Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭lt_cmdr_worf

keep it going - only seven more pages till that magic 200

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

Here is a few good Videos.....i think this is the same OLYMPIC video you have there chief so no need to UPLOAD it....if its not the same one as this, bring it on:D

Olympic Ballroom, night of the raid:

http://rapidshare.com/files/27930852/LIVE_...E__92.part1.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/28568017/LIVE_...E__92.part2.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/28582315/LIVE_...E__92.part3.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/28593685/LIVE_...E__92.part4.rar

This is Thanks to SLUNK of this board who also put up this Primtime special on the ASYLUM.....
    Prime time episode : Asylum

http://rapidshare.com/files/39543089/Asylum.part1.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/39679729/Asylum.part2.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/39708390/Asylum.part3.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/39720451/Asylum.part4.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/39729469/Asylum.part5.rar

and finally a video i put together from the ASYLUM in Feb 1992.....i changed the sountrack & added my own Pics to the start & some visual effects to make it more enjoyable to watch.....camera man wont win any prizes for his feet shots but what can you do...i uploaded it as two MPEG files here....
    ASYLUM_FEB_92_THIN_ICE_PART_1_400mb
    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=TIBFF723

ASYLUM_FEB_92_THIN_ICE_PART_2_400mb
    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=JCJ34QYS

Slunk also re uploaded this video here in case these links have expired
    http://rapidshare.com/files/109231072/Asyl...tage.part01.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/109231163/Asyl...tage.part02.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/109499727/Asyl...tage.part03.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/109490749/Asyl...tage.part04.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/109795649/Asyl...tage.part05.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/109793694/Asyl...tage.part06.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/110025671/Asyl...tage.part07.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/109786020/Asyl...tage.part08.rar

Final word:

I will upload a video soon of the little footage i got from "the Awakening" on 03/05/2008 with the you tube clip thrown into it aswell & a few other bits & pieces to make it worth watching....here is audio from the gig that i got...
    The awakening "LAST APPOINTMENT" ASYLUM 03/05/2008
    http://www.mediafire.com/?iollndziyxy

Caf has all the video from the night...."keep your eyes open":D
    as caf says on the end of his vids.

Yeah I cant play that putfile audio aswell,
    Don't know whats the story with it,
    He should upload to somewhere eles.

Here it is on rapidshare lads.....class tune if you can ID it & provide a link i will be as happy as a pig in S*IT:D
    http://rapidshare.com/files/130309967/classics_01.MP3.html

• Registered Users Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

Here is one I got bluetoothed to the phone, being lookin for this for a very long time.

As requested by THEASYLUMKEY
    Area 51 - Let It Move You

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?vmzyiier0vm

Here is another classic from the Ballroom:
    Seburban Delay - Energy Rush 1992 (Original Mix) - ' Before the Sound Crowd ripped it off '

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?e9g2x5gbwdl

• Registered Users Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭derra

2529511791a8201512149l.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 622 ✭✭✭DjAloldskool

:confused: Hi everybody, :confused:

Does anyone have a MP3 of this tune?
    I've been looking for it for years now.
    The tune is,

Westwon - Control (D-Code Remixes)

Here's a sample for anyone who doesent know the name,

http://www.mediafire.com/?dmcmmjgw72z

derra wrote: »
    strange looking at it that way innit in that main dancefloor photo without all the artwork etc, yas remember that red laser light that flickerred off everyone on dance floor in front of dj box ?
    was the other dance foor still there as well asylumkey or was it partitioned off :confused:

Here is an unedited clip from the very start of the awakening 03/05/2008 from my mates phone so you can see the changes that have been made to the place......:(
    (there is a studio in where the DJ box used to be & the window where the bars were is now boarded up)

http://rapidshare.com/files/130564136/03052008005.mp4.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Luke G

Here is an unedited clip from the very start of the awakening 03/05/2008 from my mates phone so you can see the changes that have been made to the place......:(
    (there is a studio in where the DJ box used to be & the window where the bars were is now boarded up)

Well if any of us win he euromillions tonight, we can buy it and undo those changes

Here it is on rapidshare lads.....class tune if you can ID it & provide a link i will be as happy as a pig in S*IT:D
    http://rapidshare.com/files/130309967/classics_01.MP3.html

Any body ID this one....i know i keep asking but somboody out there must know & have this in the country:D
    SEANYBOY1 wrote: »
    Here is one I got bluetoothed to the phone, being lookin for this for a very long time.

