Tattoo's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭and2

did anyone see Scofield getting his removed in prison break?? looked painfull

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

and2 wrote: »
    did anyone see Scofield getting his removed in prison break?? looked painfull

**** me, is he still in jail.

Worst escape plan ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

I used to work for a laser tattoo removal surgery.

V. painful, V.V. expensive, and V.V.V. funny. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭oeb

sueme wrote: »
    I used to work for a laser tattoo removal surgery.

V. painful, V.V. expensive, and V.V.V. funny. :D

Yup, apparently much more painful off than on. Also will normally take alot longer and cost alot more.

But then again you could just pick your tattoos and your artist carefully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

oeb wrote: »
    Yup, apparently much more painful off than on. Also will normally take alot longer and cost alot more.

But then again you could just pick your tattoos and your artist carefully.

Or just be selective in what you get, and where on your body you get it done, and then not be a baby if it doesn't turn out perfectly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Unlike smoking, getting a tattoo doesn't effect your health at all :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

Will wrote: »
    That depends. Remember the barbed wire Pamela Andersonesqe tattoo everyone got? I think I would feel rather a twat with one now.

Well, assuming on the studio and it's hygene habits.

That aside though, that smoking thing is a lie. The only thing smoking gives you is 'cool'. See the post a couple of pages back.

I disagree. Some tattoo should only be met with a punch in the face.:pac:

Dragan wrote: »
    I disagree. Some tattoo should only be met with a punch in the face.:pac:

To jump completely off topic.

You know the way they have the Irish proverbs on the back of the matches? I always wondered about the one:

"A kind word never broke anyones face"

What about
    "Your wife gives great blowjobs."

Fad tattoos like the barbed wire one and others come and go in popularity.
    To get a tattoo just because you see it on a celeb is a mad idea.
    People nowadays want instant gratification, they don't want to put any thought into a tattoo. They go to the cheapest place, get a tattoo that is up on the wall and a few years down the road end up being p!ssed off cos it's fading/smudging/going to sh!t.

In the forum, the most regular question is 'I want a tattoo for about €100, recommend me a place'

That's all we get! It's like asking an electrician to wire your house for €100. Some guy might do it but more than likely he is a cowboy and end up screwing with your electrics.

Fad tattoos like the barbed wire one and others come and go in popularity.
    To get a tattoo just because you see it on a celeb is a mad idea.
    People nowadays want instant gratification, they don't want to put any thought into a tattoo. They go to the cheapest place, get a tattoo that is up on the wall and a few years down the road end up being p!ssed off cos it's fading/smudging/going to sh!t.

In the forum, the most regular question is 'I want a tattoo for about €100, recommend me a place'

That's all we get! It's like asking an electrician to wire your house for €100. Some guy might do it but more than likely he is a cowboy and end up screwing with your electrics.

Dude, i Mod Fitness and SDMA, people either want to be an Adonis or Bruce Lee with no effort, i'm not surprised!

Personally i have no ink. I have always been too certain i would change my mind about my desired pieces. It's been about 3 to 4 years and no change in my plans so i hope to start getting them done soon.

I believe such a thing deserves a lot of time and thought, then tracking down the right person for the job depending on the style and paying what it's worth to get the highest possible quality myself.

I mean, i'm gonna have it for a while.:)

Your thought process is spot on. It's for life, make it the best it can be. Yeah Dragan, people wanting rock hard abs but eat sh!t, drink loads and get no exercise, just doesn't work.

For people saying they don't like tattoos, grand. Not a huge deal at all. Doesn't bother me and for sure won't bother anyone else who has a tattoo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

If someone showed up for an interview with tattoo/piercings and they were brilliant, would you employ them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

MIN2511 wrote: »
    If someone showed up for an interview with tattoo/piercings and they were brilliant, would you employ them?

they employed me!! you can see mine through my shirt, doesnt effect my work and I'm just as good as it than the people sitting next to me without ones. Also never had any complaint from customers, once you provide the level of service they expect to get , why should they complain?

