Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best City in ireland to go on the lash!

• 20-05-2008 2:57am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭

Just wondering,

Where is the best place in Ireland to go for a weekend piss-up? I'm sick of Dublin. I heard people talk about Kilkenny and Galway but I have never been to either. I'm talking about somewhere with nice pubs, a few decent clubs and some nice women!!

Any suggestions?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I've had good nights in Clare, Donegal, Offaly, Wexford, Waterford and Louth. I think every county has it's own appeal, though I've heard Galway is meant to be the dog's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

op, you heard right about Galway and Kilkenny, both are awesome for a weekend of boozing and fun.

Kilkenny is great but it can be a bit of a pain in the ass because it tends to have a hell of a lot of stag and hen parties, but the Cats Laughs is coming up in a couple of weeks and thats always a great weekend, even if you don't catch any shows the atmosphere in the city for the weekend is awesome.

Galway is a great town for a weekend away aswell but with the college finishing up some time around now for the summer I'd say the city will be a lot more quiet than usual. It's still a great place for a weekend on the tear though.

I find small towns are usually good for a good night out cos the locals are up for a good laugh and you have a good chance of a lock-in, what more could you want?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

On a side note, what is the biggest nightclub in Ireland? I think it used to be Oasis or something in Monaghan but that got closed down a few years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭Ballerina

Xavi6 wrote: »
    On a side note, what is the biggest nightclub in Ireland? I think it used to be Oasis or something in Monaghan but that got closed down a few years back.

i think the biggest one now is in leitrim(of all places :p) called Passion.I could easily be wrong though.

Op i think its a difficult one to answer because it always depends on your company in my opinion!my best nights ever have been in leitrim with locals so goes to show!ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

does it have to be a city?

i always end up having mental craic in carrick on shannon in leitrim and ennis in clare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Xavi6 wrote: »

passion in carrick on shannon ain't the biggest, been there numerous times, Rockfords in Roscommon was (before part of it burned) just a big as Passion

biggest i have been to is Time in Naas, it has 5 levels, huge place.

as for where to go galway is an excellent town, best pubs in ireland, westport is another great choice. Was in waterford there a few weeks back and John Street is lined with pubs, clubs and chippers, everything in one area, how handy :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Sligo's got a few good old gin joints too, and it doesn't get stupid busy like Gal and Kilk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Deffo Galway for a great night out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Time I think is the biggest place in Ireland. Been there twice, was ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I've had some great times in Belfast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Galway's the best.

Is The Foundry in Carlow not one of the biggest "niteclubs".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Limerick has some good spots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

All the galway posters will agree, you have to go to twirleys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

I like Galway but I think it's a bit overratted and a lot of the times the pubs are just too jammers. Funnily enough I always have a good night when I go to Dublin. But I think Derry is a good city to go out in too, some good pubs there. Also I was in Westport twice, once average, once great night but I would go there again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Solarball10

Galway without a doubt :)

Never heard of Twirley's though?? Is it new - I haven't been out there since Christmas-have to go back soon :(

Pub: Living Room
    Club: Karma (drinks are quite expensive but I've never had a bad night there :D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

ozzyoh wrote: »
    Never heard of Twirley's though?? Is it new - I haven't been out there since Christmas-have to go back soon :(

Yeah it's new they redone Club Pi/Church Lane again. Now it's THE spot.

As regards Kilkenny, went there for a weekend and had a great time. Didn't think it was overrun with hen/stags. Galway is just as bad for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Solarball10

kevmy wrote: »

Really? Lol....are you taking the pee? (Just asking this cos of what PI and CL were like........:D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

JIZZLORD wrote: »

kevmy wrote: »

Ah lads, are we still pulling that one on the tourists? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭kittensoft1984

Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

DesF wrote: »
    Galway's the best.

Is The Foundry in Carlow not one of the biggest "niteclubs".

Not by a long shot. very overrated. Time is the biggest afaik,

To be honest OP, i think it was said earlier, depends on your company really. Had an INCREDIBLE night out on saturday in Wicklow town and a relatively crap one out in dublin last night. And i'd blame the company for both

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭chuci

galway ftw never been disappointed when iv gone out there and neither has anyone i know who has gone up there on the lash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

JIZZLORD wrote: »

Yeah, Twirleys is the shizz. Lets hope the out-of-towners don't hear about it so we can keep it to ourselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Zzippy wrote: »
    Ah lads, are we still pulling that one on the tourists? :D

As long as the tourists keep coming we'll keep recommending it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Agree with Galway, have had a few very memorable week ends there..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin DublinDublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin Dublin DublinDublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭halfinch

Kilkenny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

Another one for Galway here!

Galweh most definitely.No better festival than Galway race week.Fact!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

The countryside doesn't sound that boring now? I've heard Time is the best club in Ireland, but its a bit out of the way for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭2-ShortDa5foot5

Galllllllllllllllllllllllwayyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!

