Religious young people- know any?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Acid_Violet

I hope ye told her where to stick her crucifix!?

EDIT: And her beeds!

LMAO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I don't think I've ever met an extremely religious young Catholic, most of the religious people I've met around my age have been Muslim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,461 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

I don't know any devout Catholics around my age (22) - just the usual cherry-pickers who sign up for the forgiveness, afterlife in paradise and all that, but also indulge in non-Christian activities like pre-marital sex, cursing, coveting and all of that jazz.
    Dudess wrote:
    I'd agree with what you're saying if she was having sex within a steady relationship (e.g. my cousin who's with the same guy since 2000, I couldn't blame her for having sex with him) but being a handy speed dial for guys who've got the horn at 4am?

What's wrong with being a booty-call? If it's two (or more) consensual adults, where's the harm? It's absolutely amazing to me that something as enjoyable and harmless as sex has been given this huge amount of baggage, largely thanks to religion.

Sure, sex between a couple who are in love is a magical thing, but that's not to say one shouldn't enjoy a 'knee trembler' around the back of a chipper at 4 in the morning.

Horse it into me, boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Only over religious youths I have come across were mormons.
    Religion is the no1 thing for everything they do..

Its scary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

I reckon when all the old people and Irish priests die out they will be flying in black priests from around the world and stuff.
    We all know what that means;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Well those black churches make it worth it to go at least. I'de say it would be hard to go to one of those gospel choir masses and not be uplifted. That's what a mass should be about, people coming together to help each other appreciate life. Heck, I'de even go to that each week, it'd be therapeutic! If only it wasn't for the guilt and indoctrination...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Plug wrote: »
    I reckon when all the old people and Irish priests die out they will be flying in black priests from around the world and stuff.
    We all know what that means;)

I weep for the altar boys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

What's wrong with being a booty-call? If it's two (or more) consensual adults, where's the harm? It's absolutely amazing to me that something as enjoyable and harmless as sex has been given this huge amount of baggage, largely thanks to religion.

Sure, sex between a couple who are in love is a magical thing, but that's not to say one shouldn't enjoy a 'knee trembler' around the back of a chipper at 4 in the morning.
    Sorry, you seem to misunderstand me. I'm talking about within the context of being a devout catholic - then it's hypocritical I think.

As for the booty-call thing itself being harmless - of course when it's between two people who know the score. But the girl I'm referring to is really insecure and lacking in self esteem and very naive and innocent so in her case, a booty-call is just a guy having the horn and deciding to give her a shout to use her as a last resort. And when she complies it's in a "maybe if I sleep with him, he'll like me" kinda way.

Sorry, you seem to misunderstand me. I'm talking about within the context of being a devout catholic - then it's hypocritical I think.

Ahh, but in the eyes of God, pre-marital sex is pre-marital sex, I don't think it operates on a sliding scale! It's just as hypocritical for your cousin who is in a long-term relationship to do it as it is for the booty-call girl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Krsnik87

There was a guy I went to school with years ago that had his heart set on being a priest, dunno if he actually did it but he seemed like the type :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Ahh, but in the eyes of God, pre-marital sex is pre-marital sex, I don't think it operates on a sliding scale! It's just as hypocritical for your cousin who is in a long-term relationship to do it as it is for the booty-call girl.
    I agree to an extent, but if you're in a relationship for years, well it's a bit more understandable than putting it about. If you're gonna be all pius, that's extremely hypocritical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I met people who were housemates of a friend in college who didn't think evolution was true :eek: They studied something related to religious teachings in college. Apparantley the whole dinosaurs thing was a bit of a puzzlement to them :eek: How dare they mock Jurassic Park!

Creationism FTW!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭ryoishin

In the eyes of God pre-marital sex is premarital sex. Yes but thats all it is, pre-marital and not necessarily immoral.

In the Old Testament theres alot of married men who shag their dead brothers missus so she can have a baby and for the honor of the family etc. And thats with Gods consent. In the early Jewish times sex before marriage was allowed if a couple were engaged etc.

The issue is when sex is used for selfish purposes.
    The above bit about the guy shagging his dead brothers wife hightlights this. When their having sex and hes about to climax he withdraws and God strikes him down, not for using the withdrawl method but for being selfish and not helping his sister in law have a baby.

Hope I have nt started a Bible war.

Anyway dudess hand over your mates ph number lol.

Catholics have an obligation to listen to the Church but they also have an obligation to use their own conscience.

Sorry for the bad spelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Don't know anyone like that, would such a person even exist... I doubt it!

