Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Laters

• 29-07-2008 1:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭

I work with a woman(though my morals hardly allow me to think of her as such in this scenario) who uses the expression "Laters!" as a means to end a conversation.

Excuse me??

She's 25. I want to slap her face and tell her to stfu. It won't be long now before I do point out the idiocy of it, it really grinds my gears.

Do any of your co-workers use words or expressions like this? And where did "Laters" even come from??

/Grr

Usually hear it from little posh southside girls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

URRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHH! That gets on my goat as well. I went out with a guy that would not only say it but text it too. Eg: Right I'm off to play football laters babe! FFS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Usually hear it from little posh southside girls
    Do you? I haven't been in Dublin in months.

That only makes it worse though, she's from Tallaght! :pac:

yeah most times. Its really annoying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Krsnik87

Jaysus you people are very easily agrovated aren't ya... I'm gonna start using bad grammer and speling mistakes to push you over the edge and see what happens :D

Krsnik87 wrote: »
    Jaysus you people are very easily agrovated aren't ya... I'm gonna start using bad grammer and speling mistakes to push you over the edge and see what happens :D
    /facepalm tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

I'd only ever use that in a text with someone I'd been talking to for a bit and would be talking to them again soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Krsnik87 wrote: »

Careful now!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

honestly i wouldnt have a problem with girls saying this but if a guy said it.......:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

or kisses! Like wtf is wrong with people adding s to the end of words.

Oh Mirror, laters babes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

MJOR wrote: »
    URRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHH! That gets on my goat as well. I went out with a guy that would not only say it but text it too. Eg: Right I'm off to play football laters babe! FFS

How long did that last?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

WHAT? i freekin say "laters" the WHOLE time! what the hell is the matter with it?:mad:

go swallow some paint stripper! "laters" is here to stay....and id like to see you stop it! MWA hahahahaha ;)

How long did that last?

Well believe it or not is was CNW! Same guy around six months, i told him straight up to stop. With the laters and the babes.

kmart6 wrote: »
    I'd only ever use that in a text with someone I'd been talking to for a bit and would be talking to them again soon!

But why the 's'? I mean "Later" is acceptable as "Talk to you later", but why the freaking 's'??
    honestly i wouldnt have a problem with girls saying this but if a guy said it.......:mad:

What's the difference?
    togster wrote: »
    or kisses! Like wtf is wrong with people adding s to the end of words.

Oh Mirror, laters babes

I's loves yous x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Smell ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

I go

laters....
    Babes
    Missy
    Reaaalllly
    Seriously
    Apparently
    Ciaaaoow
    OMG are yer kidding me....
    Cheers
    Thanks a mill
    Seeeeeeeeeeennnnnn
    Oh my days!!!

Dunno i pick up phrases really quickly, 10 mins with someone and i have quotes :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Two I heard everyday until she left the job was, if she sad she would say 'aaaahhh tearflick' and Im WTF??? Another one was what-ere instead of whatever.

WHAT? i freekin say "laters" the WHOLE time! what the hell is the matter with it?:mad:

go swallow some paint stripper! "laters" is here to stay....and id like to see you stop it! MWA hahahahaha ;)
    It's intentionally illiterate. Kill yourself, now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Wouldn't bother me tbh.

Laters.

Well believe it or not is was CNW! Same guy around six months, i told him straight up to stop. With the laters and the babes.

WTF is CNW??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Captain Ginger

I have two words:

Cooly Oooly.

:(

MIN2511 wrote: »
    I go

laters....
    Cheers
    Thanks a mill
    Seeeeeeeeeeennnnnn
    Oh my days!!!

Dunno i pick up phrases really quickly, 10 mins with someone and i have quotes :(

You ever spend much time in London? They're all pretty typical there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Mirror wrote: »
    But why the 's'? I mean "Later" is acceptable as "Talk to you later", but why the freaking 's'??

Well if I'm saying 'laters' I generally don't say 'talk to you...'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Munya

Sounds ***

WTF is CNW??

chicken nugget willy

kmart6 wrote: »
    Well if I'm saying 'laters' I generally don't say 'talk to you...'
    You seem to have missed my point. Take your FAIL and gtfo!

chicken nugget willy

Thats not something that should become an acronym...poor fella, maybe boardsies should all pitch in and buy him a d!ck pump or something? Naah, probably not.

lol I hope he's not on here. Laters is really annoying though at is TTFN- Ta ta for now! jaysus

Kold wrote: »
    You ever spend much time in London? They're all pretty typical there.

