Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pitch And Putt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Kingdom

Tipperman wrote: »
    Right the gloves are off so lets start swinging

If you hold the above comps in this order this in my opinion is what should happen.

If you win Co Matchplay, you are automatic to Prov Matchplay and National Matchplay. If you failed to win Co Matchplay but won Prov Match you are auto to National Matchplay. Take Munster for example, you are talking about 6 auto to Prov and 7 autos to National(provided the winner of Prov has not already won their County) You should get some sort of carrot for winning any of these comps. I believe this would be a great success as you are talking about 7 players from Munster being auto for the Matchplay and 12 approx from Leinster. This still leaves up to 44-46 quals to reach the finals....One positive thing to take from it is that you have all your Co Champions and Prov Champions in the National Comps

The Strokeplay would be run on the same basis but this time the Inter & Junior Grades would be included. In the Strokeplay from a Senior Perpective would mean that you have almost 20 auto quals and another 60 to make the finals.. I am not sure as to the total of Inters & Juniors that make these finals but the same principal applies.

Hope I'm reading this right.
    Every county has their matchplay.
    Cw/KK/Wx , Down, Louth, Dub, Meath, Kildare, Offly, WMeath, Lgford, Mon,
    Cork, Tipp, kerry, Wat, Lim, Clare,
    Gal
    This produces 10 to Lein Mplay and 6 to Mun mplay.
    Provincial Matchplay Finals have a field of 32 which means 22 places for Lein Quals over the 10 counties and 22 places for Mun Quals over the 6 counties.

Provincial Matchplays provide 2 auto qualifiers for National finals added to the original 17 county champs and the holder means 20 auto qualifiers. This leaves 44 places among 17 countys for national matchplay qualifiers.

Its not a bad idea Tipperman, although there are two potential problems I see.
    1, the National Mplay being moved (which I'm an advocate of) which I know will be tough to get approval. I haven't spoken to one person who is in favour of that :mad:
    2, While I can see the merit in your idea, I can't help get the feeling that people will somehow feel slighted or that the county will be getting a raw deal, insofar as the number of potential qualifiers will be down. Have you approached anyone about this concept?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Tipperman

Lads

What would ye all think of a possible Ryder Cup Style match between Munster & Leinster.. Do the Leinster Boys think they would have a chance:D:D:D:D

Could be a good PR Tournament for TV purposes and media etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

For TV exposure, I cant think of anything better than putting Ray Murphy up against Padraig Harrington in a 36 hole matchplay challenge!

Kingdom

You must have been thinking about this for a while..

I agree with certain aspects of it...

The County & Prov Matchplay should be held in April and Early May.. I would never take the National Matchplay away from the Bank Hol June Weekend.. That is my opinion

The County & Prov Stroke should be held in June & July and the National Stroke should be played over the Bank Hol August Weekend starting the Comp on the Sat and finishing on the Monday. Inters and Juniors play on Sat and Sunday. I would increase each grade by 20 players. I don't know how many qual in the Inter and Junior so I will focus on the Senior Grade. 100 Seniors to play on Sat. Top 64 qual to the Sunday. Top 32 to the Monday and then Top 20 play off to determine the winner.. Same principal would apply to the Inter and Junior grade...

Not at all just pulled that off the top of the head... :p
    Anyway, I've been thinking of ways to incorporate the kids into the adult weekends, its something thats lacking and the August Weekend would be perfect for the National Splay. I would leave the Inters and Juniors to the Sat, let the kids off on the Sunday and have the Seniors on the Monday.
    I personally wouldn't be in favour of your idea for the Seniors Paul. Nothing personal, but the first thing that strikes me is what happens when the Strokeplay finals are in Killarney? Thats a 3 night stay which leads to its own expenses. Now a two day comp would be a possibility but for me anyway 3 days is too much. One thing would be true though is that the elite would really come to the fore if it were a 5 round competition.

Lads

What would ye all think of a possible Ryder Cup Style match between Munster & Leinster.. Do the Leinster Boys think they would have a chance:D:D:D:D

Could be a good PR Tournament for TV purposes and media etc

I'd be a big push for this as I know for a fact the all Munster semifinals killed the big Leinster lads. It hurt, even more so with it being in Dublin.