I remember being dragged out of bed as a young lad to go to church on a Sunday morning. There was nothing worse than having 1 of the only 2 days in the week where you can lie in ruined so that you could go and sit in a freezing cold church and listen to a bloke in a dress rhyme off the same spiel week in week out :(

Funny though, some of it must have stuck in the head. Was at a mates wedding there last weekend and was off in my own little world, but the subconscious was doing it's thing. When it came to the part where the priest talks about pope John Paul my brain suddenly activated and I realised he said the new lads name!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Drift

I'd consider myself fairly religious; which seems to be quite rare among people my age. I'm 26. I'm not vocal about it though so the only way you'd know really is if you knew me well or happened to be around on a Sunday morning and you wake up and wonder "Where the f*ck is that lad off to at this hour of the morning!"
    Tha Gopher wrote: »
    Bit in the paper the other day on how 800 young Irish catholics had presumably spent an arm and a leg flying to Australia specifically for world youth day to see the Pope. Got me thinking, Id be hard pressed to think of many young people who would spend a quid taking the bus to the Phoenix Park down the road if he made a visit.

I've never been myself but it's something I'd quite like to go to. I'm 26 now though which although still easily within the suggested ages is kinda knocking on a bit. From what I've heard it's not really a mad bible bashing festival and more a good opportunity to meet people who have roughly the same views as yourself. Also I've been told it's quite a good spot for hot chicks ;)

Attend mass every weekend without fail
    I go every week
    Dont listen to any music with bad language or drug connotations
    Nah I listen to anything where the lyrics are catchy
    Dont get drunk
    I don't drink at all. Although thats a personal thing and I know plenty of good Catholics who enjoy the odd drink. (And by odd I mean quite often and sometimes in copious amounts!)
    Have never tried an illegal drug
    Never tried anything.
    No porn
    I fail that one :o
    no pre marital sex
    I don't do one night stands but in a commited non-marriage relationship I don't have a problem with sex
    no strip clubs while on a lads holiday
    I've never been to one but I'd like to see what one is like. Don't think I'd be a regular attender though.
    Never use bad language
    Um, unfortunately my language is quite bad!
    Regularly goes to confession
    Four to five times a year, it's not as frequent as it should be because I tend to get lazy or forget. It's actually not that easy to get anymore the frequency it's held in some churches is quite low nowadays.

So anyway, from that you can see I'm by no means the perfect Catholic but I do consider myself a Catholic and a reasonably good one. I do my best to live a good life and be a good person. There are definitely some things in the churches teachings that I disagree with and some people would call that hypocritical but I don't think there's anything wrong with wanting to change the church from within. If you disagree with a law in Ireland does that mean you should renounce your nationality and move somewhere where the law doesn't exist?

Some people seem to think that to be religious you have to be all fire and brimstone and holier than thou. I'm not any of these things (I hope); I love having the craic and nights on the town and I'm a big fan and smutty inappropriate jokes. I see myself as a normal 26 year old who happens to believe in something more. I don't hide the fact but I don't feel a need to push it in anyones face either.

P.S.: Is it uncatholic to love south park?

Massive apology for the multi-quote extravaganza above but I couldn't be arsed cleaning it up!

Oh and btw I definitely believe in evolution!

Drift wrote: »
    Oh and btw I definitely believe in evolution!

Well then what's the point in going to mass if you obviously don't believe the word of God?

If you're on about Genesis then I believe it's a metaphor. Just because I believe in evolution doesn't mean I don't believe God created everything.

Drift wrote: »
    If you're on about Genesis then I believe it's a metaphor. Just because I believe in evolution doesn't mean I don't believe God created everything.

A metaphore? What gives you that impression? Also, why believe god created everything if you think the story is a metaphore? He outlined how he created the world and you don't believe it.

I'm genuinely interested btw.

He outlined how he created the world and you don't believe it.

HE didn't write Genesis - human's did.Many people (including me) believe they were inspired to write it by God.

In my opinion 2000 years ago (or even today) it would've been impossible for God to explain how He really created the world. In those days it was easier explained to people by saying He made the world. Nowadays it could be re-written to say He created the big bang. In another 2000 years science will probably have theories of what occured before the big bang so a Genesis written today would seem wrong if read in a literal context.

One of the major points of most religions is an existence above our own which although we try we will never fully understand.

P.S.: Gone a bit of topic here so if you want pm me or we'll start a thread in the religion forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭ryoishin

The way history or truth was told in Old Testament times was through stories and legends etc.

You dont have to hold the Adam and Eve story as actual fact to be a Catholic, thats well documented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

Dont get drunk
    No porn, no pre marital sex, no strip clubs while on a lads holiday
    Never use bad language

It would be hard to find a priest who followed them rules strictly IMO. I have cousins and Aunts and Uncles who are very religious. Not catholic though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

I've known a few religious people in my day and everytime I have to check myself to not make too big a deal of it. A lot of them have become good friends and I've gotten to the point that I can have discussions about it, I've always found religion interesting, used to be one of my favourite subjects early on in school, but I kind of always regarded it in the same way I regarded Classics. Interesting that people could really believe the stuff, nice stories though.

