Are You Safe In A Taxi ( Yes It's Part 3! )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭lost marbles

ShellBell1 wrote: »
    Most taxi drivers are duuurty pdf files, da dopey eejits.

And they always start rambling on 'bout some sh1te, as well as askin' u personal questions.

Like, my bro usually retorts 2 dem n those cases: "I'm paying u to DRIVE, not to TALK."
    They aren't long shuttin' da fook up then! Ya, it's a saucy thing to say, but it's da truth!

The above annoyance (rambling taxi drivers) should be at da forefront of most people's concerns when hoppin' into a taxi!
    if you talk the way you post i dont think there would be much conversation going on in my taxi .
    better you leave it to the bro :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

And they always start rambling on 'bout some sh1te, as well as askin' u personal questions.

Like, my bro usually retorts 2 dem n those cases: "I'm paying u to DRIVE, not to TALK."
    They aren't long shuttin' da fook up then! Ya, it's a saucy thing to say, but it's da truth!

The above annoyance (rambling taxi drivers) should be at da forefront of most people's concerns when hoppin' into a taxi!

Personally, i'd be happy to throw your brother out of my taxi in moving traffic if he said that to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭hopalong85

Volvoboy wrote: »
    Personally, i'd be happy to throw your brother out of my taxi in moving traffic if he said that to me.

how should you tell a taxi driver that you don't want to listen to him? seriously, i don't like to be rude but i find it annoying sometimes when they don't get the hint that you just wanna chill in peace and not talk.

hopalong85 wrote: »
    how should you tell a taxi driver that you don't want to listen to him? seriously, i don't like to be rude but i find it annoying sometimes when they don't get the hint that you just wanna chill in peace and not talk.

Just nicely tell them that you arent in the humor for talking, this craic of saying ''I pay you to drive not talk'' will find yourself in the middle of suburbia at 3am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

Just nicely tell them that you arent in the humor for talking, this craic of saying ''I pay you to drive not talk'' will find yourself in the middle of suburbia at 3am.

That's exactly where I want to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭ShellBell1

[quote=lost marbles;57375532]if you talk the way you post i dont think there would be much conversation going on in my taxi .
    better you leave it to the bro :rolleyes:[/quote]

If you patronise people in real life conversations the way you do in your post above, you'd soon be conducting a conversation with yourself.

I think it's no coincidence that your boards.ie username is 'lost marbles'- better leave it to those who clearly haven't lost their marbles, 'Captain High Horse'! :p

Yeah, that's a really smart move. You wouldn't be long finding yourself joining a dole queue! Or down at the Guards' station.

FYI, I know many people (aside from my bro) who have also said, "I'm paying you to drive, not to talk", and there was no hassle. If it weren't for fares' money to begin with taxi drivers wouldn't even have jobs, so the customer (providing they aren't pissed drunk) should take greater priority.

I think it's unlikely that you would have the capacity to say anything to anyone politely! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,892 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Yeah, that's a really smart move. You wouldn't be long finding yourself joining a dole queue! Or down at the Guards' station.

FYI, I know many people (aside from my bro) who have also said, "I'm paying you to drive, not to talk", and there was no hassle. If it weren't for fares' money to begin with taxi drivers wouldn't even have jobs, so the customer (providing they aren't pissed drunk) should take greater priority.

I think it's unlikely that you would have the capacity to say anything to anyone politely! :pac:

Actualy if a customer said that to me ( admitedly depending on the tone in which it's said ) I think I would be terminating the hire agreement right there and they'd be looking for a different taxi.

FYI A lot of the time when a driver starts off a conversation it's part of a risk assesment process, whats this guy like, am I at risk of not getting paid or worse on arrival, is the guy shifty and nervous, is the guy sober enough to know when he's going to puke or piss himself, is the guy going to fall asleep and then say that I took him the long route etc. etc.

Wreck wrote: »
    That's exactly where I want to be.

Might not be the right bit of suburbia though, then again from the stories I hear you might not get to the right bit anyway, unless your prepared to talk to the driver and direct him every turn :)

As George Hook queried on one of his shows A Taxi Driver that doesn't know where Stillorgan is, whats he doing driving a taxi?

[quote=lost marbles;57375532]if you talk the way you post i dont think there would be much conversation going on in my taxi .
    better you leave it to the bro :rolleyes:

If you patronise people in real life conversations the way you do in your post above, you'd soon be conducting a conversation with yourself.