Yes i did, loads of British friends:( and i don't the like brits!:p

Recently worked with a friend for 3 months, lived 10mins away as well so i picked up alot...:(

Yer alright mate!
    Batty boy too....

arrrgggggggghhhhhhhh

Yes i did, loads of British friends:( and i don't the like brits!:p

Recently worked with a friend for 3 months, lived 10mins away as well so i picked up alot...:(

Yer alright mate!
    Batty boy too....

arrrgggggggghhhhhhhh
    don't feel bad! I have picked up some dublinese from my OH:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,308 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I work with a c*nt that starts every frikking conversation with "Under the heading of"

Under the heading of shoving your head up your arse I advice ya to back away slowly

Innit though bruv. Yeah, I've a mixed vocab of Corkisms and Londonisms. Add in my best mates who are Cork-Dub, Cork-American and a west Cork culchie and it's quite a mixed bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

I invented the term "Laters".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,308 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Innit though bruv. Yeah, I've a mixed vocab of Corkisms and Londonisms. Add in my best mates who are Cork-Dub, Cork-American and a west Cork culchie and it's quite a mixed bag.
    The worst part of all that is that none of ye are without corkisms

I'm from cork and have a cork/dublin mix. Regularly am i heard saying Jaysus you can't do that biy!

Yeah dude, your accent is British but....
    We would call ya the Corklon accent guy:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭dave.omeara

Isn't it amazing how certain words or phrases can annoy the holy hell out of you.
    I worked with a guy once, and if you were having a crap day and just complaining and moaning about it, he'd turn to you and go 'Ah dry your eyes mate'. Wound me up to the last.

Later All.

don't feel bad! I have picked up some dublinese from my OH:eek:

hehehhe dublinese.....

i also do the dub accent....

Actually of late no one can place my accent:o

hehehhe dublinese.....

i also do the dub accent....

Actually of late no one can place my accent:o

Luckily for me mine is fairly neutral too until i roar... then the cork flies out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Munya

I work with a c*nt that starts every frikking conversation with "Under the heading of"

Under the heading of shoving your head up your arse I advice ya to back away slowly

What kind of r-...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Mirror wrote: »
    It's intentionally illiterate. Kill yourself, now.

Why do you wear a scarf when it's not cold? Fashion is why. Laters is in and probably just another passing phrase.

I don't use it myself but it wouldn't bother me if someone else did.

Yeah dude, your accent is British but....
    We would call ya the Corklon accent guy:p

Hah, I'm a jumble. The other day, someone was like "You're half Asian!? I thought you were like.. mediteranean or something!" Known this guy over a year, this led to an argument about what I looked, with my half Chinese mate saying that I was white lol.

Naos wrote: »
    Why do you wear a scarf when it's not cold? Fashion is why. Laters is in and probably just another passing phrase.

That picture was taken in this country, in a shed, at about eight in the evening, in January.

Good effort though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Naos wrote: »

Fashion is not always about intelligence either. Don't like it but wouldn't pick someone up on it unless I knew them well. I blame it on sheer laziness and the misguided delusion that English only has 200 words or so and that all of them can be shortened, mangled and re-arranged any way you like.

Hah, I'm a jumble. The other day, someone was like "You're half Asian!? I thought you were like.. mediteranean or something!" Known this guy over a year, this led to an argument about what I looked, with my half Chinese mate saying that I was white lol.

Mediteranean:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Cause of the hair??

hehhee

Mediteranean:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Cause of the hair??

hehhee

Could be, lol. I think most people haven't a clue what I am. When someone says "Where are you from?" I say "London" and most leave it at that. Some people pick up on me being half Asian pretty quickly though. I wouldn't say it's obvious that I've oriental blood.

I wouldn't say it's obvious that I've oriental blood.
    You do???? Didn't know that!

Ah well just tell them you are "unique!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

I work with a guy who says All Rightey all the time... Cringe..

Drives me insane..

I work with a guy who says All Rightey all the time... Cringe..

Drives me insane..
    Way to bring the thread back on topic. All that talk of hair and scarves was making me nervous :)

My sister overuses "Whatever", in that sarcastic 'I just won the argument in one word' way...it just annoys me enough to not give up! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Ha ha, yeh my sister used to say 'Get over it' all the fucking time..

She used to rob my clothes and when I caught her and ripped her head off I'd get 'Get over it, nothing you can do about it now'..:eek:

WTF.. Get over it, isn't gonna get you out of being caught rapid wearing my brand new white jeans (that I havent even worn yet)... BITCH!!....