Any cops out there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

GerM wrote: »
    Karlitosway,
    I wasn't referring to you being intimidated but to one of the Gardai I know who admitted he would deal with a less threatening situation and turn a blind eye to more serious activities to ensure less hassle for himself. Of course you shouldn't ignore littering etc. but I was making the point that this particular Garda was stating that he would focus on something trivial if it meant not having to deal with more serious, potentially dangerous activities. The Garda do hell of a lot of good and many of them are pro-active, as you say. However, it's my belief that there is a very large percentage that aren't cut out for the job and were incorrectly recruited.

With regards to the earnings I was replying to other people's assertions that Gardai were receiving quite meagre pay which I dispute. I don't begrudge them this. At no point have I complained that they receive this. Of course they're entitled to it. Again, I was simply stating that, when OT is factored in, Gardai make a decent living which previous posters seem to be unaware of. I'm not saying they shouldn't; I'm just informing people.

The lad who is posted to a station 30miles away is heavily involved in the GAA, as I said. The coach of his club, who is also on the county selection panel, is a relatively high ranking Garda and called in a couple of favours. As you said, you only have my word to go on but I have no reason to lie. It's not exactly hard to believe.

I agree that there are bad elements recruited in every job type but there seems to be a particularly high element in the Gardai. I don't mind the Gardai being heavy handed or ruffling a few feathers; it's the ones that are sheer lazy and got lucky after applying that irk me. They got selected, see it as a handy number and are now happy to pick up a decent wage while doing their best to keep their hands clean. Out of 4 people I know applied, the one lad who would be a thick skinned, tough bastard was repeatedly rejected whilst the 3 jokers who would be a waste of tax money were accepted.

You make good points and it's good to see someone arguing the other side educating myself amongst others. I have my opinions but I know the Gardai do a hell of a lot of dirty work that 95% of us would hate to deal with which has become second nature to them. I'm not anti-Garda, just reckon the system has a hell of a lot of improving to do.

Thats fair enough, I took up some of what you were saying wrong and would agree with most of what your saying.

Can only repeat some of what I have said, if someone if useless within the Gardai just like any job, they are found out. Ok they may not be sacked but thankfully the Gardai still have a use for people who cant cut it on the beat.

Trust me, Gardai are not blind and we dont like the useless gits anymore than anyone else but as you can see, theres a lot of generalising and plain insulting comments being made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭Dark_lord_ire

i read the first two pages got the general idea of the views. First off, i am one of the police so i'm of course going to be on our side. If i was to reply to every point i think i would be here till next week, and being honest some don't merritt a reply. Firstly half the reason people dont see gardai on the streets is a serious man-power shortage. Some districts might only have 3 gardai working at any one time. One who mans the phone, deals with public, operates the radio and deals with prisoners. the other two are in the car responding to calls and i can honestly say it is busy. Guards would only love as some of you put it to be in the station all day at least then could get through the mountain of paperwork. gardai are not that well paid, i mean its ok for a professional but you wont see gardai driving x5's or having the house with a pool, its a fair paid job. there is a risk involved in dealing with violent people and many including myself have been injuried in the course of an arrest. As for intelligence levels in the force, i would say that most who joined are highly intelligent alot if not most these days leave high paid jobs to join, and its right the best are picked, it probably is one olf the most responcible jobs a person can have the power to take a persons freedom away.

just quickly about bad eggs in the job, yes that does happen, however anyone bad in this job will get sacked simple as that i've known two who should never have been allowed in but i'm happy to say i arrrested one and how nice it did feel to bring him before the courts. Anyway i've probably ranted and gone abit all over the place and it probably wont change anyones views but i will continue to do my job fairly to all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,229 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Question for Gardai...

How many Gardai are currently serving?

Do you fellas/gals think there's enough of you?

