Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai to display confiscated booze. Whats the point?

• 02-09-2008 9:14am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭

Whats the point of desplaying a large conseignment of booze confiscated from under age and those drinking in public places. By doing this they are desplaying the bullying tactics of a police state. In the past we only saw public desplays of large drug consignments illegal arms and weapons confiscated from paramilitaries and drug dealers.

Now in the exact same manner the Gardai have to stoop to a new low as to monitor their thousands of CCTV cameras dotted around every public park and street corners and send crack teams around confiscating any can seen consumed in a public place. This along with the 10PM closing of off licenses is driving the whole drink culture underground, The illegal selling of booze from the boots of cars, and encouraging gatherings in dangerous and deralict buildings.

The other question, what do the Gardai intend to do with all this booze :confused:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0902/alcohol.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Fight da power!! :rolleyes: You really have a theme going with your posts..... what's with that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

To tease us???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

The other question, what do the Gardai intend to do with all this booze

they will give it to you in exchange for never making another thread ever again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I know people who had Root Beer taken off them in St. Stephen's Green once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

What will happen to all the booze, and to other stuff confiscated by Gardai? Is it auctioned off like in that episode of the Simpsons where Homer buys Snake's car?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

Do you listen to Rage Against the Machine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Wreck wrote: »
    What will happen to all the booze, and to other stuff confiscated by Gardai? Is it auctioned off like in that episode of the Simpsons where Homer buys Snake's car?

Most likely they'll do what they do in england.......... empty it down the nearest drain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Most likely they'll do what they do in england.......... empty it down the nearest drain.

Thats what they used to do (I think), now what their going to do is either take it home themselves or use it for their Christmas party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭shoelaceface

they are going to gather it all up and have one big session in the barracks and we'r all invited.... bring your i.d though! they might take it off ya if ya dont!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

They are displaying it to show where the taxpayers money goes and, I assume, to show how easy kids get alcohol. Anything to stop scummers drinking in the open is ok with me.

It's saved for the Secret Policeman's Ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

What a complete pile of *****. imagine the time and expense involved in this stupid p.r stunt, It's like putting on show all the guns they have ''recoverd''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭ZygOte

3 words

Garda Christmas Partyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

The same thing that happens to all the fireworks, they will take then home themselves.

A side note, I find drinking bier from a washed out chopped tomato can is a good was to stop then from taking your bier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Whinge whinge moan moan. People complain if the pour it down the drain because it's a waste of good booze. People complain if they confiscate it and you never hear about it again because they assume the Gardai are drinking it. People complain if the confiscate it and then make a record of the haul and publicly display it. Stop moaning.

If it gets as far as being displayed on TV in the style of a major drugs find, I doubt it's going to find its way to the Christmas party tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

I knew a guy who's dad used to get loads of confiscated stuff from our local cop shop, in return for various nixers he'd do in the station.

His gaff was full of the most random stuff ever. I remember his dad coming home once with this bloody enormous electric keyboard for the house. It was the size of a small boat.

Just gathered dust in his living room for about 15 years.

I presume the same kind of thing will happen to the booze?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

javaboy wrote: »
    Whinge whinge moan moan. People complain if the pour it down the drain because it's a waste of good booze. People complain if they confiscate it and you never hear about it again because they assume the Gardai are drinking it. People complain if the confiscate it and then make a record of the haul and publicly display it. Stop moaning.

If it gets as far as being displayed on TV in the style of a major drugs find, I doubt it's going to find its way to the Christmas party tbh.

There's nothing like moaning about moaning:P

tallaght01 wrote: »
    Just gathered dust in his living room for about 15 years.

I presume the same kind of thing will happen to the booze?

Highly unlikely the booze will be left to gather dust in someone's living room tbh. Ageing a fine wine or whiskey might make it better but trust me on this, Dutch Gold is not going to taste any better no matter how long you leave it.
    ejmaztec wrote: »
    There's nothing like moaning about moaning:P

:rolleyes: I knew somebody would come on here moaning about my moaning about moaning. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

we should get the EPA onto them

Do they have a licence to dispose of that much into the drain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

By doing this they are desplaying the bullying tactics of a police state.