I think it's no coincidence that your boards.ie username is 'lost marbles'- better leave it to those who clearly haven't lost their marbles, 'Captain High Horse'! :p
    [/quote]
    oh those sticks and stones :D sorry i will conduct any future discussion in your kind of speak will i
    i hvnt lost my mrbls..but ppl like urself cos me 2loose de plot sumtims, Captain High Horse nw ders a gud name:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Spook_ie wrote: »
    Might not be the right bit of suburbia though, then again from the stories I hear you might not get to the right bit anyway, unless your prepared to talk to the driver and direct him every turn :)

As George Hook queried on one of his shows A Taxi Driver that doesn't know where Stillorgan is, whats he doing driving a taxi?

Using it as cover to the fact he gets his money from drug dealing?

FYI, I know many people (aside from my bro) who have also said, "I'm paying you to drive, not to talk", and there was no hassle. If it weren't for fares' money to begin with taxi drivers wouldn't even have jobs, so the customer (providing they aren't pissed drunk) should take greater priority. I think it's unlikely that you would have the capacity to say anything to anyone politely! :pac:

Of course the other thing we tend to look for in the conversations is mental instability like Schizophrania..

Nah all the drug dealers I know, know where Stillorgan is, apparantly it's got a good customer base...:)

manys a true word said [be it in jest];)

Is all about give and take, your nice to me and i'm nice to you, your a complete bitch or wanker (depending on gender) and i'll be a complete wanker to you.

Quite basic life skills here.

Love to see you in a coffee shop, ''where's the sugar asshole''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭towel401

Where's part 4?

towel401 wrote: »
    Where's part 4?

Part 4 is ''Rude, Agressive, Muppet, Drunk, Abusive, Smelly - Passangers''

Dont give me the high and mighty bollix either.

Is all about give and take, your nice to me and i'm nice to you, your a complete bitch or wanker (depending on gender) and i'll be a complete wanker to you.

Quite basic life skills here.

Yeah, and you're well equipped to preach to people about life skills.

Of course the other thing we tend to look for in the conversations is mental instability like Schizophrania..

WTF?!!! :confused:

Actualy if a customer said that to me ( admitedly depending on the tone in which it's said ) I think I would be terminating the hire agreement right there and they'd be looking for a different taxi.

You'd have a lot of people looking for different taxis then. The only person you'd be driving around is your own goddamn self! :pac:

A lot of the time when a driver starts off a conversation it's part of a risk assesment process, whats this guy like, am I at risk of not getting paid or worse on arrival, is the guy shifty and nervous, is the guy sober enough to know when he's going to puke or piss himself, is the guy going to fall asleep and then say that I took him the long route etc. etc.

There's a big, obvious difference between small talk where someone is 'testing the water', so to speak, and RAMBLING ON. I mentioned nothing about tentative small talk where they're ascertaining whether someone's okay or not. Learn to read please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Oshare Bones

You'd have a lot of people looking for different taxis then. The only person you'd be driving around is your own goddamn self! :pac:

There's a big, obvious difference between small talk where someone is 'testing the water', so to speak, and RAMBLING ON. I mentioned nothing about tentative small talk where they're ascertaining whether someone's okay or not. Learn to read please.

Sit in the back seat and they'll know you don't wanna chat, jeez it's not rocket science. Whenever I have got a taxi when I had a headache or was really tired or something, they generally get the message.

Well, I'll tell ya now.. I have ALWAYS sat in the back seat of taxis and yet, I still get this annoying, incessant chatter from them. I sat in the back, told them where I wanted to go to, and then kept my mouth shut. Then they say something else (almost always unrelated to the destination), I respond with, "Hmmm" in a non-committal tone, but they keep trying to make conversation with me.

I have actually lied that I was really tired before, after which they say, "Oh okay. Sorry", followed by a few minutes' silence before they start talking to me again.

I am the veteran of taking taxis and I've had more hassle than I would be able to recount here in one fell swoop (this is the wrong place for it anyway). I've came across every sort of a f*cking thing despite making no effort whatsoever to initate a conversation with them.