If not, how many more Gardai do you think are needed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

i think the gardai should spend my tax money on trying to catch as many lads in the morning (after a few pints the night before) for "drink driving" as possible! id also like to see lots of gardai that have been done for shoplifting who have put it down to stress and getting away with it while stealing clothes from champion sports.................... i wouldnt say the word mr garda s... b....

Question for Gardai...

How many Gardai are currently serving?

Do you fellas/gals think there's enough of you?

If not, how many more Gardai do you think are needed?

In the region of 14000 fully attested and serving. Now take away office and backup staff of about 2000. then take away another 1000 for ranks/supervisors that dont patrol. Then you have to consider the positions that dont patrol but are available a such, DDU, ERU, Air support, etc. That runs to at least another 2000.

So were down to 9000 actual uniform Gardai in total. Divided into 4 shifts. So thats 2250 working at any time, say 2500 for ease but Im probable over estimating the 'uniform' strenght.

Now consider those 2500 are spread across the entire country to cover a population in excess of 5 million.

Thats a ratio of 1 Garda to every 2000 people. If even 1% of the population are commiting crime at any given time thats still 1 Garda to tackle 20 active criminals.

Going away from these optimal figures, the reality is you then need to consider that during day shifts you will have Gardai in court, Gardai taking statements, interviewing criminals and doing other paperwork such as getting files together for the DPP. Then you have people on holiday or possible even sick.

Some places have 1 Garda in the station and thats it. Areas without a dedicated 24 hour station are still evident. Most areas some of which have a high crime level or a high population wil have 1 car. 1 car can only deal with one thing at a time so usually they spend their shift going from 1 call to another without being able to spend any time actually being proactive or chasing up the last call they were just at.

I would say we need at least another 6000 put into uniform policing, freeing up office staff which is underway and taking away some of the current things that Gardai currently do that really theres no need for. Silly things like needing a Garda to sign certain forms, going to loud parties which we have no power to deal with, people asleep on a bench which is not a crime to begin with and many others.

However thats just my opinion, I havent done any optimal number research

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Process them for what? Thinking of commiting a crime? You think we can arrest people because they might cause trouble? Another damned if you do damned if you dont example. Stopped these known troublemakers from assaulting people and smashing the place up but no. we should have waited until after they ahd done that. Whats the bets you would be complaining if that was the case as well?

I agree with all of your long post ... apart from the above. Somebody posted some rubbish about guards in Cork piling drunk people in to a van and leaving them out in the country to walk back in ... on a regular basis.. And the above is your response?! Do you really think that is a good way of dealing with them?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭PeadarofAodh

flanum wrote: »
    i think the gardai should spend my tax money on trying to catch as many lads in the morning (after a few pints the night before) for "drink driving" as possible! id also like to see lots of gardai that have been done for shoplifting who have put it down to stress and getting away with it while stealing clothes from champion sports.................... i wouldnt say the word mr garda s... b....

Still bitter about your little run-in after boozing too heavily the night before eh? Find something else to moan about...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

flanum wrote: »

oh my god we pay as much tax as you do and does everyone else in the civil service so don't be going down the road of "I pay your wages"!!!!!!!

as for catching the morning after drunk drivers, we do checkpoints early in the morning especially mondays or after bank holidays but on some roads it is next to impossible due to the sheer volume of traffic. We have to consider the safety of ourselves as well as the road users too.
    I know the next thing you are going to say is that you haven't seen checkpoints in the morning but seeing that you were caught drunk driving the next day you know that it takes approx one hour to process one driver which then takes one car ( most districts have one car) off the road for that hour.

Those that have shoplifted before are criminals no matter who they are. no excuses for it.

I agree with all of your long post ... apart from the above. Somebody posted some rubbish about guards in Cork piling drunk people in to a van and leaving them out in the country to walk back in ... on a regular basis.. And the above is your response?! Do you really think that is a good way of dealing with them?!

it certainly is being pro-active but probably not the right thing to do.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭chalad07

Some good posts in here (karlitosway) and maybe I’m beginning to come around to the idea that all Guards are that bad (a little), but for the guards reading this would you not admit that their is an element within the force that shouldn’t be in there? And i know that there is a bad element within every organization, but is it relatively speaking more or less than other places?

