Former classmates - do you blank them or bother with them?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

I never had a tormentor, I feel sort of left out.

But all these angry people in here who can't seem to let go of things that happened 10-20 years ago make me wonder if there's anyone who's holding a grudge against me or my friends... I don't think we were assholes... but we probably were at some point. Maybe one guy in primary school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭trowelled

Phlann wrote: »
    I never had a tormentor, I feel sort of left out.

But all these angry people in here who can't seem to let go of things that happened 10-20 years ago make me wonder if there's anyone who's holding a grudge against me or my friends... I don't think we were assholes... but we probably were at some point. Maybe one guy in primary school.

Tormentor made my life hell in primary school. Be happy you didn't have one. I actually hadn't thought about her in years but she popped up in a conversation I had with my younger sister yesterday. She reminded me of an incident in the school yard when tormentor pushed me and when my sister saw this she pushed the biatch back, ha ha!! Think if I ever saw her again I'd just walk on by

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 @lantis

I can't see the reason why I should pretend to be all excited about running into people I went to school with, unless we were friends..

That's one of the reasons why I don't like forums like Facebook etc because it makes people think that it's absolutely essential to catch up with people you went to school with, but when it comes down to it and you've done the whole "What do you do nowadays/marital status" type of questions you realize that you don't have anything more to say to each other, and that it will probably be another 10-12 years before you talk again...Waste of time IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,681 ✭✭✭Chong

Dont really bother with people from school tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Le_Sabotage

AARRRGH wrote: »
    I hardly ever see anyone who I was in class with. Maybe once every few years!

I wonder am I simply not recognising them, and do they now think I\'m a rude ****...

Did anyone here go to Oatlands College in Stillorgan?!

Whats your name dude? I was there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Scram

Id like to say hi to ones i liked i guess but sometimes you kinda get caught off-guard and dont expect to see them and go to yourself "holy ****, where did he/she come from". I usually always say hi if im out in a pub/disco and see somebody from school being a bit drunk helps sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭the immortals

blank them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

any time i see anyone i went to school with (not too often tbh) ill always say hello, or have a quick waffle if i get the chance. i pretty much got on with everyone in my year tho, so its no bother talking to them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

I usually blank and refuse acknowledge about 80% of the people I went to school with, I was horrendously bullied in Primary School (ended up in Hospital) and that continued through to secondary school so I pretty much hated life as a teenager as my life was pretty much crap because of it.

I find that the girls I went to school with (I'm male) were the soundest while the lads were right a$$holes. I'd say my best revenge was when I was down on business to where I grew up last year and one of my old school bullies filled my company E-Class with petrol in a grimy filling station and I had a work colleague with me (hot married female:eek:) whom he probably assumed I had hooked up with. It felt a bit like that movie, Romy and Michelle's High School reunion :D

Moving away from home and doing things on my own was key. I visit where I grew up every so often and see alot of the people I went to school it is kind of funny to see how they turned out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

mumhaabu wrote: »
    I usually blank and refuse acknowledge about 80% of the people I went to school with, I was horrendously bullied in Primary School (ended up in Hospital) and that continued through to secondary school so I pretty much hated life as a teenager as my life was pretty much crap because of it.

I find that the girls I went to school with (I'm male) were the soundest while the lads were right a$$holes. I'd say my best revenge was when I was down on business to where I grew up last year and one of my old school bullies filled my company E-Class with petrol in a grimy filling station and I had a work colleague with me (hot married female:eek:) whom he probably assumed I had hooked up with. It felt a bit like that movie, Romy and Michelle's High School reunion :D

Moving away from home and doing things on my own was key. I visit where I grew up every so often and see alot of the people I went to school it is kind of funny to see how they turned out.

I'm sorry that things were so sh*te for you in school but at least things are better now.
    This is probably the best revenge possible though:
    one of my old school bullies filled my company E-Class with petrol in a grimy filling station and I had a work colleague with me (hot married female:eek:) whom he probably assumed I had hooked up with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

I'd say my best revenge was when I was down on business to where I grew up last year and one of my old school bullies filled my company E-Class with petrol in a grimy filling station and I had a work colleague with me (hot married female:eek:) whom he probably assumed I had hooked up with.

That, in my book, is poetic f***in justice!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭Joe Cool

I'd talk to everyone from my year and a few from the years above and below.

The only time I'd blank them was if I was in a hurry and they hadn't seen me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Try to blank them because awkward silences are painful.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Try to blank them because awkward silences are painful.
    Fúck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Depends who it is.

Fúck off.
    Thats very rude. Wheres a mod when you need one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Thats very rude. Wheres a mod when you need one.
    Thats very back seat of you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭conorhal

I've never 'got' the whole class reunion thing, anybody that I genuinely liked in school, I'm actually still in contact with (3 or 4 people). As for the rest, even if a shadow of recognition filts across each other face as we pass by, enough time has passed by also so that we can safely pretend not to recognise each other ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭Seifer

Ignore.
    Just because you were forced to spend six years of your life with a random group of guys doesn't mean you owe them anything.
    I have friends I met in school who I still see regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭friendface

Honestly, I wouldn't remember one of them. Not one.

Amnesias a bitch !

Max Power1 wrote: »
    Thats very back seat of you
    What do ya mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

couldnt be bothered with ex school mates, i no longer have any contact with them

i am in contact with about 8 people from my college class, and couldnt really give a damn about any of the others... i didnt like them in college and i dont want them in my life now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Scarydoll

I avoid them like the plague.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Scarydoll wrote: »
    I avoid them like the plague.

Avoid them like a monkeys bottome!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭GalwayKiefer

I went to secondary school with a few of my (now) best mates. Strangely enough we didn't know each other that well in school, kinda started hanging around in college and through mutual college/work friends.
    Most lads I went to school with I can't remember their names so a nod or howya and keep walking is about all that happens.
    The rest of them can all go f*ck themselves the pack of w*nkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

i say hello to them all if i reconise them.
    its ignorant and rude to blank people
    i cant believe people got bullied in primary school WTF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭MickShamrock

Blank 'em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

this thing really annoys me, if i see a guy i know or used to know why the would i blank him? unless i a: have a massive chip on my shoulder or b: come from a clannish village.

I'd blank most but not all.. It's just laziness and the fact that I find catchup chats mind numbingly boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,943 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

connundrum wrote: »
    I ran into a few former class mates in a short space of time recently, and by the end of it I was sick of stopping for the same fuckin chat..

Him: So what ya up to these days
    Me: Ah just workin away you know, and yourself?
    Him: Ah sure much the same, when you down again? We should go on the beer.
    Me: Sure next time I'm down I'll give you a buzz and we'll sort it!
    Him: Sound chat ya later.

Fastforward 6 months, repeat. Fastforward 6 months, repeat. etc

every feckin Christmas!