Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pitch And Putt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Any news from the weekends play guys?

Hitman: Are we still good to play tomorrow in Loughlinstown?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭HITMANHEALY

Draupnir wrote: »
    Any news from the weekends play guys?

Hitman: Are we still good to play tomorrow in Loughlinstown?

Buckley v Downes in the finals of the leinsters

Ye we are if weather permits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭Dromcill

Munster Matchplay Championship, Collins
    Men
    Semi-finals: F Dineen (St. Anne’s) bt P O’Brien (Lakeside Templemore) 4 and 3; D Fleming (Deerpark Killarney) bt F O’Donoghue (Templebreedy) 5 and 4.

Final: Dineen bt Fleming 9 and 8.

Women
    Semi-finals: S Scannell (Collins) bt A Daly (ESB) 1 up; M Webster (Larkspur Park Cashel) bt L Murphy (Collins) 4 and 3;

Final: Scannell bt Webster 10 and 9.

From the PPUI website:

Leinster Matchplay Championship finals results:

Mens
    William Buckley Jnr bt Sean Downes 9&8

Womens
    Tracey McGrath bt Chrissie Byrne 4&3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Kingdom

Lads,

Back in work for the first time in a week so a lot of posts I've briefly skimmed over that I'll get back to but I'll just say this.
    There are a lot of what could be perceived as negative posts with regards to the PRO side of the PPUI, some merited some not.
    However pitch and putt in general is crying out for administrators and while some of us here are keyboard warriors on work time :D if any of ye have the time to spare go forward and seek a nomination, its not like times of yore where you would have to be a certain pedigree to be an officer, now you just need to be willing. I would seriously encourage the likes of Paul and Gary here to go forward, if even just as NEC members. Enthusiasm can be infectious, and the more of the players at the forefront of the game involved in the administration the better.

About the issues with the website, I'm not good with that type of thing but to be fair at least the Union has a website. Is it possible that the lack of content or articles is down to a space issue? Which would be down to money. The biggest club and the strongest county don't. Dublin is an exception as they have the best Pro in the country, and I make no exception to that.

With regard to the results on the website, there is no doubt it could be better. I was led to believe a club had 7 days to return an Open results form. If this is the case I can see no reason why the results of scratch cups cannot be put up. A couple of things I know. Not all of the county strokeplay results have been sent in so the rankings couldn't be updated fully. There are a few irregularities on the website, most certainly, but I think there are bigger issues in the game than the website.
    In general the office have been A1 with responding to email queries. I know teh NEC is aware of this forum. I've sent an email to the office asking for this forum to be recognised on the Links page. I've been led to believe there are a lot of guest viewers of these pages, all I would do is encourage people to register and contribute, as the more people posting means the greater the chance of a forum on boards.ie of our own.

:cool:

Kingdom what do u think of the leagues this year in dublin

It be great to have winner of each county play each other in weekend festival of pitch and putt to see who the best club is, what u think??

Gary I have to admit I haven't been following the leagues as much but I know the OC lads have been disappointing while the Northside is a bit of a shock at the moment. I wouldn't be surprised if it was an all southside final to be honest.
    I had thought of a Champions cup type idea before it wouldn't be bad if it could be accomodated in the calendar. Consider the GAA method of drawing attention to the lesser competitions (christy ring + rackard hurling cups). These are played before major senior semi finals. Imagine if the National scramble was streamlined so that a certain amount of teams played a final game before 36 hole county champions cup? There would be some amount of people there.

Tipperman wrote: »
    The greens will be perfect in Tullamore Tipperman. I had the privilege of a game there on Friday and while they weren't cut they were still of a good quality and were quite fast. I heard talk over the weekend that there may not be a scr cup before the national. There is no doubt that the game does not get the exposure it deserves, ironically enough at a time when courses, facilities, and general play are at an all time high.
    The Dutch are brilliant pitch and putt enthusiasts and the fact that they have adopted (or seem to) the ireland model as opposed to the continental model is excellent for the game. Alas they have far superior funds to play with and have maybe a less cynical view on minority sports than we have here in Ireland.
    Maybe the website issue should be raised at convention?

