Any cops out there?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,798 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

TheNog wrote: »
    It is never a waste of resources but honestly public order incidents are cropping up everywhere that again we cannot be right there on scene.

Once again we cannot be everywhere at once. And why are you blaming all this on the Gardai? Due to incompetent parenting ( which you still haven't mentioned) and an even more incompetent HSE/Government we are trying to keep a lid on out of control kids/teenagers but it is ultimately the victims who pay with us stuck in the middle.

How you use those 20 is a Garda problem. And when there is repeat offence - a double decker bus being ambushed no less - occuring yards from the country's main thoroughfare and minutes from the country's main street and within clear view of that street, it is the Gardai's responsibility to make sure that does not happen. Not just arrest them afterwards, but prevent it beforehand - some foresight, some iniative, whether you have one or twenty officers.

That it has happened consistently for 12 months means that the Gardai should know what happens and prevent it. As I said, they know it happens, they know where it happens, they know why it happens and judging by the arrests, they know who is behind it. There is no need to be everywhere, be where you know there is a problem. I'm afraid the regularity that it happens nullifies the "we need a crystal ball" and "we can't be everywhere" or indeed, the premise of "we didn't know it was going to happen". Anyone getting the bus home knows it's going to happen again and it's going to happen at Hardwicke Street. Put someone there. How hard can that be to see that that would stop it dead?!

At half ten when the buses have gone past, those Gardai can go home safely like the fans or back to their station or wherever else you want them. From 9.55 to 10.30 (see there's even a timeframe), there is going to be a strong likelihood a public order problem on that corner and it is the Gardai's responsibility to prevent that. Not some no-go estate like it was in Limerick in 2006 where the Gardai did a very good job, not a million miles from a station, but off O'Connell Street.

They go to meet Shelbourne fans at the ground when they're playing, they wait for the buses carrying Rovers fans at Dorset St. Every time a Dublin side go to Dundalk, there's handbags outside the ground even though the police station is no more than 75m from the ground. It's so predictable, it's incredible and yet it seems the police treat each occurrence as a surprise. :mad:

Perhaps the guys in charge should let it happen and see the terror on the innocent faces, even board the bus and then be trapped inside it. Their perspective might change then. Or see how many faces you can recognise every week standing on the corner outside the Spar, waiting..even make a list and tick them off to make it exciting. Maybe we should make it a tourist nirvana - I know for sure I'm not likely to see it in many other cities.

But parenting is irrelevant :confused: It only comes into it when the Gardai don't do their job of prevention. I'll say it again - if the Gardai are there, these kids won't do anything regardless of having poor parents - which they do have. If they're not, then they will do as they please. At the moment and for the last 18 months, the Gardai have not been there. Maybe the only necessary way of stopping this is Dublin Bus intervening and objecting quite justifiably to their buses being used as cannon fodder costing them thousands and drivers going sick by cancelling the services.

I'm amazed they haven't yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

But some of the stories here are true..... there's no smoke without fire.

Guilty by accusation in the court of public opinion eh? :rolleyes:
    "If accusation is enough to prove guilt then what of the innocent?" Ceaser.

"Better a thousand guilty men go free than one innocent man convicted" - Blackstone theory.

I doubt very much that everyone is making up lies and fabricating stories, everyone agrees there's bad apples in every bunch maybe the bad stories are as a result of these bad apples.

The purpose of a forum like this is take peoples posts at face value without this there would be no real point in reading any topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

Found this with a quick search......

The Sunday Tribune recently reported that in the year 2002 one million euro will be paid by the state in out-of-court settlements to dozens of people who are suing the Gardai for false arrest or imprisonment, assault and malicious prosecution. Six million euro has been paid out in compensation over the past five years for breach of citizens' rights by Gardai. Cases settled out of court are not reported and plaintiffs sign confidentiality agreements, so such matters conveniently do not reach the papers. In addition to the 6 million euro paid out to citizens abused by Gardai, the taxpayer also the pays the costs of compensation for Gardai injured while on duty. Currently 1,500 Gardai (14% of the force) are suing the State for such compensation and the final cost is expected to top 80 million euro, which works out as an average payout of 40,000 euro per individual guard." http://www.fourthwrite.ie/mags1.html

It's a bit old, but my point is made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭kwalsh000

And a quick search turned up this

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=56343029#post56343029
    Guards driving your car

''I'd rather eat my own keys rather than let some <SNIP> sit in the driving seat.''
    Last edited by peasant; 23-06-2008 at 20:51.

