Gardai to display confiscated booze. Whats the point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

If they don't do something like this, people will say "How come the Guards aren't doing anything about underage drinking?"

And when they do decide to display the confiscated booze, people say "Ah sure it's all just a PR stunt."

Damned if they do and damned if they don't. You just can't win with some people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

You seem to have an issue with underaged drinking being stopped.......

You're fifteen, aren't you?

Explains everything.
    The poor sentence structure, delusions that you're the only one that really sees what's going on. Thinking your ideas a fresh and new. Everything.
    It even explains how you've so much free time to post this drivel.
    I have an issue with the prohibitional methods imposed as already mentioned on this and other threads.

A photo of a booze stock pile looks good, as I said before, this is just the tip of the iceberg. It is booze confiscated from underage and overage seen in public places, what about those that go out of their way and have a booze up in deralict buildings and other dangerous locations?

There is also a danger of turning the some of these people to drugs which is a lot more easy to disclose than carrying any six pack. Some of these drugs such as benzylpiperazine (BZP) can be legally bought over the counter in any head shop in the city. All the person needs is a catalyst of about two liters of water which is also perfectly legal to carry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

javaboy wrote: »
    If they don't do something like this, people will say "How come the Guards aren't doing anything about underage drinking?"

And when they do decide to display the confiscated booze, people say "Ah sure it's all just a PR stunt."

Damned if they do and damned if they don't. You just can't win with some people.

The question, as I've pointed out, is "how come the Guards aren't doing anything THAT MIGHT WORK to combat underage drinking?"

Or, better still, "how come society isn't doing anything about underage drinking?"

And on the topic, how many people here were drinking at the age of 15 themselves (and no, I wasn't, I was mid 20s (long story))

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

I have an issue with the prohibitional methods imposed as already mentioned on this and other threads.

A photo of a booze stock pile looks good, as I said before, this is just the tip of the iceberg. It is booze confiscated from underage and overage seen in public places, what about those that go out of their way and have a booze up in deralict buildings and other dangerous locations?

There is also a danger of turning the some of these people to drugs which is a lot more easy to disclose than carrying any six pack. Some of these drugs such as benzylpiperazine (BZP) can be legally bought over the counter in any head shop in the city. All the person needs is a catalyst of about two liters of water which is also perfectly legal to carry.

Your poor attempt at a slippery slope argument only helps to prove my hypothesis.

I'm done here, you're no longer interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

dur turk mar booooze.....:D

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

I fully support this plan, it shows how many people are retarded enough to try and drink infront of the cops.

Fight the pp0w3r!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

It shows they're doing their jobs of enforcing the intoxicating liquor act 2008

Its costs buggers all to do it, ring rte and the news papers, get them down they film and take pictures, done.

The seized goods will be stored in a secure warehouse until such a time as they can be destroyed in a licenced, safe fashion. No they dont keep it, that would be classed as the goods are articles associated with crime, making the officers who did take it criminals, thus liable to the full brunt of the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

On a slightly off-topic note (but sitll on the theme of alcohol clampdown):
    New planning restrictions will make it tougher to get planning permission for off-licences, or shops with part off-licences.

The by-law changes mean the definition of public places will now include riverbanks, canal banks and the boardwalk on the river Liffey.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0902/alcohol.html

Could mean the end of drinking outside the Barge...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

Just pour vodka into bottles of cola. it's easy.

It might actually get people to drink vodka instead of beer which would be a great positive step for public health.

(vodka is basically concentrated beer with all the $hit filtered out).

Underage drinking is always gonna be around, I did it, my friends did it, pretty much everyone did it.

The only people with any power are the parents. They're not gonna be able to stop their kids from drinking, but they can stop it from getting way out of control.

If a 13 year old gets hammered every weekend then the parents obviously aren't doing as much as they can.

Cabaal wrote: »
    I fully support this plan, it shows how many people are retarded enough to try and drink infront of the cops.

Fight the pp0w3r!!!
    You mean, how many people are retarded enough to try and drink in front of CCTV cameras.

vinylmesh wrote: »
    Underage drinking is always gonna be around, I did it, my friends did it, pretty much everyone did it.
    I perfected the home brew kits in my school days. :).

Just as a matter of interest is there an age limit on buying home brew kits? :confused: I.E, Campden tablets, beer Spheres, yeast, sugar, Co2, etc??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

2,000 cans in 3 weeks? Tip of the ice berg really. While its an attempt it will have absolutely no effect towards underage drinking. As will some of the other 'bright' ideas in the Act.

themont85 wrote: »
    2,000 cans in 3 weeks? Tip of the ice berg really. While its an attempt it will have absolutely no effect towards underage drinking. As will some of the other 'bright' ideas in the Act.
    2,000 cans of Dutch Gold, they are welcome to it all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

im organisin a hesit lads, whos in ? ill buy ye a drink after :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

I perfected the home brew kits in my school days. :).

Just as a matter of interest is there an age limit on buying home brew kits? :confused: I.E, Campden tablets, beer Spheres, yeast, sugar, Co2, etc??

No there is a common sense limit though....if you have none you will go and buy this stuff...home brewing beer takes forever to brew and will never taste nice. Maybe after the Garda break into a house with an annoying alarm they will give their mates a call and ask them to bring around a few cans and have a house party, smashing up the house in the process.