All fair points well made there Kingdom, I dont think anyone is being intentionally negative but I guess it is useless for us to be critical unless we can suggest alternatives or help to improve the situation. Let's see how things pan out over the coming couple of weeks.

Myself and Hitman had a game in Loughlinstown tonight, I must say that the course is definitely one I enjoyed playing, plenty of holes around the 50 mark which I think suits my own game. Thanks again for tonight Hitman and I'll be in touch soon for another game!

Loughlinstown was in lovely condition with some great tee area's that were foreign to anything I'd played on before, a tough course that rewards a good pitcher in my opinion. The greens were very difficult to read but had a true roll and were fast despite not being cut very tight.

I suppose there is in fairness but in the long term we need expose in the National Media.. I mean the Irish Examiner sponsor the Munster Inter Co which is great but the winners photo's or not even a write up is put in the paper, just results...

Would a players website look like we are trying to break away from the PPUI... Playing Devils Advocate here I suppose....

Yes undoubtedly it would. I had considered it myself for a while and thought against it.

Now a fanzine on the other hand.....

adhoc wrote: »
    would loughlinstown be the best club in dublin or is there another team better do u think

Depends what you mean Adhoc? Are you referring to them in terms of ability in the Senior leagues, the performances of their players in the outside competitions or in terms of the club itself.

My opinion would be that its a tough place to play in the leagues and this helps them no end. Ltown, Lucan, CY would have been the clubs to beat over the past 10 yrs but this is slowly changing, with the northside all over the place and cpm putting it up to the big guns.
    In terms of individual ability you'd have to say Lucan are streets ahead of the rest.

Kingdom wrote: »
    Depends what you mean Adhoc? Are you referring to them in terms of ability in the Senior leagues, the performances of their players in the outside competitions or in terms of the club itself.

My opinion would be that its a tough place to play in the leagues and this helps them no end. Ltown, Lucan, CY would have been the clubs to beat over the past 10 yrs but this is slowly changing, with the northside all over the place and cpm putting it up to the big guns.
    In terms of individual ability you'd have to say Lucan are streets ahead of the rest.

Good points Kingdom, we not be far away from having that individual ability, we have started to bring up some good players so be interesting in a few years who will have the ability, lucan have a few older players now but with fine ability dont get me wrong, i hope for the game that all dublin clubs encourage younger lads to keep playing

Alright Kingdom

U looked slighty annoyed the other day playing the young gun from athboy, he's a very good player and it was nice to see the energy and enthusiasm the boy had, it was great to watch, in my respect to the leinsters the putting let me down, i pitched 31 greens in total and missed 17 putts for 2's which is a big shame, and finished 12 under, with my only 4 on the last hole which i lost the match at all square.

WD to buckley great result for him

All fair points well made there Kingdom, I dont think anyone is being intentionally negative but I guess it is useless for us to be critical unless we can suggest alternatives or help to improve the situation. Let's see how things pan out over the coming couple of weeks.

Myself and Hitman had a game in Loughlinstown tonight, I must say that the course is definitely one I enjoyed playing, plenty of holes around the 50 mark which I think suits my own game. Thanks again for tonight Hitman and I'll be in touch soon for another game!

Loughlinstown was in lovely condition with some great tee area's that were foreign to anything I'd played on before, a tough course that rewards a good pitcher in my opinion. The greens were very difficult to read but had a true roll and were fast despite not being cut very tight.

No problem mate, glad you enjoyed it, next timei lll play match play with u make it interesting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Jinkymagic

Kingdom wrote: »
    Yes undoubtedly it would. I had considered it myself for a while and thought against it.

Now a fanzine on the other hand.....

Is there any way that the PPUI website could facilitate a forum? Certainly would make the website more popular and easier for people to interact with rather than coming to a website like this!

