People talking in the cinema

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

Tell them to shut it, if they don't get someone that works there to say something. Works everytime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

It annoys me so much that it's my signature..

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

ixoy wrote: »
    It annoys me so much that it's my signature..

Was thinkin of going to see the Dark knight this afternoon.
    Only issue is that every individual in there will be yapping and moaning, kids will probably be running up and down the stairs, teenage girls will be giggling like a pack of demented seagulls, teenage boys will be drunk off their snuck in naggin, and it will probably all totally suck so much I wont even get to see the movie anyway.
    Bastards need to be kicked in the neck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

seahorse wrote: »

I stood up and roared at the top of my voice: "ARE YOU ROBERT DE NIRO??? HEY, HEY, YOU PEOPLE TALKING, ARE ANY OF YOU ROBERT DE NIRO?????" To which I eventually got back an embarassed muttered "No" from one of them, to which I roared "WELL THEN SHUT THE FCUK UP - BECAUSE I PAID TO LISTEN TO ROBERT DE NIRO".

That's brilliant....absolutely brilliant. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I went to see The Dark Knight last night and there were a few kids who started crying at the scary bits. That was really annoying, why bring your yougn child into a 15s if they're complete pussy anyway?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Piste wrote: »
    I went to see The Dark Knight last night and there were a few kids who started crying at the scary bits. That was really annoying, why bring your yougn child into a 15s if they're complete pussy anyway?!

It's a 15A feature, and most certainly not suitable for kids, saw a few crying in the cinema yesterday, no more then 7 or 8 years of age. I say **** this parental responsibility system, up to 12A maybe, but these days too many violent films are getting a 15A rather then 16 rating with increasingly large amounts of stupid, ignorant parents equating it to PG because of the control given to them over what their children see.

I've also seen young children at Land of the Dead, and remember the controversy over Bad Santa? A 15 rated film, yet parents were ringing Joe Duffy lambasting the movie as if it was actually marketed as a Kid's film....even the promo poster shows a plastered, unwashed and unshaven Billy Bob drinking from a bottle of Spirits. But of course some parents just saw the 'Santa'.

Some people.....AGHHHHHHHHHH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

i was on a date with this guy who answered his phone in the middle of a film- i thought it was so incredibly ignorant, i just got up and walked out, and never saw him again. it was a good few yrs ago when most people didnt even have mobiles and he was a bit of a flash git. (i know i was probably a bit ignorant in walking out, but still...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

That's why it's best to sit in the front row away from these prats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭andrewie

Was away a few weeks ago with the girlfriend and we decided to go and see Hancock. Got there and it was nearly full, took our seats and throughout the film the girls behind us never stopped talking, kicking the back of the seats and then put their smelly feet in between our shoulders!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

It's a 15A feature, and most certainly not suitable for kids, saw a few crying in the cinema yesterday, no more then 7 or 8 years of age. I say **** this parental responsibility system, up to 12A maybe, but these days too many violent films are getting a 15A rather then 16 rating with increasingly large amounts of stupid, ignorant parents equating it to PG because of the control given to them over what their children see.

I've also seen young children at Land of the Dead, and remember the controversy over Bad Santa? A 15 rated film, yet parents were ringing Joe Duffy lambasting the movie as if it was actually marketed as a Kid's film....even the promo poster shows a plastered, unwashed and unshaven Billy Bob drinking from a bottle of Spirits. But of course some parents just saw the 'Santa'.

Some people.....AGHHHHHHHHHH.

Haha, are you serious? I really would be interested to live a day in their lives to see how they survive with brains so small.

andrewie wrote: »
    Was away a few weeks ago with the girlfriend and we decided to go and see Hancock. Got there and it was nearly full, took our seats and throughout the film the girls behind us never stopped talking, kicking the back of the seats and then put their smelly feet in between our shoulders!

Are you telling me you sat there and did nothing?

No we told them to cut it out and stfu.

Ah right, it's just the way ye said "throughout the film", they kept it up even when ye told them to stop? BTW if you tell an usher at what point will they kick people out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

andrewie wrote: »
    No we told them to cut it out and stfu.

you should have grabbed their foot and slashed their achilles tendon. That'd have sorted them out.

It's what jesus would have done.

The cinema we were in there wasn't even an usher! There was two girls behind the sweet counter and one person on the desk. No one checking tickets or anything.

All this seemed to be the norm..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭OK-Cancel-Apply

Yeah few things piss me off more than people talking in the cinema. They should have big bouncer types ready to throw them out.

Another thing I hate - a cinema full of a thick audience that's just WAITING to explode with laughter at the first line of dialogue, even when it's not funny. I mean, why aren't people able to take more than 2 minutes of tension/darkness without needing comic relief?

