Englishman wins Irish race case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

dlofnep wrote: »
    I'm sure the Medway messenger has a great reader base. And where's the coverage for this by the BBC? One article in a nothing-newspaper hardly compares to a worldwide coverage by the BBC. My original point still stands.

British media highlights news story with pro-British spin while giving less column inches to events in which British people look bad. SHOCKER! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I'm sure the Medway messenger has a great reader base. And where's the coverage for this by the BBC? One article in a nothing-newspaper hardly compares to a worldwide coverage by the BBC. My original point still stands.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/berkshire/4351461.stm

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/7434618.stm

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/wales/north_east/3708065.stm

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/6993591.stm

Will that do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

The British media dont hold back on reporting on the antics of there Citizens abroad .

the fat guy was probably called Fat Arnold

It's Albert, not Arnold........Fat Albert. Get your facts right, racist!!!!! :p

Anyway:

Slagging England football team = not racism
    Singing 'patriotic' songs = naybe racism, depending on the content
    Brit = not racist on it's own (it's short for Briton afterall)

Overall though, I'd say money deserved for the bullying/intimidation aspect alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,599 ✭✭✭patmac

English Bastard comes over here takes our money over a bit of slagging.
    I'm heading back over to sue the various construction companies etc for the 8 years of abuse I got over there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

patmac wrote: »
    I'm heading back over to sue the various construction companies etc for the 8 years of abuse I got over there.

it must have been really bad if you stuck it out for 8 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

patmac wrote: »
    Irish "bastard" went over to England, took their money for eight years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Singing 'patriotic' songs = naybe racism, depending on the content

Our national anthem contains the line "out yonder waits the saxon foe" Suck it up builder guy, its called "culture" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

They would say "send the Brit in" to clear the way if they had to enter potentially dangerous spaces at work.

I have to say this did make me laugh.

I live and work in England and have this kind of thing said to me all the time. I just try and think up something funny to say back. 99% of the time this kind of thing is friendly banter not racist and when if I ever felt anything was genuinely racist I would have said this to a boss straight away even if it was him saying it if you don’t make a complaint then in my opinion your just allowing it to continue yourself.

Now I’m not saying that it should but it will. If you don’t tell people that you don’t like what there saying then more often then not they won’t stop.

If he felt it was he realy should have spoken to someone about it. It realy does sound like he did this as a Fu*K you for sacking me and to get some cash otherwise I think he would have left himself and then filed the complaint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Bambi wrote: »
    Our national anthem contains the line "out yonder waits the saxon foe" Suck it up builder guy, its called "culture" :pac:

What's Germany got to do with it??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Malari wrote: »
    For gawds sake dont mention the war

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Malari wrote: »

They're all the same you know, these demmed foreigners

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭mise_me_fein

Everyone knows the craic on the sites........it's a tough place.....people get called fats, dopey, ugly, anything goes.

Would have preferred to see the English guy have some balls and sort it out himself.....still he pocketed a nice bit for being a wimp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭Homer

Compo culture FTW!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

Negative reports about England's performance in the 2006 World Cup were also read aloud in his presence.

What a bunch of fascists alright :rolleyes: The football of all things. God almighty.

Went to school with an American young lad, he was always 'the yank'. In the states he said we'd be 'paddy' or whatever else. He was a good mate of mine, there was nothing racist in it. My dads a fireman, and when we bumped into a bunch of lads over from NYC, they said 'Oh yeah, there's a few Micks in our station' -i.e lads of Irish descent. It's hardly racist. It's banter.

I'm sure there's a few thousand Irish lads considering their options now, because there were plenty of construction sites in London and Birmigham and god knows where else full of Paddys and Micks.

Out for a quick buck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

PrivateEye wrote: »
    What a bunch of fascists alright :rolleyes: The football of all things. God almighty.

Went to school with an American young lad, he was always 'the yank'. In the states he said we'd be 'paddy' or whatever else. He was a good mate of mine, there was nothing racist in it. My dads a fireman, and when we bumped into a bunch of lads over from NYC, they said 'Oh yeah, there's a few Micks in our station' -i.e lads of Irish descent. It's hardly racist. It's banter.

