Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Moors Murderer' Myra Hindley used to promote London Olympics in 2012

• 24-08-2008 10:57pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

www.bbc.co.uk
    2012 Hindley image use condemned

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/44956000/jpg/_44956218_6fdb5209-872c-4c3f-bf52-586cc2e59b73.jpg

Downing Street and the mayor of London have condemned the use of a portrait of murderer Myra Hindley in a video shown at a London 2012 event in Beijing.

The painting was shown in promotional footage produced by Visit London, not the 2012 organisers.

A spokesman for Boris Johnson said the mayor was "deeply disturbed" the image had been shown. A Downing Street spokesman said it was in "poor taste".

Visit London said the image appeared fleetingly and had been shown before.

The tourism body's video was shown at a party attended by Gordon Brown and Mr Johnson at the Chinese capital's London House to promote London's culture ahead of the 2012 Games.

The mayor is deeply concerned by the realisation that a shot of Myra Hindley was shown in a short video... and asked that it not be shown again

Spokesman for Boris Johnson

Marcus Harvey's portrait of Hindley was one of a number of pieces of art seen in the footage filmed in a gallery.

A Downing Street spokesman said: "The use of this image is in extremely poor taste and it should not have been used to promote London."

A spokesman for Mr Johnson said: "The mayor is deeply concerned by the realisation that a shot of Myra Hindley was shown in a short video at London House and asked that it not be shown again."

The Liberal Democrats described the decision to include the image in the video as a "regrettable choice".

The party's Olympics spokesman Tom Brake said: "Of all the many masterpieces that could have been used this was the most regrettable and the least inspired choice."

'Extraordinary decision'

Conservative MP Ann Widdecombe told the BBC she was shocked by the use of the image.

"I do find it utterly extraordinary that if we're trying to promote Britain, we should do so with an image of an mass child murder.

"Somebody somewhere has taken an extraordinary decision that I don't think brings any credit on the country at all."

There has never been a complaint made about the video up until this point

Visit London

In a statement, Visit London said Harvey's Hindley artwork appeared only "fleetingly" in the three-minute video of London.

It continued: "The video is not for general public use and has been used many times over the last few years to show to the tourism trade.

"There has never been a complaint made about the video up until this point.

"However, if any offence has been caused, we will withdraw it from use with immediate effect."

The painting, made from children's handprints, was vandalised while on display in the Royal Academy in 1997.

Moors murderer Hindley, who died in 2002, was jailed along with her partner Ian Brady in 1966 for the murders of four children between 1963 and 1964.

Visit London!! At least we are not the only ones that screw up.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

RABBLE RABBLE RABBLE

It wasn't 'used to promote' London, it was a brief shot of a painting in a London gallery.

But HYSTERIA IS MUCH MORE FUN RAR RAR RAR.

sigh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

Small storm reported.

No-one hurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

Bad publicity is good publicity, and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭BoB_BoT

oh noes, a video of a picture that was in a gallery. ffs, I heard them going on about this earlier, some English official going on about how someone should be fired for this. I haven't seen the the promotional video in question, but I've a feeling it's a glancing pass within the gallery. Unless it was focused right up to the picture and a bit of text saying, "visit London, our murders are famous". Even if so... meh. Does anyone really care?

Just reread the OP, yeap it was used "fleetingly". Hell it was probably stock footage being reused. I doubt whoever put it together even considered the paintings in the background.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

Torturer and murderer of children.

Yeah, what's all the fuss?

dresden8 wrote: »
    Torturer and murderer of children.

Yeah, what's all the fuss?

Its not like it was Myra Hindley doing a tapdance routine finishing with jazz hands, confetti and 'Visit London!' it was a passing shot of a painting.

Spot the difference.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Is there a definite cutoff for when murderers stop being appalling and start becoming a legitimate tourist trap. If so, I have the full rights to a tourist pubcrawl in Yorkshire called "Getting Hammered, the Peter Sutcliffe Way".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

It's ridiculous that this is being used to promote London, the Moors murders happened up in Manchester, let London get its own serial killers!

Silverfish wrote: »
    Its not like it was Myra Hindley doing a tapdance routine finishing with jazz hands, confetti and 'Visit London!' it was a passing shot of a painting.

Spot the difference.

Whoever the tool who put this together is should be bounced out on their arse.

This is not an old case and therefore harmless. That pr1ck Brady comes out with this sh1t every few years and puts that family through the ringer again.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/1723362.stm

If you can't see that, there's something wrong with you.

