Armed Gardai! Look out innocent people!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭jeremyquinn

Four-Too wrote: »
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2008/0904/1220372097767.html

Now they have set up an armed back-up force for the Gardai, which would be allowed to use deadly weapons. I think the country and it's populace is quite peaceful, the only ones in Irish society who would deserve to have armed Gardai on their tail are a few drug dealers who also carry weapons. But these drugies could be dealt with in other ways that the government hasn't bothered to do.
    Bottom line, this is an attack on YOU! The ordinary Irish citizen, and your human rights if they should try anything. Police brutality is around the corner, and a policed state is here!

When the government are the only people with guns you better start worrying.

A bunch of eejits tried to hold up development because they didn't get their way? Or are you referring to something else?
    #

Do you still believe in Santa??

You will develop all the way to your grave, mate.

Pigs with guns are not a good idea, contrary to what the sunday world would have you believe, there is very little crime in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Now they have set up an armed back-up force for the Gardai, which would be allowed to use deadly weapons. I think the country and it's populace is quite peaceful, the only ones in Irish society who would deserve to have armed Gardai on their tail are a few drug dealers who also carry weapons. But these drugies could be dealt with in other ways that the government hasn't bothered to do.
    Bottom line, this is an attack on YOU! The ordinary Irish citizen, and your human rights if they should try anything. Police brutality is around the corner, and a policed state is here!
    Naw, this is just the new back up Garda unit deployed to chase after Westlink toll bridge dodgers, pay your toll and you will have nothing to worry about :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

#

Do you still believe in Santa??

You will develop all the way to your grave, mate.

Pigs with guns are not a good idea, contrary to what the sunday world would have you believe, there is very little crime in Ireland.

You're right, arming a small number of Garda is a terrible idea.

Instead, let's just give the smellbags free reign to do as they please. :rolleyes:

You're kicking up a fuss cause some Garda are being armed to deal with well armed scumbags, you'd kick up murder if the Army was ever deployed to deal with the threat when it gets worse.... And you'll kick up murder when "There's nothing being done to stop those scumbags" because the idea of Armed Garda was knocked on the head because of people like you :mad:

Poccington wrote: »
    You're right, arming a small number of Garda is a terrible idea.

Instead, let's just give the smellbags free reign to do as they please. :rolleyes:

You're kicking up a fuss cause some Garda are being armed to deal with well armed scumbags, you'd kick up murder if the Army was ever deployed to deal with the threat when it gets worse.... And you'll kick up murder when "There's nothing being done to stop those scumbags" because the idea of Armed Garda was knocked on the head because of people like you :mad:

Read some of the classics, say Tacitus or Procopius. You need opposition to justify the expansion of state powers. If there were no "bad guys" then these measures would not be accepted. The police know exactly who these people are, the facts are that the law is designed to keep then on the streets, to terrify the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,521 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Read some of the classics, say Tacitus or Procopius. You need opposition to justify the expansion of state powers. If there were no "bad guys" then these measures would not be accepted. The police know exactly who these people are, the facts are that the law is designed to keep then on the streets, to terrify the public.

Anyone have the hotline number to Conspiracy Theories?

I think one of theirs has got loose :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Law, my arse! Hit the nail on the head when you said Sunday World, imo.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

bout time. great news.

You're actually right.

The government likes nothing more than terrorising people.

I'll let ya in on a little secret.... Ya know when pipe bombs and the like are discovered and the Army EOD team turns up to dispose of the explosives? There's no real explosives, they just do it to put the ****s up ya :rolleyes:

You're actually right.

I'll let ya in on a little secret.... Ya know when pipe bombs and the like are discovered and the Army EOD team turns up to dispose of the explosives? There's no real explosives, they just do it to put the ****s up ya :rolleyes:

i know a copper, they are told to put the lights and sirens on occasionally and blitz around the towns etc, just to keep the public on their toes. oldest trick in the book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

You're actually right.

Ol' Jeremy's going a little too OTT, but his basic point IS true: the more scared the public is, the easier it is to control them. Look at the US government and the whole Iraq's-got-nukes!-we-gotta-hit-'em-before-they-hit-us scenario.

Governments don't do pipe-bombs and sirens... no need, really, while you have tabloids to do it for you.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,178 ✭✭✭Mena

Hmm, google threw up an add for Cerebral Palsy sufferers when I read the OP's post...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Mena wrote: »
    Hmm, google threw up an add for Cerebral Palsy sufferers when I read the OP's post...
    I threw up my dinner when I read the OP's post. The tinfoil hat brigade give me the nause. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Four-Too

There so many posting here that have Nazi ideals - I have no doubt, eithe unknowingly or knowingly. Anyone who supports weaponry is a Nazi in my opinion. You guys citing "scumbags" are the same as those citing "terrorists" accross the water. Where are the terrorists?? Who are the scumbags - lost teenagers who the state has failed, and who society has failed. If they are really that bad then "let he who has not sinned cast the first stone". FFS though, things could be much worse! Most "scumbags" just have too much drink/drugs, and Dublin is safe to walk in as long as one keeps to the main streets and roads.

