Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

For yee men..

• 04-09-2008 2:51am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭

Working in a jewelry store myself, I see many guys coming in looking for engagement rings and it always amazes me the amount they spend, even more so the amount their OH's demand.

So, i'm asking you, if/when you were to ever get engaged. How much do you think is an appropriate amount to spend on the engagement ring?

I understand there is a weddings/marriage forum, but i ask here to get the general consensus, as in opinions from people who have proposed in the past to those who've never even contemplated it.

Personally, i see so much money wasted on something so insignificant, most of the time it's the guy who spends thousands but why shouldn't the woman contribute? Sometimes they match it buy buying a nice watch etc, but that's a rarity.

So i think if the time comes for me (can't really see it happening) i probably wouldn't spend more than 1000 euro on a ring.

How much would you spend on an engagement ring for your woman? 158 votes

< 1000
    0% 0 votes
    1000 - 3000
    25% 41 votes
    3000 - 5000
    44% 70 votes
    5000 - 10,000
    14% 23 votes
    10,000 +
    10% 16 votes
    She can buy her own
    5% 8 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Stirling silver with a cubic zirconia would set you back no more than 100. Just tell her it's white gold and a diamond. She'll never know the difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Thankfully, my wife would have been happy with a plastic ring so I'm all set. :) I actually got a nice white gold one that she loved for much less than 1000 and if I spent anymore, she would have probably kicked the sheet out of me. I don't see the point in spending so much money on rings, save it for the house and/or honeymoon. Its not like people are going to recognise or guess the cost of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Ruu wrote: »
    Thankfully, my wife would have been happy with a plastic ring so I'm all set. :) I actually got a nice white gold one that she loved for much less than 1000 and if I spent anymore, she would have probably kicked the sheet out of me. I don't see the point in spending so much money on rings, save it for the house and/or honeymoon. Its not like people are going to recognise or guess the cost of it.

Cheapskate!

Isn't it supposed to be 2 months salary or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

2 months salary? Says who? I pity the fool!

/me searches for post made where poster said she would not accept a ring less than €10000. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

Kernel wrote: »
    Cheapskate!

its "supposed" to be 3 months salary

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Ruu wrote: »
    2 months salary? Says who? I pity the fool!

/me searches for post made where poster said she would not accept a ring less than €10000. :)
    It's quite clear when women like these come into the store, what's worse is that the guy they are with is usually really nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

indough wrote: »
    its "supposed" to be 3 months salary
    Any woman who expects her man to spend 3 months salary on a little metal hoop is a selfish bitch.
    Any man who spends 3 months salary on a little metal hoop deserves to be landed with a selfish bitch.

Unless the man is a gazillionaire he shouldn't be dumb enough to pay more than 1000. It's only a fcuking ring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Any woman who expects her man to spend 3 months salary on a little metal hoop is a selfish bitch.
    Any man who spends 3 months salary on a little metal hoop deserves to be landed with a selfish bitch.

Unless the man is a gazillionaire he shouldn't be dumb enough to pay more than 1000. It's only a fcuking ring!

Well said.

I would probably go to 1500 if the ring was really nice, but I don't see what the point is in landing out thousands for a ring when that money could be put towards a holiday or the wedding or something like that ?

It shouldn't matter if it cost 100,000 or came out of a Halloween brack FFS. Its supposed to be about what the ring symbolises.

I think the person who pays 3 months salary for a ring needs a boot in the hole to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

im afraid you're preaching to the choir here, i chose "She can buy her own" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

that really depends on mine and her income really. in this fantasy world where im not lonely and single i presume i love her but im not about to live in the slums over a shiney fecking stone.

edit: wheres the option to propose with an atari jaguar? thats gotta be worth a few bob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

indough wrote: »
    im afraid you're preaching to the choir here, i chose "She can buy her own" :)

Lol so did I! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭hopalong_ie

Max i would pay is 1000 and only is there was a nice 42" Full HD LCD waiting at home for me within a week. Otherwise the ring would have to be returned :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭oeb

I always had it in my head that I would spend somewhere between 2 and 4 k.

They get to keep it till I murder them and pawn it off, and I could do with the extra cash when I am in hiding.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

I paid €400 about 4 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

Kernel wrote: »
    Cheapskate!

It's supposed to be the ring she wants regardless of price. When my wife and I went looking for rings she picked the one she wanted before ever knowing the price of it, and that was the one she got.

Now obviously if you have a wife to be who is demanding that you spend at least X on a ring then maybe you need to think about your choices and decision making process.

