Crystal Meth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭Homer

Forget furbies.. This will be what ALL the kids will want this christmas if meth takes off!!!

Dunno looks like a fun and safe drug to me :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,590 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Crystal Mess

Another before and after. Great weight loss. Very great. Of course the apparent hair growth too.

The night after a meth binge

Four year meth transformation.

Body by Crystal Meth.

Why oh why!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

RTE
    What is meth?
    The biggest meth bust in State history was announced by gardaí yesterday.

They suggest the size of the bust indicates an organised criminal gang may be behind the operation - and could be trying to establish a market for the drug.

Meth has been around for a few years in Ireland, but it has yet to become as 'popular' as it is in the UK or the US.

However, many worry that could change.

What Is Meth?

Methamphetamine, also known as 'meth,' 'speed,' 'crank,' 'ice,' or 'hillbilly heroin', is a powerful and highly addictive stimulant that affects the central nervous system. Meth is a synthetic drug produced or sold as pills, capsules, or powder that can be smoked, snorted, injected, or swallowed.

Physical Effects

Methamphetamine is neurotoxic and can cause dependence and addiction psychosis, stroke, dangerously high body temperature, and cardiac arrhythmia. Withdrawal often results in severe depression and paranoia.

How Meth Is Made

For many years, meth was primarily imported Mexico, Canada, China, and Southeast Asia.

However, access to 'meth cookbooks' on the internet has seen an increase in home-made labs or super labs which can make almost 4.5kg in 24 hours.

That's because meth can be made out of everyday household products like:

. Over-the-counter cough, cold, asthma, and allergy medicines containing pseudoephedrine or ephedrine
    . Acetone (found in nail polish remover)
    . Rubbing and isopropyl alcohol
    . Iodine
    . Starter fluid (ether)
    . Petrol additives (methanol)
    . Drain cleaner (sulfuric acid)
    . Lithium batteries
    . Rock salt
    . Matchbooks (red phosphorus)
    . Lye
    . Paint thinner
    . Tin foil
    . Glassware
    . Coffee filters
    . Propane tanks

Meth labs are notoriously stinky, so they will often be set up in rural areas. Meth lab explosions are very common and often deadly, particularly in the US.

Meth's Effects

Meth has a detrimental effect on the human body including skin, teeth (aka 'meth rot') and emotions. Meth addicts are known to be aggressive, depressed and/or paranoid.

Famous Meth Addicts

Crystal Meth has rapidly become a hot drug at Hollywood parties. However, long before it got to Tinseltown, Adolf Hitler was given meth by his personal physician during the final three years of his life.

Troubled actor Tom Sizemore says in a statement during his court sentencing that he was introduced to meth by famous Hollywood madame Heidi Fleiss.

Fergie, the female voice of the Black Eyed Peas, told US magazine Time that meth 'was the hardest boyfriend I ever had to break up with.'

Prevention Efforts

The US Department of Justice declared that 30 November 2006 to be Methamphetamine Awareness Day.

Meth is illegal in most countries although it can be prescribed or used in research in places like the US or Hong Kong.

Source: Meth Watch

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Adolf Hitler was given meth by his personal physician during the final three years of his life.

That explains it then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,609 ✭✭✭Flamed Diving

I can't wait to see the scangers stumbling around the place with their eyeballs and **** falling out. Bring on the meth, I say.

Tee hee!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I can't wait to see the scangers stumbling around the place with their eyeballs and **** falling out. Bring on the meth, I say.

Tee hee!

No, it's a horrible sight! I saw it alot in Australia. It's big problem over there. Thing that gets people hooked is it makes them look great at the start, hair and skin looks amazing. Then, their face just starts to wear away and get scabby and scabby hands as well. So horrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,609 ✭✭✭Flamed Diving

Larianne wrote: »
    No, it's a horrible sight! I saw it alot in Australia. It's big problem over there. Thing that gets people hooked is it makes them look great at the start, hair and skin looks amazing. Then, their face just starts to wear away and get scabby and scabby hands as well. So horrible.