These people have swallowed the promoted belief that the government/police are out to look after them.

A quick history lesson. The police originated when rich land/property owners needed a force to protect their assets. Nothing has changed, the police are in the pockets of the elite. The alternative view was promoted so that the masses will willingly hand over taxes to fund a force which essentially is there to keep them in their place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,178 ✭✭✭Mena

Ah that's great. Kill, maim and steal, the guvernment made me doit guv!

The state has failed or society has failed? Absolute bull****.

Let's just a pick an area... We'll say Finglas, since I have first hand experience of it. The place is full of scumbags, I went to school with many of them and have grown up and lived in the same area as many of them. Somehow, I've managed to avoid criminal charges of any kind, addictions of any kind and I'm in a ridiculously good job. Now how did I do that but all those other folk didn't even though we started out in the exact same circumstances?

Society and the state didn't fail them, they failed themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,652 ✭✭✭impr0v

faceman wrote: »
    Yeah i heard they are recruiting emotionally unstable gardai to carry the guns too.

They've been recruiting female gardaí for decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Four-Too

impr0v wrote: »
    They've been recruiting female gardaí for decades.

Troll alert! Have some respect for our female counterparts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Jeanxx

Ah here now...

I was all quiet reading this thread until some eejit said that about female Gardai & I had to pipe up. Why don't you keep your sexist opinions to yourself & actually stick to the point of the thread.

I don't see this as a particularly huge problem since we all know that there is an existing armed unit. It's not going to ruin us. We're hardly going to turn into a state of anarchy overnight. Most people won't even turn a blind eye to this development.

Just my two cents.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Just to add a little perspective, from the article linked to in the first post:
    The Association of Garda Sergeants and Inspectors (AGSI) has voiced concern at the project, however.

AGSI general secretary Joe Dirwan said the new system "blurs the traditional ethos of the unarmed, uniformed gardaí, which has served this country so well".

He believed response units made up of plainclothes detective members, who have always been armed, would be more appropriate.

However, AGSI has agreed to participate in the pilot programme.

Welcome to After Hours. Hope you enjoy your stay!
    Steyr wrote: »
    ROFL at the OP, your an idiot, you also reek of shell to sea...
    Teferi wrote: »
    Your an idiot.

Well done. Thanks for brighting up my weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

So, how is La-la land these days? A few drug Dealers have guns is it? There are thousands of illegal weapons floating around this country whether you like it or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

monument wrote: »
    Well done. Thanks for brighting up my weekend!

Is that your way of saying you want to post it but don't have the balls? (Same with the Thank You twats.)
    They're banned. Do you want to be banned too? Just post or PM me and it'll be done. Attack the post, not the poster. End of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭utick

here now female cops are a danger to the public.

Oh yeah I can see how they are.

I've completely changed my mind after seeing that ridiculous video.

I'm guessing she had PMS at the time too.

Sexist, honest to god. No facts to back it up at all.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

For the record: I don't feel strongly one way or another about this subject.
    Karoma wrote: »
    Is that your way of saying you want to post it but don't have the balls? (Same with the Thank You twats.)
    They're banned. Do you want to be banned too? Just post or PM me and it'll be done. Attack the post, not the poster. End of.

No. That's my way of saying it's quite funny to see people childishly name calling and not being able to get it right. They both wrote "Your an idiot" when they should have typed 'you're an idiot'. Sorry, but I don't get out much so it's quite funny. :o
    So, how is La-la land these days? A few drug Dealers have guns is it? There are thousands of illegal weapons floating around this country whether you like it or not.

The newspaper you're reading or the news you're watching etc might tell a different story but gun crime is low in Ireland.
    Jeanxx wrote: »
    Most people won't even turn a blind eye to this development.

Most people "won't even turn a blind eye" to developments like the government tracking our phone calls, emails. Most people "won't even turn a blind eye" about hospital are run until it is too late. My point is people "won't even turn a blind eye" about much, so I don't get your point. If you even have one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

Insert people should not fear their governments cliche hero speech here

Conspiracy theorists...

Yeah as a Reserve I have no opinion at all. None whatsoever. That's the reason I joined to have no opinion on society.

I just made my point. A lot of people do not even know about this new unit. A lot of people won't care when they know.

Did I mention anything about the state of our hospitals? Em no. I'm not talking about that. This isn't a thread about that sort of argument.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Karoma wrote: »
    (Same with the Thank You twats.)

My thank you was for their failure to spell it properly. But thanks anyway for calling me a twat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    My thank you was for their failure to spell it properly. But thanks anyway for calling me a twat.

Does that no count as personal abuse? Ban for Karoma?