Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dare I bare. (Naked art thingy) [merged]

• 17-06-2008 11:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭

Internationally acclaimed contemporary artist Spencer Tunick wants naked volunteers to become part of his first back to back city art project in Dublin .
    Dublin Docklands on Saturday, June 21.

Should i suck it up and give it a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭forestfruits

If you have to ask............You want to!!!:D

Go for it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

The one in Cork was lastnight, Ray D'Arcy took part in it, sounds like it was good fun. Sure go for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭earlyevening

I'll be the dirty perv in my friend's apartment looking down on you all. Uh, admiring your artistic expression etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭HouseHippo

If i don't go i'll too be the dirty perve :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

If you have to ask............You want to!!!:D

Go for it!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 sickmyduck

yehh you should i'd be a laugh
    and sure everone else will be nakedy too
    so any insecurities will fade if not vanish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

Id love to it myself for the laugh, but dont know if id have the nerve to!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I'm going, but then I have a huge c*ck and so have nothing to fear but fear itself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Girls : Watch out for the seagulls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,583 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

If the weathers like it was today don't expect a good turn out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

Rb wrote: »
    Girls : Watch out for the seagulls.

Eh?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

Jemmy wrote: »
    Eh?!
    bird drops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Flashraziel

Is the Seagull anything like the Spider-man?

seagulls dont spin webs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭Kovik

I love how the artist himself is the most disgustingly fat man my tender eyes have e'er been lain upon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭MarinoMark

I will be there 3am next sat morning on the pigeon house wall, they expect a few thousand to strip for art http://www.spencertunickireland.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,021 ✭✭✭LadyE

I'd love to do this - just to say Id done it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Am I the only one who realises that this guy is a pervert who somehow managed to get thousands of people to pose naked for him, thinking they are doing an "art piece". He's going to get those pics developed and then **** til it bleeds, the filthy git.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

humanji wrote: »
    Am I the only one who realises that this guy is a pervert who somehow managed to get thousands of people to pose naked for him, thinking they are doing an "art piece". He's going to get those pics developed and then **** til it bleeds, the filthy git.

I wouldn't be able to trust that guy tbh!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

humanji wrote: »

Oh its art all right, but thats not that difficult these days it seems any old crap is art
    http://www.crapart.org/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

Rob_l wrote: »
    Oh its art all right, but thats not that difficult these days it seems any old crap is art
    http://www.crapart.org/

lol, some dodgy ones there alright...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

uhuh..

This nude "art" is just a great way for that fella to get off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Hook up some other dubs in this thread
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055311947

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I know people are getting exited but the amount of threads on this...
    Yous never saw a naked person before?

quote=biko;56285488
    Yous never saw a naked person before?
    pffffffft come on! ive seen me wife naked and :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭beautiation

This has actually been the most fantastic motivation to lose weight I've ever had in my life, am almost looking forward to it now (If the penis pump gets here by then).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Kovik wrote: »
    I love how the artist himself is the most disgustingly fat man my tender eyes have e'er been lain upon.

Not that I've seen the man but what the hell has that got to do with anything? I'm pretty sure his intention isn't to make people eat healthily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

i'll probably be heading up to this (from waterford) meself. one of those things you can talk about for a while. and if a big fat photographer man wants to have a pull, who am i to judge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

i would be araid of seeing a few fine chicks there and endin up a bit too excited!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭carolmon

I'm surprised by how close the press coverage got to the shoot.

I thought the idea behind Spencer Tunick's installations is that bodies en masse create art and symbolise the relationships between the individual and humanity/ society on a larger scale?

The email says that press coverage is at a safe distance to the shoot but
    I've seen photos and emails where people are easily identifiable.

I believe some of the late night radio phone ins were even ridiculing individual participants appearance which really goes against the whole concept, it's not a modeling competition.

I am really interested in taking part in the Dublin shoot but am put off at the thought of emails of my big arse circulating round the internet.

Has the press coverage put anybody off the idea??

copeyhagen wrote: »
    i would be araid of seeing a few fine chicks there and endin up a bit too excited!!

afraid?? nah, if it happens it happens and i guess we'll deal with it then(boys, stand back. girls, tally ho). it'll probably be freezing out though, so fine birds or no, the little fella will probably be hibernating.
    and there's always the 17 times tables....
    carolmon wrote: »
    I'm surprised by how close the press coverage got to the shoot.