The two cops I know freely say that there is an in proportionate amount of bad eggs in the guards, compared to other places they've worked,

And just for the record my opinions haven’t been formed by any run ins with guards as i've never had a reason to deal with them,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭ART6

In the region of 14000 fully attested and serving. Now take away office and backup staff of about 2000. then take away another 1000 for ranks/supervisors that dont patrol. Then you have to consider the positions that dont patrol but are available a such, DDU, ERU, Air support, etc. That runs to at least another 2000.

So were down to 9000 actual uniform Gardai in total. Divided into 4 shifts. So thats 2250 working at any time, say 2500 for ease but Im probable over estimating the 'uniform' strenght.

Now consider those 2500 are spread across the entire country to cover a population in excess of 5 million.

Thats a ratio of 1 Garda to every 2000 people. If even 1% of the population are commiting crime at any given time thats still 1 Garda to tackle 20 active criminals.

Going away from these optimal figures, the reality is you then need to consider that during day shifts you will have Gardai in court, Gardai taking statements, interviewing criminals and doing other paperwork such as getting files together for the DPP. Then you have people on holiday or possible even sick.

Some places have 1 Garda in the station and thats it. Areas without a dedicated 24 hour station are still evident. Most areas some of which have a high crime level or a high population wil have 1 car. 1 car can only deal with one thing at a time so usually they spend their shift going from 1 call to another without being able to spend any time actually being proactive or chasing up the last call they were just at.

I would say we need at least another 6000 put into uniform policing, freeing up office staff which is underway and taking away some of the current things that Gardai currently do that really theres no need for. Silly things like needing a Garda to sign certain forms, going to loud parties which we have no power to deal with, people asleep on a bench which is not a crime to begin with and many others.

However thats just my opinion, I havent done any optimal number research

Good post! Your explanations here seem to confirm what I thought when I started this thread. There just aren't enough Gardai to do the job, and by the sounds of it they are far too often wasted on duties that civilians could do just as well. Too few, too much red tape, too little resources. Maybe the frustrations of the job create some of the "idle" ones? Maybe the failing here is not so much in AGS as in government?

chalad07 wrote: »
    would you not admit that their is an element within the force that shouldn’t be in there? And i know that there is a bad element within every organization, but is it relatively speaking more or less than other places?

Of course I admit there is some bad elements in the AGS but it is fairly small. What I can't understand is some people tarnish every guard with the same brush. There will always be people who have dealt with us that feel they have been hard done by when we are just apply the law. Here is a recent example:

We were operating a checkpoint at 3am on a Saturday morning on a fairly busy route. We had 3 cars, two from the district (mondeo and a focus) and one traffic car (2.5l mondeo to chse down those who turned away). It was a dry night and the road was straight and all three cars had the blue and flashing headlights on. Three cars that were stopped we had to take the drivers out of the cars for different reasons.

Driver 1: was driving, again in the dark with no street lighting, with his parking lights only. No headlights at all. He claimed he could see well enough.

Driver 2: was driving with parking lights and fog lights on and she admitted having doing that since she bought the car last november!!! She couldn't understand what the problem was. We escorted her back to the nearest town, to park up her car and call someone to pick her up. She wasn't too happy with us. It was our fault according to her.

Driver 3: drove towards us at speed, we estimated his speed to be at least 130-140kph in a 80kph and only began braking 200 metres from us. He actually went through the checkpoint. The guard stopping the cars on that lane went running for the ditch!!!! This driver couldn't understand what the fuss was about and began arguing with us. His car was taken off him 'cos the tax was out of date for 4 months. He reply was he owns a restaurant and he would blame us if he couldn't open it the next day.