Tbh though, I stumbled into the GPO mistakenly one night and it was like Beirut! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

For me it's Galway.

Serious amount of craic can be had down there, plus you don't pay Dublin prices nor have the amount of scum you do up here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭brick tamland

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    The countryside doesn't sound that boring now? I've heard Time is the best club in Ireland, but its a bit out of the way for me.

really dont agree with that

dont like the place at all. wouldnt go if you paid me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

really dont agree with that

dont like the place at all. wouldnt go if you paid me

I've just heard people saying that its 'The Best', What would you say personally is the best club in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭johnny_adidas

have spent too much time in taxis travelling from one place to the next in dublin so kilkenny gets my vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

galway galway galway.never had a bad night and ive a 100% scoring record there-very important! plus everyone down there is sound.

ive been to time a few times.for a person whos never been its does have the wow factor with its sheer size and the acrobat shows and all that, but after a few times you'll see its nothin special-you lose your mates all the time, cant find the jacks and queue forever to get your coat back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

{Me + YMates + 14YBeer + (Y/4) GIN}*anywhere= Good Time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I love the pubs in Galway, but the clubs there are rubbish. (Except Twirleys obviously.)

My favourite place in the whole of Ireland to go out is the Brog in Cork.

Galway fo sho'! And Twirleys. On Shop Street. Man, the time's I've had in there. Best nights EVER.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Awesomo-4000

Had good nights out in Limerick, Cork and Belfast but Galway is still the best by far!! Summer time in the spanish arch cant be beaten!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

janeybabe wrote: »

My favourite place in the whole of Ireland to go out is the Brog in Cork.

Pity the pints are sh*te and some of the staff are c*cks, but at the end of the night I generally find myself there.

Passion was (it's since closed, thank christ) without a shadow of a doubt one of the biggest sh*tholes I have ever been to in my life, had the misfortune of being brought there one bank holiday weekend. The place was way too big, in the middle of nowhere, even had the giant gold statues holding up globes(like the ones in Bevis and Butthead do America) and was full to the brim with every type of scum you could imagine.

Best place to go in Ireland is to get some friends, a few slabs, food and rent a cottage in the middle of nowhere, fun times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭elmolesto

Deffo Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,123 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

race week is savage in galway love it ,here for the last 5 years it gets very samey after awhile ! I ll throw in Belmullet since no one else has!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

belmullet :D
    why....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,123 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

More like why not!
    Because the beer is colder the women are hotter and every job pays more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

chuci wrote: »
    galway ftw never been disappointed when iv gone out there and neither has anyone i know who has gone up there on the lash.

It is bafflingly popular, though I have two mates who wouldnt go back either. The weather is nearly always crap, and the journey to it takes you through some of the most derelict towns and desolate countryside in Ireland. I just find something very artificial and cheesy about the way they try to portray themselves as some sort of beacon of culture and bohemianism and whatnot. And the cost?!!? Paying 50 euro for a train out when for roundabouts the same price you can go to Liverpool, Newcastle or Glasgow yet make a saving in these cities on drink, accomadation, proper nightclubs and easier women.

• Site Banned Posts: 28 QueenB

galway for sure, gpo and cuba are great spots specially around race week

trinnity rooms in limerick is very good aswell.. but i wouldnt go there for *just* that like..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 uskidsgo

Went to Galway few days after my 18th a few months back - very, very messy nights. Got thrown out of Roisin Dubhs for generel inebriation, by some divine miracle got into CP/CPs? for free and in my ridiculously drunken state was highly impressed by the big flashing wall thingy they have there. Can't remember much about Galway at night but it was good for as much as I can remember. It's a great city to wander about hungover though, nice cafés, a few good shops and Ayre Square to sit down and relax when you feel like your legs can't take much more standing:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

yeah weather is crap all over ireland full-stop

don't go to west donegal or achill so if you think westmeath and kildare are desolate :D

galway has ever right to portray itself as a beacon of culture and bohemianism, it doesn't have english landmarks at every turn :) It has an identity all of its own, thats why world travellers rank it so highly, 14th best place to visit in Europe and 42nd overall on planet earth on tripadvisor (a website with over 15 million traveller reviews); glasgow, liverpool or newcastle didn't make the list funnily enough http://cdn.tripadvisor.com/pdfs/tca/TCDestinationsAwards2008-v2.pdf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Dublin is easily the best place in Ireland to go on the lash. Nowhere else has the range you can get in Dublin.

In Galway, the pubs are great but the clubs are rubbish.

In Cork, better clubs than Galway, better live music, worse pubs than Galway.

Limerick, has some decent pubs but not as many Galway or Cork, better nightclubs than Galway, worse clubs than Cork.

Everywhere else, depends who you are with.