Sounds wonderful!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭silver haze

hillbilly herion is actualy pills like Percocet or Oxycontin, which used to come in a whopping 160mg tablet, that was recently banned.

you just suck the 12hr time-release coating off and viola, a great big slap of opioid bliss.

when the media cant be relied upon to even get this right, how can you thrust them to portray both the bad and good effects of meth accurately and in an unbiased manner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Stay_in_Kampuchea

hillbilly herion is actualy pills like Percocet or Oxycontin, which used to come in a whopping 160mg tablet, that was recently banned.

you just suck the 12hr time-release coating off and viola, a great big slap of opioid bliss.

when the media cant be relied upon to even get this right, how can you thrust them to portray both the bad and good effects of meth accurately and in an unbiased manner.

No Junkies in your family then?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Des Hynes

Degsy wrote: »
    In europe its mostly controled by Hells Angels,its not a big thing in europe yet though,far more so in New zealand,Australia and the US.In Australia its known as Crank because it used to be hidden in the cranksafts of Motorbikes.Its growing in SE Asia too,where its available as little purple pills called Yaba.
    It can be manufatured relatively easily by distilling Ephedra,or Pseudoephadrine(cold and flu remedy).In many places you cant buy more than one packet of Sudafed for example and Ephedrine used to be contained in bodybuilding weight loss supplements,now its been removed and these products dont work!!

I think you'll find the Aussies call it Ice.
    Kiwis call it Pi.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

the first few hits on Ice are absolutley feckin amazing, then it all goes down hill rather quickly, My personal preference is/was to smoke it in a crack pipe heated by a Butane Blowtorch, you really need to superheat the crystals to get the full effect of the drug, it has a sickly sweet chemical taste to it, which I can get now in the roof of my mouth just thinkin about it.

most people will be able to 'handle' the drug for the first few times, then it can become all consuming, as with any other drug you have to know yer limits, Ice is one of the bad ones cos on average (based on observation and experience) it will absolutley destroy you in six months or less if you allow it to consume you.

it is not something I would advocate as a party drug as peoples reactions vary wildly, uncontrolable rage seems to be a common theme amongst young Aussie men.

also I found it very hard to blow the load whilst on it, even tho I had a ragin horn for hours, so its kinda like speed there.

so in general kiddies tis to be avoided, if the photos dont put you off try gettin a coherent sentence out of someone on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

The ultimate retard drug in fairness.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

Dragan wrote: »
    The ultimate retard drug in fairness.

Meh, I'd a said that was Cocaine meself,

Instant self obsessed boring arsehole - just add coke

Meh, I'd a said that was Cocaine meself,

Instant self obsessed boring arsehole - just add coke

N'ah, coke won't turn everyone into an asshole....it will just increase any asshole like qualities that you have. This is what i have noticed over the years anyways, perfectly sound person takes coke they stay sound....that iffy guy takes coke and suddenly BOOM, ****face city.

Meth is just signing your life away really. Might as well step off a bridge and save yourself the bother.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

In Cocaine lies madness...

"Away in my brain, no cocaine, i don't wanna, i don't wanna go insane....."

In meth lies death...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

meth may be bad, but this was a funny movie about it:

"Spun" http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0283003/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

meth may be bad, but this was a ****e movie about it:

"Spun" http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0283003/

Fixed that for you.

Just cause the movie was about meth addicts I don't see why they felt the ned to have it edited by a meth addict. :rolleyes:

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Fixed that for you.

Just cause the movie was about meth addicts I don't see why they felt the ned to have it edited by a meth addict. :rolleyes:

The best thing about that film were the qotes from Mickey Rourke in interviews afterwards. He tore apart his fellow cast members, my favourite line being "I did more stupid things and cheap drugs that any of these ****ing kids and i still showed up to work on time".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,554 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

no, the best thing about that movie was the cover of number of the beast.

still, pretty good film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Meth seems to give a really good shine to your hair. http://www.drugfree.org/Portal/DrugIssue/MethResources/faces/photo_2.html

Maybe it's not all bad.

If you're stupid enough to take this drug you deserve to look like that crowd of Pete Dohertys from that site posted.

