Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leonard Cohen, Iggy Pop Dublin June 08

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Cohen. ****ing Hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭ChuckProphet

any definite date for cohen yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Savage news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

any definite date for cohen yet?
    Dates are being announced on 11th March apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭Closing Doors

Can't wait for Cohen.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

Jeez for a minute there thought that was a support slot with Iggy!!!:D

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Wow, have to get to Cohen. Went to the 'Came So Far For Beauty' concert in the Point in '06, was a great night but I really craved seeing Cohen himself as a result, hope this happens, would be a dream come true!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Tommy the Cat

The Kills...excellent!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

That is huge if its true. Right up there with Brian May and the lads possibly coming back later in the Summer too (OK not all the way up with Bri but not far off)....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭meganj

11 of March? Do the tickets go on sale then? i HAVE to see Cohen. I'll die otherwise.. ok slightly over dramatic but my god!!!

Do you think it'll be mostly new stuff?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭aurel

What is Kilmainham like as a venue? Would love to see Cohen but not sure if it would be worth it in a large outdoor venue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

Tickets to cost €115 apparently. Worth every cent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭ec18

whens iggy being announced/tickets onsale?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭klingklang

ec18 wrote: »
    whens iggy being announced/tickets onsale?
    Iggy & The Stooges play June 16 - tickets have been on sale since Feb 29.

Leonard Cohen World Tour 2008 - 2009

More concerts to be announced soon, stay tuned for more!

Tour schedule (more concerts to be announced):
    06-Jun-08 Toronto - Sony Centre For The Performing Arts
    07-Jun-08 Toronto - Sony Centre For The Performing Arts
    14-Jun-08 Dublin, Ireland - IMMA
    15-Jun-08 Dublin, Ireland - IMMA
    17-Jun-08 Manchester, UK - Opera House
    18-Jun-08 Manchester, UK - Opera House

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 pippin22

yup according to the man himself's official website.. he's playing imma 14th and 15th June... what a summer.. both neil young and leonard cohen playing in ireland.. i couldnt have asked for anything more.. SWEET!!!:D

aurel wrote: »
    What is Kilmainham like as a venue? Would love to see Cohen but not sure if it would be worth it in a large outdoor venue.

Anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Kenjd

Read this somewhere:

"The legendary singer's manager allegedly helped herself to more than $5 million of Cohen's savings while he was busy training as a Buddhist monk. Cohen's manager also convinced him to sell his back catalogue and continuing royalties—profits from both sales were allegedly taken by the same manager.

At the age of 70, Cohen's retirement savings have been depleted to under $150,000 and he is being forced to return to full-time touring and recording."

Welcome back Leonard...can't wait to see him, although at €115 a ticket......
    ahh well f*ck it!!! He needs the cash!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 pippin22

http://www.rhk.ie/gallery.html

iv never been to a gig there.. above is the website for the venue.. looks alright if it gonna be in that courtyard area..

I would rather a more intimate venue too but hey at this late stage in his life id say this will be our last chance to see him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭indiewindy

Kenjd wrote: »
    Read this somewhere:

"The legendary singer's manager allegedly helped herself to more than $5 million of Cohen's savings while he was busy training as a Buddhist monk. Cohen's manager also convinced him to sell his back catalogue and continuing royalties—profits from both sales were allegedly taken by the same manager.

At the age of 70, Cohen's retirement savings have been depleted to under $150,000 and he is being forced to return to full-time touring and recording."

Welcome back Leonard...can't wait to see him, although at €115 a ticket......
    ahh well f*ck it!!! He needs the cash!