Says alot about your views and attitude, using such language when it is not called for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Found this with a quick search......

The Sunday Tribune recently reported that in the year 2002 one million euro will be paid by the state in out-of-court settlements to dozens of people who are suing the Gardai for false arrest or imprisonment, assault and malicious prosecution. Six million euro has been paid out in compensation over the past five years for breach of citizens' rights by Gardai. Cases settled out of court are not reported and plaintiffs sign confidentiality agreements, so such matters conveniently do not reach the papers. In addition to the 6 million euro paid out to citizens abused by Gardai, the taxpayer also the pays the costs of compensation for Gardai injured while on duty. Currently 1,500 Gardai (14% of the force) are suing the State for such compensation and the final cost is expected to top 80 million euro, which works out as an average payout of 40,000 euro per individual guard." http://www.fourthwrite.ie/mags1.html

It's a bit old, but my point is made.

So more Gardai are paid than civilians? And Im not sure why you believe Gardai seriously injured in the course of duty shouldnt be compensated. Its also not true to state that cases do not make the papers, why the hell wouldnt they? The result is still public knowledge and accesible by the papers just as a court ruling is. Oh and as for your point, out of court settlements dont agree, disagree or accept responsibility for either party. No judgement is no judgement

DFX,
    If a Garda is standing waiting for this bus should he therefore ignore every other crime in the city? You dont seem to get it, crime is being commited all the time and we have to deal with every crime not just the one you saw or think is serious enough.

Im also amazed that you think that treenagers breaking the law is a failure on the Gardais part and not the parents or education system.

Now consider the fact that there has been violence twice in 18 months near O'Connell Street. Thats not a weekly event so clearly we are dealing with it and Dublin bus would seem to agree with me on this one.

Still, I wish a couple of teenagers fighting was the most serious thing I had to deal with on a Friday night. :rolleyes:

kwalsh000 wrote: »
    And a quick search turned up this

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=56343029#post56343029
    Guards driving your car

''I'd rather eat my own keys rather than let some <SNIP> sit in the driving seat.''
    Last edited by peasant; 23-06-2008 at 20:51.

Says alot about your views and attitude, using such language when it is not called for.

Round of applause my friend. :D
    keen wrote: »
    I doubt very much that everyone is making up lies and fabricating stories, everyone agrees there's bad apples in every bunch maybe the bad stories are as a result of these bad apples.

The purpose of a forum like this is take peoples posts at face value without this there would be no real point in reading any topic.

Im not saying there are no bad apples just that stories are exactly that, stories. Just because someone makes a statement does not make it true and if your going to make a statement condemning someone or an entire police force then you should be able to back it up with cold hard evidence not just some unproven story.

Simple reality is there are 1000 complaints to the ombudsman, out of how many that could be made? Millions potentialy. Then you have people who blame the Gardai for everything and again, people that plain and simple dont like police for personal reasons.

Yes there are examples of bad behaviour but they are the tiny minority.

Still, I wish a couple of teenagers fighting was the most serious thing I had to deal with on a Friday night. :rolleyes:

Sums the obvious Gardai attitude up to it more than I ever could. Though I came close with indifference earlier.

You're right - it's all the parents' fault - we'll leave them be and sure if we've nothing else on at the time we might just go and see what's happening. Stupid to expect the Gardai to try protect people from them. That's not what the few Gardai and their other important things are for. Silly me. :)

Let's just give up and let them run riot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

Mr.S wrote: »
    very rarley see a garda on the streets, even in town their hard to come by.

was in Edinburgh recently, and the amount of Police was mad, every street had 2 police men patroling, always to be seen.

Seeing cops on the street in Galway is a bit of a novelty.

I dunno how many are out on the beat in the city but whenever i did see any, it was always the same 2 fellas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

dfx- wrote: »
    Sums the obvious Gardai attitude up to it more than I ever could.

You the getting the wrong impression here. We would prefer to have pro-active policing but we simply don;t have the resources or manpower to do that and that is why incidents you described are happening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭FGR

Yes. Dublin city center is a crime free haven and as such all available Garda members should be standing on the bus at all times to prevent a possible breach of the peace from reoccuring. It would just leave the rest of the center vulnerable to all sorts of potentially more serious crime.