Haven't seen it about myself yet though. Probably will become more frequent in the next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

utick wrote: »
    with such a terrible reputation how do people end up taking it, can it be mixed in with weed, or cocaine without the users knowledge

Well people have known the reputation around heroin in this country for decades, some people still take it, same deal. You could mix it with cocaine or weed but it doesn't really happen, weed is cheap enough to make it pointless to mix meth into it, plus people looking to smoke a bit of weed and get stoned wouldn't be too happy when the meth hit them, the seller would put himself out of business in a couple of weeks. It could be mixed with coke but again what would be the point? There are more enough customers for decent coke, so cutting it with meth doesn't really give an advantage. Meth is however sold here simply as speed, or sometimes as base speed, plenty of people take it without realising that its actually meth they are taking, it has such a bad reputation that the people selling it operate a don't ask don't tell policy. More than a couple of times a friend of a freind of mine has been told by someone how XXXXXX has some briliant speed (meaning amphetamines) only to sample it and realise its crystal meth cut with glucose or new era or one of the other standard cutting agents used to dilute cocaine.

slipss wrote: »
    Well people have known the reputation around heroin in this country for decades, some people still take it, same deal. You could mix it with cocaine or weed but it doesn't really happen, weed is cheap enough to make it pointless to mix meth into it, plus people looking to smoke a bit of weed and get stoned wouldn't be too happy when the meth hit them, the seller would put himself out of business in a couple of weeks. It could be mixed with coke but again what would be the point? There are more enough customers for decent coke, so cutting it with meth doesn't really give an advantage. Meth is however sold here simply as speed, or sometimes as base speed, plenty of people take it without realising that its actually meth they are taking, it has such a bad reputation that the people selling it operate a don't ask don't tell policy. More than a couple of times a friend of a freind of mine has been told by someone how XXXXXX has some briliant speed (meaning amphetamines) only to sample it and realise its crystal meth cut with glucose or new era or one of the other standard cutting agents used to dilute cocaine.

What in the name of christ are you talking about?
    You dont "Mix" meth "with coke or weed".
    YOu havnt a clue what you're talking about.
    NOBODY sells methamphetamine as "speed" or "base speed".
    Whats sold as speed in amphetamine sulphate,a much less potent form of amphetamine.
    Nobody trying to shift meth woulod have to spike somebody's "weed,heroin,coke or base speed" with it because it sells itself very nicely.
    If i wanted some speed and i heard such-and-such had meth,i'd buy it WILLINGLY because its far stronger than other types of speed.
    You sound like you read a leaving-cert religeon book and jumbled the "facts" about drugs in your mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭invincibleirish

*yawns*

Crystal Meth and the hullabaloo around it in the US shows up the hypocrisy of drugs policy in the west.

All the drugs are bad mmkay types who preach about the evils of Meth are ignored en masse because they are the same people saying the same negative things but about a different drug.

Weed, LSD, Ecstacy & Cocaine as examples were all demonised by the puritans at some time or other, yet they are still massively popular around the world despite their illegality and its quite clear they dont **** you up like those in charge wanted you to believe.

I havent tried Crystal Meth myself, but have heard of it being around. But i'd rather hear about what it does to you from people who do not have an anti drugs agenda to push above all else, that includes publicly funded ads.

What in the name of christ are you talking about?
    You dont "Mix" meth "with coke or weed".
    YOu havnt a clue what you're talking about.
    NOBODY sells methamphetamine as "speed" or "base speed".
    Whats sold as speed in amphetamine sulphate,a much less potent form of amphetamine.
    Nobody trying to shift meth woulod have to spike somebody's "weed,heroin,coke or base speed" with it because it sells itself very nicely.
    If i wanted some speed and i heard such-and-such had meth,i'd buy it WILLINGLY because its far stronger than other types of speed.
    You sound like you read a leaving-cert religeon book and jumbled the "facts" about drugs in your mind.

