Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Italians Sunbathing Next To Dead Children

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭JaneyMc

That is horrible.

That is sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Well, if it were Ireland, you'd have a big ring of gawkers standing around. Gouls. What do you expect the holiday makers to do? Go back to their hotels and wait until somebody removes the bodies? Or sit and wait until police arrive to take them away and question the holidaymakers (who are witnesses to the incident)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

My god. I really cant find the words to express how horrified I am by that article. Utterly despicable disregard for humanity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

I actually felt slightly sick reading that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Wow. You can tell they are unfazed from the backs of their heads? :rolleyes:

Jeremiah 16:1 makes a good point. If they left and the police had wanted to ask them questions, we'd see a different spin from the Daily Mail: e.g Callous holiday makers had so little respect for dead they didn't even stick around to talk to the police so the family could have answers.

tbh the fact that it's the Daily Mail tells me all I need to know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Some of the onlookers might have been asked to wait to give statements. Who knows?

Obviously, the photographer and "newspapers" like the Mail want to go for the most ghoulish angle possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Flippin' pizza lovin', pasta eaters!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Bros123

Well, if it were Ireland, you'd have a big ring of gawkers standing around. Gouls. What do you expect the holiday makers to do? Go back to their hotels and wait until somebody removes the bodies? Or sit and wait until police arrive to take them away and question the holidaymakers (who are witnesses to the incident)?

I'd hope that if it was Ireland people would have the decency to stand up and move some bit away or that police would move people away.
    People in those pictures are still sitting metres away on beach towels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

That is horrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

I might've expected them to do anything but carry on as normal.

I was on holiday at the Amalfi coast earlier this year. If my wife had seen two children that had just died she'd be bawling her eyes out. I don't know what we'd be doing but I don't think I would've felt like soaking in the rays. I guess I probably would've been in shock initially. If we were wanted for questioning it's unlikely we would be basking on the beach that close to fresh corpses.

Granted, this is a tabloid and pics can sometimes be out of context but there does seem to be a bit of aloofness on the part of beach goers. The statements given to Italian TV from the witness seem to corroborate that.

Ruu wrote: »
    Flippin' pizza lovin', pasta eaters!:mad:
    Damn you Ruu! I like Pizza and I like pasta! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

Thats crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Tails142

Bros123 wrote: »
    I'd hope that if it was Ireland people would have the decency to stand up and move some bit away or that police would move people away.
    People in those pictures are still sitting metres away on beach towels.

Yeah you never know what you'd catch off those romas!!

To be honest, I'd say everyone was probably in shock. They most likely saw the people drown, we cant really see the expression on peoples faces from those photos. I'd say a lot of people did leave the beach too, just because there were apparently 2 couples still there doesnt really show anything. Plus its the daily mail, a sensationalist brit rag by all accounts.

Lirange wrote: »
    I might've expected them to do anything but carry on as normal.

I was on holiday at the Amalfi coast earlier this year. If my wife had seen two children that had just died she'd be bawling her eyes out. I don't know what we'd be doing but I don't think I would've felt like soaking in the rays. I guess I probably would've been in shock initially. If we were wanted for questioning it's unlikely we would be basking on the beach a few yards away from the corpses.

Maybe they were told to wait where they were.
    Granted, this is a tabloid and pics can sometimes be out of context but there does seem to be a bit of aloofness on the part of beach goers. The statements given to Italian TV from the witness seem to corroborate that.

Aloofness? Seriously what are you basing that on? One picture shows a couple not looking at the bodies, possibly because they are upset. Another shows a man walking by while another man is sitting down adjusting his shorts/playing with himself. Maybe he's texting his friends so they can come down and half a gawk. The point is we don't know what the people were told to do, how they feel or anything else. Where are the photos of the people continuing to play football? Surely that would sell more papers but the photographer decided not to take them. I'm a little sceptical tbh.

I hate the Daily Mail with a passion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

dailymail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

SWeet Jesus, that horrible.. How could that paper put THAT photo of Jade Goody out like that

Horrible, that link will haunt me forever.

Damn you Goody.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

Pictures lie.

And if the pictures didn't, the Daily Mail would.

Tails142 wrote: »
    They most likely saw the people drown, we cant really see the expression on peoples faces from those photos.

Can you not see how unfazed and aloof they are from the back of their heads?