I think the leinster lads would be more of a match, after all sure wouldn't it be a Cork 6 we'd be facing anyway ;)

In fairness though it would be a good idea but there would have to be clear qualification rules, I mean there is hassle just picking the Dublin team, never mind anything else

Kingdom wrote: »
    Hope I'm reading this right.
    Every county has their matchplay.
    Cw/KK/Wx , Down, Louth, Dub, Meath, Kildare, Offly, WMeath, Lgford, Mon,
    Cork, Tipp, kerry, Wat, Lim, Clare,
    Gal
    This produces 10 to Lein Mplay and 6 to Mun mplay.
    Provincial Matchplay Finals have a field of 32 which means 22 places for Lein Quals over the 10 counties and 22 places for Mun Quals over the 6 counties.

Provincial Matchplays provide 2 auto qualifiers for National finals added to the original 17 county champs and the holder means 20 auto qualifiers. This leaves 44 places among 17 countys for national matchplay qualifiers.

Its not a bad idea Tipperman, although there are two potential problems I see.
    1, the National Mplay being moved (which I'm an advocate of) which I know will be tough to get approval. I haven't spoken to one person who is in favour of that :mad:
    2, While I can see the merit in your idea, I can't help get the feeling that people will somehow feel slighted or that the county will be getting a raw deal, insofar as the number of potential qualifiers will be down. Have you approached anyone about this concept?

I take your point about losing possible quals but think about this way. Some counties like Kildare or Waterford only have 1 qual anyway so this incentive may get them 2 if they manage to get the entries up but I see your point.. There are going to probs no matter what way it is addressed:cool:

Quals are always going to be the problem. Munster I suppose would benefit more from the Co Winners going thru as it would mean that you have 6 quals plus holder auto and this would leave 25 to qual but it is not meant to benefit Munster.. It is meant to benefit to prestige of these two comps....

Take the Golf for instance... In the US OPEN this week you have the top players playing no matter what and
    then you had players like Ross Fisher going to the Quals to make it.. The carrot for the Top player was winning gets them thru but the option is still there to qual for the players who are not high enough in the rankings to make it auto

I have not really spoken to anyone in Tipp on it but I have spoken to some top players in various Counties who believed it to be a good idea but you would need the idea to be perfect logistically before you would approach a convention with it...;)

Draupnir wrote: »
    For TV exposure, I cant think of anything better than putting Ray Murphy up against Padraig Harrington in a 36 hole matchplay challenge!

Draupnir...

You must have overheard me talking to RAY about this..:p I said this to Ray last year in Sardinia and he said that it would be great for the sport no matter who played Harrington ( Ray modest as ever ).. I know our President is a great friend of Padraig so I believe it could become a reality if approached in the appropriate way... It would be a massive PR for P&P but will it be achieved, I don't think so unfortunately... It would be massive though and as Ray admitted grinning at the time, prob the only time he would get nervous!!!!!

It would have to on an appropriate course with immaculate greens. But Ray would be up to the challenge I've no doubt of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Brilliant that it has been thought of before anyway! The fact is, a match between those two players in particular would probably attract thousands to the venue course never mind what was shown on TV.

It would be brilliant if it could be done and would launch the game in a big way, but as you say, I doubt it would happen simply because Harrington probably couldnt fit it into his schedule.

Not at all just pulled that off the top of the head... :p
    Anyway, I've been thinking of ways to incorporate the kids into the adult weekends, its something thats lacking and the August Weekend would be perfect for the National Splay. I would leave the Inters and Juniors to the Sat, let the kids off on the Sunday and have the Seniors on the Monday.
    I personally wouldn't be in favour of your idea for the Seniors Paul. Nothing personal, but the first thing that strikes me is what happens when the Strokeplay finals are in Killarney? Thats a 3 night stay which leads to its own expenses. Now a two day comp would be a possibility but for me anyway 3 days is too much. One thing would be true though is that the elite would really come to the fore if it were a 5 round competition.

Yes Kingdom take your points on board.... I do forget we have bambino's now but some would welcome the break:D

Playing the Juveniles (Juniors to be politically correct) with the Adults is the best idea I have seen in years.. I know the Munster Inter County all 3 grades are played together and in fairness I know, from speaking with the kids that they love being on the same course as some of the best players in the Country... Kids are the stars of tomorrow and it is imperative that we bring them on all the time... I would like even to see and Adult/Juvenile Fourball introduced to Opens etc as it makes the Juveniles feel part of the Club especially when they have no Scr Cup of their own in their clubs etc.....

Brilliant that it has been thought of before anyway! The fact is, a match between those two players in particular would probably attract thousands to the venue course never mind what was shown on TV.

It would be brilliant if it could be done and would launch the game in a big way, but as you say, I doubt it would happen simply because Harrington probably couldnt fit it into his schedule.