Don't get me wrong. It would be ideal to have the Garda members to take up positions to stop this from happening but it simply cannot be done to suit everyone's needs. With the handful of members around there's bound to be something that will happen and sadly will not be recognised by the public 99% of the time as it's been dealt with swiftly...which seems to counteract what a lot of posters here want..as they somehow want crime to be prevented yet also see results?

I must hand it to you both, Karlitos and TheNog; 2 against 5 isn't easy. Nothing new in the professional environment but surprising to see that it's still an uphill battle online..

And since when did we earn 50k after two years? Last time I looked it was 17 years..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

seen a good oul row break out in dublin city centre last night but in fairness to the guards the turned up within seconds and in good numbers and had everyone cuffed and restrained within seconds, stoppin what potentially could have turned very nasty..............so there not all bad ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 petermcqueen

You wont find an extortion officer, sorry police officer anywhere unless he can possibly extract some sort of fine.

Thats why the cops are crawling all over the roads and nowhere to be found when real police work is needed.

You wont find an extortion officer, sorry police officer anywhere unless he can possibly extract some sort of fine.

Thats why the cops are crawling all over the roads and nowhere to be found when real police work is needed.

Peter,
    You must be going for some kind of record!

Not happy getting 2 threads locked and banned from one area.

Now please keep your anti Garda trolling away for a while so the grownups can talk. (BTW, did you find the traffic court? ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Ian Beale

Funny really all the garda bashing and complaining and "no faith in them" yet if you were danger you'd be on the phone to them as quick as you are to complain about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Gizmodeon

I think it's funny anyone who seems to think the Gardai have easy hours, good pay, and are lazy as sin.
    Someone very close to me is a garda
    The hours are ****, they have to work 7 days of nights, then the next week is 6am-2pm, the next week 2pm-10pm.

I get paid more and I work in a shop selling phones.
    The amount of times he's seriously risked his life, and health for that job and I think it's a disgrace for other people to claim that they don't work hard when their job is one of the hardest out there.

why don't you try walking non-stop for 6 hours in the rain, just so a Garda "presence" can be felt, or have to deal with nagging old granny's claiming her neighbor stole her plant pot. It's a ****ty job to have, but you wouldn't say the same about the Cadettes in the army who are paid a hell of a lot more, and see less action than the Gards (no offense meant to Cadettes)

Also the **** thing is, when the Gards are sent out to take drink off 14 year old kids, most of the time they are rang by some aul one complaining and they HAVE to go otherwise they receive complaints and then corrective actions just like anyone else doing their job would have

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭invincibleirish

Gizmodeon wrote: »
    I think it's funny anyone who seems to think the Gardai have easy hours, good pay, and are lazy as sin.
    The hours are ****, they have to work 7 days of nights, then the next week is 6am-2pm, the next week 2pm-10pm.

I get paid more and I work in a shop selling phones.
    The amount of times he's seriously risked his life, and health for that job and I think it's a disgrace for other people to claim that they don't work hard when their job is one of the hardest out there.

why don't you try walking non-stop for 6 hours in the rain, just so a Garda "presence" can be felt, or have to deal with nagging old granny's claiming her neighbor stole her plant pot. It's a ****ty job to have, but you wouldn't say the same about the Cadettes in the army who are paid a hell of a lot more, and see less action than the Gards (no offense meant to Cadettes)

Also the **** thing is, when the Gards are sent out to take drink off 14 year old kids, most of the time they are rang by some aul one complaining and they HAVE to go otherwise they receive complaints and then corrective actions just like anyone else doing their job would have

Lemme guess, you have friends or family members who are Gardai?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,359 ✭✭✭source

well in fairness in the second line of Gizmodeon's post it does say

ten out of ten for observation! :rolleyes:

I love the way people that support Gardai are accused of bias but when I suggest that some anti-Garda feelings come from criminals or people with a grudge Im shot down and accused of all sorts.

Wow, trial by public opinion is really weighed against the defence.

ten out of ten for observation! :rolleyes:

I love the way people that support Gardai are accused of bias but when I suggest that some anti-Garda feelings come from criminals or people with a grudge Im shot down and accused of all sorts.