I have problems with people who will try to shove it in your face and there are people like that, the thing is, there are atheists who will think they're great by challenging religious people on every front so it works both ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

The test of a real hardline Catholic nowadays is to see if they can read an entire issue of Alive! without either laughing or rolling their eyes so hard they have a stroke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

So, do you know any religious young people? Who loyally

Dont get drunk
    No porn, no pre marital sex, no strip clubs while on a lads holiday
    Never use bad language

If you would be referring to Christianity, "have never" is not the way that Christians would judge adherence. Repentance is necessary, and agreeing to take a clean slate after you have done these things (among others that you haven't listed). In accepting Jesus, you come to new life in Christ and new life in adherence to the Law, this is often a gradual step not one that takes place immediately.

As for Confession those of Reformed beliefs (Anglicanism, Presbyterianism, Methodism, Pentecostal / Born Again etc) would consider confession when you pray to God, not being in the presence of a priest, and would consider this the position of most Biblical accuracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭amz5

I have a friend that says he is going to be a priest but he has definitely indulged in a lot of the things mentioned in the first post

Attend mass every weekend without fail (Pretty much does that)
    Dont listen to any music with bad language or drug connotations (Doesn't rule that out)
    Dont get drunk (gets drunker than most)
    Have never tried an illegal drug (has definitely tried a few things)
    No porn, no pre marital sex, no strip clubs while on a lads holiday (has had sex, has watched porn. Duno if he's given up on that, but I don't think so. He was in a relationship where he was having sex, but I think he's had some one night stands since then)
    Never use bad language (Definitely does)
    Regularly goes to confession (Yes)

Now I don't know if the regular confession makes up for the other things.

To be honest I've lost a lot of respect for him with his carry on when he wants be a priest. He's a normal guy, but certainly not the nicest or most christian by a long shot. I believe that he's genuine about his "calling" but to be honest, if he becomes a priest and starts preaching to me from the altar I'm becoming a protestant. I don't think priests should be perfect, they're human like the rest of us. But surely they should try to obey and respect some of the teachings of the Catholic church if they're going to lead a congregation.

On a different note, I won't say which of the above I believe in, lest to say I'm a bit of an a la carte catholic at the very most. But I do believe and I do go to mass every week (almost).

I very very firmly believe that priests should be allowed to marry though. So that thinking makes me think maybe I should move away from catholicism...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Timans

I love the way all these people who say they're not religious, and that they don't believe in god question those who are religious about their views.

If someone says that they are religious but they believe in evolution, someone says ''How can you say this when you are against the word of god?" yet when someone says they don't believe in evolution, they are ridiculed. There's just no beating these ''open minded'' atheists. Also, why do people on here get to decide what is a Catholic? By the same logic being applied, you must view people who download the odd song as cold hard criminals.

PS - I am not that religious, I believe in god, I don't drink or do drugs but I swear and do all that shít and I don't go to mass. And where did you get that terrible list OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,187 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Eh, a few friends of mine are gone to World Youth Day and they went to the one three years ago, and it's a holiday really. Most of them would have some religious beliefs centred on Christianity (they completely disagree with the majority of catholic doctrine though...) but they're really going because the price is good, good way to meet people, get to see sights you normally wouldn't get to see and other such reasons.

I'd imagine that covers quite a lot of the participants. From this country anyway.

I love the way all these people who say they're not religious, and that they don't believe in god question those who are religious about their views.

Personally, I find it fascinating that well-educated people can have a strong sense of faith. I don't mean that as an insult or a slur - I am genuinely interested in why they believe, and how they reconcile their faith with the realities and practicalities of the real world.

I've no problems with religious people - live and let live, and all that. I don't try to 'convert' them to athiesm, but I do try to understand their views.
    If someone says that they are religious but they believe in evolution, someone says ''How can you say this when you are against the word of god?" yet when someone says they don't believe in evolution, they are ridiculed. There's just no beating these ''open minded'' atheists.

For many people, concepts like creationism play a significant role in turning people away from christianity and other religions. If I were to ask a christian how they can believe in both a christian god and evolution, it would be a question borne of genuine curiosity, not from snobbery or an attempt to ridicule them.
    Also, why do people on here get to decide what is a Catholic?

Well, clearly the matter of what constitutes a catholic lifestyle is in the eye of the believer. However, a key tenet of christian faith is the belief that the bible is gospel - it is the word of god. As such, it's a pretty good jumping-off point to defining beliefs of a catholic. Another key tenet of catholic faith is papal infallability - so the words and actions of the church, as represented and overseen by the pope, is also a good source to understand the values that catholics should hold.

As such, the list in the original post is fairly reasonable and in keeping with the teachings of the bible and papal teachings, I'd imagine.
    By the same logic being applied, you must view people who download the odd song as cold hard criminals.

I don't know where you're going with this point. Irish and International law states that downloading songs and music without permission from the copyright holder is illegal - so they would be a criminal. A lot of people don't subscribe to, agree with or consciously approve of international copyright laws however, so this will color a person's judgement of music downloading etc.

This differs to being a catholic. If you consider yourself a catholic, surely you subscribe to the teachings of god and Jesus as laid out in the bible, and as a member of the catholic church you would also subsribe to papal doctrine. You make a conscious decision to accept these teachings, to try to model your life around them. The two situations are like chalk and cheese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Nope, if I did I'd slap them.