Italians Sunbathing Next To Dead Children

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭madser

Mirror wrote: »
    Why? The kids are still dead.

To show a bit of respect to the dead ffs:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

I don't know about you but I wouldn't be sat there like that. I would at least move up the beach.

I'd probably be glued to the spot unless I was obstructing authorities. I think moving down the beach would probably be more callous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Kold wrote: »
    It's not like they're playing beach volleyball ffs. They're probably all just contemplating what happened, Christ what do you want them to do? Huddle up in a bunch and have a big cry?

LMAO at the beach volleyball comment. It's true. It's not like they're having a frigging barbeque there, using the corpses as kebab meat.

And you know what's worse? The idea of a photographer who is so itching to get a shot of two dead children, that as a back-up/related story, he takes a shot of people who seem to have little to do with the two dead people other than sharing a beach with them. If those people weren't there so close to the body, do you think that that photographer would hesitate in peeling back the blanket and snapping a roll of the kid's faces?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

il gatto wrote: »
    There is no story. The Daily Mail is a rag. Nothing less. If they'd left they'd be aloof. If they stay, they're callous. People are always drawn to such tragedies. They don't know what to do, but find it hard to leave. It happened in a terrible triple drowning in Sligo a few years back. Even when the bodies were being recovered, people just stood or sat around. Again, there's no story. Rags like the Daily Mail are xenophobic crap anyway.

+1. Actually it's kind of funny to see the Daily Mail jumping to the defence of Romas.

If the beach was empty they'd make some bull**** story up too. For all we know the people are hanging around to scare off seagulls out of respect for the children.

The Daily Mail is not fit to wipe my arse with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

madser wrote: »
    To show a bit of respect to the dead ffs:mad:
    Excuse me? Are you implying I have no respect for the dead? Take your accusations elsewhere pal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

Tabloid journalism, FFS.
    How can anyone judge the people based on pics of them on a beach.

Blah, the first pic just shows people looking elsewhere .. can't judge anything on that.

2nd picture ... okay the kid is having an Allied Irish .. but hey when in rome.

3rd ... people are looking at bodies being taken away, same thing when one sees a car accident, you gotta slow down and stare.

Also as someone pointed out, you cannot believe any paper which has pictures or stories on Jade Goody.

And you know what's worse? The idea of a photographer who is so itching to get a shot of two dead children, that as a back-up/related story, he takes a shot of people who seem to have little to do with the two dead people other than sharing a beach with them. If those people weren't there so close to the body, do you think that that photographer would hesitate in peeling back the blanket and snapping a roll of the kid's faces?

Actually I wouldn't say he would have. He's obviously only a wet behind the ear newbie at this taking photos for rag tops job who still has remnants of a soul. Otherwise he would have taken pictures of the people who went back to playing football..... unless that was just a fabrication by the Daily Mail.... but they wouldn't do that.... would they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭Lirange

javaboy wrote: »
    Maybe they were told to wait where they were.
    I doubt the authorities would object to them putting a bit of distance between themselves and the dead children. That would not prevent them from being accessible to the Police for questioning. It's not what people are doing so much as that they've remained on scene in such close proximity for at least an hour.

Aloofness? Seriously what are you basing that on? One picture shows a couple not looking at the bodies, possibly because they are upset. Another shows a man walking by while another man is sitting down adjusting his shorts/playing with himself.
    Someone giving attention to his member at such as solemn scene is disturbing. You're right that's not being aloof that's perversion! Necrophilia at Naples! News a Nine!
    I hate the Daily Mail with a passion.
    This is an opportunity to bash the smarmy Italians. I think that supersedes any quibbles I have with the tabloids. We must prioritise our self righteous indignation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

The woman in the first pic will have white lines across her belly from sunning herself sitting up like that.

Is that supposed to be funny? Tell ya what, make it known that when you die you want everyone to just carry on doing what they were doing. Get them to just throw a towel over ya and keep watchin telly til the mortuary van comes to collect ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭il gatto

It should also be pointed out that a zoom lens can compress distances and make it look like the people are much closer than they are.

That's a good point Il Gatto.

Lirange wrote: »
    I doubt the authorities would object to them putting a bit of distance between themselves and the dead children. That would not prevent them from being accessible to the Police for questioning. It's not what people are doing so much as that they've remained on scene in such close proximity for at least an hour.

Maybe they were in shock. Maybe they thought it would be better to remain exactly where they were when it all happened. Maybe. Maybe. Maybe. We don't know anything about this story. In fact until I see it from another news source, I wouldn't be absolutely 100% convinced the kids are dead at all. There are very few lengths the DM won't go to to create a story.

Someone giving attention to his member at such as solemn scene is disturbing. You're right that's not being aloof that's perversion! Necrophilia at Naples! News a Nine!

We don't know what he's doing. Maybe he's texting his wife to say he will be back late as he has to answer questions about a drowning. We don't know anything and we can't tell from these few photos.
    This is an opportunity to bash the smarmy Italians. I think that supersedes any quibbles I have with the tabloids. We must prioritise our self righteous indignation.

