Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Armed Gardai! Look out innocent people!!

• 13-09-2008 4:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2008/0904/1220372097767.html

Now they have set up an armed back-up force for the Gardai, which would be allowed to use deadly weapons. I think the country and it's populace is quite peaceful, the only ones in Irish society who would deserve to have armed Gardai on their tail are a few drug dealers who also carry weapons. But these drugies could be dealt with in other ways that the government hasn't bothered to do.
    Bottom line, this is an attack on YOU! The ordinary Irish citizen, and your human rights if they should try anything. Police brutality is around the corner, and a policed state is here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

If I was a Garda, I certainly wouldn't walk the streets of Dublin without being armed...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Yeah i heard they are recruiting emotionally unstable gardai to carry the guns too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

Four-Too wrote: »

Now they have set up an armed back-up force for the Gardai, which would be allowed to use deadly weapons. I think the country and it's populace is quite peaceful, the only ones in Irish society who would deserve to have armed Gardai on their tail are a few drug dealers who also carry weapons. But these drugies could be dealt with in other ways that the government hasn't bothered to do.
    Bottom line, this is an attack on YOU! The ordinary Irish citizen, and your human rights if they should try anything. Police brutality is around the corner, and a policed state is here!

that makes me want to join the gards now. the stories you see about knackers kicking the sh1t out of gards are freaking ridiculous. i say its about time, and they should ease off on the regulation of guns for ordinary citizens

the real criminals like you mentioned will always have guns. no amount of EU regulation and Fianna Fail legislation will take the guns away from these lads so its better if the gards and even ordinary folk are equipped to deal with these sh1tbags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Four-Too

Tri wrote: »
    If I was a Garda, I certainly wouldn't walk the streets of Dublin without being armed...

Thats because your a coward, you'd be shaking in your boots if you were a garda, blasting any poor bastard just out of fearfullness...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

Relax, none of us are brazillian plumbers.

Thats because your a coward, you'd be shaking in your boots if you were a garda, blasting any poor bastard just out of fearfullness...
    Eh, alright then... Weirdo. Please don't ever consider a career in comedy - you'd be sh1te:rolleyes:
    :pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Will there be wailing and gnashing of teeth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

Yay-somewhere to steal guns from during the zombie apocalypse. \o/

Tri wrote: »
    Eh, alright then... Weirdo. Please don't ever consider a career in comedy - you'd be sh1te:rolleyes:
    :pac::pac::pac::pac:

I'm not here to make jokes, this is serious!! I'm warning you for your benefit mother****er. People can't rebel if they need to with armed law enforcment...and it is widely open to corruption.
    You've seen what happened with Shell, Co. Mayo, have you not guys?

I'm not here to make jokes, this is serious!! I'm warning you for your benefit mother****er. People can't rebel if they need to with armed law enforcment...and it is widely open to corruption.
    Mother****er?? Well, that's a nice way to talk to a laydee.. That's it, i'm changing my avatar.:pac::pac:

A bunch of eejits tried to hold up development because they didn't get their way? Or are you referring to something else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Overheal wrote: »
    cant even post an image right...

Page wouldn't load. Sorry sir :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭kwalsh000

It sounds like you are trying to make the posters here feel scared of Gardai with guns, even though before this new back up unit there are armed units out and about already. So just because a few more have guns does not mean much. They have always been there and will always be there. Back to the tin foil hat for you so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

I've only seen them shoot 4 people so far and to be honest they were asking for it. They were being rude, used some profanitys AND they were scumbags.

I think we're grand until we run out of scumbags .. but then watch out .. the Gardai are coming to kill us all!

Go away OP .. you're talking nonsense - your conclusions aren't drawn from any real facts !

A bunch of eejits tried to hold up development because they didn't get their way? Or are you referring to something else?

"A buch of eejits" wtf?! A foreign company tried to take our resources, without us getting any benefit. The Gardai supported big business and battered protesters. The locals health and safety is under risk because of the gas pipeline.

Are they clubbing baby seals too? Because I looove clubbing baby seals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Steyr wrote: »
    you also reek of shell to sea...

lmao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

I think the country and it's populace is quite peaceful

Which country is this again?? even been in a city centre at chucking out time?

Solution: place 2 armed guards in close proximity to every supermacs in the country. that will deter any Johnny "after 6 pints i'm such a hard bastard" knackbag from starting aggro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Which country is this again?? even been in a city centre at chucking out time?

Solution: place 2 armed guards in close proximity to every supermacs in the country. that will deter any Johnny "after 6 pints i'm such a hard bastard" knackbag from starting aggro.

No, knowing Johnny Gobsh1te, you'll only encourage him. But at least you'll be able to shut the fvcker and amke sure there aren't any copycats.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

What, a bunch of fools don't understand the most basic concepts of law, society, PR or a shower?

Yup, and the sooner we give the guards some guns, the sooner they can start executing every single one of those idiots.

Then we can all throw a big party!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

And in this weeks conspiracy theory thread...

YAWN

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I'm a great believer in Six warning shots in the back for wrongdoers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

Degsy wrote: »
    I'm a great believer in Six warning shots in the back for wrongdoers.

ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭BendiBus

a policed state is here!

Thank fcuk for that! If it wasn't for that we'd have morons like Shell to Sea imposing their minority views on the people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

When other countries see that our police force don't use guns, They think its crazy! I think they get along grand without any weapon.

But they sometimes take the baton a bit too serious and get carried away at hippie festivals...