Not all at €115, some price though

€88.50 - €115.00

Internet Onsale Info
    Onsale to General Public:
    Fri 14/03/08, 09:00

POD CONCERTS & AEG LIVE
    LEONARD COHEN
    GROUNDS OF ROYAL HOSPITAL
    KILMAINHAM - OUTDOORS
    GATES 5:30PM : SHOW 7:30PM
    SAT 14-JUNE-08

Thanks.

that'll be some rush for tickets

tickets also on sale for O2 arena, london 17th July £50-£75 this friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

Anyone know what the difference is in the ticket prices (ie €88 vs.€115)?
    My buddy wants to be so close so "Len can literally spit on me". Any advice or should we just go for the €115 tickets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Can't believe this. Just heard about this today, excellent news :D

What's this about 2 dates? In the ticketmaster newsletter, it only lists the 14th:confused: I see in the same newsletter counting crows are playing too! Jaysus, what's happening!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭peckerhead

that'll be some rush for tickets
    You're telling me.

Got two this morning at 9:02, went back in for another two and the Sat. 14th gig was sold out (at 9:09). Now only Sun 15th is available... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭mentalson

sunday tickets still available

ground floor tickets now sold out but plenty left for the tiered stands

How come when you pick best available it says it can't find any?

I got disconnected just as I picked my tickets (Thank you three broadband you *******!!!!!!) and didn't get back online till about 9:20. In a panic, I only managed to get 2 tickets for the Saturday together, then I saw the Sunday on sale and got 4 for that. So I MAY have some good seats spare at face value.

If so anyone who has posted in this thread before this post has first refusal. Will report back if I've any spare.

Can anyone tell me where row TT would be in block A6?

11894s.gif

Seems it goes L-C and then b-g above. TT doesn't fit in between them:confused:

cormie wrote: »
    Can anyone tell me where row TT would be in block A6?

9 rows back in the block furthest from the stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Deleted about 5/6 posts relatign to users selling or looking for tickets. Not allowed here folks.

Any more and bannings will follow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Hannibal Barca

Christ.
    So, what I've heard about this place is true (the admins are fascists).
    I was going to post something about tickets, but I better not, lest I end up in the gulags.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Christ.
    I was going to post something about tickets, but I better not, lest I end up in the gulags.

It's not that restrictive deal with it, there are plenty of sites for this- google them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Christ.

banned obv

Anyone know how long tickets usually take to be delivered?

Does anyone else have tickets for both nights? I do due to my panic, very tempted to go both nights :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭JJ

Usually about a week or two but you're not allowed to hit the panic button with Ticketmaster until about 7 to 10 days before the event.

Cohen is now also playing Friday the 13th!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭indiewindy

Tickets go on sale Tuesday at 9AM

indiewindy wrote: »
    Tickets go on sale Tuesday at 9AM

Wednesday ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭corm500

I've just seen on Damien Rices website that he is special guest on all 3 of Laughing Lenny's dates in Kilmainham. That's a bit of a coup isn't it ?

I'm just glad I was able to get a ticket:)

Corm500

tickets on sale now

I really don't understand this seating chart.

Where is Row CC in block A5? Is it at the very back or is it 3 rows back from the very front?

11894s.gif

I really don't understand this seating chart.

Where is Row CC in block A5? Is it at the very back or is it 3 rows back from the very front?

[/IMG]

27 rows from the front. not bad seats

How do you know that though:confused: I can't figure it out:o Is there a more detailed seating chart?

Block A5 starts at row A -Z , then the next group of seats is AA -ZZ , then the next 24 are AAA - ZZZ. A3 would go from G-z then start again at AA.
    If that makes sense. Thats the way I'm reading it anyway

Ah yeah I think I get it now. Don't you mean the next 26 instead of 24 though? So I'd be 29 seats from the very front (alphabet has 26 letters ;))

(alphabet has 26 letters ;))

oh right. I must have been out the day that they did that at school.

Did you get tickets yourself? I got 6 together in CC A5 for the Wednesday, would have preferred if they were 3 from the front but ah well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

corm500 wrote: »
    I've just seen on Damien Rices website that he is special guest on all 3 of Laughing Lenny's dates in Kilmainham.

Here's one punter that's not going in until the interval then.

Is the bar outside the tent in Kilmainham? Certainly hope so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

picked up some block a4 row d tickets this morning - happy out - missed the first two concerts