I got employed in a very well known accounting firm with not only piercings and tattoo's but stretched lobes. So yeah, it does happen

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 11,249 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

The only difference between a tattooed person and a person who isn't tattooed is that a tattooed person doesn't care if you're tattooed or not. ~(Sign often seen in tattoo shops)
    The world is divided into two kinds of people: those who have tattoos, and those who are afraid of people with tattoos.
    ~Author Unknown

And my favourite :
    When someone was asked will they worry what it looks like in xx years??
    When Im 75 Ill be more worried if Im able to wipe my own ass than what my tattoos look like~Author Unknown

Course I would, I have before and I would again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,030 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

I got employed in a very well known accounting firm with not only piercings and tattoo's but stretched lobes. So yeah, it does happen

Defiantly not the one I work for. I have yet to see a single visible tattoo or male piercing on any one of the 2k+ employees. And I meet them all.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 11,249 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

I would and I have done in the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

All things being equal, I'd employ the guy who didn't have tats.

SheroN wrote: »

Can I ask why--if the person is the right person for the job what does it matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

I like tattoos in a general sense - some can be really cool like proper pieces of art, just expressed in a different way...Don't have any myself - can't find the right idea or position :)

Don't mind the "tramp stamp"...Not a huge fan of Chinese lettering / Maori (unless you are part of the culture because you probably don't know what they mean). I don't think you can really judge tattoos as a whole because they are dependent on the piece itself, the person's shape, positioning, etc.

🤪

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

Hellrazer wrote: »
    Can I ask why--if the person is the right person for the job what does it matter?

If there were two people going for the job and their skills and experience were identical in every way. If it was a role than had a customer facing aspect, I'd rather have a guy without tats. It depends on the industry, if i owned a skate board shop for instance I'd probably hire the lad with tats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

I've got a tatoo on my foot. It makes me badass. I go wandering the streets round housekicking people in the face. The last thing they see before they get knocked the fùck out is my tattoo!! It says "pwned"!!!!! FÙCK YEAH!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭Anarking

Every office needs a freak.

Freak.

If there were two people going for the job and their skills and experience were identical in every way. If it was a role than had a customer facing aspect, I'd rather have a guy without tats. It depends on the industry, if i owned a skate board shop for instance I'd probably hire the lad with tats.

My thoughts exactly but I think the original question was if they were "brilliant" would you employ them with tattoos/piercings??

I suppose a better question is "Would you employ someone slightly worse than the tattooed person because they didnt have tattoos?"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

If i was interviewing somebody for a joba nd they had visible tattoos then no way pedro.
    To have tats that cant be hidden when the time comes,to my mind displays immaturity..."**** the future,i wanna be cool NOW".
    If you want to make profound statements to all and sundry about how deep you are thats fine,but be prepared to experience negative feedback.
    Getting tattooed is not displaying individuality,you're actually branding yourself and the chances are somebody else has it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

emo!! wrote: »
    they employed me!! you can see mine through my shirt, doesnt effect my work and I'm just as good as it than the people sitting next to me without ones. Also never had any complaint from customers, once you provide the level of service they expect to get , why should they complain?
    Some employers don't have issues with it... Fair play... I once worked in a certain retail shop and the Manager there used bandage to cover hers up:confused:
    True! How did they employ you!:D I bet they were scared when they saw the huge red haired fecker:p
    oeb wrote: »
    Course I would, I have before and I would again.
    Fair enough
    I would and I have done in the past.
    Fair enough
    Thats the problem.... it's discrimination you know:rolleyes:
    My thoughts exactly but I think the original question was if they were "brilliant" would you employ them with tattoos/piercings??

I suppose a better question is "Would you employ someone slightly worse than the tattooed person because they didnt have tattoos?"

Yeah, thanks... good one...

In banks they tend not to employ people with visible tattoos

People seem to be working off the assumption that people get their tattoo's for others.

Where did you get that idea from Degsy?