You prioritise what you like. I hate the Daily Mail and I think the world would be better off without most of the people who work for it.

Is that supposed to be funny? Tell ya what, make it known that when you die you want everyone to just carry on doing what they were doing. Get them to just throw a towel over ya and keep watchin telly til the mortuary van comes to collect ya.

:rolleyes: You missed my point. People are saying they are sunbathing. Last time I checked, you don't sunbathe sitting up like that with your belly creased like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Forget about the sunbathers. Where the FUKK are the childrens parents!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭madser

Excuse me? Are you implying I have no respect for the dead? Take your accusations elsewhere pal.

You asked a question and you got an answer:rolleyes:

You prioritise what you like. I hate the Daily Mail and I think the world would be better off without most of the people who work for it.
    That's some anger there. You must work for the Sun! ;)

DonJose wrote: »
    Did you read the article? They are beggars.

That's some anger there. You must work for the Sun! ;)

Urge to kill rising. ;)

Where were the lifeguards?

Most beaches in Italy have lifeguard supervision.

madser wrote: »
    You asked a question and you got an answer:rolleyes:
    Did I? Sorry, must not have noticed through all the tears I'm supposed to be shedding over here.

There's a fecking chasm between the intelligence of the posters in this thread that are chewing up what the Daily Mail are feeding them and the posters that are actually thinking for themselves, it's actually hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Where were the lifeguards?

Most beaches in Italy have lifeguard supervision.

2 were rescued, 2 were not. It was severely rough it said. Life guards aren't superheroes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Did you read the article? They are beggars.

Beggars don't have parents? Anyway everybody here is upset about the people who stayed on the beach, who actually saved two of the children. They should be directing their anger towards the parents of these children who sent them out begging!!!

Oh I know, I agree the parents are mostly to blame here. My point was simply that we know regardless of nationality, we see it in our own country too, parents of beggars will often send their children out unaccompanied.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

:rolleyes: You missed my point. People are saying they are sunbathing. Last time I checked, you don't sunbathe sitting up like that with your belly creased like that.

No actually I got that bit Javaboy. And it isn't clever this time round either. Cant knock ya for trying though. Now as I was saying, seeing as you're so defensive of these onlookers maybe when you die no-one will bat an eyelid either. See? Not nice is it. Good night now!

Kold wrote: »
    2 were rescued, 2 were not. It was severely rough it said. Life guards aren't superheroes.
    They were rescued by beach goers.

Apparently the Cardinal of Naples and the UN High Commissioner rely on the Mirror for their news too.
    Last night, Crescenzo Sepe, the cardinal of Naples, condemned the attitude of holidaymakers, saying: "At times turning the other way or minding one's own business can be more devastating then the event itself.Another tragedy has struck at the heart of Naples, a terrible tragedy which the church has every sympathy for the victims and two precious lives lost. In those pictures you see their bodies covered by towels and in the background holidaymakers who appear more upset at the fact there view of the beach has been obstructed. These images along with photographs of Naples submerged in rubbish in its other emergency should never have to be seen. Indifference should not be a sentiment for human beings, it is not the time for Naples to be hit by another new and more serious emergency, that of indifference."
    The UN High Commission for Refugees expressed its condolences to the families of the two victims. ”While we express our condolences we also express worry at the circumstances of how the tragedy unfolded," said Laura Boldrini. Accounts would seem to suggest that hardly anybody intervened to save this children and even in death there seemed to be total indifference as their bodies lay on the beach while people continued to enjoy themselves. I wonder if these people would have behaved in the same way if the children in question were Italian and not Roma? How can people show such a lack of compassion?”

It is a bit OTT without better first account information.

No actually I got that bit Javaboy. And it isn't clever this time round either. Cant knock ya for trying though. Now as I was saying, seeing as you're so defensive of these onlookers maybe when you die no-one will bat an eyelid either. See? Not nice is it. Good night now!

Looks like you missed my point again to be honest. And I'm not really being defensive of the people. I don't know the facts. I'm just attacking the Daily Mail's attitude.

Anyway I'll say it again. My point was that some people were saying they were still sunbathing. I don't think they look like they are sunbathing because nobody is lying down. I'm not trying to be clever. I'm just stating a fact. Those people do not look like they are sunbathing. Anyone who says that the people in those photos are sunbathing is deluding themselves or **** stirring.

Try making an argument instead of just acting childish, I'm embarrassed for you. javaboy has made a valid point, one which I agree with. How do you know how many eyelids were batted? The bodies were supposedly there for an hour. Are you assuming that photograph was taken in even the first ten minutes of the children's death? The onlookers could have been crying or jumping around screaming or whatever it is you expect of them long before that photo was taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

How the hell do you know that these people didn't bat an eyelid?

It took an hour for the police to arrive, and in that time el raggo managed to get a few pics of people who weren't crying, hence, surely they all couldn't care less?

Edit: beaten to it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Ah, an anatomists dream....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

LOL at the Daily Mail's "concern" for Roma children...