Ever feel like just "Leggin It" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

You been watching your Long Way Down dvd again?

I was just thinking that!

They're showing the series on BBC2 though :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

i'm in pretty much the same boat as the o.p.
    probably gonna be made redundant in a month or so. south america is where the cool kids are heading these days i'm told. so i'm jumping on that bandwagon. anybody want a house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

As a wise old man once said "Fkucing go for it!"

That sounds like fun. Can I go instead of doing the leaving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

Jay P wrote: »
    As a wise old man once said "Fkucing go for it!"

That sounds like fun. Can I go instead of doing the leaving?

if you happen to be a girl of about 18 (tits like pow!! ass like wham!!) with questionable morals, and are filthy, you my friend are more than welcome.
    but you're a fella, aren't you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Go for it OP, definately. Worst case scenario, you give it a couple of months and absalutely hate it, so fukking what, you just come home again, you have everything to gain and nothing to lose (apart from a few grand that you'll probably just spend on sweet fukk all if you stay here), when you look back on your life you regret the things you never did, not the things you gave a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭pseudonym1

Guess answered your question then - we all feel like doing it- you op are in the lucky position that its feasible.
    Now all you should be thinking is where?

You could travel from village to village, helping people with their problems...

...no wait, that's the plot of Kung Fu.

Erm...

http://cache.jalopnik.com/assets/resources/2008/03/a-team-van.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,804 ✭✭✭Setun

If I was in your position I'd grab my girlfriend up on my shoulder, suitcase full of money in the other hand, and feck off to Moscow to catch the Trans-Siberian Railway.

If you're single you could go to Japan :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

You have Three choices.

1. Go
    2. Stay
    3. Coke off a hookers ass in an obscenely expensive Hotel room.

I am between 1 and 3 but I would Go I think, you'll remember that at least!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭jackbutler

Fight club

"We spend our time waiting tables, cleaning rooms, filling cars with gas,
    saving money to buy sh*t we don't need"

Go for it, it'll be like 365 days of Glastonbury, although i saw Kings of Leon there and you'll have to settle for Amy Winehouse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,441 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Yeah, go for it. There are a lot of people I'm sure in your situation who would dearly love to take off for a year or two. You never know when things might change in your life. For example, in my life I've got a very ill parent who's had a degenerative disease for several years (since I was in my early 20s). I'd love to go away traveling for a year but it's not an option.

A couple of years down the line as well you might be starting to worry more about pursuing a career and getting a mortgage. You could meet someone and end up making babies.

So....on yer bike :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Never mind the bike.

Go backpacking to cheap countries such as Bolivia, Thailand, Laos.

Not only are they cheaper but more interesting too. If you were good with your money and maybe did a little work in hostels you could make that 6k last 9 months.

Go. Now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

This is how I make every decision -

When I'm an old man, sitting at home reflecting on my life, will I be thinking "I'm glad I worked in Dublin that year" or will I be thinking "I'm glad I travelled the world that year"?

I reckon it's a pretty easy decision... go for it!

Regret things you have done, not things you haven't done, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭falipo

Kold wrote: »
    No license :( Balls.. I'm 22, I should have some skills by now. I'm actually really wondering about taking out a big loan and bouncing around Europe for a few months. What kind of loan could a pre-degree 22 year old artist taking a year out score?

2k student travel loan prolly the best ull get... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

falipo wrote: »
    2k student travel loan prolly the best ull get... :(

hm. Looks like I'm working for a few months before I go so.

Can anyone confirm this? May go hitting up banks if I get the bad news tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭bman

kraggy wrote: »
    Never mind the bike.

Go backpacking to cheap countries such as Bolivia, Thailand, Laos.

Not only are they cheaper but more interesting too. If you were good with your money and maybe did a little work in hostels you could make that 6k last 9 months.

Go. Now.

What he said. But still bring the bike. Now that'd be a road trip.

More freedom to do what you want when you have the transport with you. No buses, trains, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

100% do it man ....

Never thought I'd say this about something in After Hours..

But the thread has been quite inspirational.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Daithi McGee

Can't believe you are still here :) Go for it. You only live once, unless you come back as a rabbit or something and rabbits can't drive motor bikes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 759 ✭✭✭gixerfixer

3.5 grand. That would only last you about 2 months on the road. Africa twin is a great bike but for that money i'd say it's knacked.Wrong time of year to be heading away unless your off down to africa and even then you'll have to head through Europe.i'd seriously think twice before heading off with 3.5k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Kold wrote: »
    hm. Looks like I'm working for a few months before I go so.

Can anyone confirm this? May go hitting up banks if I get the bad news tomorrow.
    In the current climate you'll do well to get anything unfortunately Kold. Especially if you can't show any income. It'll largely depend on what you can reasonably expect to earn after graduation...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

I have been debating going away next year...

Problem I'm having is a few of the lads have another two years left in college and they want to do Oz and the rest.

Now I'm thinking I can just feck off somewhere like South America for 6 - 9 months, come back, save and go to Oz. Or I can just work here for a further two years then hit Oz & Nz.

Decisions decisions but I really want to get out of this country... Longshanks, to South America we go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭bman

Naos wrote: »
    I have been debating going away next year...

Problem I'm having is a few of the lads have another two years left in college and they want to do Oz and the rest.

Now I'm thinking I can just feck off somewhere like South America for 6 - 9 months, come back, save and go to Oz. Or I can just work here for a further two years then hit Oz & Nz.

Decisions decisions but I really want to get out of this country... Longshanks, to South America we go!

Similar to myself so. It's hard to orchestrate that kinda stuff around other people. I'm just aiming to get a core group of 2-3 people and I'm off. Hopefully next May to September. Don't think I could do it on my own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

bman wrote: »
    What he said. But still bring the bike. Now that'd be a road trip.

More freedom to do what you want when you have the transport with you. No buses, trains, etc.

Bike saps all your money and limits how far from here that you can travel.

Try bringing it to South America or SE Asia. Costs a bomb to transport them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

As said before nevermind the bike it's going to eat into your funds pretty quick. Just get a flight out of here to anywhere the fancy takes you. If you stay within the EU countries you don't have to worry about Visas. Your money could last up to a year in places like Slovakia. Get a job in an Irish pub somewhere.

I'm just back from Vilnius and was so tempted to stay. Opening the door of my apartment was the most depressing thing that's happened to me this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭falipo

ScumLord wrote: »
    As said before nevermind the bike it's going to eat into your funds pretty quick. Just get a flight out of here to anywhere the fancy takes you. If you stay within the EU countries you don't have to worry about Visas. Your money could last up to a year in places like Slovakia. Get a job in an Irish pub somewhere.

I'm just back from Vilnius and was so tempted to stay. Opening the door of my apartment was the most depressing thing that's happened to me this year.

That sounds like a much better plan than the bike...If I was in your shoes man I wouldn't stop to start a thread on boards Id be long gone...seems like a no brainer to be honest especially with the lack of ties...its just where to go you have to decide...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭pseudonym1

So lurch
    You gone?
    How is the decision making going?
    Canada would be where I think I would (maybe will) go!
    Let us know either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

longshanks wrote: »
    if you happen to be a girl of about 18 (tits like pow!! ass like wham!!) with questionable morals, and are filthy, you my friend are more than welcome.
    but you're a fella, aren't you?

Alack, yes :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭thelurch

well got the bike, 3 weeks to go:D Start in France, Have to buy Panniers and top box for bike to stash my stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

To hell with the bike! Go to the airport and book yourself onto the next flight out! To hell with where it's going, just go and see where it leads you!

One day dammit, one day.......