For yee men..

c - 13 wrote: »
    I don't see what the point is in landing out thousands for a ring when that money could be put towards a holiday or the wedding or something like that ?

See this is utter madness!
    A wedding is just a memory of a day and some photographs, a holiday is even less sigifigant.
    An engagement ring stays with you everyday of your life and even after that it is something that those you leave behind cherish.

I do think the cost of the ring should be split.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Alarums

I paid 2500 for my wifes engagement ring. It caused quite a bit of friction at the time because I could not understand how she could find a small rock worth that kind of cash. It was obviously very important to her and I wanted to make her happy, so I spent a long time finding the perfect one, but I still don't understand it. How can women possibly think that a tiny rock is worth the price of a car? It doesn't do anything, it's a symbol, and symbols do not come with a minimum price tag.

The sparkles speak to our soul.
    It is something deep and spirtual.
    One day mankind will be evolved enough to understand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭brosps

its supposed to be 3 months wages right??

so i suppose it depends on your job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭paperclip2

A one hundred euro ring from Argos. :) I dont wear much jewllery and the thoughts of having anything about my person worth more than that freaks me out. The fact that he asked me and was prepared to put up with me forever meant more than anything else. To be honest he could have given me one made from tinfoil and I would have been happy.

What did surprise me was other peoples reactions. You could almost hear the sneer when 'Argos' was mentioned. But maybe I'm not as materialistic as I should be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭mehfesto2

It's pure vanity. Some people assosciate the price of the ring to how much he loves her. And fair play to them. But it's rubbish. It's just substituting love for money.

There's a story around here about how a bloke up the road proposed with a pizza-slicer. It was an in-story between the two of them. Nobody present got it, but she loved it. Not sure if she got a ring too, but I think if he knew her well enough to know that she's say yes to a kitchen utensil, then it's true love and she doesn't need a ring to confirm that.

Sure, she has the 'slicer anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,781 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Moonbaby wrote: »
    The sparkles speak to our soul.
    It is something deep and spirtual.
    One day mankind will be evolved enough to understand.
    Understand that a tiny piece of glass-like rock is worth €2500. I don't think any man will ever understand that. The fact that women can speaks volumes in itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

If the time comes for me to get engaged I will not be buying an expensive ring. But then I will not be getting engaged to the sort of woman who places some girly immature desire for a nice ring over pure common sense.

Ring to be bought at a sensible price and the rest of the money used to buy stuff for the future, or the house i9f you are just moving into a new place etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

My dad found his wedding ring in a roof gutter and my mam doesn't even have an engagement ring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

See this is utter madness!
    A wedding is just a memory of a day and some photographs, a holiday is even less sigifigant.
    An engagement ring stays with you everyday of your life and even after that it is something that those you leave behind cherish.

I do think the cost of the ring should be split.

How is it madness ?

Using some of the money you could spend on a ring to pay for wedding photographers and so on (and there will be certain costs regardless of how large/small a wedding you go for) makes a lot more sense to me than spending thousands on a lump of metal and compressed coal that will sit on someones finger to impress her co workers for the duration of a week.

Deep and spiritual my hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭HJ Simpson

We got my wives engagement ring made it cost just under €2.5k made by a valued retail at about €4.5K. We decided on platinum.(Dont like gold). In view of the fact she is going to wear it for the rest of her life (Hopefully) not too much!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The sparkles impress our mates.
    It is something ingrained and ritual.
    One day my bloke will be shallow enough to understand.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

always had figure of 5-6k in mind tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

Einstein wrote: »

What!? Madness!!!

I don't think any regular person could tell the difference between a 'high quality diamond' and a cubic zirconia ...... at least I couldn't. All it is is a shiny sparkly thing .... it's the gesture that means the most.

Edit: I can't believe some of my friends who are planning to 'upgrade' their engagements rings in the future .... jees!

Glowing wrote: »
    What!? Madness!!!

I don't think any regular person could tell the difference between a 'high quality diamond' and a cubic zirconia ...... at least I couldn't. All it is is a shiny sparkly thing .... it's the gesture that means the most.

Edit: I can't believe some of my friends who are planning to 'upgrade' their engagements rings in the future .... jees!
    I don't think it's madness someone wants to pay between 1 and 2k, why should you think any different of what I had in mind?
    I see people spending tens of thousands on weddings...meh...it's one day out of your life. Small gathering, maybe abroad, people that are important to you.
    Spend money on what you can enjoy for more than a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

I think 1 or 2k is madness too ;) Its funny, if you told someone you were engaged, the first thing they'd do is look at your ring finger. If you didn't have a piece of bling to show for it, they wouldn't believe it, or think you were weird.

I think the price of weddings and everything that goes with them is crazy too. Down with that sort of thing!

Glowing wrote: »
    I think the price of weddings and everything that goes with them is crazy too. Down with that sort of thing!
    here here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭nevaeh-2die-4

Its 2008 no man should spend more than 200e on a ring poon tang comes & goes

If any girl goes mad then she is more in love with money & materialistic things than you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭UsedtobePC

In these modern times of equality, women earning money and all let me ask ye: What does the bloke get as an engagement pressie? A big thank you and a kiss. This is blatant discrimination I tells ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

Why does it have to be a ring?? I mean why cant you buy an engagement medallion, or engagement torc, or diamond encrusted engagement hip flask, engagement magic carpet, engagement tampon, engagement servant monkey or engagement kitchen utensils (thats where she will be most of the time, ohhh! you dawg!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,639 ✭✭✭Iago

UsedtobePC wrote: »
    In these modern times of equality, women earning money and all let me ask ye: What does the bloke get as an engagement pressie? A big thank you and a kiss. This is blatant discrimination I tells ya!

Interestingly my wife offered to buy me a Tag Heuer watch as my enagagement pressie/symbol but we decided that as all the money was joint anyway it made more sense to work towards doing something more productive with the money.

It's the thought that counts.

Diamond rings don't come with the added bonus of an engagement monkey servant? Oh. :!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Not necessarily. I know one girl who got her boyfriend a Raymond Weil watch as an engagement present, another bought hers a new LCD tv and mine got this:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

I think a watch is the traditional one. I'm sure you wont see many women looking for large rocks spending upwards of 1K on a watch though ;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

So true. I don't want an engagement ring. Just the same, simple wedding band my husband gets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭nevaeh-2die-4

well said man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Einstein wrote: »
    Thats about as much money as I have to get me through the next 12 months. So clearly atm I wouldn't pay over 200 quid for an engagement ring. Probably wouldn't spend over a grand even if I could afford it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

i paid a good bit about 2 months salary before tax

in fairness she would heve been happy with a cheap ring (she's very sweet that way) but its not like i had to get a loan or anything

i brought her to a 5 star hotel in amsterdam and proposed to her and then we picked the ring over there

i don't see where the aggro is coming from tho i'm far from stupid she's far from greedy

but i suppose there could be a thread called how much did you pay for your couch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭nogoodnamesleft

Id roughly spend 1.5k to 2k but it would depend on the quality of the ring not just the price. People seem to just focus on what the ring cost. Not the cut, set of stone etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Id roughly spend 1.5k to 2k but it would depend on the quality of the ring not just the price. People seem to just focus on what the ring cost. Not the cut, set of stone etc.

i think that the price reflects this to a point