Leonard Cohen, Iggy Pop Dublin June 08

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,867 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Here's a map of where it is http://www.audiograff.com/events/tm/7447 so you could even park in the Phoenix Park and walk to it, less than 10 minute walk I reckon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Kenjd

I booked my tickets on Ticketmaster but haven't received them yet. It says on the site not to contact them until 24 hours before the gig if I don't receive them. Is this usual? Naturally I'm apprehensive about this. I'm the type of person that wants them in my hand months before! What with kids + work I have to organize these things before hand. Heads'll roll I tell ye!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aurora Borealis

Don't know who I'm more excited bout seeing... Leonard Cohen or Damien Rice. I listen to Leonard every day on my way home from work and Damien Rice as my cruise to snooze.
    I will be in my element!!

Conor, you should give www.toutless.com a try with that request :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭rebeldiamond

That Leonard Cohen gig should be awesome hey? I wonder is this his first time in Ireland? Also anyone know how many the Kilmainham venue holds??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Got an email from Ticketmaster saying that Leonard Cohen's stagetime is 20.00 on Friday and that music will continue until 23.00

Really? I can't see Leonard Cohen playing for 3 hours, 3 nights in a row?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭vincenzo1975

Got an email from Ticketmaster saying that Leonard Cohen's stagetime is 20.00 on Friday and that music will continue until 23.00

No but Damian Rice will be on, and probably anjani for a while, with breaks in between it could stretch out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭vincenzo1975

recent setlist from his gigs....from the www,leonardcohen.com website forum

Saguenay (May 30, 31),
    1. Dance Me to the End of Love
    2. The Future
    3. Ain't No Cure for Love
    4. Bird on a Wire
    5. Everybody Knows
    6. In My Secret Life
    7. Who By Fire
    8. Anthem

intermission

9. Tower of Song
    10. Suzanne
    11. The Gypsy Wife
    12. Hey, That's No Way To Say Goodbye (for the first time!)
    13. Boogie Street
    14. Hallelujah
    15. Democracy
    16. I'm Your Man
    17. Take This Waltz

encore 1

18. Heart with No Companion
    19. So Long Marianne
    20. First We Take Manhatten

encore 2

21. That Don't Make It Junk
    22. If It Be Your Will
    23. Closing Time

encore 3
    24. I Tried to Leave You
    KITCHENER, JUNE 2nd
    First Set

Dance Me To The End Of Love
    The Future
    Ain't No Cure For Love
    Bird On The Wire
    Everybody Knows
    In My Secret Life
    Who By Fire
    Anthem

Second Set

Tower Of Song
    Suzanne
    Gypsy Wife
    Boogie Street
    Hallelujah
    Democracy
    I'm Your Man
    A Thousand Kisses Deep (recitation)
    Take This Waltz

First Encore

Heart With No Companion
    Waiting For The Miracle
    First We Take Manhattan

Second Encore

That Don't Make It Junk
    If It Be Your Will (recitation followed by the "Divine" Webb Sisters) Closing Time

Final Encore

I Tried to Leave You

No but Damian Rice will be on, and probably anjani for a while, with breaks in between it could stretch out.

Just going by the Ticketmaster email I got it says Damien Rice is on at 19.15 and Leonard Cohen is on at 20.00

There's a sound proof area I can go and drink beer while Rice is whining on, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Potcher

your giving out about whining and your heading to see cohen????

Potcher wrote: »
    your giving out about whining and your heading to see cohen????

Leonard Cohen does not whine. How dare you Sir?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Potcher

:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭goldenbrown

he ran back 4 times for encores, he found his voice during the night, first tour in 15 yrs, only started earlier this month, weather came through, (cool but bright) very attractive venue, backing singers came through, crowd sang the hallelujah chorus, (went well) which big success, well done pod productions, :cool: (if you enjoyed it enjoy it again on youtube.com search leonard cohen especially 1993 video of take this waltz with Jennifer Wearnes at San Sebastian) (in a garden built for injured soldiers who stopped french (Napoleonic) tyranny in europe on a day we licked our wounds after stopping more tyranny from the centre of europe!!) hey is this a blog?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

Good, Im meant to be going up tonight. So, the venue was grand? What time did it start/finish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭NextSteps

If you ask me, tonight will be fine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭klingklang

Shamrok wrote: »
    Good, Im meant to be going up tonight. So, the venue was grand? What time did it start/finish?
    From what I heard from my back garden - he came on around 8.15 and finished 10.45ish - there seemed to be a short interval too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

Thanks. It's just I have a fair bit of a drive to Dublin and Im trying to figure out what time Il get back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭hargo

Damien Rice started 7.15pm for 30mins. Leonard Cohen started 8pm till 11pm with a break of 15 mins. Excellent gig, band were super and site setup and facilities brilliant. In for a treat if going tonight or tomorrow. Enjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Kenjd

UB wrote: »
    , tonight will be fine :)
    ...for a while ;)

Great gig and fantastic venue. I went for Mojitos as oppose to heineken cos the line was shorter. I was sitting 3 rows from the front. It was like an Evening with Cohen. The man is a living legend.
    Favourite song? Dont have 1...how can i choose? they are/were all great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭Mantel

He takes a break for about 20 minutes after the first hour and maybe a second break so about 2 hours and a half altogether. He actually plays longer if you turn up earlier with an hour long sound check. He started his sound check at 5.30 today... the time the gates where ment to open.

