Xmas blues in August

• 06-08-2008 09:52PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭

Walking past my local overpriced toy shop today and they had a BIG sign on the windown saying "21 weeks to christmas"

Are ya ****ing kidding me?Can we finish our summer first!!!!!!!!!!

*Rant over*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Walking past my local overpriced toy shop today and they had a BIG sign on the windown saying "21 weeks to christmas"

*Rant over*

When did it start?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,668 ✭✭✭DenMan

What!!! Only 21 weeks to go to Christmas, yada yada yada. Must be prepared this time. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

It just gets earlier every year...not too long ago people were complaining that it was being mentioned just before Halloween.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Which radio station will be the first to play 'Fairytale of New York'? Q_o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭markos79

Ho Ho Ho i cant wait!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭Wurly

*Rant over*
    Oh FFS. THey deserve to be strangled for that. Gimps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Stop this now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Ruu wrote: »

today FM ! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

When you work in retail, Christmas starts next month! We shall be taking in the Christmas stock over the next few months and preparing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

It just gets earlier every year...not too long ago people were complaining that it was being mentioned just before Halloween.

I remember that used to be the rule: no Christmas until after Halloween.

Now it's at the start of August? Nuts!

ASS CLOWN!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

*Rant over*

Just

Can't I even get my birthday out of the way first???!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

*Rant over*

Thats really is annoying, it is 140 days until Christmas, that is 20 weeks, not 21.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    When you work in retail, Christmas starts next month! We shall be taking in the Christmas stock over the next few months and preparing.

Harrods already have there christmas department opened up and its doing a roaring trade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭flanzer

Sure there was an ad on 98FM today advertising 'booking your Christmas party now'. I nearly crashed the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

I heard an advert at least 3 times this week on 98FM for some hotel deal offerings for bloody Xmas parties!!. "Book now to avoid disappointment".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Cant believe that.Its f**kin August FFS, and the start of august at that!!That said, i had a similiar experience there last sunday night when a club i was in played fairytale of new york!!!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Warhammer

quote=useful_contacts;56813709 "21 weeks to christmas"
    :eek:Thats so depressing as i just been on hols.
    More monnies!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I must start putting away some euros evry week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Warhammer

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    I must start putting away some euros evry week.
    Buy one of those money tin pots from a poundshop.
    I started putting in 2 euro coins in last feb and opened it for hols and wow €680 in it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

*shudder*

F*ck Christmas.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

The one that will be burned to the ground soon after..

*stands with matches prepared*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

ahhhh i luv that song....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

flanzer wrote: »
    Sure there was an ad on 98FM today advertising 'booking your Christmas party now'. I nearly crashed the car

*sniggers*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

hate to break it to you, summer finished 7 days ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

*Rant over*
    Seek professional help.[Therapist(snyper)]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,772 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Sherifu wrote: »
    Seek professional help.[Therapist(snyper)]

Fixed that for ya;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

I got an email in work dated 4th of July 2008. Subject: Christmas party details.

Jaysus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭SpookyDoll

:mad: ARGH :mad: Curses!!! Ye had to mention it didnt ya! Ya just wouldnt let it LIEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!! (lol)

Christmas is $hit !!!

Whats to like....?
    Rancid decos
    Armaggeddon traffic
    Trapped in a claustrophobic gaff with rellies ya hate being force fed too much food....
    Waste of money/time/energy
    Unnecessary hassle
    Being given fookin bath salts :rolleyes:
    Giving ppl $hit u know they dont want...
    Being asked "so are ye all set for Xmas?" a million times a day
    Choirs obstructing the streets
    CHRISTMAS MUSIC :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad: WHY ?????????????????

URGH!

Last year I left the country, it was poetic lying by the pool on Xmas day in a country where its hardly even awknowledged!

Oh IF ONLY some enterprising sort would invent an Xmas getaway, say an island you could go to for 2 weeks where the mention of the pestulent event was banned.....!!! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

YAY christmas! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭captainzapp

i hate town at christmas. you just get over the bazillion tourists and the christmas shopping begins.