You should spend no more than you can afford and never buy a ring for what someone else will think when they see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Silenceisbliss

i ticked 1000-3000,

I think the ring shouldnt be CHEAP per say, but it shouldnt be an uncomfortable purchase. It depends entirley on what your income is and how much you are willing to spend based upon that.

I personally think spending more than 3000 is too much, it is after all just a ring. You shouldnt quantify your love and affection by having to speand X amount on a ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I'm glad there is none of that nonesense here. But if she wants a ring then I'll happily return to Ireland and buy a nice braic around Halloween!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Paid 1k 20 years ago (young and foolish) That went pear shaped a few tears back and the woman i'm with now wouldn't let me spend that kind of bread on a ring (clever girl) rather a holiday together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Fcuk me that was a freudian slip, it was meant to be years back..............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

I personally have turned down several marriage proposals due to the meagre caratage of the ring...

Seriously, though, the traditional "going rate" for years was a months salary. Then all of a sudden last year, I started hearing 2 months and now it's apparently 3??? Who keeps moving the goalposts???

I got engaged 2.5 years ago and my other half spent a month's salary on the ring. Then, I lost it about 3 weeks before the wedding back in May. I paid for the replacement myself - $3.5k in New York.

Some women are absolutely crazed about the whole engagement ring thing. I know of one girl who had been proposed to and was delighted, loved the ring, etc. etc. Then about 6 months later she found the receipt for it while she was clearing out a drawer in the house and was absolutely digsusted that her H2b had "only" spent €1,500 on the ring, and henceforth referred to it as a "piece of tat" :eek:

But not in front of him, funnily enough...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭nhughes100

Idiots spending crazy money on a ring that she'll only be wearing till the wedding day, go first class on your honeymoon instead, nobody cares what the ring looks like or much months salary it cost- The "oh it's gorgeous" line is just something people say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭eveie

i know a women whos ex fiance bought her a ring worth 10 grand, she got to keep it even though they've broken up, also before this he proposed to her(1st time) the ring was worth anout 7 grand and she threw it at him on e night, and it flew out the wondow and was never found. bigger fool him. i dont think id honestly care how much someone spent because if i said yes it would be for the right reasons not the price they paid for the ring. although my mother has a ssavage engagement ring that i may possibly steel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

nhughes100 wrote: »
    Idiots spending crazy money on a ring that she'll only be wearing till the wedding day.

:confused: You wear the ring with your wedding ring after the wedding...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Never thought about it.

If you want to spend all your money on a ring then knock yourself out. Then pay a stupid amount of money for the wedding too.

Then sit back and spent two years paying it off.

I love watching people live outside their means.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

Is it three months salary net or gross?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

I wouldn't go over €1500

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Would (did) go to about 1500-1700 for a nice ring. I guess rich people can spend what they want, but even for people on decent salaries, it's mad to splash out 3 months wedge on a ring. If someone was insisting on that, I'd be rethinking the engagement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

I paid around 1500 for my fiancees - she knewI was gonna ask so I just said up to around 1500, pick whichever one ya like best! :)
    Not very romantic I know, but I didn't want to get her something she didnt like!
    I wouldnt have gone anymore than that though, thats a fair bit of dosh really.. I got a REALLY nice telly for 200 less :)
    but of course for the 1500 I get much more happiness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,309 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I wrote my fiancee a blank check and told her to go pick her own. This was after i proposed with a €30 ring from Argos. I knew she wouldn't like any ring I picked so I let her pick her own. She only spent €650 on it so I was lucky enough. At least it was her choice not mine.

c - 13 wrote: »
    I don't see what the point is in landing out thousands for a ring when that money could be put towards a holiday or the wedding or something like that ?

See this is utter madness!
    A wedding is just a memory of a day and some photographs, a holiday is even less sigifigant.
    An engagement ring stays with you everyday of your life and even after that it is something that those you leave behind cherish.

I do think the cost of the ring should be split.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Alarums

I paid 2500 for my wifes engagement ring. It caused quite a bit of friction at the time because I could not understand how she could find a small rock worth that kind of cash. It was obviously very important to her and I wanted to make her happy, so I spent a long time finding the perfect one, but I still don't understand it. How can women possibly think that a tiny rock is worth the price of a car? It doesn't do anything, it's a symbol, and symbols do not come with a minimum price tag.

