'Moors Murderer' Myra Hindley used to promote London Olympics in 2012

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

What cheek using Hindely to promote London when she's from Manchester.
    Jack the Ripper would have been more appropriate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Dudess wrote: »
    Silverfish: you're defending Myra Hindley. Fact. :pac:
    IceQueen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Davidius wrote: »
    Wait, what?

"I find Myra Hindley interesting, I think I will paint a picture of her lololololololol".

Shouldn't it be "Myra Hindley is a sick child murdering bitch and I'm going to build a time machine so I can go back in time and kill both her and that sick ****er Ian Brady in order to save the lives of innocent children lololololololol"?

Some people just don't get it. :pac:

A dangerous game that, one of those kids could have been the next version of Hitler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭dresden8

stovelid wrote: »
    Why not? No matter who it is, it's an extremely striking image. As is the one of Ian Brady.

They are also amongst the most recognizable images of the last 40 years to many English people.

So Holly and Jessica with Ian Huntley would have done just as well? Or a picture of Madeleine McCann with jizz all over her face?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

taidghbaby wrote: »
    anyone see boris johnson talking about ping-pong!!

now theres the real travesty!!

funny though!!

Fair play to Boris, early days yet but by all accounts from what I have heard he is doing a good job as mayor. Also he flew economy out and back.

The thing with Boris is that he has bags of personality and generated a huge amount of interest in politics in the mayoral election which is a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,303 ✭✭✭✭koneko

dresden8 wrote: »
    So Holly and Jessica with Ian Huntley would have done just as well? Or a picture of Madeleine McCann with jizz all over her face?

Have you ever considered a career in the Daily Mirror?

koneko wrote: »
    Have you ever considered a career in the Daily Mirror?

Meaning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,303 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Oh I don't know, the sensationalist over-the-top reactions maybe?

Everyone else has pretty much covered it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Meaning your comments are way too reactionary and being made from a high horse. Nobody is belittling what Hindley did, but like it or not, it's become an iconic image over the past 4+ decades. I think it's good to keep the memories of that particularly horrific episode alive really, instead of forgetting about it, which has sadly been the case for so many abused and murdered children.
    would there have been as much of a kerfuffle if they had used some of that Hurst fellas Sh!te in formaldahyde to promote London
    Obviously not. He didn't assist someone in the abduction, torture, sexual assault and murder of a bunch of young children. But yeah, the awe and hype surrounding his stuff is a load of arse. I know, art is subjective, but what was the uber fawning over his work about? It seemed rather disproportionate...
    IceQueen?
    I don't get it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

So Holly and Jessica with Ian Huntley would have done just as well?
    There is no such picture, therefore there is no iconic status.
    Or a picture of Madeleine McCann with jizz all over her face?
    Again, no such picture (that we know of) and no, that obviously wouldn't be appropriate because it's sick, and really, comparing a picture of a woman who, granted, assisted such an evil monster but nevertheless it's just the image of a woman, to a picture of child with "jizz all over her face", does not make for much of an argument.

RGDATA! wrote: »
    i'll speculate - she's the most reviled woman in modern British history (moreso than Thatcher even! :eek:) and that particular image has been used in print and on television countless times over the last 40 or so years, so the image and the story behind it is instantly recognisable to people over a certain age in Britain. So maybe that makes it legitimate subject matter for an artist to tackle? Maybe you think artists should stick to painting bowls of fruit?

So instead of doing pictures that people find repulsive they should stick to bowls of fruit. Good to see we agree.

Or maybe we should just make jokes about some of the most horrific murders of children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

A graphic picture of one of the moors murder victims would be a different story; a picture of Brady or Hindley with a sexually compromised victim (as you allude to) even more so.

Either image would be objectionable in their own right. The Brady or Hindley portraits require a knowledge of the associated crime to be offensive.

Not that I should have to flatter your trolling drivel with a cogent response, of course.

WTF is wrong with you people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I think all images of Hitler should be destroyed.

Come to think of it, what sort of filth are we lettingour kids see in school everyday?History books should be banned. Theres murderers everyewhere.

Down with rational thinking !!!!!!!!!!eleven!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

sensational headlines for all.

