Best City in ireland to go on the lash!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭celticwe

Killarney i tells ya:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

I know this is a bit left field here but Wexford town has a great nightlife, weekends only though! The Stores on Sunday night of BankHoliday weekend=craicfest ! :)

(Really need to haul my arse to Galway though by the sounds of things..)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭simonw

i've always had good nights out in galway

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

DesF wrote: »
    Galway's the best.

Is The Foundry in Carlow not one of the biggest "niteclubs".

It was when it opened AFAIK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Annie C

It has to be Galway!!! No question about it. Galway Races coming up end of July/beg of August, it is a week to remember if you can possibly manage that, its mental craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭ninty9er

QueenB wrote: »
    trinnity rooms in limerick is very good aswell.. but i wouldnt go there for *just* that like..

Trooms is a hole compared to Angel Lane which opened last week. Maybe that's just boredom speaking, but I could never gather why it won best nightclub in Limerick, never mind Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭Hennybug

Galway without a doubt - great all year round and during the summer some great festivals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Agreed Galways great but must echo many in saying mighty criac to be had in Wexford town might be biased but two cracking top notch clubs in the stores and the factory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭eamoss

Xavi6 wrote: »
    I think it used to be Oasis or something in Monaghan but that got closed down a few years back.
    I hear its re-opening :eek:

Gonna be Scum Central
    Claremorris (joke! never ever go there)

I lol'd mainly because I know the town and well there isnt much there that and the fact most of the people I have met who are from there are raw as fúck

Anyone ever been to Laceys in North Louth?

Its the best nightclub I have ever been in :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Jaysus people Galway isn't that amazing! Are ye all being paid by the Galway Tourist Board or what?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

Last time I went on the lash I hit a midget an elderly lady and a few skangers for good measure ... but then they took my whip away.

/edit: uh, Dublin, all down to the company tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Last time I went on the lash I hit a midget an elderly lady and a few skangers for good measure ... but then they took my whip away.

/edit: uh, Dublin, all down to the company tho.
    why would you hit an awl one and a midget?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

Plug wrote: »
    why would you hit an awl one and a midget?
    Ah sure I'd be out of it when I am on the lash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

Belfast is great fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

DesF wrote: »

Is The Foundry in Carlow not one of the biggest "niteclubs".

I think you have to include the pubs that are attached to the night club itself
    dinn ri, brookes, the tower etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I know this is a bit left field here but Wexford town has a great nightlife, weekends only though! The Stores on Sunday night of BankHoliday weekend=craicfest ! :)

(Really need to haul my arse to Galway though by the sounds of things..)

Wexford(especially stores) is easily the worst experience i've ever had

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,541 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Clare Bear wrote: »
    Jaysus people Galway isn't that amazing! Are ye all being paid by the Galway Tourist Board or what?!

galway is the 14th best place to visit in Europe and 42nd overall on planet earth according to tripadvisor, maybe the 15 million that write reviews for that website are paid by the Galway tourist board too :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

rossie1977 wrote: »
    galway is the 14th best place to visit in Europe and 42nd overall on planet earth according to tripadvisor, maybe the 15 million that write reviews for that website are paid by the Galway tourist board too :p

Fair enough, just have had better weekends in Waterford, Limerick. Think Galway is hyped up too much but each to their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 ALL RIGHT

Belfast is the best city, has the kind of vibe Dublin had in 1996 / 1997 - Clubs are great, Bars are good too and the currency is going down faster than a whores knickers....

Here is a list of Bars but just go gallivanting...http://secretireland.blogspot.com/2008/08/antrim-pub-grub-bars-central-nightlife.html

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

Galway is a poky little dump. Not a single decent club in the whole town.

Dublin is definitely the best place in Ireland to go out. It's the only place I know of where you can actually avoid chart music and the type of people who wear a shirt, slacks and shiny shoes going to a club.

Plus there's variety... y'know... don't have to go to the same nightclub every week because there's no real alternative...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,783 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

I think you have to include the pubs that are attached to the night club itself
    dinn ri, brookes, the tower etc

The whole Dinn Rí complex was probably the largest when it opened, but no more. None of it's venues are particularily huge but The foundry does claim to have the largest nightclub video wall in the world.

Had many a good night out in Kilkenny, Waterford, Galway, Roscommon and Tralee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

A lot of people go on about Galway being a great place going out on the lash (many of those people are Galway people themselfs though!) but any time I have ever gone out there I have only had an average at best night.

So for me I'm going to say Derry for the win, great pubs, great vibe and easy to get around!

I love Belfast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Bob N Along

I'd say Galway. Its a great place to go on a huge pub crawl which could easily last a lot longer than a weekend. I've met a few people who've gone there for a weekend and liked the place so much that they stayed there for years......
    Also I like Dublin and some towns can be pretty good at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭barnacle

Doesn't matter where you are. It's who you are with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Blue 84

barnacle wrote: »
    Doesn't matter where you are. It's who you are with.

Exactly.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

HALO in galway is a gem of a nightclub, also the Living/Front room. Stay away from the GPO though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

rossie1977 wrote: »
    Was in waterford there a few weeks back and John Street is lined with pubs, clubs and chippers, everything in one area, how handy :D

You should have been there last night:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055357360

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 now i'm talkin'

JIZZLORD wrote: »
    All the galway posters will agree, you have to go to twirleys

its changed hands again i think.. dunno wat they were thinkin wit twirleys lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,192 ✭✭✭1huge1

Never had a bad night in either Limerick or Cork city, they both have a brillaint nightlife.

I'm not so into Galway, well not as much as everyone else in this thread.