I'm sure there's a few thousand Irish lads considering their options now, because there were plenty of construction sites in London and Birmigham and god knows where else full of Paddys and Micks.

Out for a quick buck.

If the yank you went to school with couldn't take it as a joke but you still kept at it and it upset him to the point where he would avoid you, would it still be a joke?

PrivateEye wrote: »

Out for a quick buck.

But can't you see there's a difference between good-natured banter between some guys who are quite friendly and others who may be victimising one person with the same kind of language?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,557 ✭✭✭✭Alun

javaboy wrote: »
    If the yank you went to school with couldn't take it as a joke but you still kept at it and it upset him to the point where he would avoid you, would it still be a joke?

That's the point exactly, and defines the essential difference between a bit of harmless joking/banter and out and out bullying, i.e. you see that the person at the receiving end is upset by your remarks for whatever reason (it's irrelevant what that reason is or whether you personally consider it an overreaction ... it's NOT your call to make) yet you carry on doing it. Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I bet the guy is a wanker who gets **** everywhere he goes.

I'd say its a fair bet he's got no friends either and probably a loner and considered 'strange' by those unfortunete enough to meet him.

Mairt wrote: »

I'd say its a fair bet he's got no friends either and probably a loner and considered 'strange' by those unfortunete enough to meet him.

Maybe he is, and maybe that's the reason he was bullied and victimised. Still doesn't make it right. What's your point?

maybe he is a decent enough guy and the guys he worked with were **** :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭j1smithy

Claire121 wrote: »
    Why on earth would you be blaming random English people for something that happened in the past? People like you make me sick. If you're going to be a bigot, stand up and admit it, don't try to justify it with some pathetic excuse.

I believe Tony Blairs government did indeed apologise officially to Ireland, at least for the famine anyway

Last two posts were ''Maybe'' - ok maybe he might go and kiss the butt end of my bollox.

We all get sh*t in work - he's a bit hairy arsed for me to be concerned about his delicate fvcking nature.

Anyway, he's up twenty grand now maybe he can buy some mates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Catsmokinpot

It's prejudiced against another nationality alright, I wouldn't quite consider it racist though

grow a thick skin and get over it. i chose racist because there was no other option.

Yes, it happens a lot, I'm sick of being referred to as limey or whatever else, But whenever they take the piss out of me i do it right back, and tell them that Britain used to own your country so shut the hell up, and you're not getting your 6 counties back.

Give as good as you get I say :P

ok maybe he might go and kiss the butt end of my bollox.

do you mean your notcha?

as in notcha arse and notcha balls :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭4Xcut

Racial abuse would be a strong word for this. I mean come on, its generally accepted that there is a bit of friendly banter between us and the British. This guy is just being a soft-skinned baby. The smart thing to do would have to take it in good humour and give wind up his work mates in a friendly manner too.

I think we all know that if they had a real problem with him being english, they would have been doing more than reading out his countries poor football results.

As regards to being dismissed - is it not the case in Ireland of last in, first out. In which case it is quite possible that someone less qualified could have been perfectly entitled to stay.

All in all, 20,000 is a rediculous sum of money to be paid out for what most people would consider harmless banter. And no, it doesn't matter if it offended him deeply or not because he didn't raise the issue with his employer when it started or during his tenure there.

do you mean your notcha?

as in notcha arse and notcha balls :D

Haven't a bleed'n clue what your talking about?.

Explain?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

R0ot wrote: »
    No individual Americans that voted for George Bush and his administration should though. :pac:

i doubt he voted for elisabeth the first

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Last two posts were ''Maybe'' - ok maybe he might go and kiss the butt end of my bollox.

We all get sh*t in work - he's a bit hairy arsed for me to be concerned about his delicate fvcking nature.

Anyway, he's up twenty grand now maybe he can buy some mates.

well put sir although i would feel the kind of sh1t you would recieve at work may be on the less than average side

its the big judo doing army man weightlifter bouncer vibe that makes me feel this,

just my opinion tho

if he couldn't take it he couldn't take it i caughf a vicious headbut from an english fella at work when i was 18

i diserved it now i should have been ready but if he was a delicate little thing it'd have probaby gone a differet way