Ever been mugged?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭cotwold

No, not successfully, someone mugged my friend in the lane besdie the george one night while i was standing beside him but i jabbed him in the face and he was pretty willing to give it back then. Worst mugger ever!
    Dingatron wrote: »
    A good few years .... year because they had bit me.:
    Thats horrific, by far one of the worst experience up here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭KBarry

JangoFett wrote: »
    Actually, there was one other time here in Perth, didn't try mug me but this aboriginal guy came into a pizza place I was in and started harrassing me for food, I hadn't gotten my pizza yet and explained this to him so he started calling me an "english c*nt" and all this and even called me Captain Cook....trying to explain I'm Irish was futile.

I got 'mugged' by a couple of Aborigines in Australia too. I was having a smoke outside the hostel I was staying in when they came up and asked me for a smoke. I told them I didn't have any. Bit foolish in retrospect as they were both a lot bigger than me and I was trapped in the doorway with nowhere to run. The biggest one started grabbing at my pockets and found my fags. I got a smack in the mouth before he took out ONE cigarette and handed me the rest back! Strange one. To be fair the other one was very apologetic. The big one was off his skull.
    I got off lightly I reckon with a fat lip and bruised ego. I was a bit more careful in Oz too after that though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

Almost mugged once. Was on a nigt out in Waterford about 6 years ago with about 5 or 6 friends. We left the night club and i walked down to rapid cabs to see if they can get a minibus for us to go back to a house party. On my way back to the club where we were all standing outside, and it was only about 100m away two ballybeg heads came up to me with a baseball bat and a screwdriver demanding i give them my phone and money... I'd had a few drinks so had some dutch courage and decided to take them both on. Rugby tackled the one with the baseball bat, got back up to have a go at the other one but he was no where to be seen. Apparently the lads i was with seen them follow me down and back up and 2 of them hid in the ally.The one with the screw driver got an all mercifull hiding and thrown down a flight of stairs. The on who i rugby tackled got a few schlaps by the baseball bat. and quite a few broken bones

Guards came, We all got arrested :( ABH and GBH was handed out to all of us

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Anti wrote: »

Guards came, We all got arrested :( ABH and GBH was handed out to all of us

I seriously hope you told them to f**k off!!

Is it any wonder people dont help innocents in trouble when the gardai do something stupid like that.

A guy I was in school with was "mugged" one day near one of the locals by some scumbag, He's not the biggest and looks like he'd sh*t himself if someone said Boo to him, but 2 guys tried to rob him on his way home one night with a steel bar, he got it from them and fcuked them up big time. He called the gardai as he felt guilty about the damage he'd done to them.. Gardai arrived told him not to worry.. self defence :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Friend of my brothers had a guy try to mug him on the belgian metro, the guy demanded his phone but my brother's friend gave him a hiding and then took his phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

Once years ago leaving an off licence with 3 mates, gang of skangers hanging round outside it waited for us to leave shops carpark and legged it after us waving screwdrivers and fists grabbing the drink - most of the drink fell out and got busted on the road, cans fizzing everywhere, no one hurt, just shaken.

Once in dublin city centre a skanger tried to threaten me for money but i made out i was drunk and stumbled against him and asked him for the bus fare home - he just walked off.

And once in a town in cavan some bint started on me in a chipper - i think it was because i was from dublin, my friend jumped up to defend me and next thing the whole chipper was in uproar, myself and my friend were wildly swinging punches in self defence, when the dust settled there was a split lip, a black eye, a busted nose, plenty of hair pulled out and a few other marks - all on the cavan girls. The locals seemed to view it as usual saturday night entertainment - myself and my friend were very shaken and left that town as quick as humanly possible next morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

only once thankfully in ranelagh northbrook road of all places right outside my front door.. knive to the throat all for a crappy old spare nokia phone i had and my wallet (which subsequently had nothing in it as i told them but they took it anyway)

thankfully i wasnt harmed and they ran off after i had given the phone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 bermuda

Doesnt this mean that the city centre needs a much larger garda presence than it currently has - Isnt there some sort of a citizen garda liason committee which can work with the garda in ensuring that the police presence is increased? Or writing to your local representative in govt asking them to assist with this - after all the security of the citizens should be fundamental for the govt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

I never did get mugged but I would like to have the experience.

A friend did get mugged and it was the funniest story. He met his flatmate in a pub and they got chatting to two fellas at the bar. A fair few drinks later my mate gives the rent money to his flatmate and both leave shortly afterwards. They went outside but were followed by the 2 lads they were talking to for the past 3 hrs. One produced a knife and told them to hand over the money. My mate does have problems controlling his temper at times and he got a little hot headed so the fella with the knife stabbed him in the arse (only a little stab mind). My mate then went absolutely crazy and took him out and his accomplice. Then he called them an ambulance.

He really is a caring sort of fella my mate is.

Oh god how I laughed at that story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

JangoFett wrote: »
    In the last 3 days here in Perth, 3 groups of people have tried to mug me! 3 attempted muggings and all 3 times I escaped by running away. Some would call it cowardly but I'm not a fighter, I would try defend myself and get the sh!te knocked outta me! 2 of the attacks were groups of teenage aboriginal kids and the 3rd one was this crack addicted white guy, I didn't so much run as just picked up the pace and he lost interest

Actually, there was one other time here in Perth, didn't try mug me but this aboriginal guy came into a pizza place I was in and started harrassing me for food, I hadn't gotten my pizza yet and explained this to him so he started calling me an "english c*nt" and all this and even called me Captain Cook....trying to explain I'm Irish was futile.

Maybe being english in certain countries is bad....jeez, I WONDER why?!

Crap, I'm going to live in Perth in a few weeks, sounds like a sh1thole from your post. Is it really that bad Jango or is your post making it sound worse than it is?

I've been successfully mugged twice. The first time was when I was 13 in Tymon, was walking home on my own at about 12 at night, which was stupid considering I barely knew the area. About 6 or 7 youngfellas all about the same age as me came over, started pushing me, asked for a smoke, so I gave them a few smokes. Then one of them put a screw driver to my throat and two others went through my pockets and took my money (about E4.20), my smokes and lighter and whatever else I had on me, then they just walked off.

The second time was a few months later. It was in Blanchardstown, I was walking to the shops to get smokes at about 12 at night on my own (which was stupider) three youngfellas came over to me and asked me for a smoke, I said I had none, they said "fair search" as in they wanted to search my pockets for smokes. I told them to go fukk themselves. They said "fair search or we'll kick your fukkin head in". I said "try it and I'll bite a lump out of the face of the first one of ye's I get my hands on" and started to walk in the other direction. They ran after me and jumped me, so I grabbed one of them, sank my teeth into his face and tore away a big chunk. Then one of them stabbed me three times in the back and side with something and I passed out and I presume they kept kicking me and I woke up in hospital the next day hurting from head to toe but with no broken bones, missing teeth or any organ damage or anything like that (the stab wounds were deep but missed anything important) .

They were the two successeful attempts. Since that I've been attempted to be mugged about a dozen times or so, usually on my own at night in an area I don't really know (which is a situation you would think I would avoid, but alas, no) but have always been able talk my way around them or on one occasion fight my way past them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

jaysus must never go for a walk with you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭hunter164

You really should stop wandering round places late at night on your own.