I believe some of the late night radio phone ins were even ridiculing individual participants appearance which really goes against the whole concept, it's not a modeling competition.

I am really interested in taking part in the Dublin shoot but am put off at the thought of emails of my big arse circulating round the internet.

fuuck the begrudgers i say. you'll regret it if you dont do it, and it'll be old news in a couple of weeks anyway

longshanks wrote: »

fuuck the begrudgers i say. you'll regret it if you dont do it, and it'll be old news in a couple of weeks anyway

yeah
    will have to work up the courage, there's so many reasons I want to do this.

I imagine it would be a once in a life time opportunity, and it's summer solstice,

Also my dad's family are all from south inner city docklands area from way back so that appeals to me too, being naked as the day I was born in this part of Dublin.........hhmmmmmmmmm decisions!

i'm not at all worried about the people there cos I reckon they're all like minded anyway, it's just the thought of people who didn't take part having a snigger that worries me................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Definitely do it.. You will be on a high afterwards.. Literally :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

For Chrisakes... talk about being manipulated.... gimme a frikken break here!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

copeyhagen wrote: »
    Dont worry the sight of overweight balding men and saggy butts will more than compensate.
    That combined with the wind chill from the early morning dockland gales around your nethers, you'll be praying for the crack of dawn.
    Oops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Brigida

"...some of the late night radio phone ins were even ridiculing individual participants appearance which really goes against the whole concept, it's not a modeling competition.

Has the press coverage put anybody off the idea??"

It might be intended to weed out the prudish ones or those who are not happy with their bodies. Xpect lots of gorgeous exhibitionists to turn up;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Inevitably

Go for it! its on from 3am so no one will be able to see much anyways!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

HouseHippo wrote: »
    Internationally acclaimed contemporary artist Spencer Tunick wants naked volunteers to become part of his first back to back city art project in Dublin .
    Dublin Docklands on Saturday, June 21.

Should i suck it up and give it a go.

Go for it man, you'll regret not doing it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Inevitably

Yeah I think if you're not just thinking OH NO WAY then you probably would like to do it and enjoy the experience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Brigida

Yeah do it. just think of the craic and feck the begrudgers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭PatB71

Yeah do it ,its a once in a lifetime thing.I`m doing it Saturday and I`m no model I can assure you!From the reports of the Cork one it sounds like it was great craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

carolmon wrote: »

Its put a lot of doubts in my mind.

While I'm not in the least bit worried for myself, I just it would be embarressing for my family (I've two young children too) for my naked /body/photo to be published in a rag like 'The Daily Star'.

well i didn't do it in the end, was at the tom baxter gig then went for a few drinks and sorry to say i hadn't the staying power to hang around til 3am.

Did any of you go along?
    what did you think of the experience?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭hallelujah

Alan Ford wrote: »
    seagulls dont spin webs

Common misconception.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 don65

For anyone who was there this morning. Apparently there is another on tonight???? Apparently yellow slips were handed out. Does anyone know if you can just turn up or if you need the yellow slip???

i have no idea about slips of paper for a shoot tonight, if they were giving them out they missed me. it was the coldest i've ever been, too much waiting around considering the weather (he reckoned he'd have the shots taken care of in 20 mins, it was about 50 mins or an hour a couple of girls were telling me). a good laugh though, even with the cold, 2500 people shivering, turning blue and praying for it to be over. but it was mad, you'd find yourself chatting away to complete strangers, naked, kind of looking each other up and down, but not really, and not at all self concious. i ****ed off before the shot in the mud. about half left early due the rain and cold. i couldn't feel my feet for about an hour after it. the people on the passing ferries and freight ships mustn't have had a clue what was going on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

It was gas! Never experience anything like that again! The second one was torture..

The yellow slip is for women, and couples only, meet at grand canal square, Dublin Docklands, in front of FRESH shop, at 3.30am sunday morning.

honestly, all that was going true my mind after the first one was 'how am i going to drive home if i cant feel my feet?' i wanted to be out of dublin before traffic got real heavy, so chances of me standing around for another hour in water up to my knees was a non-starter. did i mention the cold?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 don65

Thanks for that Doonothing! I will be going with my wife.

Not sure if I am thinking of the correct part of the IFSC. Is the FRESH shop near Ely Hq or the Eno wine bar??? (Near Kudos?) Is that the general region or am I way off?