Worst restaurant you've ever eaten in?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

A toss up between

A Romanian place off Church Street in Dublin that sadly didn't last beyond its first birthday. Everything was out of a tin and cold, except for the cheese, which was an easi-single 'garnishing' the slop beneath it. Their speciality was (canned) tripe soup.

A diner in a hamlet somewhere between La Paz and Sucre, Bolivia. I had the lamb soup, which was warm water with a sheep's jaw floating in it, teeth and all.

Went to a place in Ballyshannon on a Bank holiday Monday once, Don't remember the name. Anyway when we arrived it was fairly busy and we were greeted by a waitress who was only about 16 and seriously stressed. Problems began when the starters took about 45 minutes to arrive and it went downhill from there. Long story short it turned out everyone had rung in sick except this girl and she had been trying to prepare the food herself(Just from reading the menu descriptions!) and do waitressing at the same time. I laugh when I think about it know but at the time I was ridiculously hungover and in serious need of a feed.

Sounds like she deserves a medal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

Yamamori Noodles. The quays and Georges St.

3 times in the past year.

For some reason I got the flu the morning after all 3 visits????. The service is brutal (especially the one on the quays) and the grub is mankey.

Only went cause the misses likes it and I never judge a resteraunt by one visit.......... but never again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,173 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Steve_o wrote: »
    A restaurant in Portarlington, It was unreal, the staff were rude and half-arsed, the food was cold, the wine was cheap, the place was dirty and they wanted €180 for it... I laughed, and walked out!
    Go on...spill it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭My name is Mud

Neesa wrote: »
    I didn't like the look of the burger

The establishment in question does approx 70% of its business between the hours of 10pm and 4am.

I will assume you had a few drinks taken, hence the need to consume a burger?

If so, everything looks odd in those intoxicated hours. People, streets, food etc.

Im sure they mixed up your order and would have had the plain burger ready to go. No reason to never go there again. That place does amazing cheeseburgers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

I didn't like the look of the burger. Why would I go back???
    They gave you the wrong order. So what, it happens. You just politely point it out, they apologise and replace your order. Some people like to get indignant over nothing.

Burgers there are excellent btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

The establishment in question does approx 70% of its business between the hours of 10pm and 4am.

I will assume you had a few drinks taken, hence the need to consume a burger?

If so, everything looks odd in those intoxicated hours. People, streets, food etc.

Im sure they mixed up your order and would have had the plain burger ready to go. No reason to never go there again. That place does amazing cheeseburgers.

No, I wasn't drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭IronMan

CiaranC wrote: »
    They gave you the wrong order. So what, it happens. You just politely point it out, they apologise and replace your order. Some people like to get indignant over nothing.

Are we talking about Ricks? Because the burgers there are really good. At anytime of the day or night.

I didn't fucking get indignant over a burger, what the hell is everyone's problem?? I bought a burger, didn't like it, returned it. End of story. It was a home made burger, I don't like home made burgers. Excuse me if I didn't scoff down a burger just so the sensitivities of Boards members wouldn't be assaulted.

I don't see anyone else being second guessed or cross examined in this way.
    "Why didn't you just eat the food?"
    "Oh, you must've been drunk."
    "There's something wrong with you then, because I love the food there."
    "Wow, you handled that situation badly."
    "Shît, I'd hate to have to ever serve you food."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

re people not naming restaurents, while I can understand it is not legally wise to claim you got food poisoning at a particular spot is there really a problem in saying "the food in xyz tastes sh1te"?

Eddie Rockets is overpriced and the burgers are poor. Look like they are regular burgers pumped full of water to expand their size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

That Gordon Ramsey one out in Powerscourt is gash compared to his ones in London... Considering prices and the fact he's a Michelin starred chef, then it's truly awful.

Had some awful food in Brazilian roadside cafés. Bad coxinhas lead to bad tummies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

I didn't fucking get indignant over a burger, what the hell is everyone's problem?? I bought a burger, didn't like it, returned it. End of story. It was a home made burger, I don't like home made burgers. Excuse me if I didn't scoff down a burger just so the sensitivities of Boards members wouldn't be assaulted.

I don't see anyone else being second guessed or cross examined in this way.
    "Why didn't you just eat the food?"
    "Oh, you must've been drunk."
    "There's something wrong with you then, because I love the food there."
    "Wow, you handled that situation badly."
    "Shît, I'd hate to have to ever serve you food."

Wow, you only like machine made burgers eh? You should become a food critic, lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭zoemax

A hotel in Havana where I had to tease the round worms out of my steak before I coud eat it (and eat it I did, I was feckin starvin)

Wow, you only like machine made burgers eh? You should become a food critic, lol.

I'd be a great food critic.

What did you think of the beef?
    Tasted like chicken *Thumbs up*

What did you t hink of the fish?
    Tasted like chicken *Thumbs up*

What did you think of the chicken?
    Didn't like it. Needed more ketchup. *thumbs down* :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Some mexican place in LA 1 year to the day after 9/11............

They were serving aeroplane burgers and twin tower fajitas...

I only got them cos they were free... I was the first person to get them... 5 minutes later they were splashed all over the toilets... Havent had mexican since:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Wow...I wouldn't have liked to have been the person serving you that particular night.

