Dare I bare. (Naked art thingy) [merged]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭carolmon

I'm surprised by how close the press coverage got to the shoot.

I thought the idea behind Spencer Tunick's installations is that bodies en masse create art and symbolise the relationships between the individual and humanity/ society on a larger scale?

The email says that press coverage is at a safe distance to the shoot but
    I've seen photos and emails where people are easily identifiable.

I believe some of the late night radio phone ins were even ridiculing individual participants appearance which really goes against the whole concept, it's not a modeling competition.

I am really interested in taking part in the Dublin shoot but am put off at the thought of emails of my big arse circulating round the internet.

Has the press coverage put anybody off the idea??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

copeyhagen wrote: »
    i would be araid of seeing a few fine chicks there and endin up a bit too excited!!

afraid?? nah, if it happens it happens and i guess we'll deal with it then(boys, stand back. girls, tally ho). it'll probably be freezing out though, so fine birds or no, the little fella will probably be hibernating.
    and there's always the 17 times tables....
    carolmon wrote: »
    I'm surprised by how close the press coverage got to the shoot.

I believe some of the late night radio phone ins were even ridiculing individual participants appearance which really goes against the whole concept, it's not a modeling competition.

I am really interested in taking part in the Dublin shoot but am put off at the thought of emails of my big arse circulating round the internet.

fuuck the begrudgers i say. you'll regret it if you dont do it, and it'll be old news in a couple of weeks anyway

longshanks wrote: »

fuuck the begrudgers i say. you'll regret it if you dont do it, and it'll be old news in a couple of weeks anyway

yeah
    will have to work up the courage, there's so many reasons I want to do this.

I imagine it would be a once in a life time opportunity, and it's summer solstice,

Also my dad's family are all from south inner city docklands area from way back so that appeals to me too, being naked as the day I was born in this part of Dublin.........hhmmmmmmmmm decisions!

i'm not at all worried about the people there cos I reckon they're all like minded anyway, it's just the thought of people who didn't take part having a snigger that worries me................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Definitely do it.. You will be on a high afterwards.. Literally :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

For Chrisakes... talk about being manipulated.... gimme a frikken break here!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

copeyhagen wrote: »
    i would be araid of seeing a few fine chicks there and endin up a bit too excited!!
    Dont worry the sight of overweight balding men and saggy butts will more than compensate.
    That combined with the wind chill from the early morning dockland gales around your nethers, you'll be praying for the crack of dawn.
    Oops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Brigida

"...some of the late night radio phone ins were even ridiculing individual participants appearance which really goes against the whole concept, it's not a modeling competition.

Has the press coverage put anybody off the idea??"

It might be intended to weed out the prudish ones or those who are not happy with their bodies. Xpect lots of gorgeous exhibitionists to turn up;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Inevitably

Go for it! its on from 3am so no one will be able to see much anyways!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

HouseHippo wrote: »
    Internationally acclaimed contemporary artist Spencer Tunick wants naked volunteers to become part of his first back to back city art project in Dublin .
    Dublin Docklands on Saturday, June 21.

Should i suck it up and give it a go.

Go for it man, you'll regret not doing it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Inevitably

Yeah I think if you're not just thinking OH NO WAY then you probably would like to do it and enjoy the experience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Brigida

Yeah do it. just think of the craic and feck the begrudgers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭PatB71

Yeah do it ,its a once in a lifetime thing.I`m doing it Saturday and I`m no model I can assure you!From the reports of the Cork one it sounds like it was great craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

carolmon wrote: »

Its put a lot of doubts in my mind.

While I'm not in the least bit worried for myself, I just it would be embarressing for my family (I've two young children too) for my naked /body/photo to be published in a rag like 'The Daily Star'.

well i didn't do it in the end, was at the tom baxter gig then went for a few drinks and sorry to say i hadn't the staying power to hang around til 3am.

Did any of you go along?
    what did you think of the experience?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭hallelujah

Alan Ford wrote: »
    seagulls dont spin webs

Common misconception.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 don65

For anyone who was there this morning. Apparently there is another on tonight???? Apparently yellow slips were handed out. Does anyone know if you can just turn up or if you need the yellow slip???

i have no idea about slips of paper for a shoot tonight, if they were giving them out they missed me. it was the coldest i've ever been, too much waiting around considering the weather (he reckoned he'd have the shots taken care of in 20 mins, it was about 50 mins or an hour a couple of girls were telling me). a good laugh though, even with the cold, 2500 people shivering, turning blue and praying for it to be over. but it was mad, you'd find yourself chatting away to complete strangers, naked, kind of looking each other up and down, but not really, and not at all self concious. i ****ed off before the shot in the mud. about half left early due the rain and cold. i couldn't feel my feet for about an hour after it. the people on the passing ferries and freight ships mustn't have had a clue what was going on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

It was gas! Never experience anything like that again! The second one was torture..

The yellow slip is for women, and couples only, meet at grand canal square, Dublin Docklands, in front of FRESH shop, at 3.30am sunday morning.

honestly, all that was going true my mind after the first one was 'how am i going to drive home if i cant feel my feet?' i wanted to be out of dublin before traffic got real heavy, so chances of me standing around for another hour in water up to my knees was a non-starter. did i mention the cold?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 don65

Thanks for that Doonothing! I will be going with my wife.

Not sure if I am thinking of the correct part of the IFSC. Is the FRESH shop near Ely Hq or the Eno wine bar??? (Near Kudos?) Is that the general region or am I way off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

longshanks wrote: »
    i have no idea about slips of paper for a shoot tonight, if they were giving them out they missed me. it was the coldest i've ever been, too much waiting around considering the weather (he reckoned he'd have the shots taken care of in 20 mins, it was about 50 mins or an hour a couple of girls were telling me). a good laugh though, even with the cold, 2500 people shivering, turning blue and praying for it to be over. but it was mad, you'd find yourself chatting away to complete strangers, naked, kind of looking each other up and down, but not really, and not at all self concious. i ****ed off before the shot in the mud. about half left early due the rain and cold. i couldn't feel my feet for about an hour after it. the people on the passing ferries and freight ships mustn't have had a clue what was going on
    Jaysus, sounds like there'd be an issue with shrinkage out there :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Mairt wrote: »
    Its put a lot of doubts in my mind.

While I'm not in the least bit worried for myself, I just it would be embarressing for my family (I've two young children too) for my naked /body/photo to be published in a rag like 'The Daily Star'.
    Absolutely, I saw The Mirror or Star with pictures from the Cork shoots on the front page the other day, everyones arses in full view etc. There's no way in hell I'd go if such rags were allowed turn up to shoot at it. In fact, it's a fcking farce that they weren't removed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I heard all was going great, until the fish's came out to play :D

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=58207&d=1214052953

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Ninja_scrotum

jaysus yeah i'd say shrinkage was unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Beerlao

oh the shrinkage was wild alright... acorns everywhere! my balls kept going inside for shelter and i had to keep popping them out!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Ninja_scrotum

do boobs shrink in the cold?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Lol Mairt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

Show up on viagra and start riding everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

mad pics in sunday world, pics of cocks and vaginas, the cocks look very small, i presume its shrinkage, sounds a bit seedy that he was handing out "special invites" to couples and single women!
    footage of the cork one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OyW_gCoy8qY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

just had another lookn at them pics, eeeurrgh!