I'm not saying what they did and their repeated requests for release isn't wrong.

I'm saying the media have taken hold of this and exaggerated.

The video was 3 minutes long. The shot of the painting was a couple of seconds.

Not exactly the same as 'using' Myra Hindley to promote London.

It was more like 'Here's some art in a gallery... oh woops, there's a painting of someone who did something bad. Could edit that out before the video goes public, no biggie'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Silverfish: you're defending Myra Hindley. Fact. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I'm deeply disturbed whenever I see images of Boris Johnson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

They should have thrown in a picture of Gary Glitter running track with a few children as well.

They're ****ing thick for putting a picture of her in...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Silverfish wrote: »
    Its not like it was Myra Hindley doing a tapdance routine finishing with jazz hands, confetti and 'Visit London!'

Now THAT would be an impressive video! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

I've seen that painting a few years ago, thought it was very well done, cant see what all the fuss is about meself,
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/olmedia/930000/images/_932150_hindl.jpg

would there have been as much of a kerfuffle if they had used some of that Hurst fellas Sh!te in formaldahyde to promote London

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Why is there a painting of Myra Hindley?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Davidius wrote: »

Why is their a painting of anyone?

Probably the artist found her to be an interesting subject.

Wait, what?

"I find Myra Hindley interesting, I think I will paint a picture of her lololololololol".

Shouldn't it be "Myra Hindley is a sick child murdering bitch and I'm going to build a time machine so I can go back in time and kill both her and that sick ****er Ian Brady in order to save the lives of innocent children lololololololol"?

Some people just don't get it. :pac:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Me, oh, Myra.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Could have been worse, though its could never be as bad a say Munich using a glimpse of a Hitler portait made out of Alphabetti Spaghetti (no I can't find a pic of that)

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

i'll speculate - she's the most reviled woman in modern British history (moreso than Thatcher even! :eek:) and that particular image has been used in print and on television countless times over the last 40 or so years, so the image and the story behind it is instantly recognisable to people over a certain age in Britain. So maybe that makes it legitimate subject matter for an artist to tackle? Maybe you think artists should stick to painting bowls of fruit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭PeadarofAodh

Nothing catches the imagination like a bowl of fruit. Inspired!

RGDATA! wrote: »
    Maybe you think artists should stick to painting bowls of fruit?
    Or cutting their ear off and giving it to prostitutes?

Though I still don't see what good a painting does. If I were an artist, I'd like it better if my paintings didn't remind people of a twisted child murderer. That's just me. Also, I don't really see how a painting is better than a time machine. Maybe you think we should just give up on time travel?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

When I saw that painting I thought it was excellent. It's confrontational and it makes you think. Especially when you see the size of the handprints that make up the "pixels".

C'mon it's far better than half a shark or a man in a bear suit though.

Sure, the subject matter is very distasteful and I'd happily pull the lever to the let that evil bitch swing but still I found the piece very impressive.

Should it have been used in what is essentially a tourism advert? I don't think so, that's a mistake.

Still though, are the parents going to be more upset by what was a two second glimpse that most of them probably didn't see or by the ensuing media storm that they're bound to have a hard time avoiding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭BoB_BoT

what's stupid is that this video has been used before and then some gob****e decides to shout about the two second picture, when a quiet word could have had the video amended. Now you have a media uproar about it, politicians condemning it as he/she snort a line of coke of a hookers tit, and the families probably being harassed for their opinions on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

anyone see boris johnson talking about ping-pong!!

now theres the real travesty!!

funny though!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

All art has gone downhill since people stopped painting
    fat birds with fluffy pubes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Why not? No matter who it is, it's an extremely striking image. As is the one of Ian Brady.

They are also amongst the most recognizable images of the last 40 years to many English people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

"You better watch out Brady, I'm gonna have your Lady, just 'cos I want her, just 'cos I can get her and you can't, so pogo on that ya twat"
    Classic:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

What cheek using Hindely to promote London when she's from Manchester.
    Jack the Ripper would have been more appropriate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Dudess wrote: »
    Silverfish: you're defending Myra Hindley. Fact. :pac:
    IceQueen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Wait, what?

"I find Myra Hindley interesting, I think I will paint a picture of her lololololololol".

Shouldn't it be "Myra Hindley is a sick child murdering bitch and I'm going to build a time machine so I can go back in time and kill both her and that sick ****er Ian Brady in order to save the lives of innocent children lololololololol"?