Asking me personal questions (that I then ignore, obviously), commenting on what I look like, talking about the news, voicing their sexual fantasies and, only last week, one driver launching into a big story about how his friend had hung himself within 30 seconds of me sitting into the back seat. Nice.

YOU KNOW VERY, VERY LITTLE about what I have came across... I have good reason to react the way I do.

Love to see you in a coffee shop, ''where's the sugar asshole''

Well, you may as well be addressing the wall with that comment because I don't even drink coffee!!

Why would I - or anyone else who's similarly aggrieved - demand, "Where's the sugar, asshole?" in a coffee shop? Since when do coffee shop employees harass their customers a la taxi drivers?? :confused:

well shell bell iv a simple solution to your problems with taxi drivers talking to you .DONT USE THEM :D and just to reciprocate on your comments on my user name i thought id give you my views on your choice of name if thats all right .

SHELL BELL sounds like a good looking crusty [now that would be hard to find ] that lies on the road in mayo looking like roadkill :p

well shell bell iv a simple solution..

This is a PUBLIC FORUM where people are free to share their OWN OPINIONS on a thread's topic. I did just that, but you seem to be very bruised altogether that my opinion differs from your own, as well as being relentless in attempting to force your own opinion on me. Why should you care so much about my difference of opinion? Why is that any of your business? Why can't you accept that I have a different viewpoint? Well, I don't care anyway.

You are an inordinately weak person insofar that you are doggedly denigrating my difference of opinion. My God, how insecure are you?? I don't have to defend what I choose to think for some seemingly aggrieved, sleep-deprived person (presumably male :rolleyes:) I will have the pleasure of never meeting for as long as I live. There's something redeemable there at least, thank God.

Making crass comments about a stranger's physical appearance is about as sensical as pissing into the wind- not to mention it being of a kindergarten level. Yawn. Boring. Heard it all before.

Oh, and I don't recall requesting a solution (or, indeed anything else) from the likes of you.

Your so-called 'solution' just wasted your physical energy in typing it because it has no effect on my choices in my day-to-day life WHATSOEVER.

This is so predictable and dull. Thanks! Oh, now I'm expecting the easily predicted, sarcastic "Thanks!" from you in response to that- but damn, I prompted you already!

Now I'll wait for some other cheap, bitchy comment from you. Go on. Prove me right, why don't you?!

Anyway, I'm outta here as I have a busy day coming up. Can't be bothered wasting my energy on immature, uninformed individuals I don't give a flying f*ck about from this moment onwards.

BORING!

night night so
    it was yourself who made the ras comment on MY user name so i was just giving my point of view on yours .you seem to have found a better manner in your form of posting from the first post you made earlier so i take it the meds have kicked in ,
    look i will not stand [or sit for that matter ]with the likes of yourself slating taxi drivers who have to put up with the like of yourself .i gave you a solution to what you posted as a problem .there are loads of other forms of public transport you can use .its your choice .no one forces you to take a taxi .infact i would prefere not to get you near my taxi ever .
    another suggestion is to take a good look in the mirror bell1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

ShellBell1 im going to seriously suggest you stop reporting posts from a flame war that, you, yourself started...

If you continue with this, youll will be taking a weeks holiday from after hours.
    I also suggest you read the charter again, partaining to text speak.

".. a week's holidays.."?

Well, yeah, you're not entirely inaccurate there.

After Hours can be a bit like a crap, poorly paid job that goes nowhere alright!

Bravo.

I'm not the least bit perturbed about the possibility of "taking a week's holidays" from After Hours. I hardly ever even post on the forum (or indeed, on the overall site) because, ya know, I actually have a life! :pac: I rarely come here- and now I remember why!

See yiz later, desk-bound computer nerd losers spending all your free time ranting on internet forums!!!! :D

After Hours can be a bit like a crap, poorly paid job that goes nowhere alright!

Bravo.

I'm not the least bit perturbed about the possibility of "taking a week's holidays" from After Hours. I hardly ever even post on the forum (or indeed, on the overall site) because, ya know, I actually have a life! :pac: I rarely come here- and now I remember why!

See yiz later, desk-bound computer nerd losers spending all your free time ranting on internet forums!!!! :D

Hahaha 'yer a gas woman.:pac:

Bravo.

Damn I wondered what that big wooden thing in my boot was, it's a desk!!

BTW Don't slam the (BANG) door on your way out.....ooops too late..[