Also just wondering do the guys in head office get paid or is it voluntary? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Tipperman

The Munster Matchplay took place at Collins last Saturday in dry but blustery conditions. The course was in excellent condition and a feast of pitch and putt was hoped for. Alan Kelly ESB caused the first of the shocks to many when he beat the inform John O Meara of Riverdale. Celly Ryan of Larkspur Park had the comeback of the round when beating Davy Morrissey of Lakeside on the 39th after being 3 down with 4 to play. Frank Dineen ( St Annes ) showed his intentions early when he easily disposed of Mark O'Brien (Larkspur Park). John Walsh also advanced easily to the 2nd round when he saw of Noel Joyce of Hillview. Young Darren Goodall of Tralee had a great battle with Liam O'Donovan of Bruff but experience proved vital here with Liam coming through 3&2. Paul O'Brien of Lakeside had a good encounter with local man John Garrett but Paul closed out the match to win 5&4. Admittedly the biggest upset of the first round was the departure of Paudi O'Sullivan of Majestic. Playing young gun Kieran Earls of Parteen he put Paudi to the sword in what was a highly entertaining match. Jason O'Regan hit the ground running against Mick Walsh of Parteen winning 6&5. The battle of brothers Tom and James O'Donovan was always going to be tight. Tom sank a good 5 footer on the last to win 1up. Darren Collins of St Annes and James Cleary of Hillview had another titanic battle. Both players are currently having poor seasons but they had a great battle with Darren eventually winning 2&1. Damien Fleming again got out of the blocks early to record a 7&6 win against Jimmy O'Neill of Larkspur Park. The match of the round was undoubtedly John O'Sullivan Majestic v Declan Sheedy of Clare Road. John eventually winnin on 40th.Young Shane Hoare of Larkspur Park once again met Frank O'Donoghue and the result was the same as Glenville with Frank prevailing. Tom Hanley of Bruff was unable to play against GOD (Ray Murphy) due to a hand injury so the master advanced. Jonathan Goodall had massive game against clubmate JP Fleeton where Jonathan came out the better 1up. Local favourite Eoin Shannon fell at the first hurdle when John O'Sullivan of St Annes beat him 3&2.

The second round saw some fantastic games as some top class players were pitted against one another. Celly Ryan was unable to continue his heroics of the first round and Alan Kelly easily disposed of his opponent to reach the quarter finals. John Walsh and Frank Dineen had some battle. Walsh birdied the first 10 of the second round but 2 bogeys in a row at 11 & 12 allowed Frank back into the game. People have questioned Dineens mental toughness in recent years but he answered them with aplomb! Birdies at 13,14,15,16 & 18 (a great putt) ensured he got sudden death against his illustrious opponent. Dineen pitched just left of the first and duly sank the putt to dispose of Fav John Walsh in what a match of the highest possible standard. Paul O'Brien and Liam O'Donovan also had a titanic battle in which Paul prevailed 6&4. Kieran Earls couldn't continue his play that saw off Paudi against Jason O'Regan. Tom O'Donovan was 18 under for his match against Darren Collins and duly won 4&3. Damien Fleming got a lead early against John O'Sullivan and never let him back into the game. Frank O'Donoghue chipped in 11 times in 33 holes against the Master Murphy and for the first time in 3 years Murf was beaten a Matchplay Major.. Murphy birdied 12,13,14 & 15 in the second round but Frank O'Donoghue chipped in the 4 of them also. I kid you not! Jonathan Goodall caused a surprise when he beat John O'Sullivan 1 up.
    So the quarter finals set up some great games and the supporters were not left disappointed.

Dineen got off to a flyer against Alan Kelly. Alan found himself 6 down with 7 to go and to his credit birdied 4 in row to take the game down 17 where he agonisingly missed a birdie putt and so Frank had made his first Munster Matchplay Semi. Paul O'Brien was in flying form against Jason O'Regan. Jason managed to get 7 of the 8 in the second round but only one hole. Paul closed out the game 4&3. Damien Fleming also was playing class stuff when he met Tom O'Donovan. Both players were getting birdies all over the place but Damien pitched to inches of 17 to win the game 2&1. The reigning Munster Stroke Champion Frank O'Donoghue had too much for Jonathan Goodall when he won 5&4.