• Subscribers Posts: 8,325 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Great to hear positive reports, I'm going tomorrow night (Sunday) and can't wait. Although I will need cotton wool or something for Damien Rice too or if there is a sound proof room constructed that would be excellent!

Just back from tonights show. Identical to last nights. Would have been nice to hear some other tunes but you can't expect them to change their act because the promoters want to squeeze more dates in. Both nights were brilliant and I'm so happy I got a chance to see him :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

Tonight's gig was fantastic - I was blown away by how good the whole experience was.

In fact I'm very tempted to turn up tomorrow with a view to buying some tickets at the venue - really keen on seeing the whole thing again.

Will have to see if I can afford to, though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,329 ✭✭✭bullpost

Agree - It was one of the best gigs I've ever been too. Sound was brilliant, like hearing it in a small club. Musicians were brilliant and the man himself was sublime. He connected with the audience in a way thats very rare for a gig of that size.
    flogen wrote: »
    Tonight's gig was fantastic - I was blown away by how good the whole experience was.

In fact I'm very tempted to turn up tomorrow with a view to buying some tickets at the venue - really keen on seeing the whole thing again.

Will have to see if I can afford to, though!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

Decided to go along after all, got two good tickets at face value (God bless geniune fans - I had been offered two of the €88 tickets for €150 each but turned them down) and was just as blown away tonight as I was yesterday.

Setlist was much the same, one or two variations, but I had no problem sitting throught it all again. In fact when I left last night that's exactly what I wanted to do.

I'm near-certain that the gigs will be made into a DVD (and maybe CD), or at least they'll form part of one - I'd get it just to have a permanent copy of the Webb Sisters' rendition of 'If It Be Your Will', which was absolutely beautiful. (Speaking of which, if anyone has a recording of that from any of the shows please point me to it!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Hezz700

I hope your right about it becoming available on DVD that would be brill. Its a very long time since a performance gave me a tingly feeling like i had last night. I must say that the rain was a nice touch, it just seemed to suit.:D

Did it rain last night? Rained on Friday and Saturday but not a drop when the concert was on, did it lash or just drizzle? I hope nobody got up and left because of it :(?

Couldn't make it last night due to a family event in Wexford, had tickets originally but sold them once I found out I'd to go to Wexford, but even just to see him once is something amazing, so glad I got to see him at all because I'm 23 and only started listening to him a few years ago now so this would have been my only chance :)

I would have been almost only in nappies the last time he performed live, when he was just a kid with wild dreams :D

Went on Friday and really enjoyed it even with a bit of a ruckus behind me at one point and a couple getting turfed out by security! Headlocks from bouncers at a Leonard Cohen gig! :eek:

Discovered last night that standing at my front door I can hear the sound perfectly from the venue. Tonight I shall be listening to Iggy Pop!

Went on Friday and really enjoyed it even with a bit of a ruckus behind me at one point and a couple getting turfed out by security! Headlocks from bouncers at a Leonard Cohen gig! :eek:

I really don't get this. Why must people act the bollox at such a prestigious event. I didn't see the couple you mentioned, but I did see another guy on the Friday night being quickly escorted out, with hands behind his back, by security. There was also a little argument at the interval beside us on the Friday when somebody turned around during a song to tell the people behind to shut up talking. Then on the Saturday, when Cohen came on stage and was greeting us, some ass shouted "you better live up to it". Then there were loads of people being chased out of the gap between Block A, row a and the stage who were trying to get closer for a snap, one woman tried to run for it, but security tackled her back, then I could see them arguing and more security having to go down. Then after one of many standing ovations, I heard a couple shouting at the people in front to "SIT DOWN!!" as if they were talking to a disobedient child.

Is it really that hard for people to just go to a gig and actually listen? Do people just go to say they have been, or for a night out and a chat?

Best to just block it out and focus on the performance anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aurora Borealis

Went on friday night and was by far the best gig I've been to yet!
    Sublime voice and unbelievable to think he's 73!
    Pity Mr. Rice didn't play for longer but at least there's more chance of catching him live again.