recognised there was an issue, without any prompting. I just did a bit more digging ;)

And I've had loads of pm's from people saying cheers, good effort. The policespecials site (run by serving police officers) is going to be advised, and they take a very dim view of people impersonating police on there.

they take a very dim view of people impersonating police on there.
    Did I do that one about the actor on Glenroe before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

Darren254 has been banned from this forum. Was funny to see a relatively new user to the forum get so worked up about this issue.