That was one checkpoint and it all happened within half an hour of us starting.

Another time I operated a speed check on a residential road with a 50kph limit. We had received complaints from the residents of speeding on the road especially in the mornings. I caught one fella driving at 94kph and he lived on that road. He seemed ok to begin with and I took his details. Then he asked me my name and station which I gave him. Next he said his neighbour is a town councillor and he will be on to him. I told him to go right ahead and complain to the councillor if he wished. The following week it was reported in the local paper this town councillor called us "men with hair dryers". Funny thing the next week this councillor had his front door kicked in by a drunken eejit and we caught him minutes later. Oh how the councillor sang our praises then.

There will always to be people who have got away with minor offences for so long that when they are caught they blame us for it. It is rare these days to find someone who will take responsibility for their actions.

ART6 wrote: »
    Good post! Your explanations here seem to confirm what I thought when I started this thread. There just aren't enough Gardai to do the job, and by the sounds of it they are far too often wasted on duties that civilians could do just as well. Too few, too much red tape, too little resources. Maybe the frustrations of the job create some of the "idle" ones? Maybe the failing here is not so much in AGS as in government?

We can certainly apportion some of the blame to the government for the lack of funding over the years but the AGS can take some of the blame too. For years the AGS had been saying that there was no real problems regarding drugs and organised crime nearly until the time Veronica Guerin was murdered. Senior management were simply a bunch of yes men to the government and took whatever the government gave them.

For years the ranks were allowed to reduce due to retirement and no serious recruitment took place. At present there are between 30-40 members retiring, resigning or dismissed or 360-480 annually with approx 1000 members going into the college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

lets be honest, criminals can type and have internet access. Im not pointing the finger but theres undoubtedly people that are just bitter against Gardai for whatever reasons. Maybe its a career criminal, a junkie, little boy racer or just someone who isnt happy they got a ticket and penalty points.

I've never been charged/arrested. I don't have any penalty points either, thanks. Why do you automatically jump to such a conclusion? Do you not realise that perhaps ordinary law-abiding citizens may be losing respect for GS?

Yes all these third hand friend of a friend storiea are completely true. No way to verify them nor is the poster actually given a person story so that just goes to show how desperate some people are to badmouth.

But some of the stories here are true..... there's no smoke without fire.

You dont even know a fraction of the population so cant make such a comment. 2007 independent survey showed a 70 to 86% approval rating for the Gardai which disproves your statement.

Well, you can use statistics/polls to prove anything.
    Do you know how many people complained to the Garda Ombudsman so far?

Overpaid you say? How much would it take for you to do the job and deal with dirty syringes and lunatics with knives (and an AK47 on Dame street recently)? As dor nurses, hmmm seems nurses are on better pay starting off considering Gardai arent on 30k a year when they begin. You dont go from Templemore to the air unit so your point concerning units is redundant. If you work every hour god sends why shouldnt you be paid for it? Are you suggesting Gardai should be forced into free overtime? has the country gone a 100 years backwards overnight and wiped out workers rights?

No, of course I think they should be paid for overtime- Don't be ridiculous. I only gave the above example to counterbalance some of the inaccurate figures quoted by other posters.

22 weeks after attestation, a Garda earns 29k, and one year after attestation, a Garda is on 30673. Seeing as attestation takes place during training, it's clear these figures are similar to what a nurse or teacher would earn at the start of their career- the only difference is that they have spent 3 or 4 years studying in college.:p

Process them for what? Thinking of commiting a crime? You think we can arrest people because they might cause trouble? Another damned if you do damned if you dont example. Stopped these known troublemakers from assaulting people and smashing the place up but no. we should have waited until after they ahd done that. Whats the bets you would be complaining if that was the case as well?

Well, you could charge them with drunk + disorderly in a public place for one.
    Are you seriously saying it's okay to throw people in a van, give them a few slaps, and then leave them off in a remote rural area?
    What would happen if one of these persons was injured/attacked?