I believe it would work as I say, if Harrington had enough notice, even if a fee was required so be it.. It would have to be in Dublin I would think but the Course as Kingdom says, has to be the best ever seen for any Competition as both players would only deserve this. To get the fee back that Harrington may Charge, the PPUI could have a coverage charge to cover these costs.. Watch this space I wonder????????????

I take your point about losing possible quals but think about this way. Some counties like Kildare or Waterford only have 1 qual anyway so this incentive may get them 2 if they manage to get the entries up but I see your point.. There are going to probs no matter what way it is addressed:cool:

Quals are always going to be the problem. Munster I suppose would benefit more from the Co Winners going thru as it would mean that you have 6 quals plus holder auto and this would leave 25 to qual but it is not meant to benefit Munster.. It is meant to benefit to prestige of these two comps....

Take the Golf for instance... In the US OPEN this week you have the top players playing no matter what and
    then you had players like Ross Fisher going to the Quals to make it.. The carrot for the Top player was winning gets them thru but the option is still there to qual for the players who are not high enough in the rankings to make it auto

I have not really spoken to anyone in Tipp on it but I have spoken to some top players in various Counties who believed it to be a good idea but you would need the idea to be perfect logistically before you would approach a convention with it...;)

Yes I agree with you, anything going to convention needs to be thought out to 100%. Also any proposals would need serious backing from the major players in the respective counties to get the clubs on board.

As for the calender I've a major hard to get it right. I don't believe it to be acceptable to have the qual and finals of 4 tournaments(Lein splay + finals, county splay, national mplay + finals and Nat splay qual) in the space of 5 weeks. Last year I felt was as close to a perfect calender as possible, and then it was changed.

Yes I agree with you, anything going to convention needs to be thought out to 100%. Also any proposals would need serious backing from the major players in the respective counties to get the clubs on board.

As for the calender I've a major hard to get it right. I don't believe it to be acceptable to have the qual and finals of 4 tournaments(Lein splay + finals, county splay, national mplay + finals and Nat splay qual) in the space of 5 weeks. Last year I felt was as close to a perfect calender as possible, and then it was changed.

I think last year it was pretty good alright in fairness.. I know from speaking to an official last year that all the finals of the Comps were on top of one another.. It was expressed to me that this person was gone 13 out 14 weeks attending major comps.. If this person had a family they would have been shot I would have though;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Wigertoods

Lads,
    Something I wanted to throw out.
    Do any of ye think its a bit silly to have the County and Provincial Matchplays after the national matchplay. I was a bit taken aback at the apathy (from what I read on the Dublin website) of the players to the Leinster Matchplay and I'm a bit stunned at the poor numbers at the Dublin matchplay.

What do people think of the calender as it stands.

Must agree here,does seem a bit backwards to have county and provincial championships after the "main event" so to speak.On the Dublin m/p you will probobly have noticed the numbers missing are mainly northsiders and again I fear the reason is midweek matches and commuting.
    I left work in swords yesterday at 4:00 and only arrived at CPM at 6:40 (My match was due to go off at 6:30).I'd nearly have been quicker travelling to Tullamore to play !Have to do it all again tonight.

I think it could happen. Mr Harrington has certainly been loud in the past of his respect for Pitch and Putt and listed it as a reason for his solid short game. As a certain secretary of a club I know says
    "Put it in writing!". We don't know the answer to the question if the question isn't asked.

We are fighting for every player, every kid, every adult that the Union can get at the moment. And lets not kid ourselves into thinking that we are competing with the big 4 (GAA, soccer, rugby), we're fighting with swimming, tennis, badminton, all the minority sports for grants coverage, anything.
    The schools competitions and the inclusion of Juniors on the championship rota is the way forward.

I think last year it was pretty good alright in fairness.. I know from speaking to an official last year that all the finals of the Comps were on top of one another.. It was expressed to me that this person was gone 13 out 14 weeks attending major comps.. If this person had a family they would have been shot I would have though;)

This is the whole point of having the National Executive, and planning the structure around a championship. Having members of the host club to act on the organising committee of a championship is a good idea, but there should be an onus on the relevant county board as well. As it is it was hard to get a PRO. I thought Hanlon was going to be the dogs b*llix but things didn't work out that way with his job I believe.
    There is no way an NEC official should be at majors 13/14 weeks in a row. Then again if you integrate the Under 16's into the adult championship weekend, you're removing a further requirement on officials.
    This was one of the reasons I was against the Scramble being made a National competition so early.