Wow, trial by public opinion is really weighed against the defence.

That's because your wrong, not everyone who has had a bad experience with a Guard has a criminal record or has a crudge against them. That's just a convenient way of defending it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

That's because your wrong, not everyone who has had a bad experience with a Guard has a criminal record or has a crudge against them. That's just a convenient way of defending it.
    You'll note he said "some anti-Garda feelings" not all.

humanji wrote: »
    You'll note he said "some anti-Garda feelings" not all.

Missed that bit read it too fast.

Anyone who takes an anti Garda story from a criminal as truth is a bit dim imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

This is pretty funny, there seems to be a new garda bashing thread every time I log onto boards, and it seems to be the same people over and over posting their "bad experiences".

Trolling of the highest order.
    Well done KW1978 and TN for maintaining your dignity in the face of such ignorance.
    But then again, I'm sure you're used to dealing with a**holes every day of the week anyway, so it's water off a ducks back. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,359 ✭✭✭source

Missed that bit read it too fast.

Anyone who takes an anti Garda story from a criminal as truth is a bit dim imo.

and someone who's stopped for speeding??? they, while not criminals in the traditional sense, would have a negatively biased view of the gardai, would you accept their negative views on the gardai as truth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

Lilibet wrote: »
    Anyone I know joining the guards are either university graduates or Institute of technology graduates. I'm sure they get a few who have the minimum requirement but I'd say they are in the minority.

The first sentence of my comment above is true.The second one is pure conjecture as I don't have figures to support my assertion.Do you have figures to support yours??? or is it simply an opinion based on the jaded stereotype of the majority of Gardai being uneducated and thick?????

Lilibet, no offence - but you seem fixated on the 3rd Level qualifications of our Gardaí. But the fact of the matter here is that people feel let down by what they perceive as indifference, laziness, poor performance, and next to no crimes being solved.

To keep reiterating the point that they are 3rd level graduates implies you think that people call 999 when they want to see the Gardai perform deft titration procedures and demonstrate the intricacies of Calculus.

The fact is that they have been entrusted with the task of upholding the law, are well paid by the taxpayer to do so but are not inclined towards basic service.

- Perhaps they need to recruit well away from the Colleges if they want to find candidates that prefer preventing crime to the current fools that seem to prefer filling in forms and fining suburban Mums for being 5 Kmph over the limit on the way home from Tesco.......

And YES you will rarely see the Gardai on the street unless its the 25 feet between the Station door and the car PAYE bought them.

They should be ashamed cashing our paychecks.

*Edit- just re-read that and decided to add that any Garda personnel who put in an honest days work and do attempt to fulfil their duty in an honourable way deserve a huge amount of respect for doing a very tough job and furthermore doing it in the midst of a general, cynical indifference.

foinse wrote: »
    and someone who's stopped for speeding??? they, while not criminals in the traditional sense, would have a negatively biased view of the gardai, would you accept their negative views on the gardai as truth?

Depends on ther person tbh, a lot of people take it on the chin and admit they were at fault and don't take it personaly, if this type of person was then to go on a few years later and tell me about a negative experience they had I wouldn't then say to them I don't believe you, you got caught speeding three years ago you just have a crudge against the Guards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

Raiser wrote: »

They should be ashamed cashing our paychecks.

If anyone ought to be "ashamed", it's you, for posting such utter drivel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭kwalsh000

If you are going to moan and add nothing to the thread, then at least be creative and use a different sentence
    reported a drunk driver but the gardai did nothing...
    Views: 2,719
    Posted By Raiser
    +1 Those gobsh*tes should be ashamed to cash...

Those gobsh*tes should be ashamed to cash their paychecks - In my experience the Gardai are a miserable crowd of wasters - almost without exception.
    Also tarring everyone with the same brush. I could say that everyone who has something bad to say about the Gardai has been in trouble with them at some stage, but that would not be the truth and would be generalizing. So I would have to wonder where your hatred comes from. Ah well.

The thread seems to be boiling down to this, anyone anti Garda seems to have been in trouble before and anyone pro Garda seems to either be in the job or know someone. Even though neither statement is true.