How in the name of god is it displaying bullying tactics?
    not yet wrote: »
    What a complete pile of *****. imagine the time and expense involved in this stupid p.r stunt, It's like putting on show all the guns they have ''recoverd''

They line up the booze and take photos of it. It's not rocket science and it's not like they're trying to stage some sort of Olympic opening ceramony style event. It's costs feck all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

not yet wrote: »

Enforcing the law is a pr stunt now?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Enforcing the law is a pr stunt now?:confused:

I only read the thread title - my eyes glazed over when I attempted to read the rest of the post...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Finally, a well-thought out and well researched idea to tackle underage drinking that's bound to work :rolleyes:!

(And first post wehre I've ever had to use the :rolleyes: smiley)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭boogle

Run_to_da_hills is actually a part-time Garda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

How much are we paying for the storage of all this booze?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

BOFH_139 wrote: »
    How much are we paying for the storage of all this booze?
    They can off load it to those that are drawing the dole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Its just a P.R stunt.

"Look everyone, we are actually doing something rather than sitting on our fat arses eating breakfast rolls"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

By doing this they are desplaying the bullying tactics of a police state.

shut up shut up shut up shut up

You have no idea what you are talking about.

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    shut up shut up shut up shut up

You have no idea what you are talking about.
    Absolutly. PR stunt. "Look how good we are doing at stopping underage drinking". "We are doing a great job, lets install more CCTC in public parks, lanes, river bank, beaches public transport and streets so as we can crack down more on this and show a larger picture of confiscated booze next time round". :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

"Look how good we are doing at stopping underage drinking". "We are doing a great job, lets install more CCTC in public parks, lanes, river bank, beaches public transport and streets so as we can crack down more on this and show a larger picture of confiscated booze next time round".
    What exactly is wrong with that?

Absolutly. PR stunt. "Look how good we are doing at stopping underage drinking". "We are doing a great job, lets install more CCTC in public parks, lanes, river bank, beaches public transport and streets so as we can crack down more on this and show a larger picture of confiscated booze next time round". :confused:

You seem to have an issue with underaged drinking being stopped.......

You're fifteen, aren't you?

Explains everything.
    The poor sentence structure, delusions that you're the only one that really sees what's going on. Thinking your ideas a fresh and new. Everything.
    It even explains how you've so much free time to post this drivel.

If they don't do something like this, people will say "How come the Guards aren't doing anything about underage drinking?"

And when they do decide to display the confiscated booze, people say "Ah sure it's all just a PR stunt."

Damned if they do and damned if they don't. You just can't win with some people.

You seem to have an issue with underaged drinking being stopped.......

You're fifteen, aren't you?

Explains everything.
    The poor sentence structure, delusions that you're the only one that really sees what's going on. Thinking your ideas a fresh and new. Everything.
    It even explains how you've so much free time to post this drivel.
    I have an issue with the prohibitional methods imposed as already mentioned on this and other threads.

A photo of a booze stock pile looks good, as I said before, this is just the tip of the iceberg. It is booze confiscated from underage and overage seen in public places, what about those that go out of their way and have a booze up in deralict buildings and other dangerous locations?

There is also a danger of turning the some of these people to drugs which is a lot more easy to disclose than carrying any six pack. Some of these drugs such as benzylpiperazine (BZP) can be legally bought over the counter in any head shop in the city. All the person needs is a catalyst of about two liters of water which is also perfectly legal to carry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

javaboy wrote: »
    If they don't do something like this, people will say "How come the Guards aren't doing anything about underage drinking?"

And when they do decide to display the confiscated booze, people say "Ah sure it's all just a PR stunt."

Damned if they do and damned if they don't. You just can't win with some people.

The question, as I've pointed out, is "how come the Guards aren't doing anything THAT MIGHT WORK to combat underage drinking?"

Or, better still, "how come society isn't doing anything about underage drinking?"

And on the topic, how many people here were drinking at the age of 15 themselves (and no, I wasn't, I was mid 20s (long story))

I have an issue with the prohibitional methods imposed as already mentioned on this and other threads.

A photo of a booze stock pile looks good, as I said before, this is just the tip of the iceberg. It is booze confiscated from underage and overage seen in public places, what about those that go out of their way and have a booze up in deralict buildings and other dangerous locations?