Wigertoods wrote: »
    Must agree here,does seem a bit backwards to have county and provincial championships after the "main event" so to speak.On the Dublin m/p you will probobly have noticed the numbers missing are mainly northsiders and again I fear the reason is midweek matches and commuting.
    I left work in swords yesterday at 4:00 and only arrived at CPM at 6:40 (My match was due to go off at 6:30).I'd nearly have been quicker travelling to Tullamore to play !Have to do it all again tonight.

Never mind when the draws are seperated to northside and southside, northsiders having a handier draw ;)

I thought it would be Ray that couln't fit it to his Schedule :D:D

I believe it would work as I say, if Harrington had enough notice, even if a fee was required so be it.. It would have to be in Dublin I would think but the Course as Kingdom says, has to be the best ever seen for any Competition as both players would only deserve this. To get the fee back that Harrington may Charge, the PPUI could have a coverage charge to cover these costs.. Watch this space I wonder????????????

I would not have any problem with paying a cover charge. The obvious obstacles are

Harrington's willingness to the match and his schedule (a pretty big obstacle in fairness)
    A venue suitable in terms of the course and in terms of spectator facilities.

Anyone care to suggest somewhere? Tullamore would certainly be suitable considering there would only be one match on!
    Fermoy another. Glenville obviously
    Stackallen.

Never mind when the draws are seperated to northside and southside, northsiders having a handier draw ;)

Not always the case.
    If the northside entry is lower then the numbers to qualify is also reflected in this.Obviously in the case of the Dublin m/p a north,south divide cannot work,but something must be done as the entries can't afford to keep dropping at this rate.

Wigertoods wrote: »
    Not always the case.
    If the northside entry is lower then the numbers to qualify is also reflected in this.Obviously in the case of the Dublin m/p a north,south divide cannot work,but something must be done as the entries can't afford to keep dropping at this rate.

To be fair Wiger I was rib tickling. Its slightly disappointing though to have seen the National Matchplay in Glenville and be so well supported then have the poorest turn out for a senior dublin matchplay in a long time.
    at the end of the day lads, ye have to keep a note of these things, because Jan is a long way away, and if things need to be changed people will need reminding at the end of the season, and canvassing will have to be done, tis the only way.

I would not have any problem with paying a cover charge. The obvious obstacles are

Harrington's willingness to the match and his schedule (a pretty big obstacle in fairness)

Anyone care to suggest somewhere? Tullamore would certainly be suitable considering there would only be one match on!
    Stackallen.

I would think that if it went ahead it would have to be played in Dublin. Glenville is the obvious choice as it is prob the longest course in Dublin and is suitable for all aspects ie Bar and ample Car Parking at both the Course and Thomas Davis GAA.... I think though it will never be achieved which is unfortunate...

Yes I would agree with you Tipperman. It would be hard to believe it as a possibilty though unfortunately.

I suppose I will give ye more food for thought.....

Here is what I would propose should be included for a true reflection of the rankings.

County Matchplay, Count Strokeplay, Provincial Matchplay & Strokeplay, National Matchplay & National Strokeplay and Top 12 scores at National Inter County. The reason I would introduce Inter County as there are players that play with a weaker County and never have a chance of winning the Tournament but if you had ranking points for top 12 scores on the day players get rewarded for playing well
    Also there 21 graded courses in the Country.. Now the way the system works at present is that 2 of these courses have to be used for a National Competition although I have heard that these are being re-graded again shortly...

I think what should happen is 9 of these Clubs should be used each year as Ranking Points. Each of the 9 Clubs would use their Scr Cup as Ranking Points and then you have 15 comps for ranking points instead of 6.. I know you will have the lesser club giving out about fair play but if a Club wants to get a Ranking Tournament they have to have their facility at the standard required (which isn't very high in fairness) and they will be rewarded..

I think there should be also an Inter & Junior Ranking System that follows in the same vein as the Senior. If a Junior was to get Cut to Inter then he starts of scratch at that grade and so on.. They should be merited for their achievements also

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Jinkymagic

I think there should be also an Inter & Junior Ranking System that follows in the same vein as the Senior. If a Junior was to get Cut to Inter then he starts of scratch at that grade and so on.. They should be merited for their achievements also

Hey guys, was looking around the forums and found this thread much to my surprise!

The Padraig Harrington idea is genius in my opinion. Im always saying we should get Tiger Woods over to see who'd be better him or Ray. Obviously that would be impossible but Harrington would be very realistic! I think the press would jump at it and the interest in our game it would cause would be incredible. Not so much as seeing Harrington play our sport but giving the country the oppurtunity to see Ray Murphy who 95% of people dont know about! The man is a genius.