Awww come on. Regardless of your opinions relating to the Daily Mail there are photographs clearly showing several people cocked off on a beach with the dead bodies of two young children a few yards away. Dead children. I'm sorry but that is just fukked up. The fact that they aren't gathered around the children just reiterates how utterly nonplussed they are by their tragic deaths. Would you lie in the sand sunning yourself with dead bodies in front of you? I know I couldn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭madser

OMG, at first I thought Daily Mail:rolleyes:, but then when I saw the pic of the bodies being put into the coffins and the people just looking on, I am really shocked:(

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

And on top of everything else:
    'There bodies were left on the beach for an hour before being collected, just covered by a beach towel while people just got back to sunbathing and playing football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

dailymail

Thanks, but no thanks.

Poor kids I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

It's not like they're playing beach volleyball ffs. They're probably all just contemplating what happened, Christ what do you want them to do? Huddle up in a bunch and have a big cry?

The least they could do is sun bathe somewhere else:eek:

madser wrote: »
    Why? The kids are still dead.

Awww come on. Regardless of your opinions relating to the Daily Mail there are photographs clearly showing several people cocked off on a beach with the dead bodies of two young children a few yards away. Dead children. I'm sorry but that is just fukked up. The fact that they aren't gathered around the children just reiterates how utterly nonplussed they are by their tragic deaths. Would you lie in the sand sunning yourself with dead bodies in front of you? I know I couldn't.

Cocked off on a beach? They were probably on the beach before it happened and are waiting around expecting to be questioned by police. Why should they gather around the children? That's just morbid rubbernecking and serves no purpose. The sensible thing to do would be to stay out of the way but visible to authorities if they are needed and that's exactly what they seem to be doing. Show me the pic where they appear to be casually sunning themselves? Do you not normally lie down to sun yourself? The woman in the first pic will have white lines across her belly from sunning herself sitting up like that.

Kold wrote: »
    It's not like they're playing beach volleyball ffs. They're probably all just contemplating what happened, Christ what do you want them to do? Huddle up in a bunch and have a big cry?

I don't know about you but I wouldn't be sat there like that. I would at least move up the beach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

There is no story. The Daily Mail is a rag. Nothing less. If they'd left they'd be aloof. If they stay, they're callous. People are always drawn to such tragedies. They don't know what to do, but find it hard to leave. It happened in a terrible triple drowning in Sligo a few years back. Even when the bodies were being recovered, people just stood or sat around. Again, there's no story. Rags like the Daily Mail are xenophobic crap anyway.

They're sitting in the sun, not necessarily catching the rays. we don't know anything about the location of the place. All I'm saying is take the interpretation of the situation with a pinch of salt as the Daily Mail is mostly full of pseudo-facist crap.

Mirror wrote: »
    Why? The kids are still dead.

To show a bit of respect to the dead ffs:mad:

I don't know about you but I wouldn't be sat there like that. I would at least move up the beach.

I'd probably be glued to the spot unless I was obstructing authorities. I think moving down the beach would probably be more callous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Kold wrote: »

LMAO at the beach volleyball comment. It's true. It's not like they're having a frigging barbeque there, using the corpses as kebab meat.

And you know what's worse? The idea of a photographer who is so itching to get a shot of two dead children, that as a back-up/related story, he takes a shot of people who seem to have little to do with the two dead people other than sharing a beach with them. If those people weren't there so close to the body, do you think that that photographer would hesitate in peeling back the blanket and snapping a roll of the kid's faces?

il gatto wrote: »
    There is no story. The Daily Mail is a rag. Nothing less. If they'd left they'd be aloof. If they stay, they're callous. People are always drawn to such tragedies. They don't know what to do, but find it hard to leave. It happened in a terrible triple drowning in Sligo a few years back. Even when the bodies were being recovered, people just stood or sat around. Again, there's no story. Rags like the Daily Mail are xenophobic crap anyway.

+1. Actually it's kind of funny to see the Daily Mail jumping to the defence of Romas.

If the beach was empty they'd make some bull**** story up too. For all we know the people are hanging around to scare off seagulls out of respect for the children.

The Daily Mail is not fit to wipe my arse with.

To show a bit of respect to the dead ffs:mad:
    Excuse me? Are you implying I have no respect for the dead? Take your accusations elsewhere pal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

Tabloid journalism, FFS.
    How can anyone judge the people based on pics of them on a beach.

Blah, the first pic just shows people looking elsewhere .. can't judge anything on that.

