Ever been mugged?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

when was 17 got mugged by five strangers in Ilford London.All i had was a train ticket to get back home,hospitalized for 3 months,2 arm broken,nosebroken and punctured lung from some sort of sharp implement.
    Couldnt tell wether it was a knife or screwdriver as it happened so fast.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭JMB88

Yeah once, me and two friends were walking down by the point one night and we went into a side-lane to take a piss and we were confronted by about 10 scumbags who gave us a bit of a beatdown. They got away with my phone, iPod and wallet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Everytime i buy diesel for my motor.

1.41 euro a litre.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Scrawny scanger came up to me one time, "give us ur phone"

"NO! You Give me your phone!" He left it at that

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

I remember Beat on the Street years ago in Tallaght. I was in the square picking up a few bits after working with my dad and had bought a PS1 game, bottle or Lynx and few little bits. Walking home about 8 lads jumped me demanding the "Can of orange" from my pocket. As I pulled it out I took the lighter with it and the lynx effect kicked in. A few of them ran of with their hair still smoking away.

Only other time was working in a shop and a bloke jumped the counter and put a machette up to my eyeball. I let him go with what he could find money wise as I had only emptied the till and there was no more than 15 pound in the till. I went to run after him but left it alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Hornswoggle

Was mugged outside the central bank by some junkie with a butterfly knife when i was 15.

Took my wallet (only had a fiver in it) guards never caught the Fu**er either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭ART6

Not me personally, but it happened to my son in law some time ago. A gang of them decided to give him a few thumps just for the fun of it as he's not a big guy. Bad decision, as he has a brown belt in Thia kick boxing.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Yes, but thankfully it was only once, and I was young at the time, so all I had was some bus money, nothing valuable to be taken. Still pretty damned scary though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,670 ✭✭✭Riddle101

No but i'm sure i came close one time or another

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Nope, not yyyyeeeeetttt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

Not mugged, but pickpocketed once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭armour87

Nope, never.

Doesn't that only happen in Dublin.

Dublin :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

A hooker attempted top rob me in Prague, I was stumbling back to the hostel drunk as a lord, she came up to me saying "you want sex?" and started putting her hand in all my pockets. I hadn't a cent on me so I figured I'd let her off. Then I remembered my phone and sure enough it was gone. I asked for it back, she gave it back, said sorry and went on her merry way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,311 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Was mugged once in London. I was only there overnight while waiting for a flight home (connecting from Washington DC, going back to Dublin the next morning) so I went into the city for a wander around.

A gang of 3 soccer hooligan types grabbed me on a relatively busy street and dragged me around the corner into a quiet alleyway.

One of them had what seemed to be a black combat bowie knife with a roughly 6-inch blade, which he held close enough for me to see just how sharp it was.

I had around £300 in sterling cash on me (still don't know why I carried all that with me at the time) - which quickly became theirs. Luckily I still had enough left in coins to get the bus back to the airport - where my cards, tickets, passport, etc. were safely locked away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Fringe

Happened to me once in St Stephens Green. Some junkie came up with a scissors in his hand and said it was a knife and to each give him a euro. Only one guy had a euro. I gave him 85c which was my busfare home. 3 of the people with us walked off and some other guy had a load of coppers and gave him them. The junkie got pissed off and gave the coppers back. Said something like are you making fun of me? So then it was grand when he walked off. Then suddenly, two people come up to us and tell us they're plainclothes who've been following that guy for a while. A Garda van immediately comes up and he's brought in. I have no idea what's going on so I leg it off with the other people. 2 people stayed behind to give testimonies.

It was really annoying because the Garda ended up coming to my house so I could give testimony. I was so nervous when I was doing it. I then got a phonecall a few months later telling me the guy's in jail for a few months. So yeah, he made €1.85 but he's also in jail.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭miju

junkie tried to mug me with a syringe outside central bank a few years ago. All he got was my laptop bag square in the jaw :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Never been mugged, despite having lived in Dublin all my life. Lucky me for a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

danniemcq wrote: »
    Was well chuffed cause he also had a bottle of bucky (full) that i nabbed. Hah the mugger became the mugged :)

You, sir, are a legend of the highest caliber. God bless you.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Almost, then one of them realised I was in his class

Classy fella

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

No, I'm not the victim type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

€5 mugged off me when I was 16 by a couple of travellers. One of them wanted all my money (about €50), but I stood up to him and he left me a few threats. The next week I was in town and him and his inbred bretheren saw me and tried the same again. I was lucky, they just pushed me around a bit and left. **** me up rightly though

I was so pissed about the whole thing for weeks afterwards, even about giving the fiver. I still see the same guy now and again and each time I just want kill the fucker, but the resulting fallout wouldn't be worth it

Edit: I just realised Im holding a grudge against someone for something that happened 5/6 years ago...
    Best not piss me off I guess ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Gekko

My Mum got mugged in Dominick St. - some guy reached into the car when she was just about to start the car and legged it with her handbag.

Not before she'd punched him in the jaw though.

This thread suggests there's definitely not enough Gardai on the beat in Dublin.

New York has the right idea where there is a very large and very visible police presence which makes you feel safe

Three teenage scumbags tried to nick my bike when I was in uni in the UK and hit me on the arm with a hammer. I picked up my bike and hit them in the face with the back wheel and then took it back.

That was fuelled by adrenalin and I'm not sure I'd do the same nowadays for fear of getting stabbed. Oh and the adrenalin wore off pretty quick and left me feeling a bit wrecked!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

Mairt wrote: »
    No, I'm not the victim type.

Famous last words.

I've only ever been mugged in the emotional sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭Deliverance XXV

Never happened to me but I've known loads of people who have been mugged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Sqaull20

Krieg wrote: »
    €5 mugged off me when I was 16 by a couple of travellers. One of them wanted all my money (about €50), but I stood up to him and he left me a few threats. The next week I was in town and him and his inbred bretheren saw me and tried the same again. I was lucky, they just pushed me around a bit and left. **** me up rightly though

I'd take the knife in the head, before giving those ***** anything, I have had loads of run ins with them and not once did I give them anything.I took 2 pretty bad beatings off them because of it ( one just outside Lidl on the dublin road going out of Limerick, other at the park near Arthurs Key ).

No better feeling in the world as a kid, then seeing their faces when you tell them to **** off.Joining a boxing club is the best thing you can do as a kid.You have to stand up to them..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

Famous last words.

I've only ever been mugged in the emotional sense.

I had my heart stolen too.. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I've never been mugged.

Just never happened to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭starlight07

Yup, by some dude on the Richmond road. Stinger for him there was nothing but my student card in my bag, ended up it was found on gardnier street and handed in!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Yeah twice, once by a junkie who pulled a knife out of his pants, talked my way out of it by pretending I wanted to buy his hash then legged it when the knife went down, second time by a roma gypsy at an atm machine in town, didn't get anything except a solid to the face...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

Yeah, a roma gypsy group tried to mug me at an atm before, I started swinging like crazy at them, they ran away and didn't get any money