Seburban Delay - Energy Rush 1992 (Original Mix) - ' Before the Sound Crowd ripped it off '

Cheers for both of these tunes boss.......like both of the versions of the energy rush but soundcrowds one better....original sounds more like a ring tone:D:D:D
    Luke G wrote: »
    Well if any of us win he euromillions tonight, we can buy it and undo those changes

Would tear the place apart back to its original state if it was mine invite everyone off here & loads more true Ravers...barricade the front & back doors...reinforce the windows up stairs with steel plates & keep the tunes pumping till the Garda kango hammered through the wall from ladbrokes into the Skag room the following evening with a load of straight jackets for all the ASYLUM babies they would find:eek:
    flyer2.jpg

SEANYBOY1 wrote: »

:):):):):):):)

Here is another version of Energy Rush,
    I don't know if anybody knows this version,
    Its by The Time Frequency, its sounds the same as Seburban Delay,
    There is another version aswell ,I'am not sure who does it, I have it some where, there is a girl singing Rush me , most of the way throught the tune,
    If anybody wants it I'll dig it out,
    In the mean time, here's , The time Frequency - Energy Rush
    see what you think of this version,

http://www.mediafire.com/?bpo494vhely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Luke G

Its by The Time Frequency, its sounds the same as Seburban Delay,
    There is another version aswell ,I'am not sure who does it, I have it some where, there is a girl singing Rush me , most of the way throught the tune,
    If anybody wants it I'll dig it out,
    In the mean time, here's , The time Frequency - Energy Rush
    see what you think of this version,

The One With The Female Vocal In It Is By Suburban Delay Aswel, It's The 93 Mix, If Anyone Wants It, Let Us Know And I'll Upload It...

• Registered Users Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

hehe of course!

an aul classic.:pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Johnnyd1977

Nice bit of footage there mate looks a lot different from the other footage that was done for that primetime bit. What is the premises actually now? looks like some sort of dance school or something. it's really irritating that there's no more plaes like asylum, sides, ormonde etc in dublin anymore. a few of us go over to liverpool a couple of times each year and 2 great clubs of note, the 051 and the pleasure rooms....they're exactly like the places mentioned above but prob not as hedonistic as the asylum but still on par with the rest. It's a shame the authorities don't realise that ppl want to have clubs like this in dublin and if they're run properly i.e strictly no scumbags then clubs like these can be succesfull. I don't want to go off on one but it works in holland, ibizia etc so why can't it work here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭keenc

Would anybody care to re-up the 4th link for the olympic it seems to be dead,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 eissocsref

hi all,
    what a thread and great memories! ive spent the last week reading this whole thread. Do any of you have the following in mp3 format from the pressure/jx tape?

son of god - free up the land
    flow - feel the flow
    nush - you girls
    and that song with the helicopter in it?????

eissocsref wrote: »
    hi all,
    what a thread and great memories! ive spent the last week reading this whole thread. Do any of you have the following in mp3 format from the pressure/jx tape?

flow - feel the flow
    nush - you girls

Is the tune your looking for with the helicopter in it, one of these.

The Disco Evangelists - De Niro
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N4TVa3sJ1RA

or

Flipped Out - Everybody Is Somebody
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Et7IDMm4_9U

eissocsref wrote: »
    hi all,

flow - feel the flow
    nush - you girls

You want helicopters, you got em!
    Great track this, remember this one from very early Asylum times when the army nets were on the wall and you could go in to the DJ Box, ahh.

Disco Evangelists - De Niro Journey Mix 93
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?nd1zz2r2zby

Newmill wrote: »
    folks
    i have the night my old stomping ground was raided, on dvd! classic mark kavanagh, i still remember it to this day, f*ck the prodigy and f*ck the police!! if anybody wants a copy ill try put it up. Didnt miss a saturday night in that place for about 3 years...........best days of my young life. anybody remember gerry? used to warm crowd up before kavanagh came on, sound fella. what about dancing on the stage!! class.f*cking class.

Gerry Carey Sunset Radio 'Olympic Ballroom Mix'
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?ii09njtzt1l
    Newmill wrote: »
    alright lad,
    havent got a link for it, i was given the disc by a mate, ill try download it and attach it here tomorrow.

i have only come across this thread tonight, alot of reading to do, i am getting goozebumps reading back, the memories are too much !! bopping away to lionrock packet of peace and THK france, coming up on a mad ba*tard........ahhhhhhhhhhh

Lionrock - Packet of Peace
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?jv95mvqxiyi

THK - France
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?tu4gtkydod1

Sorry, but I seem to have a problem uploading Mad Bastards:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

Hello folks. god this thread is moving along nicely:) thanks for all the tunes over the last few pages,especially that ya ya tune! just when i thought i had most of the classics:rolleyes: totally forgot about it!

i found a super site that i think everyone is going to love! big time:D

its www.vixy.net and you just type in the URL of any youtube vids and you can download the mp3! seen that most of the old classics are on YT we all should be happy :):D

paddy......