With regards the ranking system, personally i played senior last year but didnt play much because i was doing the leaving cert but we defo need an inter/junior ranking system. Also i think that the whole you have to win 3 prizes off 4 should be changed. Id love to see the inter grade change from 4-8 to 3-8 with you having to win 3 prizes off 4 ans 3 off 3. Down in Cork every week we have players winning the inter/junior prizes in scratch cups and they get cut down to senior/inter simply because there is no competition. At the very least i think you should have to win a county/provincial/national title to be cut to inter or senior. I think this would increase the numbers playing in scratch cups with regards inter/junior players knowing that they cant get cut from winning a meaningless prize. I know a lot of people who play off 4/9 who dont play in opens/scratch cups simply because they know if they get cut that they wont be able to compete at the next level!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

Stackallen.

What about McDonagh or Deerpark.Both longish pnp courses and PLENTY of room for spectators and good facilities.This is a great idea! I wonder who would win.Ray would probably start favourite.

I suppose I will give ye more food for thought.....

Here is what I would propose should be included for a true reflection of the rankings.

County Matchplay, Count Strokeplay, Provincial Matchplay & Strokeplay, National Matchplay & National Strokeplay and Top 12 scores at National Inter County. The reason I would introduce Inter County as there are players that play with a weaker County and never have a chance of winning the Tournament but if you had ranking points for top 12 scores on the day players get rewarded for playing well
    Also there 21 graded courses in the Country.. Now the way the system works at present is that 2 of these courses have to be used for a National Competition although I have heard that these are being re-graded again shortly...

I think what should happen is 9 of these Clubs should be used each year as Ranking Points. Each of the 9 Clubs would use their Scr Cup as Ranking Points and then you have 15 comps for ranking points instead of 6.. I know you will have the lesser club giving out about fair play but if a Club wants to get a Ranking Tournament they have to have their facility at the standard required (which isn't very high in fairness) and they will be rewarded..

Oh man thats a can of worms being opened that I'll gladly leave to other people.
    First up I think ranking points should only be available for competitions to which people can enter into themselves. This would rule out the Inter Counties as obviously there are certain elegibility criteria in different counties.
    I have no problem in a Junior player being eligible for all Junior Championships for a season, even if his handicap has dipped below the Junior Grade. Likewise an inter.
    I think the grades could do with a look at. Maybe a new grade should be introduced? A novice grade? and compact the competitions
    +3 to -2, -3 to -6, -7to -10? Is there scope for an Under 20's championship?
    Something that annoys me is a player who goes from Junior to Senior in a single season. I know of two cases.

Oh man thats a can of worms being opened that I'll gladly leave to other people.
    First up I think ranking points should only be available for competitions to which people can enter into themselves. This would rule out the Inter Counties as obviously there are certain elegibility criteria in different counties.
    I have no problem in a Junior player being eligible for all Junior Championships for a season, even if his handicap has dipped below the Junior Grade. Likewise an inter.
    I think the grades could do with a look at. Maybe a new grade should be introduced? A novice grade? and compact the competitions
    Something that annoys me is a player who goes from Junior to Senior in a single season. I know of two cases.

The early bird always catches the WORM though Kingdom... Scope for an U20, I think so.. Was this not introduced in Dublin some years back....
    There are too many players getting cut too easily though like Magic stated... Could you imagine a player getting cut to Senior from Inter and next minute had a great day in the Co Stroke and next minute he was 4 last week and now he is +1... That is crazy but that is what can happen.. Senior Status should be +3 to -2. Inter -3 to -8 & Junior -9 to -13 or -14..... The idea of winning three prizes to get cut from 4 or 9 to 3 or 8 is a good one although I was of the opinion that it was 3 54O/A you had to win but I must be wrong:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Jinkymagic

Maybe a new grade for people who are too good to be inter but not good enough to be senior. Im talking about the 2/3 handicappers that really have no chance in qualifying for things like the nationals. Maybe it should be like you say 3 to 5/6 and then 6/7 to 12? Maybe instead of 3 prizes it should be a county/prov./national title to move up a grade! If for example a player off 10 hits form and starts playing well he could be down to 4 in a matter of weeks. I think thats wrong as it doesnt mean in 6 months time he'll be stilll playing to that standard.

GerCPM wrote: »
    What about McDonagh or Deerpark.Both longish pnp courses and PLENTY of room for spectators and good facilities.This is a great idea! I wonder who would win.Ray would probably start favourite.

McDonagh would have the space alright but thats about it. Some nice shots though. deerpark would be a good shout, but as Tipperman says it really does have to be in Dublin and Glenville really is the only place that fits the bill.