The best thing about being from Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭sickpuppy32

Kold wrote: »
    Your family can always get you drugs.
    Your family can always get someone killed for you.

isn't that limerick?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭eddie.fandango

The jury is in..a verdict of "fail" has been given to this thread.

I am myself a culchie, born and raised in Mayo (or was it West Philadelphia?).
    I've been living in Dublin for the last few months, and I have to say my perception of the city has changed immensely, i'm really enjoying myself (with the Boards beers playing a part in that). That said, it has also opened my eyes to the jackeen vs culchie wars. Granted, this thread was started in the spirit of irony, but lets face it : if you live in Ireland, you ARE a culchie. We are a country full of culchies, which gives us used to give us the reputation for being some of the most down to earth, friendly people on earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Yeah? We go there to laugh at Dubs.

I would expect you too as my hip cosmopolitan attitude would come across as strange to a wellie wearer such as yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭FOGOFUNK

Making a holy show of the wexford culchies!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

ah yes dubliner cheese which is made in cork! -

Their marketing department obviously thought nobody would want to buy Corkonian cheese. Good choice too.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

ugh, I can't wait until the dubs are knocked out again.

I swear it gets funnier every year.

That time they hit the post in the last minute of the game and ended up losing a few years back is my favourite GAA memory (I don't generally watch it, only when Dublin friends force me too).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭sickpuppy32

expect to see the inevitable headlines in the evening hearld tomorrow predicting dublin for the all ireland - you'll get it right some day lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,668 ✭✭✭DenMan

nocal wrote: »
    Being close to the airport...

and being close to lots of great gigs....:D

As a Dub now in Sligo, I have to agree with those two points, especially regarding gigs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

FuzzyLogic wrote: »
    I'll summarise the future replies for you:

1)Being from a nice part of Dublin
    2)Laughing at people from **** places like glasnevin

Glasnevin is a nice spot!

Where are you from? (eh? eh? eh?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,652 ✭✭✭impr0v

Eye candy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

impr0v wrote: »
    Eye candy.

Only because you get more foreignors up there! /bait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,421 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

FuzzyLogic wrote: »
    2)Laughing at people from **** places like glasnevin

what's wrong with glasnevin? apart from half of it realistically being finglas, it's nice....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The jury is in..a verdict of "fail" has been given to this thread.

I am myself a culchie, born and raised in Mayo (or was it West Philadelphia?).
    I've been living in Dublin for the last few months, and I have to say my perception of the city has changed immensely, i'm really enjoying myself (with the Boards beers playing a part in that). That said, it has also opened my eyes to the jackeen vs culchie wars. Granted, this thread was started in the spirit of irony, but lets face it : if you live in Ireland, you ARE a culchie. We are a country full of culchies, which gives us used to give us the reputation for being some of the most down to earth, friendly people on earth.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

what's wrong with glasnevin? apart from half of it realistically being finglas, it's nice....

Nobody I know ever says Glasnevin without immediately following it up with the word cemetery. Sorry, but much like Dunsink is known for having a gigantic dump, Glasnevin is known for its graveyard.

I come from Blanchardstown which is a by-word for shopping centre so I kind of know how it feels. Still I'd rather be associated with a shopping centre than a boneyard or a tip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Glasnevin from Botanic Road up to the top of Mobhi Road is lovely, after that it's just generic suburban blandness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,308 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Dudess wrote: »
    Glasnevin from Botanic Road up to the top of Mobhi Road is lovely, after that it's just generic suburban blandness.
    Yup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

womoma wrote: »
    Just wondering what people think are the best things about being from Dublin??

From where?

/ Googles "Dublin"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Stayed in a terrible B n B in Glasnevin .Never again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭trowelled

I'm from Dublin but could never be called a true Dub. Parents are from Tipp and Offaly and have always been closer to the 'culchie' parts in me!! Been living outside of Dublin the last couple of years, Tipp mainly, small stint in Wexford and now onto Cavan. Tend to come home most weekends for the socialising as I cannot stand small town nightclubs, same in every flaming town, me likes a bit of variety!!

As for the Dublin football team, have never been able to bring myself to shout for them much to the bewilderment of my sister.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

Dudess wrote: »

Whereabouts is Mobhi Road? Is that up near the school and the church there?

I really like Glasnevin. Drumcondra too, although that area seems to have a bad rep in some quarters, not sure why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭ronano

lolz i'm actually beside the field i came from.If you take all the ****ers back who hang dublin flags off their house in sligo then we'll shake on that gentlemens agreement of yours.

twats hanging flags might be worse...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

Best thing about being from Dublin?

Being able to chant "Here for the shopping, you're only here for the shopping", "Sheep shaggin' Baaaaaaaastards*" and the like at the visiting support every second Friday :cool:

I love Dublin, I'm pretty into history and the citys history is still there before your eyes, bullet holes in buildings and all the rest. I think it's a great city musically too, with fantastic pubs for everything from indie to folk and traditional music on a night out.

It's by no means an ugly city either. I've seen far worse around Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

biko wrote: »
    ·Saying the word 'bleedin' at least 700 times a day.
    ·Wanting to be, but not being, English.
    ·Laughing at all other Irish accents despite the fact that nobody anywhere on this planet can understand a word you say.
    ·Having several family members called Christy and Anto.

I would quite honestly rather kill myself than live in Galway and that is no exaggeration. It is perma-rainsoaked. It costs more to get to the next point of civillisation from Galway by train than it does to fly to the UK from Dublin. Despite being down the country it generally costs as much as going out in Dublin. Galway has somehow managed to pull the wool over peoples eyes and market itself to French and Spanish tourists as a western capital of culture and Bohemian alternative lifestyle type sh1te. The one and only good point about it is the women are generally pretty good looking.

I like the way in Dublin you can avoid pubs and nightclubs whete you are likely to get randomly assaulted, whereas down the country it is a risk you take in every premises you go into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,852 ✭✭✭condra

Granted, this thread was started in the spirit of irony,....

No it wasn't.

I love living in Dublin. I love being a Dub. I prefer Dublin to the bog.

I love winding up insecure/jealous muck savages. It's sport.

By the way, for the culchie GAA heads, let it be known that the majority of Dubliners don't give a toss about Gaelic football. We have other sports, internet access, nightclubs with strangers, and such like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

heroin and the nice people that whole scene involves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

If your a dub, you can wear Argos Jewelery with style.........culchies can't pull that off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

No it wasn't.

I love winding up insecure/jealous muck savages. It's sport.

By the way, for the culchie GAA heads, let it be known that the majority of Dubliners don't give a toss about Gaelic football. We have other sports, internet access, nightclubs with strangers, and such like.

Take it to the Dublin forum so, in here you're simply trolling. Dublin is not the only city in Ireland. As a Londoner, you're the mucksavage to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭nicolaonfire

I love how people from Dublin think that anywhere outside of Dublin is bog land. I don't live in Dublin and I have never been in a bog or seen a bog!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Kold, are you a Londoner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭turgon

The best thing about being a "dub*" is being mocked for the dìckheads that ye are.

:D:D:D:D

*I only refer to people who style them selves dubs and who consider themselves to be a separate breed from the other "culchies" around.