Laters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,775 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I work with a c*nt that starts every frikking conversation with "Under the heading of"

Under the heading of shoving your head up your arse I advice ya to back away slowly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Innit though bruv. Yeah, I've a mixed vocab of Corkisms and Londonisms. Add in my best mates who are Cork-Dub, Cork-American and a west Cork culchie and it's quite a mixed bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

I invented the term "Laters".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,775 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Kold wrote: »
    Innit though bruv. Yeah, I've a mixed vocab of Corkisms and Londonisms. Add in my best mates who are Cork-Dub, Cork-American and a west Cork culchie and it's quite a mixed bag.
    The worst part of all that is that none of ye are without corkisms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

I'm from cork and have a cork/dublin mix. Regularly am i heard saying Jaysus you can't do that biy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Yeah dude, your accent is British but....
    We would call ya the Corklon accent guy:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭dave.omeara

Isn't it amazing how certain words or phrases can annoy the holy hell out of you.
    I worked with a guy once, and if you were having a crap day and just complaining and moaning about it, he'd turn to you and go 'Ah dry your eyes mate'. Wound me up to the last.

Later All.

MJOR wrote: »
    don't feel bad! I have picked up some dublinese from my OH:eek:

hehehhe dublinese.....

i also do the dub accent....

Actually of late no one can place my accent:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

MIN2511 wrote: »
    hehehhe dublinese.....

i also do the dub accent....

Actually of late no one can place my accent:o

Luckily for me mine is fairly neutral too until i roar... then the cork flies out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Munya

I work with a c*nt that starts every frikking conversation with "Under the heading of"

Under the heading of shoving your head up your arse I advice ya to back away slowly

What kind of r-...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

Mirror wrote: »
    It's intentionally illiterate. Kill yourself, now.

Why do you wear a scarf when it's not cold? Fashion is why. Laters is in and probably just another passing phrase.

I don't use it myself but it wouldn't bother me if someone else did.

Yeah dude, your accent is British but....
    We would call ya the Corklon accent guy:p

Hah, I'm a jumble. The other day, someone was like "You're half Asian!? I thought you were like.. mediteranean or something!" Known this guy over a year, this led to an argument about what I looked, with my half Chinese mate saying that I was white lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Naos wrote: »
    Why do you wear a scarf when it's not cold? Fashion is why. Laters is in and probably just another passing phrase.

That picture was taken in this country, in a shed, at about eight in the evening, in January.

Good effort though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Naos wrote: »

Fashion is not always about intelligence either. Don't like it but wouldn't pick someone up on it unless I knew them well. I blame it on sheer laziness and the misguided delusion that English only has 200 words or so and that all of them can be shortened, mangled and re-arranged any way you like.

Hah, I'm a jumble. The other day, someone was like "You're half Asian!? I thought you were like.. mediteranean or something!" Known this guy over a year, this led to an argument about what I looked, with my half Chinese mate saying that I was white lol.

Mediteranean:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Cause of the hair??

hehhee

Mediteranean:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Cause of the hair??

hehhee

Could be, lol. I think most people haven't a clue what I am. When someone says "Where are you from?" I say "London" and most leave it at that. Some people pick up on me being half Asian pretty quickly though. I wouldn't say it's obvious that I've oriental blood.

I wouldn't say it's obvious that I've oriental blood.
    You do???? Didn't know that!

Ah well just tell them you are "unique!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

I work with a guy who says All Rightey all the time... Cringe..

Drives me insane..

I work with a guy who says All Rightey all the time... Cringe..

Drives me insane..
    Way to bring the thread back on topic. All that talk of hair and scarves was making me nervous :)

My sister overuses "Whatever", in that sarcastic 'I just won the argument in one word' way...it just annoys me enough to not give up! :)

Ha ha, yeh my sister used to say 'Get over it' all the fucking time..

She used to rob my clothes and when I caught her and ripped her head off I'd get 'Get over it, nothing you can do about it now'..:eek:

WTF.. Get over it, isn't gonna get you out of being caught rapid wearing my brand new white jeans (that I havent even worn yet)... BITCH!!....

Ha ha, yeh my sister used to say 'Get over it' all the fucking time..

She used to rob my clothes and when I caught her and ripped her head off I'd get 'Get over it, nothing you can do about it now'..:eek:

WTF.. Get over it, isn't gonna get you out of being caught rapid wearing my brand new white jeans (that I havent even worn yet)... BITCH!!....
    I think we should try hitting them. :pac:

Sometimes it's easy to rest safe in the knowledge that they're just too unintelligent to come up with any other response, but mostly it's rather annoying :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 202 ✭✭Go-Go-Gadget

I really dont see a problem with this :P theres so many problems in the world and your caught up in a parting phrase :P

Whateverrrrrrrrr :D

Where as you get annoyed by nothing short of a famine? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

LATERS YA'LL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Steven

You seem to have missed my point. Take your FAIL and gtfo!

I believe you mean "failure".

... unless you're using unaccepted slang in a thread criticising unaccepted slang?

Steven wrote: »
    I believe you mean "failure".

... unless you're using unaccepted slang in a thread criticising unaccepted slang?
    I'm too lazy to argue, post reported :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

FINISH HIM!

On another note, has anyone heard people using the expression "safe", to mean "cool" or "sound"? I believe it's a British thing, if it makes it over here I may hang myself... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

On another note, has anyone heard people using the expression "safe", to mean "cool" or "sound"? I believe it's a British thing, if it makes it over here I may hang myself... :(

Only time I've heard it was on Skins thankfully. Sounds stoopid tbh :/