Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever been mugged?

• 03-06-2008 11:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭

Probably been done before, so please don't be all like "OMFG...this thread AGAIN?!" Just click "Back" on your browser if this displeases you so much

Anyway, saw a thread about a scummer hitting a woman for no reason and it got me thinking about this

In the last 3 days here in Perth, 3 groups of people have tried to mug me! 3 attempted muggings and all 3 times I escaped by running away. Some would call it cowardly but I'm not a fighter, I would try defend myself and get the sh!te knocked outta me! 2 of the attacks were groups of teenage aboriginal kids and the 3rd one was this crack addicted white guy, I didn't so much run as just picked up the pace and he lost interest

A few years ago in spain a gang of kids, maybe 15 years old on average, tried mug me and my brother. They couldn't speak english and got in a circle around us, the all had weapons like wooden clubs and broom handles, so we spotted the smallest kid, counted to 3 and ran at him, both of us knocking his skinny ass down and we ran, about 3 blocks down to a crowded area and they chased us, and all the Spainiards on the street that saw this were calling us English scum

Actually, there was one other time here in Perth, didn't try mug me but this aboriginal guy came into a pizza place I was in and started harrassing me for food, I hadn't gotten my pizza yet and explained this to him so he started calling me an "english c*nt" and all this and even called me Captain Cook....trying to explain I'm Irish was futile.

Maybe being english in certain countries is bad....jeez, I WONDER why?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Yes, once in town by a gang of travellers. I was only 15 and nearly shit myself..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Can't say I have, I regularly walk down Talbot St. and Parnell St. as well where a lot of these muggings seemingly occur.

I always wondered about this actually. When I was younger there was this friend of mine who was beaten up several times over the course of secondary school. He wasn't even particularly small or anything but he was scared sh1tless of everyone. We reckoned in all our adolescent wisdom,that people or certain people anyway could smell this fear and hence picked on him. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

No, haven't had the pleasure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

Had my phone robbed by 2 blokes with screw drivers in Waterford a few years back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Thankfully, no.

I was almost jumped by a couple of guys in a bathroom in a club in Poland though. They were standing behind me, there were mirrors above the urinals so I could see behind me they were talking in Polish and gesturing to me, I had no idea what they were saying but heard the word English dropped in a few times. I finished up said "I'm actually Irish lads" and walked out of the bathroom. I think I confused them enough to get myself out.

They kicked off with some English lad later in the night and all got turfed out.

Twice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Luckily enough no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,606 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Once by a junkie with a syringe when I was 15. He didn't get anything though. Other than being caught on camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Moonbaby wrote: »
    I'm a redhead.

So all the time then?

I'm a redhead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Yep, some scummer and his friends took a few of our phones one night. I wasn't too pleased having just bought the phone the previous day, so I decided I wasn't letting it happen. The mugger got a bottle over the head and passed out and 4 of his pals got their jaws broken. We all got our phones back. :D

So all the time then?

If you were looking to mug someone...would you pick a redhead?

See below...representation is not actual size>>>

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

When i was 18 in Spain on my LC holiday, got really hammered and was wandering around the place by myself... not very smart.. they took my wallet which had about 1000 pesetas in it and my "watch" which was one i'd bought earlier from one of the lucky men. got pushed down a hill into a semi underground shopping promenade got a kick up the ass but could have been a whole lot worse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

JangoFett wrote: »
    Probably been done before, so please don't be all like "OMFG...this thread AGAIN?!" Just click "Back" on your browser if this displeases you so much

Anyway, saw a thread about a scummer hitting a woman for no reason and it got me thinking about this

In the last 3 days here in Perth, 3 groups of people have tried to mug me! 3 attempted muggings and all 3 times I escaped by running away. Some would call it cowardly but I'm not a fighter, I would try defend myself and get the sh!te knocked outta me! 2 of the attacks were groups of teenage aboriginal kids and the 3rd one was this crack addicted white guy, I didn't so much run as just picked up the pace and he lost interest

A few years ago in spain a gang of kids, maybe 15 years old on average, tried mug me and my brother. They couldn't speak english and got in a circle around us, the all had weapons like wooden clubs and broom handles, so we spotted the smallest kid, counted to 3 and ran at him, both of us knocking his skinny ass down and we ran, about 3 blocks down to a crowded area and they chased us, and all the Spainiards on the street that saw this were calling us English scum

Actually, there was one other time here in Perth, didn't try mug me but this aboriginal guy came into a pizza place I was in and started harrassing me for food, I hadn't gotten my pizza yet and explained this to him so he started calling me an "english c*nt" and all this and even called me Captain Cook....trying to explain I'm Irish was futile.