People may have a genuine dislike or lack of respect for the Gardai over an genuine incident when they met one of the unprofessional members, and its totally understandable for them to be upset. But remember the number of Gardai vs the number of complainants (which people keep saying in threads that the amount of complaints goes to show the Gardai as a whole as unprofessional), if each complaint related to a different member then you would run into alot of disgruntled Gardai every day, and that is not the case.

Stories about the Gardai stem from true stories and then take on a life of their own and everyone seems to have a story to tell. Thats including the, ''my brother seen this'' to ''my cousins, friends mother seen this''. These stories are just that stories, and the genuine ones more than likely don't relate to a different Guard each time, but to a certain few members who people seem to encounter.

If 10 people complain about 1 Guard, how are they to know its the same Guard? So when the stories are told that 1 Guard turns into 10 and so on and so forth and it reflects on the organization as whole.

With my ramblings over, what I am trying to say is 99% are out there to do their job to the best of their abilities and its the 1% that keep popping up. So before you believe the keyboard warriors about the Gardai that come in the night when you sleep and summons you or fine you. Please make up your own mind through your own experiences, after all respect goes both ways.

*fair play for the edit and realizing there are good ones out there, but pick your words better as speaking as quoted above does nothing for your side of the argument*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

I'd like to add this incident for the record, 3rd comment from the end, individuals account name is "Topper" - Its merely a witness statement from the "comments" section of a blog; but I'm inclined to believe it and I certainly don't think it reads like this guy made it up in support of any agenda etc.

- I think I heard a radio report a few weeks subsequent to this saying that the victim eventually died as a result of his injuries [?] - Can't find anything online though - any clarification appreciated.
    A man who came to the aid of another individual being assaulted received serious injuries himself last night.

The man in his 40s, and who is from the area was attacked on Hyde Road between the Railway Station and the junction with Carey’s Road.

He was taken to the Midwest Hospital in Dooradoyle, where his condition is described as serious.

The attack happened at approximately 2300 hrs and Gardai at Roxboro are seeking the public’s help with their investigation into the incident.
    I passed this incident in a car. In front of me was a black 4×4 which stopped to have a look. At this stage it was only “handbags”. The 4×4 in front of me suddenly started flashing blue lights and sounding sirens to which nobody took any notice. The lads in the 4×4 just ****ed off, never even got out.
    Some help from the E.R.U. That man could have died.
    And the gaurds are appealing for witness`s. What a joke!

http://www.limerickblogger.org/blog/2008/05/12/man-in-serious-condition-after-hyde-road-assault#comments
    pvt.joker wrote: »
    If anyone ought to be "ashamed", it's you, for posting such utter drivel.

pvt.joker I only dislike the cynical Gardai that fail their communities and put peoples lives, livelihoods and families at risk through indifference, inaction and opportunism. I continue to have the utmost respect for ALL Gardai that carry out their duties in an honourable way.

TheNog wrote: »
    You the getting the wrong impression here. We would prefer to have pro-active policing but we simply don;t have the resources or manpower to do that and that is why incidents you described are happening

The whole police force isn't necessary you know - just 2 or 3. :eek: Oh well, a saving grace for the kids and innocent people on the bus as well as the driver I'm sure is that the 20 police were patrolling somewhere in the city and that part was safe at least. Not much use to them, but I'm sure a comforting thought. Is the impression that you know there should be something stopping it and that you can't...or that there is no problem at all worthy of the effort? The impression I get both there and in this thread is the latter.

As I have said, there are some extremely good accounts of Gardai organisation in Dalymount, if perhaps ott, in Galway in particular every time we visit. When 100 ten year olds from Southill were lying in wait for Rovers fans in 2006 at a shopping centre throwing bricks and smashing Dublin registered cars, the Gardai were prepared, shepherded us out, and 3 riot police were enough to send them running. In Cork, they can be good and bad - although last time I am wondering why there was six Gardai minding a no entry sign. Were they expecting a zombie attack there or something? :) They are not a patch on the PSNI for whom the Brandywell in Derry and their thug stewards employed is a no-go zone :eek: I will praise them when they do well and criticise them when they do badly.

In Dundalk and on Dorset St they fail. In any job, if you fail at the same thing consistently over a long period, you are incompetent.

Imagine handling Germany v. Poland if Bertie had been successful with Euro2008. :D Especially that Polish people were supposedly asking random people if they were German in the street after the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

dfx- wrote: »

where is the ignore button?