Check your PM's now mate, ill send ya the sunday, monday, tuesday one now...

That tune was DJ Creator - Kiss me...wasn't it ?

Any chance of uploading it..I haven't heard it in a long time.

Has anyone got a track by Miro. It was either Orient Express or Metropolis ??? Not sure which one it was.. I remember the 12". It had the sirens in it. It was a classic... I'm sure most of you would remember it

• Registered Users Posts: 254 ✭✭moany

Check your PM's now mate, ill send ya the sunday, monday, tuesday one now...

That tune was DJ Creator - Kiss me...wasn't it ?

Any chance of uploading it..I haven't heard it in a long time.

Has anyone got a track by Miro. It was either Orient Express or Metropolis ??? Not sure which one it was.. I remember the 12". It had the sirens in it. It was a classic... I'm sure most of you would remember it
    http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=rjO_nS7lF_8
    miro - spaceman trance mix

Does anyone remember a while after the ASYLUM closed there was a brief gig on moore lane in an old underground lock up called G2?
    It was a long narrow room with green lasers & pumping sounds that only lasted about 2 months.....If anyone has a recording of it can they please put it up:pac::):pac::):pac::)
    Also at the end of henry street where mary street starts there is an old church on the left (some fancy bar or restaurant SH*TE now) that had one or two gigs in it that i can remember about 96 (i could be wrong with the year...it could be 95, 96, 97 you know how it is) if anyone has recordings from this would be great:pac::):pac::):pac::)

Does anyone remember a while after the ASYLUM closed there was a brief gig on moore lane in an old underground lock up called G2?
    It was a long narrow room with green lasers & pumping sounds that only lasted about 2 months.....If anyone has a recording of it can they please put it up:pac::):pac::):pac::)
    Also at the end of henry street where mary street starts there is an old church on the left (some fancy bar or restaurant SH*TE now) that had one or two gigs in it that i can remember about 96 (i could be wrong with the year...it could be 95, 96, 97 you know how it is) if anyone has recordings from this would be great:pac::):pac::):pac::)

Yes i remember that place on moore lane! i think it was calles G2? Thay ran the G1 club up in phibsboro and have to say it was one of the best clubs in dublin while it lasted!! but the club on moore lane was forever geting raided:mad: Would love to see some video footage of them clubs!

Ye raided twice i was in there.....the last time was the end of it......was G1 called the shrine before it was G1?....never went to it but a mate of mine did go to a place called the shrine over in phibsboro & i reckon thats where they got the Idea for the camoulflage netting in the ASYLUM as he said it was all over the roof & speakers in the shrine. Was it the same place?:rolleyes:

no i dont think the g1 was called shrine befor it was called G1? but i have to say the atmosphere was electric in there with the likes of pat hyland,mick walsh,jay carey and of course warren k behind the decks!!
    i think it must of been around 93/94? not sure on the year:confused:

no i dont think the g1 was called shrine befor it was called G1? but i have to say the atmosphere was electric in there with the likes of pat hyland,mick walsh,jay carey and of course warren k behind the decks!!
    i think it must of been around 93/94? not sure on the year:confused:

Was never in G1 so i wouldnt know what year......the shrine i was never in either but a couple of mates had been going there very early 1990-1991 before they started going to the OLYMPIC.....anyone heard of it & have any stuff from it?

i must ask a few mates of mine if they ever heard of the shine nt club? btw im chasing a video from the mansion house,just waiting on a phone call so watch this space:D but its still 50/50 at the mo but keep your fingers crossed :)

Let us know either way if you get it.....if not i will try an avenue that has led to the right destination in the past for me....maybe good for this one also:D

have to say ill be happy as a pig in s*&t if i get this or even just to see it :)
    had some creazzzy nights there and some of the best memories ever!:D
    ill keep you posted m8!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Gen:FX

Howdy Lads.

Here are a couple of tunes that we done in the Ormond back in july 1996. There is a full 2hours of this night on video that I'm trying to locate at the moment, I lent it to Thyme the morning after the gig and aint seen it since. This link is just the audio from that night, - It's one from the archives that Ive never posted b4... Enjoy. - (Ps - there is a link to the original MP3 files on the 'About This Video / More Info' panel on the Youtube page.)

NR:GEX - HYDRATE featuring Mc' DECO K - (aka DJ THYME)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HTSyLG3Sv5g

NR:GEX - I Wanna' BD Only1 featuring Mc' DECO K - (aka DJ THYME)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EENA1W0VWrI

ARCHIVE IS AT - http://www.youtube.com/genfx303