I'm starting to think you are so delusional it's actually disturbing.

I've never been charged/arrested. I don't have any penalty points either, thanks. Why do you automatically jump to such a conclusion? Do you not realise that perhaps ordinary law-abiding citizens may be losing respect for GS?

I don't think Karlito was pinpointing you as any of the above but merely saying that criminals and the disgruntled have access to the Internet and air their grievances about the AGS while only giving one side of the story.

Again as above only one side of the story. How many people who have posted have actually said they did commit an offence? Not many

There have been approx 1000 complaints but how many are frivilous or vexatious we will can only guess.

22 weeks after attestation, a Garda earns 29k, and one year after attestation, a Garda is on 30673. Seeing as attestation takes place during training, it's clear these figures are similar to what a nurse or teacher would earn at the start of their career- the only difference is that they have spent 3 or 4 years studying in college.:p

Attestation is only achieved after 1 yr studying and gaining experience and it does take one year to properly know the law. As you have said it takes 3-4 yrs to study to be nurse. They are 2 very different professions so I cannot see the comparision.
    Are you seriously saying it's okay to throw people in a van, give them a few slaps, and then leave them off in a remote rural area?

In order for a person to be prosecuted for drunk & disorderly there would have be sufficient evidence of it. So what is being disorderly to you? Shouting, running up and the road, stripping off of the shirt? We could arrest almost everyone who comes out of a niteclub for that. There is no way to determine in all cases where a person is going to commit an offence.
    I don't think anyone would condone bring people out to the country and leaving them there.

TheNog wrote: »
    Of course I admit there is some bad elements in the AGS but it is fairly small. What I can't understand is some people tarnish every guard with the same brush.

If the negative element only accounts for a small percentage of the Guards then why do so many people have negative things to say about them? In my own peer group, there would be a general lack of respect for the gardai. When i say lack of respect i don’t mean giving cheek or being disrespectful, more an attitude of 'sure half of those lads don’t have a clue what their up to' type of thing. I can only assure you that my friends and i are not scumbags, and have never been in any real trouble with the law (the odd penalty point aside),

I know it must be difficult to deal with people like you've mentioned - but that is the nature of the beast with law enforcement, it's what you basically signed up for. These people sound entirely at fault, and if they were dealt with in a courteous manner should have no complaints. But in a lot of cases it's the way in which people are treated that causes problems. Most people would agree that Traffic Corp. especially have a very bad reputation in this regard,

ART6 wrote: »

I can certainly appreciate that Gardai get tired from running all over the place without achieving anything as it is extremely demoralising to go home tired after a hard day without being able to look back and see you really did something of use. Most days the best you can hope for is that the victim will appreciate what help and support you did provide.

The government, lets be honest, they have wasted an awful lot of this nations wealth without being able to point at anything and say "We did that and its an example to the world". The Gardai, prison service, courts, schools and hospitals are all understaffed and falling apart. Not enough social welfare officers, health nurses, etc. The list goes on.

Too be honest, Gardai needs more staff and resources but I personally think that schools and hospitals are a higher priority with the prisons at 3rd place. Get them right and we will have solved half the crime problem in this country without any additional money in An Garda Siochana.
    Some good posts in here (karlitosway) and maybe I’m beginning to come around to the idea that all Guards are that bad (a little), but for the guards reading this would you not admit that their is an element within the force that shouldn’t be in there? And i know that there is a bad element within every organization, but is it relatively speaking more or less than other places?

The two cops I know freely say that there is an in proportionate amount of bad eggs in the guards, compared to other places they've worked,

And just for the record my opinions haven’t been formed by any run ins with guards as i've never had a reason to deal with them,

I think its hard to put an objective number on how many bad eggs exist. If your asking about corruption I dont think its a high number, very small too be honest. Lazy or incompetant, yes theres a proportion but as I said before, there are other options for these people away from the streets.