Maybe being english in certain countries is bad....jeez, I WONDER why?!
    You were mugged in a foreign country?

OMGWTFLOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I though scumbags only existed in Ireland.
    Thanks god for AH. Otherwise I would have been under the impression that every other country in the world had a great police force and justice system.
    You learn something new every day.

Also, unlucky.
    Moonbaby wrote: »
    I'm a redhead.

Me too.
    People know not to fúck with us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Got mugged at syringe point by 3 people on O'Connell street once.

I didn't have a huge amount of money on me, but I wasn't going to give it to them so I talked my way out of it. Got talking... found out where they were from... talked about how I lived near that area as well and how they shouldn't really be mugging their own. We shook hands and went our separate ways.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Got mugged at syringe point by 3 people on O'Connell street once.

I didn't have a huge amount of money on me, but I wasn't going to give it to them so I talked my way out of it. Got talking... found out where they were from... talked about how I lived near that area as well and how they shouldn't really be mugging their own. We shook hands and went our separate ways.

similar thing happened to a friend of mine, put on his best skanger accent in town when he was "mugged" told this scummer he was from Darndale, the reply "me 2 bud, jesus i'd never rip off someone from de dale" my buddy made a quick retreat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

similar thing happened to a friend of mine, put on his best skanger accent in town when he was "mugged" told this scummer he was from Darndale, the reply "me 2 bud, jesus i'd never rip off someone from de dale" my buddy made a quick retreat!

Ha... these were from Darndale too...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I did when I was 15. Was walking around with a friend. 2 lads attacked us from behind.
    I got a nice dig in the jaw while my mate who is well able to handle himself thumped the shít out of the other would be attacker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,709 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

JangoFett wrote: »
    A few years ago in spain a gang of kids, maybe 15 years old on average, tried mug me and my brother. They couldn't speak english and got in a circle around us, the all had weapons like wooden clubs and broom handles
    How do you know they weren't trying to rape you? Broom handles are a pretty sh1te weapon IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

The day i got dumped :D was in a pisser of a mood, hit the guy rather harder than i should and rang my dad who came around and arrested him. brilliant day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭elmolesto

Luckily enough never

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Once, at Civic Offices in Dublin. He put a syringe to my neck and took my phone. Soon as the syringe went into his pocket I kicked the crap out of him and too my phone back.
    When he got up to run away he turned and produced the syringe again, it was only a 50p piece, he had the edge of it touching my skin to make it feel cold

So funny, through all the blood in his banged up face he was screamong 'I only had 50 pence' when he was running away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

How do you know they weren't trying to rape you? Broom handles are a pretty sh1te weapon IMO

Broom handle are seemingly effective, I never saw so many tourists with broken arms in my life than I did in that spanish town!!

And maybe they were trying to rape me...great, now someone's tried to rape me...lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭Dingatron

A good few years ago about 2 months after I got married I met a few mates in Dublin and went on the rip with them. Ended up in Howl at the Moon in Lower Mount Street. After a good few pints I decided to head off on my own (don't try this at home kids!) and got as far as Merrion Square when I was attacked by 4 skangers. Well that sobered me up quick enough.

They beat the crap out of me and got everything I had on me at the time. They tried to get my pin number for my pass card but I didn't know it and even threatened to bring me into the bushes and kill me. Then they went for my wedding ring. I'd enough at this stage and fought back as much as I could but one of them bit my finger to get the ring off. While all this was happening people were walking by. I refused to let the ring go and attacked the fella who had it and they must of realised I wasn't letting it go easily so they threw it on the road and then legged it.

I then rang the guards and it was at least 30 minutes before they arrived and when the smelled the drink on me they didn't want to know or took no statement from me etc. I ended up in the Mater and had to get aids tests for the next year because they had bit me. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,964 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

some wee scumbag came up to me few years ago in dublin asked for the usual lighter and cig, told him didn't have any so he demanded my wallet i said no and he hit me with a bottle. seen it coming mind so missed the most of the bang (plus alcohol is a great painkiller) stumbled back then went towards him and hit him square on the nose. I'm not a big strong guy but the fun fair built me up ( i seem to mention the FF in every post recently in here hmmm must be summer getting to me) and he hit the ground blood everywhere and him roaring and rolling around. Was well chuffed cause he also had a bottle of bucky (full) that i nabbed. Hah the mugger became the mugged :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Steve_o wrote: »
    Had my phone robbed by 2 blokes with screw drivers in Waterford a few years back...