Some people just don't get it. :pac:

A dangerous game that, one of those kids could have been the next version of Hitler.

stovelid wrote: »
    Why not? No matter who it is, it's an extremely striking image. As is the one of Ian Brady.

They are also amongst the most recognizable images of the last 40 years to many English people.

So Holly and Jessica with Ian Huntley would have done just as well? Or a picture of Madeleine McCann with jizz all over her face?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

taidghbaby wrote: »
    anyone see boris johnson talking about ping-pong!!

now theres the real travesty!!

funny though!!

Fair play to Boris, early days yet but by all accounts from what I have heard he is doing a good job as mayor. Also he flew economy out and back.

The thing with Boris is that he has bags of personality and generated a huge amount of interest in politics in the mayoral election which is a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

So Holly and Jessica with Ian Huntley would have done just as well? Or a picture of Madeleine McCann with jizz all over her face?

Have you ever considered a career in the Daily Mirror?

koneko wrote: »
    Have you ever considered a career in the Daily Mirror?

Meaning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Oh I don't know, the sensationalist over-the-top reactions maybe?

Everyone else has pretty much covered it.

Meaning your comments are way too reactionary and being made from a high horse. Nobody is belittling what Hindley did, but like it or not, it's become an iconic image over the past 4+ decades. I think it's good to keep the memories of that particularly horrific episode alive really, instead of forgetting about it, which has sadly been the case for so many abused and murdered children.
    would there have been as much of a kerfuffle if they had used some of that Hurst fellas Sh!te in formaldahyde to promote London
    Obviously not. He didn't assist someone in the abduction, torture, sexual assault and murder of a bunch of young children. But yeah, the awe and hype surrounding his stuff is a load of arse. I know, art is subjective, but what was the uber fawning over his work about? It seemed rather disproportionate...
    IceQueen?
    I don't get it...

So Holly and Jessica with Ian Huntley would have done just as well?
    There is no such picture, therefore there is no iconic status.
    Or a picture of Madeleine McCann with jizz all over her face?
    Again, no such picture (that we know of) and no, that obviously wouldn't be appropriate because it's sick, and really, comparing a picture of a woman who, granted, assisted such an evil monster but nevertheless it's just the image of a woman, to a picture of child with "jizz all over her face", does not make for much of an argument.

RGDATA! wrote: »
    i'll speculate - she's the most reviled woman in modern British history (moreso than Thatcher even! :eek:) and that particular image has been used in print and on television countless times over the last 40 or so years, so the image and the story behind it is instantly recognisable to people over a certain age in Britain. So maybe that makes it legitimate subject matter for an artist to tackle? Maybe you think artists should stick to painting bowls of fruit?

So instead of doing pictures that people find repulsive they should stick to bowls of fruit. Good to see we agree.

Or maybe we should just make jokes about some of the most horrific murders of children.

A graphic picture of one of the moors murder victims would be a different story; a picture of Brady or Hindley with a sexually compromised victim (as you allude to) even more so.

Either image would be objectionable in their own right. The Brady or Hindley portraits require a knowledge of the associated crime to be offensive.

Not that I should have to flatter your trolling drivel with a cogent response, of course.

WTF is wrong with you people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I think all images of Hitler should be destroyed.

Come to think of it, what sort of filth are we lettingour kids see in school everyday?History books should be banned. Theres murderers everyewhere.

Down with rational thinking !!!!!!!!!!eleven!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

sensational headlines for all.

I find your user name offensive.

Are you making light of the victims of the allied destruction of Dresden in WW II?

Dudess wrote: »
    There is no such picture, therefore there is no iconic status.

Ok, what if there was. Would it be artistic, thought provoking and gain iconic status?

stovelid wrote: »
    I find your user name offensive.

Are you making light of the victims of the allied destruction of Dresden in WW II?

I was born in Dresden. Are you making light of the destruction and mass deaths to make a point on an internet forum? Now, that's offensive. Possibly racist.

Are you making light of the destruction and mass deaths to make a point on an internet forum? Now, that's offensive.

Following your jizz comments, I thought asinine, Daily Mail posts were the order of the day.
    Possibly racist.

I'm not even going to flatter this with an answer. You really need to cop on.

Maybe I should cop on.

Maybe the family of Keith Bennett who has been missing for the last 44 years should just cop on and feck off and stop bothering us with their troubles.

Feck sake, their pain has been reduced to art to entertain us. They should be glad.

Selfish gits.