Im not agreeing with any method. Merely pointing out that no outcome would satisfy all the people. Stopping it from happening is deemed police abuse, waiting for it too happen and arresting them is deemed lazy and the easy way. As for drunk and disorderly, again this shows peoples ignorance (not you, another poster). If people are going to suggest you arrest for a crime, make sure it is actually a real crime and not something you saw on Cops or Streetcrime UK.

Hmmm, I specifically stated I wasnt pointing the finger at anyone here just making a point concerning the reliablility of what is said on the internet and by whom. One could guess you have a guilty conscience?!?;)
    Guilty by accusation in the court of public opinion eh? :rolleyes:
    "If accusation is enough to prove guilt then what of the innocent?" Ceaser.

"Better a thousand guilty men go free than one innocent man convicted" - Blackstone theory.

Yes, about 1000 complaints. whats the percentage of guilty verdicts reached? Eh zero I think you will find. (Again with the accusation proves guilt scenario I see) So hows that for a statistic? now go find some that proves whatever point it is your trying to make seeing as they can be warped to suit an opinion.
    No, of course I think they should be paid for overtime- Don't be ridiculous. I only gave the above example to counterbalance some of the inaccurate figures quoted by other posters.

22 weeks after attestation, a Garda earns 29k, and one year after attestation, a Garda is on 30673. Seeing as attestation takes place during training, it's clear these figures are similar to what a nurse or teacher would earn at the start of their career- the only difference is that they have spent 3 or 4 years studying in college.
    So what your saying is Gardai ARENT on 30000+ starting? Thats my point I think. Also try to familiarise yourself with the training process. Its 62 weeks of training before attestation during which you earn about 6 to 7 thousand per annum which means you dont break 30000 until at least 2 years. And please remember, nurses get paid about double that during their training (both of which result in degrees) as do most apprentices.

As for overtime, if its OK to earn it then why are you complaining about what Gardai earn per annum from it?

A, no such charge. Theres 2 offences under the Criminal justice (Public order) Act 1994. Section 4 and section 6. From the scenario given they were not commiting offences under either. Being drunk is not a crime neither is walkking around or in fact, thinking about commiting a crime. Learn the law is you want to lecture the professionals! :D

B, If they were assaulted? Are you blaming the Gardai because a crime MIGHT BE COOMITED IN THE FUTURE? Again were back to damned if you do damned if you dont. We cant win with you.

I'm starting to think you are so delusional it's actually disturbing
    Hello Mr Kettle, your black! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

Based on the video evidence below, do you think that Robocop should be in a job?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ELrPCKf-Ok4

And, here he is hitting a woman.....
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w5pjFhQr9pI&feature=related

Only looking for a yes/no answer

If the negative element only accounts for a small percentage of the Guards then why do so many people have negative things to say about them? In my own peer group, there would be a general lack of respect for the gardai. When i say lack of respect i don’t mean giving cheek or being disrespectful, more an attitude of 'sure half of those lads don’t have a clue what their up to' type of thing. I can only assure you that my friends and i are not scumbags, and have never been in any real trouble with the law (the odd penalty point aside),

Ok if none of your friends have had much dealings with Gardai, then how do they know that half of us don't know what we are doing? It seems to me that your friends borrow their opinions from other people. In all fairness I think that if people knew half of the stuff we do say through a TV show we were dicussing in the emergency services, then they may think differently. It seems to me that most people these days don't want to be told what they can and can't more anymore without getting some sort of chip on their shoulder.
    I know it must be difficult to deal with people like you've mentioned - but that is the nature of the beast with law enforcement, it's what you basically signed up for. These people sound entirely at fault, and if they were dealt with in a courteous manner should have no complaints. But in a lot of cases it's the way in which people are treated that causes problems. Most people would agree that Traffic Corp. especially have a very bad reputation in this regard,