2nd picture ... okay the kid is having an Allied Irish .. but hey when in rome.

3rd ... people are looking at bodies being taken away, same thing when one sees a car accident, you gotta slow down and stare.

Also as someone pointed out, you cannot believe any paper which has pictures or stories on Jade Goody.

And you know what's worse? The idea of a photographer who is so itching to get a shot of two dead children, that as a back-up/related story, he takes a shot of people who seem to have little to do with the two dead people other than sharing a beach with them. If those people weren't there so close to the body, do you think that that photographer would hesitate in peeling back the blanket and snapping a roll of the kid's faces?

Actually I wouldn't say he would have. He's obviously only a wet behind the ear newbie at this taking photos for rag tops job who still has remnants of a soul. Otherwise he would have taken pictures of the people who went back to playing football..... unless that was just a fabrication by the Daily Mail.... but they wouldn't do that.... would they?

javaboy wrote: »
    Maybe they were told to wait where they were.
    I doubt the authorities would object to them putting a bit of distance between themselves and the dead children. That would not prevent them from being accessible to the Police for questioning. It's not what people are doing so much as that they've remained on scene in such close proximity for at least an hour.

Aloofness? Seriously what are you basing that on? One picture shows a couple not looking at the bodies, possibly because they are upset. Another shows a man walking by while another man is sitting down adjusting his shorts/playing with himself.
    Someone giving attention to his member at such as solemn scene is disturbing. You're right that's not being aloof that's perversion! Necrophilia at Naples! News a Nine!
    I hate the Daily Mail with a passion.
    This is an opportunity to bash the smarmy Italians. I think that supersedes any quibbles I have with the tabloids. We must prioritise our self righteous indignation.

The woman in the first pic will have white lines across her belly from sunning herself sitting up like that.

Is that supposed to be funny? Tell ya what, make it known that when you die you want everyone to just carry on doing what they were doing. Get them to just throw a towel over ya and keep watchin telly til the mortuary van comes to collect ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

It should also be pointed out that a zoom lens can compress distances and make it look like the people are much closer than they are.

That's a good point Il Gatto.

I doubt the authorities would object to them putting a bit of distance between themselves and the dead children. That would not prevent them from being accessible to the Police for questioning. It's not what people are doing so much as that they've remained on scene in such close proximity for at least an hour.

Maybe they were in shock. Maybe they thought it would be better to remain exactly where they were when it all happened. Maybe. Maybe. Maybe. We don't know anything about this story. In fact until I see it from another news source, I wouldn't be absolutely 100% convinced the kids are dead at all. There are very few lengths the DM won't go to to create a story.

Someone giving attention to his member at such as solemn scene is disturbing. You're right that's not being aloof that's perversion! Necrophilia at Naples! News a Nine!

We don't know what he's doing. Maybe he's texting his wife to say he will be back late as he has to answer questions about a drowning. We don't know anything and we can't tell from these few photos.
    This is an opportunity to bash the smarmy Italians. I think that supersedes any quibbles I have with the tabloids. We must prioritise our self righteous indignation.

You prioritise what you like. I hate the Daily Mail and I think the world would be better off without most of the people who work for it.

Is that supposed to be funny? Tell ya what, make it known that when you die you want everyone to just carry on doing what they were doing. Get them to just throw a towel over ya and keep watchin telly til the mortuary van comes to collect ya.

:rolleyes: You missed my point. People are saying they are sunbathing. Last time I checked, you don't sunbathe sitting up like that with your belly creased like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Forget about the sunbathers. Where the FUKK are the childrens parents!!!

Mirror wrote: »
    Excuse me? Are you implying I have no respect for the dead? Take your accusations elsewhere pal.

You asked a question and you got an answer:rolleyes:

You prioritise what you like. I hate the Daily Mail and I think the world would be better off without most of the people who work for it.
    That's some anger there. You must work for the Sun! ;)

DonJose wrote: »
    Did you read the article? They are beggars.

That's some anger there. You must work for the Sun! ;)

Urge to kill rising. ;)

DonJose wrote: »
    Where were the lifeguards?

Most beaches in Italy have lifeguard supervision.

You asked a question and you got an answer:rolleyes:
    Did I? Sorry, must not have noticed through all the tears I'm supposed to be shedding over here.

There's a fecking chasm between the intelligence of the posters in this thread that are chewing up what the Daily Mail are feeding them and the posters that are actually thinking for themselves, it's actually hilarious.