And how about those people who laugh at cliche racist jokes told by racist characters on screen (thinking it's comic relief)..? Idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

a personal pet hate of mine are these ppl that yap in the movie hall. Normally groups of teens trying to impress the girls among them.

i normally just walk out and tell the usher that if he doesnt sort them out i will.

It came to a point once during American Gangster last year when these kids too fcuking young to be there in the first place were constantly making a racket 3 rows in front of me.. other patrons tried to make them shut up.

Eventually i lost the rag, and marched down put my hand on the sholder of one of them and said to him quietly.. if i hear you talking or even chewing popcorn im going to cut your fcuking throat.. im not joking.

There were no more irritating noise after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

Lots of angry boardsies on eh.. boards!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

snyper wrote: »
    Eventually i lost the rag, and marched down put my hand on the sholder of one of them and said to him quietly.. if i hear you talking or even chewing popcorn im going to cut your fcuking throat.. im not joking.

Pld. People should start cutting their throats. Eliminates an annoying problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Pld. People should start cutting their throats. Eliminates an annoying problem.

cant do.. i checked.

sound lehal advice tells me there is some legal techniclity preventing me from doing so.

fcuking laws.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭BigglesMcGee

Maybe people can just go out and demand their money back. Not demand that the people are quitened down since the movie is already ruined at that stage.

Maybe then cinemas would put someone inside to make sure they dont lose money due to prats annoying others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

cant do.. i checked.

sound lehal advice tells me there is some legal techniclity preventing me from doing so.

fcuking laws.
    ya see that why you give the guard a false name and address

• Closed Accounts Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Big_Mac

Noisy people aint really that much of a problem in our local cinema as its rarely packed with a gang anyway. ppl generally keep their traps shut and off their phones. (note I say 'generally')

What does annoy me more than anything is smelly baxtards. If someone is noisy, you can kinda ignore them and switch off your ears to their racket. With smelly feckers its not so easy, I mean you can't switch off your nose can you?

Last time me and the missus went to the cinema there was a smelly crusty that came in and just HAD to sit close to us. The feckin screen was practically empty! why couldn't he and his bo buggar off somewhere else in the screen. It really ruins a film for me as the hum is constantly on your mind the entire time and I find it hard to think of anything else. Why oh why can't you just wash?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭beautiation

a personal pet hate of mine are these ppl that yap in the movie hall. Normally groups of teens trying to impress the girls among them.

i normally just walk out and tell the usher that if he doesnt sort them out i will.

It came to a point once during American Gangster last year when these kids too fcuking young to be there in the first place were constantly making a racket 3 rows in front of me.. other patrons tried to make them shut up.

That's seriously out of order, especially if they're as young as you say. I hate cinema talkers too, but if I'd witnessed that, I don't think I'd have been able to stop laughing my ass off for about an hour at you trying to look all hard and psychotic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭ZygOte

Big_Mac wrote: »
    Noisy people aint really that much of a problem in our local cinema as its rarely packed with a gang anyway. ppl generally keep their traps shut and off their phones. (note I say 'generally')

What does annoy me more than anything is smelly baxtards. If someone is noisy, you can kinda ignore them and switch off your ears to their racket. With smelly feckers its not so easy, I mean you can't switch off your nose can you?

Last time me and the missus went to the cinema there was a smelly crusty that came in and just HAD to sit close to us. The feckin screen was practically empty! why couldn't he and his bo buggar off somewhere else in the screen. It really ruins a film for me as the hum is constantly on your mind the entire time and I find it hard to think of anything else. Why oh why can't you just wash?

yeah this has happened to me also its not very nice , but as you say the cinema was quite empty, you could also have chosen to move seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Awayindahils

Was at The Dark Knight last night and this girl beside me answered her phone three times and preceeded to whisper into her blue tooth ear piece thing for 10 minutes at a time. At first I thought she was talking to her boyfriend and then I realised that he was oblivious. The fourth time her phone started to ring I went for the very stern stare appraoch, and felt very much like my mother but at least it worked. But seriously -whisper, whisper, whisper. At one stage I think she was checking her voicemails too. You don't need to buy a cinema ticket to do that!! Leave FFS.

http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.4355

^^ makes me want to buy one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

Fück talking inthe cinema, since when did it become customary to kick the seat off the person in front of you? During Saw 4 and The Dark Knight my back nearly had bruises from the kicking!

For Saw 4 I moved and it stopped but that didn't work in The Dark Knight because the little bïtch's friend just continued. I sat up with my back not touching the chair. They still kicked at the seat like it was a plodding donkey but I was lying on my OH. Not easy with bucket seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

I know it drives me nuts to them extreme so unnecessery. I went to the cinema to see a film i really wanted to see and I was with a gang (some of which i knew others i didn't) and one of them gave a running commentary) I was ready to slap her!

not to mention being embarssed