Anyways, my particular gripe is with the Epicurean Food Hall. Everyone here goes on about it like it's the Holy Grail of fusion cusine, when in fact, it's shite.

I and partner have gone several times over the past year and collectively we've tried every stall in the Epicurean bar the Indian street fusion place.

Without naming the individual stalls - pizzas? Horrible. Kebabs? Horrible. Tacos? Horrible. Fish and Chips? Horrible.

I've been to some of the nastiest, greasiest pizza, kebab, taco, fish and chip shops in the North East of England and the quality of the food I got was fantastic compared to what comes out of the Epicurean.

In fact, one of the nicest kebabs I've ever had was from a chipper on the Falls Road just a few months ago.

I love the way people here go to the Epicurean and think that they're getting the full 'ethnic' experience just because the person assembling their kebab has a thick black moustache and is called Mustafa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭blah

Some mexican place in LA 1 year to the day after 9/11............

They were serving aeroplane burgers and twin tower fajitas...

I only got them cos they were free... I was the first person to get them... 5 minutes later they were splashed all over the toilets... Havent had mexican since:o

Because of the bad taste?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭blah

I and partner have gone several times over the past year and collectively we've tried every stall in the Epicurean bar the Indian street fusion place.

Without naming the individual stalls - pizzas? Horrible. Kebabs? Horrible. Tacos? Horrible. Fish and Chips? Horrible.

I agree, the pizza is horrible, sushi was meh, kebab? If you like fat kebabs then you're good. I got a tuna melt in Cafe Mocha but that's pretty hard to mess up and it just backs on to the epicurian anyway.

Wow...I wouldn't have liked to have been the person serving you that particular night.

Anyways, my particular gripe is with the Epicurean Food Hall. Everyone here goes on about it like it's the Holy Grail of fusion cusine, when in fact, it's shite.

I've been to some of the nastiest, greasiest pizza, kebab, taco, fish and chip shops in the North East of England and the quality of the food I got was fantastic compared to what comes out of the Epicurean.

In fact, one of the nicest kebabs I've ever had was from a chipper on the Falls Road just a few months ago.

I love the way people here go to the Epicurean and think that they're getting the full 'ethnic' experience just because the person assembling their kebab has a thick black moustache and is called Mustafa.

Mostly spot on but the fish and chips is only beautiful from that front place(cant recal the name), get a portion of curry sauce and some onion rings with it and your away......:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,978 ✭✭✭meglome

Yamamori Noodles. The quays and Georges St.

3 times in the past year.

For some reason I got the flu the morning after all 3 visits????. The service is brutal (especially the one on the quays) and the grub is mankey.

Only went cause the misses likes it and I never judge a resteraunt by one visit.......... but never again.

I eat in there all the time and I've never had a single problem with the service or the food. In fact if anything over the last months it's got better.

meglome wrote: »
    I eat in there all the time and I've never had a single problem with the service or the food. In fact if anything over the last months it's got better.

Lucky you, last time I was in the one on the Quays I still hadnt received my starter when the waiter brought the main to the 2 (they had finished thier starter) people I was having dinner with.

Thats service!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

Mostly spot on but the fish and chips is only beautiful from that front place(cant recal the name), get a portion of curry sauce and some onion rings with it and your away......:pac:

you mean Burdocks? Yeah you can go wrong with them - although the first time I ever had chips from the other one up at Christchurch they were a sloppy messy - guess the guy serving them to me thought it was best to wrap them as tightly as possible and smush them all together...yum!

Cant remember a place I would never return too - guess I either dont have a discerning palate or I just scare them into giving me properly cooked food

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭boogle

Lucky you, last time I was in the one on the Quays I still hadnt received my starter when the waiter brought the main to the 2 (they had finished thier starter) people I was having dinner with.

Thats service!!!!

That's the way Japanese food is served. There are no starters and mains per se. Food is cooked at once and served as it is cooked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

A diner in a hamlet somewhere between La Paz and Sucre, Bolivia. I had the lamb soup, which was warm water with a sheep's jaw floating in it, teeth and all.

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

Yeah, tell me about it. Poor girl, I bet she went home and cried into her pillow because someone told her that they were sorry but they had changed their mind...

Harsh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

zoemax wrote: »
    A hotel in Havana where I had to tease the round worms out of my steak before I coud eat it (and eat it I did, I was feckin starvin)

You can't be serious. How could you possibly eat it after that? SICK!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭djkeogh

I'm not a fan of ricks burgers either. I can't see how they can call it a burger when it's actually loosely packed mince stuffed into a bun. Impossible to eat with out utensils or making a muck of yourself. I've had some poor burgers in my time but they are consistently bad.

For me they are anyway.

Every few years I try them again because people do rave but it's always the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

Abrakebabra on Westmoreland St, Dublin, is the only restaurant that would have the gall to argue a refund after you've pointed out that there is feces smeared all over the serving counter.

"We can't be held responsible for what our customers do", he said!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭steps_3314

Jebus..for a second i thought you were referring to Anti-Venoms post about the toilets in Paraguay.:eek:
    The burgers can be quiet good in that place.

I'd say fussy eaters are a pain in the hole for the people who work in these places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

Another vote for eddie rockets.. overpriced and not enough imo.