I joined up 2 yrs ago when I was 30 yrs old so I had the maturity to know what I and my family were getting into. I have family members in the job and I spoke to alot of guards in alot of stations to find out what the job was about. See I was like you before I joined. I worked in a multi-national company and I wanted to know because I like you didn't really know the true job. I had an idea of course like many people but not the true extent of the things I have seen people do themselves and to others. I did sign up knowing that I would be verbally abused, threatened and my family threatened, assaulted, my house damaged by youths and ignored by some people but i don't have to accept it from them.
    I cannot say that Traffic Corps are ignorant but all that I worked with were polite to people they stopped and/or arrested. Again I feel that people don't like to told or lectured on what they have done wrong.

Based on the video evidence below, do you think that Robocop should be in a job?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ELrPCKf-Ok4

Tbh the video is heavily edited to show the protesters dancing and then being assaulted viciously by the Gardai for absolutely no reason whatsoever. The video doesn't show the car (which turned out to be their own car) being burned which the organisers failed to inform the Gardai so following reason the Gardai on the ground believed they were causing a disturbance. I am not gonna say that the Gardai were not at fault but I don't think the members on the ground were entirely at fault. The protesters should share some of the blame.
    Also if you look closely at the video you see people who either ran at Gardai were the ones batoned, others who had their hands out in a peaceful manner were not batoned.

And, here he is hitting a woman.....
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w5pjFhQr9pI&feature=related

Only looking for a yes/no answer

This video is of very poor quality and it doesn't show the woman being hit. It merely shows her crying. The man in black fell on her and it could of been him that was hit.

Have a look at these Robocops as you call them. Should they be still in the job?

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=PcdnzeoBJT4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

Have a look at these Robocops as you call them. Should they be still in the job?

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=PcdnzeoBJT4

Why are you comparing a load of football hooligans starting a riot to a load of hippies being battoned for not moving when told? To me there is no comparison and no similarites between the two incidents at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

And of course you would act just perfectly under pressure. One guard misbehaving is no excuse to smear the whole lot of them. And respectfully, neither I nor you were there to begin with.

I'm in the Traffic Corps myself, and resent some of the points made thus far. Incidentally, nice job TheNog and Karlitosway1978, good to see some quasi-positive mules about

keen wrote: »
    Why are you comparing a load of football hooligans starting a riot to a load of hippies being battoned for not moving when told? To me there is no comparison and no similarites between the two incidents at all.

Because I look at both videos and I see people that I don't know. I don;t know there name or their past but both are causing a disturbance.

The hippies as you call them burned a car on a public street without letting anyone know what they were doing. Even though they owned the car it is still criminal damage and dangerous to those around them.

Ok if none of your friends have had much dealings with Gardai, then how do they know that half of us don't know what we are doing? It seems to me that your friends borrow their opinions from other people. In all fairness I think that if people knew half of the stuff we do say through a TV show we were dicussing in the emergency services, then they may think differently. It seems to me that most people these days don't want to be told what they can and can't more anymore without getting some sort of chip on their shoulder.

In fairness you don’t need to have dealings with the Gardai to be spoken to in a rude manner. Some of the interactions I’ve had with cops have not been positive - asking simple questions like 'is it down this way to the match?' can be met with a hostel response.

A number of stories I’ve heard about the guards come from members themselves. I would be far more inclined to believe some of these than some of the stories you here down the pub from the bitter boy racers that get a few points. Some stories are told with a 'i cant believe the guys i work with do this', and from another lad i know it's more 'aren’t we the great lads that do x,y, and z'.

As well as that, there are guys from my hometown who are so obviously flaunting the law that it is hard to see how they could still be on the streets. There's a 19 lad out of school driving a 40000+ car, and it's widely known in the area that he's involved with drug dealing. If i know this (and i might get home a few times a year) how could the local guards not be able to do something? Granted, isolated case, and i know the details may sound a bit sketchy, but it's something I’ve always wondered about?