Well, yes, you don't mix meth with coke or weed. Thats what I said, pretty much word for word, what are you taking about. And yes, people are selling meth as speed and base speed in Ireland, for the reason I stated. Plenty of people take speed, most of these would not take meth because of the amount of negative publicity around it. Just like plenty of the people that take hcl cocaine wouldn't take crack. So they are sold meth, told its speed, realise its the best speed around and continue to purchase it. Meth does not "sell itself very nicely" in this country (just scan back through this thread to see most peoples reaction in this country when it is mentioned). Its reputation precedes it, just like with crack cocaine. The market for someone selling meth is pretty select in Ireland, most "recreational" drug users actively avoid taking it, even when its available, they've all seen the pictures posted in this thread, they've all seen the iced up bloke with the knife to the womans throat in Thailand, that is not the case with speed, its seen as no big deal, something to do for a bit of a laugh on a friday night, the market for speed is massive. Your jumbled religious leaving-cert facts argument might stand to itself if we were discussing driving a taxi, I wouldn't have the first clue about the ins and outs of taxi driving, other than what i've heard second hand or read, thats not really the case here Degsy.

slipss wrote: »
    Well, yes, you don't mix meth with coke or weed. Thats what I said, pretty much word for word, what are you taking about. And yes, people are selling meth as speed and base speed in Ireland, for the reason I stated. Plenty of people take speed, most of these would not take meth because of the amount of negative publicity around it. Just like plenty of the people that take hcl cocaine wouldn't take crack. So they are sold meth, told its speed, realise its the best speed around and continue to purchase it. Meth does not "sell itself very nicely" in this country (just scan back through this thread to see most peoples reaction in this country when it is mentioned). Its reputation precedes it, just like with crack cocaine. The market for someone selling meth is pretty select in Ireland, most "recreational" drug users actively avoid taking it, even when its available, they've all seen the pictures posted in this thread, they've all seen the iced up bloke with the knife to the womans throat in Thailand, that is not the case with speed, its seen as no big deal, something to do for a bit of a laugh on a friday night, the market for speed is massive. Your jumbled religious leaving-cert facts argument might stand to itself if we were discussing driving a taxi, I wouldn't have the first clue about the ins and outs of taxi driving, other than what i've heard second hand or read, thats not really the case here Degsy.

Why would a "Recreational drug user" AVOID taking a "recreational drug"??

Do you honestly,honestly mean to say that speedfreaks(of which there are not many),would have been swayed by pictures in the media NOT to take the strongest form of thier prefered drug?
    If only it were thats simple.
    What about all the pictures for the last thirty years of the damage that heroin does to you?Why hasnt THAT had the same effect?
    Or maybe,it actually has,and your 300 euro a day habit junkie draws the line at Afghan heroin because it supports war.
    The one thing that rapidly becomes obvious when you're talking about illegal drugs is that "negative publicity"(lol),doesnt influence drug users in the slightest.
    I've said it before and i repeat:You dont know what you're talking about.

Why would a "Recreational drug user" AVOID taking a "recreational drug"??

Do you honestly,honestly mean to say that speedfreaks(of which there are not many),would have been swayed by pictures in the media NOT to take the strongest form of thier prefered drug?
    If only it were thats simple.
    What about all the pictures for the last thirty years of the damage that heroin does to you?Why hasnt THAT had the same effect?
    Or maybe,it actually has,and your 300 euro a day habit junkie draws the line at Afghan heroin because it supports war.
    The one thing that rapidly becomes obvious when you're talking about illegal drugs is that "negative publicity"(lol),doesnt influence drug users in the slightest.
    I've said it before and i repeat:You dont know what you're talking about.

*sigh* Listen man I'm not going to get into one of these endless quoting each other things. I'll try and explain this to you one more time (you appear to be completely missing my point) then I'm done. A recreational drug user, as most people understand the term, is one who is not addicted to or a habitual user of a drug. So I am not talking about "speedfreaks" when I mention people being put off a drug by its negative press. I'm taking about the bloke who does a couple of lines of coke on a saturday night, maybe smokes a joint occasionally after work on a friday, or who takes a bit of speed on occasion before he heads out to a party. These are the people that are put off trying meth in the first place, thses are the people that make up the vast majority of the potential market. They have no problem doing speed the odd time, but they wouldn't touch meth, just like they have no problem doing those couple of lines of coke but they wouldn't smoke crack in place of the couple of lines, this is despite the fact that they know it will give them a stronger hit. I am not talking about speedfreaks or junkies, I'm talking about the other 90% of the illegal drug market. I would not mention people selling meth as speed if it was something I heard from some young fella down the pub or something I read in the Indo, its a fact that it goes on. If you still (for some reason) can't follow, well do some meth, it does wonders for your concentration.