Home brew if done right is fine most people fail in it by adding too much sugar and it gets too gassy, you stagger the brewing period so that you get a regular fresh supply of it. The only thing that put me off home brew for life was when a dead mouse was found sealed inside a bottle :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

according to RTE it'll be disposed of "in an enviromentally friendly manner".

so thats a session down the gardai club off harcourt street then.

MASSIVE waste of time if you ask me, but then its easier than being shot by real criminals.

You mean, how many people are retarded enough to try and drink in front of CCTV cameras.

We're talking about teenagers with alcohol here, so my guess is all of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 zach morris

Ikky Poo is right. Clearly everyone under the age of 18 who enjoys to socialise with alcohol is stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭IRISH RAIL

If anyone watched that report only 25 percent of it was taken off underage drinkers, id like to see the public order figures for the past 3 weeks compared to this time last year has the new law made a difference ? most kids get there booze before 10 o clock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

You make some shocking threads OP... and I don't mean shocking as in 'ground-breaking'.

IRISH RAIL wrote: »
    If anyone watched that report only 25 percent of it was taken off underage drinkers, id like to see the public order figures for the past 3 weeks compared to this time last year has the new law made a difference ? most kids get there booze before 10 o clock.
    All of those cans were sealed, It would be interesting to know how many cans were unlawfully confiscated from people, ie from those that happen to be taking a short cut through a public park and had a few on them and were stopped, your word against them. In America they brought in the "brown paper bag" law so that all liquer must be concealed in a brown paper bag, I can see the same happening here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

All of those cans were sealed, It would be interesting to know how many cans were unlawfully confiscated from people, ie from those that happen to be taking a short cut through a public park and had a few on them and were stopped, your word against them. In America they brought in the "brown paper bag" law so that all liquer must be concealed in a brown paper bag, I can see the same happening here.

No no. With the Greens in government, the brown paper bag law would never fly here. Plus they would get all soggy and smelly after 5 minutes of exposure to Irish weather and get dumped in the canal.

No what they need is an "alco bag for life". Superquinn and Tesco already make bags for wine that have compartments to keep the bottles upright.

javaboy wrote: »
    No no. With the Greens in government, the brown paper bag law would never fly here. Plus they would get all soggy and smelly after 5 minutes of exposure to Irish weather and get dumped in the canal.

No what they need is an "alco bag for life". Superquinn and Tesco already make bags for wine that have compartments to keep the bottles upright.
    The whole idea of brown bags is discression.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

I have no problem with underage scumbags drink being taking from them but that's not all the Guards are targeting, people enjoying a picnic can't have a glass of wine outside anymore which is a bit nanny stateish imo. Or enjoy a can outdoors in the sun, the only people this law affects are the law abiding ones that take heed to it, the underagers will continue to drink regardless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

In America they brought in the "brown paper bag" law so that all liquer must be concealed in a brown paper bag, I can see the same happening here.

Dont believe everything you see in movies. There is no such allowance in the states. Drinking in public there is not always a crime depending on state but in the ones where it is they let you keep the brown bag:D
    keen wrote: »
    I have no problem with underage scumbags drink being taking from them but that's not all the Guards are targeting, people enjoying a picnic can't have a glass of wine outside anymore which is a bit nanny stateish imo. Or enjoy a can outdoors in the sun, the only people this law affects are the law abiding ones that take heed to it, the underagers will continue to drink regardless.

Well first off your assuming that anyone over 18 drinking in public is having a jolly old time and ignoring the pissed up assholes that then get into fights with eachother or simple attack innocent people. Your also clearly not noticing the blind drunk people leaning against walls and pissing themselves on the boardwalk, oconnell street and many many other places.

Its been against the law in Dublin for years anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

I noticed last friday there are a few regular eastern european guys, think they're polish not 100% and every friday without fail they have a couple of beers in the park directly behind my house, now they're not loud, they're civil to people, they just have a chat a couple of cans and head off. Well I was out walking the dog when a couple of guards on foot came along, from what i could see they had a quiet chat with the lads and presumed they just asked them to finish off the cans at home, as the lads packed up and off they went, so did the guards, saw no confiscation.

Presume discretion was being used as the guys were not drinking when the guards came onto the green.

Also on the intoxicating liquor act had the local licensing sgt pop into the offo i work in at 10 past 10 as i was cashing up just to make sure we were closed (shutters down didnt give it away :P)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

Dont believe everything you see in movies. There is no such allowance in the states. Drinking in public there is not always a crime depending on state but in the ones where it is they let you keep the brown bag:D

Well first off your assuming that anyone over 18 drinking in public is having a jolly old time and ignoring the pissed up assholes that then get into fights with eachother or simple attack innocent people. Your also clearly not noticing the blind drunk people leaning against walls and pissing themselves on the boardwalk, oconnell street and many many other places.

Its been against the law in Dublin for years anyway.

No I'm not I'm well aware of adults causing trouble while drinking in public, there's plenty of people that can drink and have a "jolly old time" not every drinker gets smashed and starts trouble. Instead of the law affecting drinkers who cause trouble it affects the drinkers who cause no trouble also, some discretion in the law would be welcomed.

The drinkers you speak of are still at it, this law doesn't stop them. There's still drunks drinking in public all around town, constantly at Talbot street and also still on the board walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,814 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

Havn't read this whole thread so don't know if this as been asked before but since the Gardai only got the legal power to take alcohol off people with the change in law, can you sue then for illegal confiscation of private property for all the times they did it in the past?