Armed Gardai! Look out innocent people!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Four-Too wrote: »
    There so many posting here that have Nazi ideals - I have no doubt, eithe unknowingly or knowingly. Anyone who supports weaponry is a Nazi in my opinion. You guys citing "scumbags" are the same as those citing "terrorists" accross the water. Where are the terrorists?? Who are the scumbags - lost teenagers who the state has failed, and who society has failed. If they are really that bad then "let he who has not sinned cast the first stone". FFS though, things could be much worse! Most "scumbags" just have too much drink/drugs, and Dublin is safe to walk in as long as one keeps to the main streets and roads.

45 posts for Godwins law to be invoked?

You're slipped AH, slipping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,178 ✭✭✭Mena

monument wrote: »
    No. That's my way of saying it's quite funny to see people childishly name calling and not being able to get it right. They both wrote "Your an idiot" when they should have typed 'you're an idiot'. Sorry, but I don't get out much so it's quite funny. :o

The your/you're confusion that seems to have swamped the interwebs is very annoying. Funny when people take a post the wrong way because they themselves can't tell the difference.

Your finding it funny simply means you're pretty normal :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

There so many posting here that have Nazi ideals - I have no doubt, eithe unknowingly or knowingly. Anyone who supports weaponry is a Nazi in my opinion. You guys citing "scumbags" are the same as those citing "terrorists" accross the water. Where are the terrorists?? Who are the scumbags - lost teenagers who the state has failed, and who society has failed. If they are really that bad then "let he who has not sinned cast the first stone". FFS though, things could be much worse! Most "scumbags" just have too much drink/drugs, and Dublin is safe to walk in as long as one keeps to the main streets and roads.

wait-youre saying all scumbags shouldn't be shot? You've lost me

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Jeanxx wrote: »
    I just made my point. A lot of people do not even know about this new unit. A lot of people won't care when they know.

Did I mention anything about the state of our hospitals? Em no. I'm not talking about that. This isn't a thread about that sort of argument.

No you did not mentioned anything about the state of our hospitals, nor did you mention anything about the State tracking emails and phone calls. Did I say you mentioned such? Err, no, I did not.

But my point was people "won't even turn a blind eye" to a lot.

The point on hospitals is that our system did not fall into the state it is in now overnight. It was a process. A process people didn't "even turn a blind eye" to.

Another example is people didn't even turn a blind eye to the process of selling off Eircom until it was too late - when they realised they weren't getting broadband or were having problems getting it or weren't getting speeds other western countries are used to.

What's the connection? People's indifference until it's too late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭Wossack

Karoma wrote: »
    Is that your way of saying you want to post it but don't have the balls? (Same with the Thank You twats.)
    They're banned. Do you want to be banned too? Just post or PM me and it'll be done. Attack the post, not the poster. End of.

think it was more to do with the your instead of you're...

I also believe the OP has been slinging as well as he's been receiving, has he also been banned?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 kizlode

Dont know if its just me, but i remember a time when if you gave a garda cheek, you'd get a good clip on the ear from him and then, when you got home, you'd get another from your da. Changing times??

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,289 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2008/0904/1220372097767.html

Now they have set up an armed back-up force for the Gardai, which would be allowed to use deadly weapons. I think the country and it's populace is quite peaceful, the only ones in Irish society who would deserve to have armed Gardai on their tail are a few drug dealers who also carry weapons. But these drugies could be dealt with in other ways that the government hasn't bothered to do.

Bottom line, this is an attack on YOU! The ordinary Irish citizen, and your human rights if they should try anything. Police brutality is around the corner, and a policed state is here!

I read this when you first posted but have only stopped laughing now.

If you seriously believe that I think you've got more serious issues to worry about than armed back-up force for the Gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Jeanxx

monument wrote: »
    No you did not mentioned anything about the state of our hospitals, nor did you mention anything about the State tracking emails and phone calls. Did I say you mentioned such? Err, no, I did not.

But my point was people "won't even turn a blind eye" to a lot.

The point on hospitals is that our system did not fall into the state it is in now overnight. It was a process. A process people didn't "even turn a blind eye" to.

Another example is people didn't even turn a blind eye to the process of selling off Eircom until it was too late - when they realised they weren't getting broadband or were having problems getting it or weren't getting speeds other western countries are used to.

What's the connection? People's indifference until it's too late.

I agree with your point on say the hospitals. Yes you're right but I think the reason people 'won't even turn a blind eye' is because of the whole 'It will never happen/effect me' attitude until it's too late, so yes I do agree on that. People do suffer incredibly from that attitude.

However I don't, in my opinion, believe that this new armed unit is going to cause a problem. I just don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Those Gardaí, always shooting people up for the craic. Though you've got to hand it to them, they know how to make their job entertaining.

kizlode wrote: »
    Dont know if its just me, but i remember a time when if you gave a garda cheek, you'd get a good clip on the ear from him and then, when you got home, you'd get another from your da. Changing times??