I joined up 2 yrs ago when I was 30 yrs old so I had the maturity to know what I and my family were getting into. I have family members in the job and I spoke to a lot of guards in a lot of stations to find out what the job was about. See I was like you before I joined. I worked in a multi-national company and I wanted to know because I like you didn't really know the true job. I had an idea of course like many people but not the true extent of the things I have seen people do themselves and to others. I did sign up knowing that I would be verbally abused, threatened and my family threatened, assaulted, my house damaged by youths and ignored by some people but i don't have to accept it from them.

Okay, that's pretty serious stuff, and there’s no way i would have thought that kind of thing went on, and in those cases i wouldn’t put it down to 'ah well, you knew what you were getting into'. There's no way anyone should be subjected to that.

Because I look at both videos and I see people that I don't know. I don;t know there name or their past but both are causing a disturbance.

The hippies as you call them burned a car on a public street without letting anyone know what they were doing. Even though they owned the car it is still criminal damage and dangerous to those around them.

I'm not sticking up for the hippies I only asked why you were comparing the two as I saw no comparison. I know they burned a car out I know that burning cars is danergous.

In fairness you don’t need to have dealings with the Gardai to be spoken to in a rude manner. Some of the interactions I’ve had with cops have not been positive - asking simple questions like 'is it down this way to the match?' can be met with a hostel response.

A number of stories I’ve heard about the guards come from members themselves. I would be far more inclined to believe some of these than some of the stories you here down the pub from the bitter boy racers that get a few points. Some stories are told with a 'i cant believe the guys i work with do this', and from another lad i know it's more 'aren’t we the great lads that do x,y, and z'.

I do know this goes on by some members and you are right it is not acceptable at all. It is difficult for people to accept and it is probably more unacceptable for the majority of members who do a good job and go out of their way to accommodate people.
    As well as that, there are guys from my hometown who are so obviously flaunting the law that it is hard to see how they could still be on the streets. There's a 19 lad out of school driving a 40000+ car, and it's widely known in the area that he's involved with drug dealing. If i know this (and i might get home a few times a year) how could the local guards not be able to do something? Granted, isolated case, and i know the details may sound a bit sketchy, but it's something I’ve always wondered about?

The problem is that your drug dealer does not want to be caught and it is the same with our town's biggest dealer too. Our dealer cannot go outside of his house without being stopped and searched but unfortunately he is not handling the drugs himself. I have met with 6 mothers in the last year whose sons are being threatened by this fella because they owed him money but the sons are not willing to get us involved. We get no details from the mothers but they ask us what should they do. The only answer we can give them is to find the money somewhere and pay him off and stay away from him.

The biggest protection a dealer has is silence.

keen wrote: »
    I'm not sticking up for the hippies I only asked why you were comparing the two as I saw no comparison. I know they burned a car out I know that burning cars is danergous.

The comparision is that both groups were destroying property and in both incidents seemed extremely hostile to the Gardai. Simple as.

The Lansdowne Rd incident was an intended riot. I think everyone agrees with that.

The May Day riot although a riot was not expected turned into one due to a misinterpretation on the part of the Gardai because of a failing by the event organisers.

The comparision is that both groups were destroying property and in both incidents seemed extremely hostile to the Gardai. Simple as.

The Lansdowne Rd incident was an intended riot. I think everyone agrees with that.

The May Day riot although a riot was not expected turned into one due to a misinterpretation on the part of the Gardai because of a failing by the event organisers.

Haven't seen any of the hippies acting extremely hostile, the English riots now that's a different story.

What property was destroyed other then the car they owned?

Smashing and burning of the car was the catalist. The Gardai thought that a riot was starting and tried getting a handle on it but then some of the protesters started running at the Gardai who then thought they were being attacked.

Other than that there was no other property damaged as far as I know.