I find your user name offensive.

Are you making light of the victims of the allied destruction of Dresden in WW II?

Dudess wrote: »
    There is no such picture, therefore there is no iconic status.

Ok, what if there was. Would it be artistic, thought provoking and gain iconic status?

stovelid wrote: »
    I find your user name offensive.

Are you making light of the victims of the allied destruction of Dresden in WW II?

I was born in Dresden. Are you making light of the destruction and mass deaths to make a point on an internet forum? Now, that's offensive. Possibly racist.

Are you making light of the destruction and mass deaths to make a point on an internet forum? Now, that's offensive.

Following your jizz comments, I thought asinine, Daily Mail posts were the order of the day.
    Possibly racist.

I'm not even going to flatter this with an answer. You really need to cop on.

Maybe I should cop on.

Maybe the family of Keith Bennett who has been missing for the last 44 years should just cop on and feck off and stop bothering us with their troubles.

Feck sake, their pain has been reduced to art to entertain us. They should be glad.

Selfish gits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Stekelly wrote: »
    I think all images of Hitler should be destroyed.

And let the fashion statement of square moustaches be destroyed along with them....I say nein.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭gogglebok

Say, fellas, what is this painting anyway?

It's a portrait of an evil lady,
    who was mistress of a very naughty man,
    and they spent a lot of evenings luring children
    into a dirty van.

It was painted by a rising British artist
    who had points to make about celebrity.
    So he painted her and lots of British tabloids
    Went ape s-h-i-t.

So the artist gained a kind of fame and glamour
    and the tabloids failed to tell a crime apart
    from the act of representing crimes in paintings.
    That's how artists make the media make art.

Maybe I should cop on.

Maybe the family of Keith Bennett who has been missing for the last 44 years should just cop on and feck off and stop bothering us with their troubles.

Feck sake, their pain has been reduced to art to entertain us. They should be glad.

Selfish gits.

Everything can cause someone pain. Pictures of happy couples and children can reduce those who have lost loved ones to tears. Social commentary can remind people of harsher times. History books record the crimes of those who have gone before us.

In short, overreact much?

Dragan wrote: »
    Pictures of happy couples and children can reduce those who have lost loved ones to tears. Social commentary can remind people of harsher times.

I don't think it compares to having the person who tortured and murdered your brother becoming an "iconic image" and used as an example of your country's culture.

Understate much?

I don't think it compares to having the person who tortured and murdered your brother becoming an "iconic image" and used as an example of your country's culture.

Understate much?

And who are you to hand out ratings of relevance or bereavement to those who may have lost love ones, however that occured?

You have to be a troll, no one could talk about loss one minute and then dimiss other peoples in any serious argument.

And who are you to hand out ratings of relevance or bereavement to those who may have lost love ones, however that occured?

You have to be a troll, no one could talk about loss one minute and then dimiss other peoples in any serious argument.

What?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Dudess wrote:
    I don't get it...
    Ah, maybe you weren't around for this gem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭gogglebok

Everything can cause someone pain. Pictures of happy couples and children can reduce those who have lost loved ones to tears. Social commentary can remind people of harsher times. History books record the crimes of those who have gone before us.

So true. P.G. Wodehouse said you could search all week for a topic of humour that wouldn't offend anyone. You'd light upon "porcupines", and knock out a funny article. Next day you'd get six letters from people whose pet porcupines had just died, all beginning "Dear sir, with reference to your callous remarks about porcupines..."

This is not to trivialise people's loss. It is making the simple point that every human life has loss, and some of our pain is not obvious. If you rule anything out of art, you have to rule everything out, and we are all poorer as a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭RichMc70

I'm fairly sure the 'Moors Murders' happened somewhere near Manchester in the North of England and I don't see any relevance to London that being the case.

If they wanted shock value then maybe they should have had 'Teenage Hoodie Gangs' riding around on BMX bikes shooting and stabbing each other or mugging tourists. That would be more relevant to London.

Hang on, just copped this one. I get lambasted for comparing Myra Hindley to inappropriate recent happenings which hit recent nerves and you hit me with this one.

I thought that was the point I was making?