The Semi Finals were of the highest standard. Dineen flew out of the blocks against O'Brien. He was 3up through 9 but O'Brien in fairness settled the ship when he birdied 6 of the last nine but still remained 3 down turning. Dineen birdied the first 4 of the second round to go 5 up but O'Brien birdied 4 of the next 5 to get it back to 3. It remained 3 for the next couple of holes and until Frank won the 11 to go to 4 up with only 7 to go. O'Brien birdied 13 and 14 but so did the smiley Frankie... Paul failed with his chip on the 15th and so did his chances of retaining his title. Dineen was 18 under for his 33 holes.

The second match was fantastic for fanatics of the game. It was tight throughout with Fleming 2 up through 9. Damien then decided enough was enough and went crazy. He birdied the next 10 but Frank isn't one to lie down and managed to get 9 of the next 13 to remain in touch... Damien though is knocking on the door for a while and finally it opened. His pitches to 11,12,13 & 14 were more about intent than quality and Frank could do nothing but sit back and admire his opponent. Frank battled bravely but Damien who was -13 for his first round and was -7 for the next 14 holes was in unstoppable form and he closed out the match 5&4.

The final began at 12.30 in ideal conditions. Fleming won the first but this was to be the last hole he would win for some time. Frank birdied 2 and 3 to go one up. Damien missed a bad putt on 4 and 7 and Frank seized the initative immediately. He birdied 10,11,13,14,15 to build up a lead that he just couldn't lose from. Nothing was happening for Damien and the more he tried the more it agonised for him. He got the first 4 of the second round but only one hole. Frank was Commander in Chief at this stage and eventually closed out the match when he birdied the 10th from 4 feet to record his first Major Win. Frank a likeable character who has had plenty of setbacks throughout his career was a very popular champion. He has finally stood up to the plate when he needed it most and now his confidence will soar ahead of Tullamore. It was great to see him winning and who knows what lies next. For Damien it is now what might have been. No doubt he will be disappointed with his final showing but the P&P he played up to that was simply breathtaking. He is one of the most under rated players in the country who now know exactly who he is and what he can do. No doubt he will be back and he will actually benefit from this competition greatly.

All in all the whole weekend was great. It was so nice to compete in the Munster Matchplay once again as it is great to be able to compete for Provincial titles. We all hope we are playing them over the coming years as it was sorely missed. Collins had their course in excellent condition and their grounds staff have to be complimented for the way they presented the course. The ladies who looked after all the players and Officers over the weekend were magnificent and also we cant forget Junior Ryan NEC and Co Board officals who ran the competition so successfully.

Jinkymagic wrote: »
    Is there any way that the PPUI website could facilitate a forum? Certainly would make the website more popular and easier for people to interact with rather than coming to a website like this!

Forums and chatrooms tend to be a legal headache since the people running the forum can end up being responsible for the content on them. I'd imagine that this is a lot of the reason why the PPUI do not want to have one on their site. It's very understandable in my opinion.

Did you write this yourself tipperman for the website(PPUI) or did you just copy and paste? Just wondering because whoever wrote it did a fantastic job! With writing like this I dont see how we cant begin to utilise the major newspapers in this country! Great read!! Its just a pity that most people wont get a chance to read this either here or on the actual PPUI website!

Forums and chatrooms tend to be a legal headache since the people running the forum can end up being responsible for the content on them. I'd imagine that this is a lot of the reason why the PPUI do not want to have one on their site. It's very understandable in my opinion.

The thing is though it would be very beneficial not just for us but also for the PPUI. I dont know how many hits the website would get a day but i doubt it would be very many. A forum would be very interesting to hear about new ideas to someones latest club fourball! As you said it is a lot of responsibility though which will probably not make it possible.

I agree that it would be very beneficial but it could also be very harmful if something was to go wrong, you only have to read some of the stickies at the top of each boards.ie forum to see the problems they have had in the past with legal issues.

On the other hand, moderated well I think a PPUI forum could succeed but it requires commitment from volunteers which is how boards.ie succeed.

I agree that it would be very beneficial but it could also be very harmful if something was to go wrong, you only have to read some of the stickies at the top of each boards.ie forum to see the problems they have had in the past with legal issues.

On the other hand, moderated well I think a PPUI forum could succeed but it requires commitment from volunteers which is how boards.ie succeed.