That made me laugh :)

A lot of people have no respect for the Gardai at all these days. I believe it's a combination of bad experiences, media coverage & the breakdown of the relationship between the Gardai & society.

I'm only nineteen & I'm a Reserve & plan to join the Guards so I do have immense respect for the Guards but I do think some bad apples spoil the cart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭311

this thread makes boards ghey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,299 ✭✭✭sdanseo

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2008/0904/1220372097767.html

Now they have set up an armed back-up force for the Gardai, which would be allowed to use deadly weapons. I think the country and it's populace is quite peaceful, the only ones in Irish society who would deserve to have armed Gardai on their tail are a few drug dealers who also carry weapons. But these drugies could be dealt with in other ways that the government hasn't bothered to do.
    Bottom line, this is an attack on YOU! The ordinary Irish citizen, and your human rights if they should try anything. Police brutality is around the corner, and a policed state is here!

That is one of the stupidest statements I've ever read. You clearly watch way too much TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭utick

311 wrote: »
    this thread makes boards ghey

yore ma's gay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭Wurly

utick wrote: »
    yore ma's gay

Oh god, please lock this thread. zzzz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭WooPeeA

What's wrong with armed Garda? It doesn't mean that they start to shot to the people..

It's for their own security. What can they do if attacked by knife or gun? Run away to save their ass and leave all innocent civilians?

Tragedy haven't happen yet.. but it earlier or later will.. Ireland is not utopia. And when something wrong will happen, people will start to claim "why haven't we armed our Gardai before?".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭311

Whats the point in a five year old killing a garda?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

What a failure of a thread..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭Wurly

Dave! wrote: »
    What a failure of a thread..........

Yep!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

does anyone else think that gardai with no arms would look funny??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭Wossack

taidghbaby wrote: »

how would they keep their tshirts facing forwards? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

A lot of people have no respect for the Gardai at all these days. I believe it's a combination of bad experiences, .

I know some of these people. Their "bad experiences" with Gards doesnt stretch past the Gard catching them being a scumbag and stopping them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Be interesting to see what would happen if they caught a scumbag then.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Be interesting to see what would happen if they caught a scumbag then.
    well it would make for interesting viewing on the six news when the sergeant tried to explain why the officer wasnt able to aprehend the purpotrator of the heinous crime in the vicinity of his veh-icle at approximately ten past four in the afternoon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,540 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

impr0v wrote: »
    They've been recruiting female gardaí for decades.

funniest post of the week..without a doubt:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Poccington wrote: »
    The state has failed or society has failed? Absolute bull****.

Let's just a pick an area... We'll say Finglas, since I have first hand experience of it. The place is full of scumbags, I went to school with many of them and have grown up and lived in the same area as many of them. Somehow, I've managed to avoid criminal charges of any kind, addictions of any kind and I'm in a ridiculously good job. Now how did I do that but all those other folk didn't even though we started out in the exact same circumstances?

Society and the state didn't fail them, they failed themselves.

You've just made my short list of favourite posters with this post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Yea, and we could no longer refer to 'The long arm of the law'.

A lot of people have no respect for the Gardai at all these days. I believe it's a combination of bad experiences, media coverage & the breakdown of the relationship between the Gardai & society.

I personally think its because of their lack of effectiveness. Where i live, if you need the Gardai, you ring them, they arrive about an hour later, do very little and leave.

I'd be all for them getting armed. Why? Because i'll never be in a situation where it will directly affect me. Let the scumbags worry about it. I can assure you, anyone who gets shot, especially in Ireland, is well deserved of it.

I agree.
    No armed Guard who has been properly trained is going to shoot someone for the craic or if they're not sure. That's ridiculous. Honestly some people watch too much television.

& if you are a Guard who wants to join an armed unit they have to seriously go through the mill to get in. Rigourous testing & such & they already have to have exemplery behaviour throughout their career as an unarmed Guard. They don't let any Joe Soap who wants to wield a gun in. Sure to get into the Reserves was a loooonnngg process & that's just the reserves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

Troll alert!

This from someone calling people Nazis?

Ding! Ironing is ready!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

In the US the public is guaranteed the right to bare arms not because of a national obsession(though that is a factor) but rather as a means of keeping the state in check.

Although I would never advocate the expansion of civil weaponry ownership I do believe that increased powers granted to the police(as a representative of the state) should be justified by an increased requirement for them. This has yet to be displayed in the vast majority of instance's.

As an example, take the death penalty in the US. It has been proven that the threat of death has no effect upon criminal behavior. Society will always have criminal's, deviant behavior is a required part of life. The question is what kind of a society do we want to live in and personally I do not want to be a part of a society where gun's are on the front lines of law enforcement.

In short, I would rather Lady Justice keep her sword and scales rather than drop both and pick up an mp5.