They removed their ID numbers from their uniforms to avoid being identified by the hippies they were assaulting! Bit of a beating to the head sorts them out :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

faceman wrote: »
    Yeah i heard they are recruiting emotionally unstable gardai to carry the guns too.
    And dressing them in tan and black-coloured uniforms

Worked for Ben and Jerries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭villager

Four-Too I think you will find that the gardai do not back big business they are just carrying out there job. the protesters have been told by the courts of the land that this project is going ahead but because they dont like it they then try to blame the gardai. any most of the protesters are not even from the locality they should be told to f*%$ off bac=k to where they came from

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭jeremyquinn

When the government are the only people with guns you better start worrying.

#

Do you still believe in Santa??

You will develop all the way to your grave, mate.

Pigs with guns are not a good idea, contrary to what the sunday world would have you believe, there is very little crime in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Naw, this is just the new back up Garda unit deployed to chase after Westlink toll bridge dodgers, pay your toll and you will have nothing to worry about :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

#

Do you still believe in Santa??

You will develop all the way to your grave, mate.

Pigs with guns are not a good idea, contrary to what the sunday world would have you believe, there is very little crime in Ireland.

You're right, arming a small number of Garda is a terrible idea.

Instead, let's just give the smellbags free reign to do as they please. :rolleyes:

You're kicking up a fuss cause some Garda are being armed to deal with well armed scumbags, you'd kick up murder if the Army was ever deployed to deal with the threat when it gets worse.... And you'll kick up murder when "There's nothing being done to stop those scumbags" because the idea of Armed Garda was knocked on the head because of people like you :mad:

Poccington wrote: »
    You're right, arming a small number of Garda is a terrible idea.

Instead, let's just give the smellbags free reign to do as they please. :rolleyes:

You're kicking up a fuss cause some Garda are being armed to deal with well armed scumbags, you'd kick up murder if the Army was ever deployed to deal with the threat when it gets worse.... And you'll kick up murder when "There's nothing being done to stop those scumbags" because the idea of Armed Garda was knocked on the head because of people like you :mad:

Read some of the classics, say Tacitus or Procopius. You need opposition to justify the expansion of state powers. If there were no "bad guys" then these measures would not be accepted. The police know exactly who these people are, the facts are that the law is designed to keep then on the streets, to terrify the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,806 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Read some of the classics, say Tacitus or Procopius. You need opposition to justify the expansion of state powers. If there were no "bad guys" then these measures would not be accepted. The police know exactly who these people are, the facts are that the law is designed to keep then on the streets, to terrify the public.

Anyone have the hotline number to Conspiracy Theories?

I think one of theirs has got loose :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Law, my arse! Hit the nail on the head when you said Sunday World, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

bout time. great news.

You're actually right.

The government likes nothing more than terrorising people.

I'll let ya in on a little secret.... Ya know when pipe bombs and the like are discovered and the Army EOD team turns up to dispose of the explosives? There's no real explosives, they just do it to put the ****s up ya :rolleyes:

You're actually right.

I'll let ya in on a little secret.... Ya know when pipe bombs and the like are discovered and the Army EOD team turns up to dispose of the explosives? There's no real explosives, they just do it to put the ****s up ya :rolleyes:

i know a copper, they are told to put the lights and sirens on occasionally and blitz around the towns etc, just to keep the public on their toes. oldest trick in the book.

You're actually right.

Ol' Jeremy's going a little too OTT, but his basic point IS true: the more scared the public is, the easier it is to control them. Look at the US government and the whole Iraq's-got-nukes!-we-gotta-hit-'em-before-they-hit-us scenario.

Governments don't do pipe-bombs and sirens... no need, really, while you have tabloids to do it for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Hmm, google threw up an add for Cerebral Palsy sufferers when I read the OP's post...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Mena wrote: »
    Hmm, google threw up an add for Cerebral Palsy sufferers when I read the OP's post...
    I threw up my dinner when I read the OP's post. The tinfoil hat brigade give me the nause. :(

There so many posting here that have Nazi ideals - I have no doubt, eithe unknowingly or knowingly. Anyone who supports weaponry is a Nazi in my opinion. You guys citing "scumbags" are the same as those citing "terrorists" accross the water. Where are the terrorists?? Who are the scumbags - lost teenagers who the state has failed, and who society has failed. If they are really that bad then "let he who has not sinned cast the first stone". FFS though, things could be much worse! Most "scumbags" just have too much drink/drugs, and Dublin is safe to walk in as long as one keeps to the main streets and roads.

These people have swallowed the promoted belief that the government/police are out to look after them.

A quick history lesson. The police originated when rich land/property owners needed a force to protect their assets. Nothing has changed, the police are in the pockets of the elite. The alternative view was promoted so that the masses will willingly hand over taxes to fund a force which essentially is there to keep them in their place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Ah that's great. Kill, maim and steal, the guvernment made me doit guv!

The state has failed or society has failed? Absolute bull****.

Let's just a pick an area... We'll say Finglas, since I have first hand experience of it. The place is full of scumbags, I went to school with many of them and have grown up and lived in the same area as many of them. Somehow, I've managed to avoid criminal charges of any kind, addictions of any kind and I'm in a ridiculously good job. Now how did I do that but all those other folk didn't even though we started out in the exact same circumstances?

Society and the state didn't fail them, they failed themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

faceman wrote: »

They've been recruiting female gardaí for decades.

impr0v wrote: »
    They've been recruiting female gardaí for decades.

Troll alert! Have some respect for our female counterparts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Jeanxx

Ah here now...

I was all quiet reading this thread until some eejit said that about female Gardai & I had to pipe up. Why don't you keep your sexist opinions to yourself & actually stick to the point of the thread.

I don't see this as a particularly huge problem since we all know that there is an existing armed unit. It's not going to ruin us. We're hardly going to turn into a state of anarchy overnight. Most people won't even turn a blind eye to this development.

Just my two cents.