Are you sure you weren't just leaving it in to be repaired?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Once,outside St. James' Gate by some druggie with a broken bottle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Nope. It's be sore i'd say. I'd prefer to be egged or maybe water balooned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

when was 17 got mugged by five strangers in Ilford London.All i had was a train ticket to get back home,hospitalized for 3 months,2 arm broken,nosebroken and punctured lung from some sort of sharp implement.
    Couldnt tell wether it was a knife or screwdriver as it happened so fast.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭JMB88

Yeah once, me and two friends were walking down by the point one night and we went into a side-lane to take a piss and we were confronted by about 10 scumbags who gave us a bit of a beatdown. They got away with my phone, iPod and wallet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Everytime i buy diesel for my motor.

1.41 euro a litre.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Scrawny scanger came up to me one time, "give us ur phone"

"NO! You Give me your phone!" He left it at that

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

I remember Beat on the Street years ago in Tallaght. I was in the square picking up a few bits after working with my dad and had bought a PS1 game, bottle or Lynx and few little bits. Walking home about 8 lads jumped me demanding the "Can of orange" from my pocket. As I pulled it out I took the lighter with it and the lynx effect kicked in. A few of them ran of with their hair still smoking away.

Only other time was working in a shop and a bloke jumped the counter and put a machette up to my eyeball. I let him go with what he could find money wise as I had only emptied the till and there was no more than 15 pound in the till. I went to run after him but left it alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Hornswoggle

Was mugged outside the central bank by some junkie with a butterfly knife when i was 15.

Took my wallet (only had a fiver in it) guards never caught the Fu**er either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

Not me personally, but it happened to my son in law some time ago. A gang of them decided to give him a few thumps just for the fun of it as he's not a big guy. Bad decision, as he has a brown belt in Thia kick boxing.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Yes, but thankfully it was only once, and I was young at the time, so all I had was some bus money, nothing valuable to be taken. Still pretty damned scary though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

No but i'm sure i came close one time or another

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Nope, not yyyyeeeeetttt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

Not mugged, but pickpocketed once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭armour87

Nope, never.

Doesn't that only happen in Dublin.

Dublin :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

A hooker attempted top rob me in Prague, I was stumbling back to the hostel drunk as a lord, she came up to me saying "you want sex?" and started putting her hand in all my pockets. I hadn't a cent on me so I figured I'd let her off. Then I remembered my phone and sure enough it was gone. I asked for it back, she gave it back, said sorry and went on her merry way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Was mugged once in London. I was only there overnight while waiting for a flight home (connecting from Washington DC, going back to Dublin the next morning) so I went into the city for a wander around.

A gang of 3 soccer hooligan types grabbed me on a relatively busy street and dragged me around the corner into a quiet alleyway.

One of them had what seemed to be a black combat bowie knife with a roughly 6-inch blade, which he held close enough for me to see just how sharp it was.

I had around £300 in sterling cash on me (still don't know why I carried all that with me at the time) - which quickly became theirs. Luckily I still had enough left in coins to get the bus back to the airport - where my cards, tickets, passport, etc. were safely locked away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Fringe

Happened to me once in St Stephens Green. Some junkie came up with a scissors in his hand and said it was a knife and to each give him a euro. Only one guy had a euro. I gave him 85c which was my busfare home. 3 of the people with us walked off and some other guy had a load of coppers and gave him them. The junkie got pissed off and gave the coppers back. Said something like are you making fun of me? So then it was grand when he walked off. Then suddenly, two people come up to us and tell us they're plainclothes who've been following that guy for a while. A Garda van immediately comes up and he's brought in. I have no idea what's going on so I leg it off with the other people. 2 people stayed behind to give testimonies.

It was really annoying because the Garda ended up coming to my house so I could give testimony. I was so nervous when I was doing it. I then got a phonecall a few months later telling me the guy's in jail for a few months. So yeah, he made €1.85 but he's also in jail.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

junkie tried to mug me with a syringe outside central bank a few years ago. All he got was my laptop bag square in the jaw :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Never been mugged, despite having lived in Dublin all my life. Lucky me for a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

danniemcq wrote: »
    Was well chuffed cause he also had a bottle of bucky (full) that i nabbed. Hah the mugger became the mugged :)

You, sir, are a legend of the highest caliber. God bless you.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Almost, then one of them realised I was in his class

Classy fella

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

No, I'm not the victim type.