Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Xmas blues in August

• 06-08-2008 8:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭

Walking past my local overpriced toy shop today and they had a BIG sign on the windown saying "21 weeks to christmas"

Are ya ****ing kidding me?Can we finish our summer first!!!!!!!!!!

*Rant over*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Walking past my local overpriced toy shop today and they had a BIG sign on the windown saying "21 weeks to christmas"

*Rant over*

When did it start?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,181 ✭✭✭DenMan

What!!! Only 21 weeks to go to Christmas, yada yada yada. Must be prepared this time. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

It just gets earlier every year...not too long ago people were complaining that it was being mentioned just before Halloween.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Which radio station will be the first to play 'Fairytale of New York'? Q_o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭markos79

Ho Ho Ho i cant wait!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

*Rant over*
    Oh FFS. THey deserve to be strangled for that. Gimps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Stop this now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Ruu wrote: »

today FM ! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

When you work in retail, Christmas starts next month! We shall be taking in the Christmas stock over the next few months and preparing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

It just gets earlier every year...not too long ago people were complaining that it was being mentioned just before Halloween.

I remember that used to be the rule: no Christmas until after Halloween.

Now it's at the start of August? Nuts!

ASS CLOWN!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

*Rant over*

Just

Can't I even get my birthday out of the way first???!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

*Rant over*

Thats really is annoying, it is 140 days until Christmas, that is 20 weeks, not 21.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    When you work in retail, Christmas starts next month! We shall be taking in the Christmas stock over the next few months and preparing.

Harrods already have there christmas department opened up and its doing a roaring trade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭flanzer

Sure there was an ad on 98FM today advertising 'booking your Christmas party now'. I nearly crashed the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

I heard an advert at least 3 times this week on 98FM for some hotel deal offerings for bloody Xmas parties!!. "Book now to avoid disappointment".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Cant believe that.Its f**kin August FFS, and the start of august at that!!That said, i had a similiar experience there last sunday night when a club i was in played fairytale of new york!!!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Warhammer

quote=useful_contacts;56813709 "21 weeks to christmas"
    :eek:Thats so depressing as i just been on hols.
    More monnies!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I must start putting away some euros evry week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Warhammer

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    I must start putting away some euros evry week.
    Buy one of those money tin pots from a poundshop.
    I started putting in 2 euro coins in last feb and opened it for hols and wow €680 in it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

*shudder*

F*ck Christmas.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

The one that will be burned to the ground soon after..

*stands with matches prepared*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

ahhhh i luv that song....:D

flanzer wrote: »
    Sure there was an ad on 98FM today advertising 'booking your Christmas party now'. I nearly crashed the car

*sniggers*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

hate to break it to you, summer finished 7 days ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

*Rant over*
    Seek professional help.[Therapist(snyper)]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,314 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Sherifu wrote: »

Fixed that for ya;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

I got an email in work dated 4th of July 2008. Subject: Christmas party details.

Jaysus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭SpookyDoll

:mad: ARGH :mad: Curses!!! Ye had to mention it didnt ya! Ya just wouldnt let it LIEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!! (lol)

Christmas is $hit !!!

Whats to like....?
    Rancid decos
    Armaggeddon traffic
    Trapped in a claustrophobic gaff with rellies ya hate being force fed too much food....
    Waste of money/time/energy
    Unnecessary hassle
    Being given fookin bath salts :rolleyes:
    Giving ppl $hit u know they dont want...
    Being asked "so are ye all set for Xmas?" a million times a day
    Choirs obstructing the streets
    CHRISTMAS MUSIC :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad: WHY ?????????????????

URGH!

Last year I left the country, it was poetic lying by the pool on Xmas day in a country where its hardly even awknowledged!

Oh IF ONLY some enterprising sort would invent an Xmas getaway, say an island you could go to for 2 weeks where the mention of the pestulent event was banned.....!!! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

YAY christmas! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭captainzapp

i hate town at christmas. you just get over the bazillion tourists and the christmas shopping begins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Jeez lighten up you bunch of feckin' Scrooges. The sooner Christmas comes, the better. Presents, turkey, the tree, snow (hopefully)

IT'S ONLY 20 WEEKS AWAY! WOOHOO!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

javaboy wrote: »
    When did it start?

10th of May.
    It ended on the 11th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

R0ot wrote: »
    today FM ! :pac:

Not on my watch!!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

I've already got my shop employees putting up signs for Christmas 2010.

But ive my xmas gifts already gotten, i took 150e out of the bank today went in to town and bought them all(and got them for dirt cheap too as theres sales EVERYWHERE) just decided to get it outta the way as last xmas was STRESS shopping for presents.

So for 127e i got gifts for 8 people in my family and 9 in my partners so 17 gifts alltogether

Not too shabby

And now thats outta the way:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

But ive my xmas gifts already gotten, i took 150e out of the bank today went in to town and bought them all(and got them for dirt cheap too as theres sales EVERYWHERE) just decided to get it outta the way as last xmas was STRESS shopping for presents.

So for 127e i got gifts for 8 people in my family and 9 in my partners so 17 gifts alltogether

Not too shabby

die

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Supermanscat

GrumPy wrote: »
    die

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Fixed that for ya;)
    Seek professional help.[The rapist(snyper)]

Fixed it better. :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Not too shabby

17 presents from 150 euro?

All i have to say to that is i'm glad you're not buying my xmas presents!!!

EDIT: I just noticed that you're the OP, what's with the hypocrisy? thumbs DOWN!!!

17 presents from 150 euro?

All i have to say to that is i'm glad you're not buying my xmas presents!!!

EDIT: I just noticed that you're the OP, what's with the hypocrisy? thumbs DOWN!!!

There's an odd phenomenon that I've noticed about present buying. If you buy your presents early, you don't feel guilty about spending much less on them But if you buy your presents at the last minute you will inevitably look at the unbelievably expensive Waterford crystal chandelier you bought for your great-grand-cousin-twice removed and say "Oh that's not really enough. I better get him a car too."

If useful_contacts bought 17 presents from 150 euro on December 24th, I bet she'd feel like more of a cheapskate.

Does anyone else notice this? It's not like the recipient will have a clue when you bought it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭McGetty

To be fair, if I was planning a big Christmas party I nearly would be booking the venue by now, it's impossible to find anywhere decent closer to the time.

Anyway, I like when Christmas is coming :D I get along well with the family and don't get to see them all as often as I like, so that's the main bonus it has going for it in my book. And I actually look forward to the weather Christmas time, when you go out you put on a jacket and hat cos you know it's gonna be freezing cold, not like this BS right now where you look out in the morning and see blue skies all round, head out in a t-shirt and get 5 minutes out the door when the weather goes "HAHA, got you, mother****er!"

as i said already i got the stuff for dirt cheap cos there was SALES EVERYWHERE hence why i took 150e outta the bank

Stuff that were 35e gone down to 10e **** that not leaving it there:D