There is also a danger of turning the some of these people to drugs which is a lot more easy to disclose than carrying any six pack. Some of these drugs such as benzylpiperazine (BZP) can be legally bought over the counter in any head shop in the city. All the person needs is a catalyst of about two liters of water which is also perfectly legal to carry.

Your poor attempt at a slippery slope argument only helps to prove my hypothesis.

I'm done here, you're no longer interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

dur turk mar booooze.....:D

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

I fully support this plan, it shows how many people are retarded enough to try and drink infront of the cops.

Fight the pp0w3r!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

It shows they're doing their jobs of enforcing the intoxicating liquor act 2008

Its costs buggers all to do it, ring rte and the news papers, get them down they film and take pictures, done.

The seized goods will be stored in a secure warehouse until such a time as they can be destroyed in a licenced, safe fashion. No they dont keep it, that would be classed as the goods are articles associated with crime, making the officers who did take it criminals, thus liable to the full brunt of the law.

On a slightly off-topic note (but sitll on the theme of alcohol clampdown):
    New planning restrictions will make it tougher to get planning permission for off-licences, or shops with part off-licences.

The by-law changes mean the definition of public places will now include riverbanks, canal banks and the boardwalk on the river Liffey.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0902/alcohol.html

Could mean the end of drinking outside the Barge...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

Just pour vodka into bottles of cola. it's easy.

It might actually get people to drink vodka instead of beer which would be a great positive step for public health.

(vodka is basically concentrated beer with all the $hit filtered out).

Underage drinking is always gonna be around, I did it, my friends did it, pretty much everyone did it.

The only people with any power are the parents. They're not gonna be able to stop their kids from drinking, but they can stop it from getting way out of control.

If a 13 year old gets hammered every weekend then the parents obviously aren't doing as much as they can.

Cabaal wrote: »
    I fully support this plan, it shows how many people are retarded enough to try and drink infront of the cops.

Fight the pp0w3r!!!
    You mean, how many people are retarded enough to try and drink in front of CCTV cameras.

vinylmesh wrote: »
    Underage drinking is always gonna be around, I did it, my friends did it, pretty much everyone did it.
    I perfected the home brew kits in my school days. :).

Just as a matter of interest is there an age limit on buying home brew kits? :confused: I.E, Campden tablets, beer Spheres, yeast, sugar, Co2, etc??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

2,000 cans in 3 weeks? Tip of the ice berg really. While its an attempt it will have absolutely no effect towards underage drinking. As will some of the other 'bright' ideas in the Act.

themont85 wrote: »
    2,000 cans in 3 weeks? Tip of the ice berg really. While its an attempt it will have absolutely no effect towards underage drinking. As will some of the other 'bright' ideas in the Act.
    2,000 cans of Dutch Gold, they are welcome to it all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

im organisin a hesit lads, whos in ? ill buy ye a drink after :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

I perfected the home brew kits in my school days. :).

Just as a matter of interest is there an age limit on buying home brew kits? :confused: I.E, Campden tablets, beer Spheres, yeast, sugar, Co2, etc??

No there is a common sense limit though....if you have none you will go and buy this stuff...home brewing beer takes forever to brew and will never taste nice. Maybe after the Garda break into a house with an annoying alarm they will give their mates a call and ask them to bring around a few cans and have a house party, smashing up the house in the process.

Home brew if done right is fine most people fail in it by adding too much sugar and it gets too gassy, you stagger the brewing period so that you get a regular fresh supply of it. The only thing that put me off home brew for life was when a dead mouse was found sealed inside a bottle :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

according to RTE it'll be disposed of "in an enviromentally friendly manner".

so thats a session down the gardai club off harcourt street then.

MASSIVE waste of time if you ask me, but then its easier than being shot by real criminals.

You mean, how many people are retarded enough to try and drink in front of CCTV cameras.

We're talking about teenagers with alcohol here, so my guess is all of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 zach morris

Ikky Poo is right. Clearly everyone under the age of 18 who enjoys to socialise with alcohol is stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭IRISH RAIL

If anyone watched that report only 25 percent of it was taken off underage drinkers, id like to see the public order figures for the past 3 weeks compared to this time last year has the new law made a difference ? most kids get there booze before 10 o clock.