Id certainly give as much help as i could if anything was to start up! If it was kept as a purely Pitch and Putt type forum im sure their would be no hassle! Its something to think about down the line rather than in the foreseeable future though!

Good points Kingdom, we not be far away from having that individual ability, we have started to bring up some good players so be interesting in a few years who will have the ability, lucan have a few older players now but with fine ability dont get me wrong, i hope for the game that all dublin clubs encourage younger lads to keep playing

Yes Gary you have good players too, but I suppose if you took away the 6 main lads ye have the quality wouldn't be great, whereas you could substitute the whole Lucan team without a major dip in class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 -3faithfull

wel kingdom are you going to ferbane 2moro for the county trial??????????:eek:

lads!! was in tullamore today the greens are in good condition they have just been sanded and are firming up!!!!!!! scratch cup will not be going ahead before the all ireland.
    the weather will determine the scoring on the day of the national as this summer is more like a winter and the winds in tullamore are unreal... what score do ye think will win and who?????:):L

Alright Kingdom

U looked slighty annoyed the other day playing the young gun from athboy, he's a very good player and it was nice to see the energy and enthusiasm the boy had, it was great to watch, in my respect to the leinsters the putting let me down, i pitched 31 greens in total and missed 17 putts for 2's which is a big shame, and finished 12 under, with my only 4 on the last hole which i lost the match at all square.

WD to buckley great result for him

Oh man where to start. Yes was p*ssed. Couldn't focus, couldn't get going, the walkover was a bigger obstacle than I thought. I won't say anything more about the game.
    Yes Liam getting to the q/f's was a shock though I did say a few weeks ago Clara would suit him.

It was a great performance by Willie alright, he's hard to beat up there.

Jinkymagic wrote: »

Also just wondering do the guys in head office get paid or is it voluntary? :confused:

I can't see the PPUi running a forum as there was a lot of hassle the last time they did.

As for the office they are employees of the Union, so they do get paid. It is slightly confusing however as Michael is Secretary of the NEC which is an elected voluntary position.

The Munster Matchplay ...... competition so successfully.

Tipperman great review.

wel kingdom are you going to ferbane 2moro for the county trial??????????:eek:

Story Faithful, nope working tomorrow so no intercounty for me this year as expected. good luck tomorrow, a solid score and you'll be fine yourself.

lads!! was in tullamore today the greens are in good condition they have just been sanded and are firming up!!!!!!! scratch cup will not be going ahead before the all ireland.
    the weather will determine the scoring on the day of the national as this summer is more like a winter and the winds in tullamore are unreal... what score do ye think will win and who?????:):L

Thanks for that faithful hoping to get over on Thurs morning for a game.
    Too early to predict anything yet, give us a couple of weeks yet.
    I'd say Mark Hogan has a great chance in the inters though.

sorry ta hear dat!!!!!!! yea hhopefully i do a gud score 2moro!!!!!!
    are ya in work now??????
    i think paul o gorman will take the senior title after he broke young hogans fathers heart by birdieing two out of the last 3 too knock him out of the all ireland!!!!!!!! remember wat i said tooo u dat day kingdom:(

sorry ta hear dat!!!!!!! yea hhopefully i do a gud score 2moro!!!!!!
    are ya in work now??????
    i think paul o gorman will take the senior title after he broke young hogans fathers heart by birdieing two out of the last 3 too knock him out of the all ireland!!!!!!!! remember wat i said tooo u dat day kingdom:(

Yep long slog for me here till 6 tomorrow then back in at 4 in the pm.
    Anything around the 98 mark will be grand in ferbane. Wm Buckley Joe McGrath and Larry will all score well there, while I reckon Mick and Graham will do decent scores too (anything between -10 and -14) so if you keep up with them you'll be fine. Still a couple of nice ones to go in Clara which will be the difference I reckon.

I do remember what you said. and I'll say this to you. Take your chance in 4 weeks time. A lot of players have waited a long time to get a shot at a national. Tipperman said himself it took 10 yrs to get back to the q/f's of the matchplay. Strike while the iron is hot faithful.