The sparkles speak to our soul.
    It is something deep and spirtual.
    One day mankind will be evolved enough to understand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭brosps

its supposed to be 3 months wages right??

so i suppose it depends on your job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭paperclip2

A one hundred euro ring from Argos. :) I dont wear much jewllery and the thoughts of having anything about my person worth more than that freaks me out. The fact that he asked me and was prepared to put up with me forever meant more than anything else. To be honest he could have given me one made from tinfoil and I would have been happy.

What did surprise me was other peoples reactions. You could almost hear the sneer when 'Argos' was mentioned. But maybe I'm not as materialistic as I should be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭mehfesto2

It's pure vanity. Some people assosciate the price of the ring to how much he loves her. And fair play to them. But it's rubbish. It's just substituting love for money.

There's a story around here about how a bloke up the road proposed with a pizza-slicer. It was an in-story between the two of them. Nobody present got it, but she loved it. Not sure if she got a ring too, but I think if he knew her well enough to know that she's say yes to a kitchen utensil, then it's true love and she doesn't need a ring to confirm that.

Sure, she has the 'slicer anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,309 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Moonbaby wrote: »
    The sparkles speak to our soul.
    It is something deep and spirtual.
    One day mankind will be evolved enough to understand.
    Understand that a tiny piece of glass-like rock is worth €2500. I don't think any man will ever understand that. The fact that women can speaks volumes in itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

If the time comes for me to get engaged I will not be buying an expensive ring. But then I will not be getting engaged to the sort of woman who places some girly immature desire for a nice ring over pure common sense.

Ring to be bought at a sensible price and the rest of the money used to buy stuff for the future, or the house i9f you are just moving into a new place etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

My dad found his wedding ring in a roof gutter and my mam doesn't even have an engagement ring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

See this is utter madness!
    A wedding is just a memory of a day and some photographs, a holiday is even less sigifigant.
    An engagement ring stays with you everyday of your life and even after that it is something that those you leave behind cherish.

I do think the cost of the ring should be split.

How is it madness ?

Using some of the money you could spend on a ring to pay for wedding photographers and so on (and there will be certain costs regardless of how large/small a wedding you go for) makes a lot more sense to me than spending thousands on a lump of metal and compressed coal that will sit on someones finger to impress her co workers for the duration of a week.

Deep and spiritual my hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭HJ Simpson

We got my wives engagement ring made it cost just under €2.5k made by a valued retail at about €4.5K. We decided on platinum.(Dont like gold). In view of the fact she is going to wear it for the rest of her life (Hopefully) not too much!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The sparkles impress our mates.
    It is something ingrained and ritual.
    One day my bloke will be shallow enough to understand.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

always had figure of 5-6k in mind tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

Einstein wrote: »
    always had figure of 5-6k in mind tbh.

What!? Madness!!!

I don't think any regular person could tell the difference between a 'high quality diamond' and a cubic zirconia ...... at least I couldn't. All it is is a shiny sparkly thing .... it's the gesture that means the most.

Edit: I can't believe some of my friends who are planning to 'upgrade' their engagements rings in the future .... jees!

Glowing wrote: »
    What!? Madness!!!

I don't think any regular person could tell the difference between a 'high quality diamond' and a cubic zirconia ...... at least I couldn't. All it is is a shiny sparkly thing .... it's the gesture that means the most.

Edit: I can't believe some of my friends who are planning to 'upgrade' their engagements rings in the future .... jees!
    I don't think it's madness someone wants to pay between 1 and 2k, why should you think any different of what I had in mind?
    I see people spending tens of thousands on weddings...meh...it's one day out of your life. Small gathering, maybe abroad, people that are important to you.
    Spend money on what you can enjoy for more than a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

I think 1 or 2k is madness too ;) Its funny, if you told someone you were engaged, the first thing they'd do is look at your ring finger. If you didn't have a piece of bling to show for it, they wouldn't believe it, or think you were weird.

I think the price of weddings and everything that goes with them is crazy too. Down with that sort of thing!

Glowing wrote: »
    I think the price of weddings and everything that goes with them is crazy too. Down with that sort of thing!
    here here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭nevaeh-2die-4

Its 2008 no man should spend more than 200e on a ring poon tang comes & goes

If any girl goes mad then she is more in love with money & materialistic things than you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭UsedtobePC

In these modern times of equality, women earning money and all let me ask ye: What does the bloke get as an engagement pressie? A big thank you and a kiss. This is blatant discrimination I tells ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

Why does it have to be a ring?? I mean why cant you buy an engagement medallion, or engagement torc, or diamond encrusted engagement hip flask, engagement magic carpet, engagement tampon, engagement servant monkey or engagement kitchen utensils (thats where she will be most of the time, ohhh! you dawg!)