Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The best thing about being from Dublin

• 20-07-2008 12:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭

Just wondering what people think are the best things about being from Dublin??

My 2 favourite things about being a Dub are:

- not being a culchie
    and
    - being cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭nocal

Being close to the airport...

and being close to lots of great gigs....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

You get desensitized to the smell of stale urine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

I'll summarise the future replies for you:

1)Being from a nice part of Dublin
    2)Laughing at people from **** places like glasnevin

1) yore ma!
    2) lots of chippers

[sherifu]: move to Dublin city forum pls

1) Dublin sucks
    2) cork/carlow/mayo rulez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭condra

Being near shops.

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Living close to yorema

FuzzyLogic wrote: »
    2) cork/carlow/mayo rulez

I assure you, Cork most certainly does not rule. We sorted them out years ago. They are unwitting slaves, which is nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Sherifu wrote: »
    You get desensitized to the smell of stale urine.
    FuzzyLogic wrote: »
    [sherifu]: move to Dublin city forum pls
    You fail fuzzball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Photi

You can assume that every other Irish person is a Dub unless stated otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

womoma wrote: »
    I assure you, Cork most certainly does not rule. We sorted them out years ago. They are unwitting slaves, which is nice.

Yawn yawn yawn!!

Ah i see why you are out. Its a full moon!!!

Photi wrote: »
    You can assume that every other Irish person is a Dub unless stated otherwise.

LMAO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭zuchum

Adrian Kennedy

You don't call your ma "mammy"

zuchum wrote: »
    Adrian Kennedy

He's a global superstar now, not exclusive to Dublin.

Styling gel instead of a gob of spit and a comb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Yazacoo

. Ur ma.

. The legendary people you meet on the bus.

' Free music on the steets!

You'll never catch your brother shagging your sister.

HAHAH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

De heroin is bleedin' rapid

Agamemnon wrote: »
    De heroin is bleedin' rapid

Maybe in Cork, in Dublin it's 'rapih'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

The Boilerhouse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

Yazacoo wrote: »

. The legendary people you meet on the bus.

I must be getting the wrong bus because the only people who talk to strangers on the bus are junkies who piss themselves.

Oh I forgot two other things I love about being a dub..

1 - Being superior to culchies

2 - Winding culchies up, about being muck savages, boggers, etc.
    Most enjoyable.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

The best things? I wish I wasn't ****ing born in Dublin ya shower of knackers ;)

Nah seriously, town is good cause ya have everything and it's grand for meeting wimminz unlike the country side. I wish I lived in the city centre!

The worst things about Dublin though? The ****ing southside of it ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Why can't ye dubs stay in dublin?We fenced ye off for a reason?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭ImDave

Free fashion tips from the skangers.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Being from Dub? (naaaa, it's OK, just been away for too long)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,155 ✭✭✭ronano

Why can't ye dubs stay in dublin?We fenced ye off for a reason?

why can't you lot stay out,we don't need no wall just a gentleman's agreement that you'd **** off back to the field you came from ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

womoma wrote: »
    Oh I forgot two other things I love about being a dub..

1 - Being superior to culchies

2 - Winding culchies up, about being muck savages, boggers, etc.
    Most enjoyable.:D
    ronano wrote: »
    why can't you lot stay out,we don't need no wall just a gentleman's agreement that you'd **** off back to the field you came from ;)
    having the most well informed, intelligent and soundest bretheren around :rolleyes:*

*i is not actually from dublin but using poetic license for the benefit of this post!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,284 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The best thing about actually being from Dublin? laughing at those who laugh at "culchies" yet they're first or at most second generation "dubs" laughing at the people that are their parents and grandparents. Deep insecurity I would say.

Boggers are everywhere, in city, town and village. They're not restricted to any postcode, ancestry or accent.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wow that sounded really patronising and conceited.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 drug dealer

Wibbs wrote: »
    The best thing about actually being from Dublin? laughing at those who laugh at "culchies" yet they're first or at most second generation "dubs" laughing at the people that are their parents and grandparents. Deep insecurity I would say.

Get out more.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,284 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I see a nerve has been touched. In fairness drug dealer's reply was grand and to the point,:) while womoma's was irony of the very highest order. womoma are you actually serious when you typed that? Bleedin hell.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,577 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Being close to the airport so i can get out of the kip whenever i'm not working :pac::pac: Only reason i'm here is cos of work. We culchies can rob all the well paid jobs of the 80% unemployment rate of knackers!!! Allows you to stay at home with yore ma :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

Boggers are everywhere, in city, town and village. They're not restricted to any postcode, ancestry or accent.
    funily enough my fathers' a dub and he maintains your only a dub if you were born and bred between the canals!!

using that rule how many of you so-called dubs are real dubs??? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 drug dealer

while womoma's was irony of the very highest order.
    In fairness, the tone of womomas OP was tongue in cheek to wind up culchies, while yours was "holier than thou".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭sparksfly

What are the best things about living in a city like Dublin? Maybe its the non existant public transport, scummiest accent in the universe, highest skanger concentration in the universe, piss in every doorway on a weekend night, overpriced vomit pits like temple bar, the high fashion o’connell street, cultural highlights like jobstown and coolock, gangland drug wars.
    Yea, living there would make me feel “cool” too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭JaneyMc

I love living in Dublin because if I decide that I want something from the shop at the ridiculous hour of the morning, its less than 5 mins away...
    Getting really fed up with living in the city though, would not mind living further out for a while....
    Anybody wanna swap??? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

ronano wrote: »

lolz i'm actually beside the field i came from.If you take all the ****ers back who hang dublin flags off their house in sligo then we'll shake on that gentlemens agreement of yours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭JaneyMc

sparksfly wrote: »
    What are the best things about living in a city like Dublin? Maybe its the non existant public transport, scummiest accent in the universe, highest skanger concentration in the universe, piss in every doorway on a weekend night, overpriced vomit pits like temple bar, the high fashion o’connell street, cultural highlights like jobstown and coolock, gangland drug wars.
    Yea, living there would make me feel “cool” too.

It might not make you feel cool, but wherever you are from now, makes you sound bitter. Besides, its a city, every city in the world has it problems, like I'm sure you're own area does but probably on a smaller scale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭ImDave

The traffic. Its great being fairly close to everything you need, but given the fact it can take ages to get there is a bit of a drawback.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Being able to go back now and again and despite all the changes ,feeling like i never left :)

sparksfly wrote: »

Take the bait much?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭david_the_great

being close to gigs-
    the more cultural life
    laughing at commoners
    listening to commoners
    having banks that open 6 days- not every wednesday (arann islands)
    getting more wages
    having more oppurtunity
    just generally being fab

You dont smell like muck and silage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Getting a discount on Dubliner cheese while all the other suckers pay full price!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,093 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Most boards beers take place here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Your family can always get you drugs.
    Your family can always get someone killed for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

The best thing about being a Dub is going to Copper's to laugh at culchies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

·Saying the word 'bleedin' at least 700 times a day.
    ·Wanting to be, but not being, English.
    ·Laughing at all other Irish accents despite the fact that nobody anywhere on this planet can understand a word you say.
    ·Having several family members called Christy and Anto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Duff

biko wrote: »
    ·Saying the word 'bleedin' at least 700 times a day.
    ·Wanting to be, but not being, English.
    ·Laughing at all other Irish accents despite the fact that nobody anywhere on this planet can understand a word you say.
    ·Having several family members called Christy and Anto.