Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting slated for being healthy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

I think it makes them feel better about being unfit.
    thats the one

OP, fvck them

take comfort in the fact you'll prob live a longer, healthier life than them

saps!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Gurlzie1

unreggd wrote: »
    thats the one

OP, fvck them

saps!

After all the great advice I'm going to 'come out' at work so to speak.

No more hiding anything from anyone, I'll just go about my business and if someone wants to comment then I'll reply back so they get the idea.
    If it means that a few people take it personally then so be it, it's not my fault they have got their facts wrong and don't have a clue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Dudess wrote: »
    They're the very ones who'll be fawning over pictures of the one out of the Pussycat Dolls and wondering how in god's name they achieved such amazing figures...

All of them tbh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

The lead singer, Nicole I think, has the most smoking bod of them all.

But it's probably airbrushed...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭lindak

I actually couldnt believe it when I read this post ! I get the same thing in work and thought it was me being sensitive ! But I have come to the conclusion that the people that say these things are just pissed with themselfs because we are showing them up because they are putting crap into their bodies eveyday !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭thebiggestjim

Ya got it aswell, gets pretty annoying when they go on about it.
    "But wht are you eating again? Why, Why, Why"

Also sometime when I go out and don't drink people must have a reason why im not drinking.

Just people see something different and are uncomfortable by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭thebiggestjim

PCB wrote: »
    i know jealousy is a major factor in all those questions and maybe it is the whole begrudging irish thing but being fit in an office environment in 2008 is cause for ridicule!! i have just started my professional career and it is such a disappointment to know that i will constantly be singled out for not being a an unhealthy, cake eating slob.

i would never comment o their poor eating habits so they have no f0cking right to comment on my good ones

Hey PCB ,

Its not that bad. No need to fret about it.

An observation of mine is that this lifestyle commenting comes more from women than men. Has anyone else noticed this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

I haven't told a lot of people that I lift weights. The effort of explaining that women + heavy weights does not = bulging muscles, just isn't worth it most of the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

I have never seen such a self congratulatory bunch of posts in one thread before.

I'm sorry to be the one to say this (ah who am I kidding, I'm not a bit sorry), but people who are sneaking protein bars into pub toilets are not the healthy ones. I would say that the people who are enjoying the snacks and beer on their night out have a greater chance of being genuinely mentally and physically healthy in the long run than someone who is obsessing over picking at a tray of cocktail sausages.

Do yourselves a favour and read over the back slapping you've done here, admonishing people for being overweight, congratulating each other for going to the gym as though you deserved a fvcking Bravestar badge, "feeling sorry" for other people's children. As though a gym membership and a couple of years on a treadmill makes you special. Of course, you're a member of Total Fitness, so everyone else is jealous.

Don't kid yourselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭AlphaMale 3OO

Roper wrote: »
    I have never seen such a self congratulatory bunch of posts in one thread before.

I'm sorry to be the one to say this (ah who am I kidding, I'm not a bit sorry), but people who are sneaking protein bars into pub toilets are not the healthy ones. I would say that the people who are enjoying the snacks and beer on their night out have a greater chance of being genuinely mentally and physically healthy in the long run than someone who is obsessing over picking at a tray of cocktail sausages.

Do yourselves a favour and read over the back slapping you've done here, admonishing people for being overweight, congratulating each other for going to the gym as though you deserved a fvcking Bravestar badge, "feeling sorry" for other people's children. As though a gym membership and a couple of years on a treadmill makes you special. Of course, you're a member of Total Fitness, so everyone else is jealous.

Don't kid yourselves.

Yeah good one. 36 against 1. Get back to the office. Your missing out on priceless gossiping. And cake.

And you heard it here first. Roper says people who drink beer and eat cocktail sausages are physically healthier than those who dont. What planet do you live on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I haven't read this entire thread so forgive me if it's been raised before.
    People like to drag others to their own level

Consider two overweight girls. One starts making lots of effort and exercises and eats healthily. Her friend will be afraid of being left behind so I will gurantee she will start making hurtful comments.

Defintly more prevelant in girls than guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

Step one: Look down your nose at the offending commentator in disgust.
    Step two: Sarcastically retort that "I don't think someone who looks the way you do should be giving health advice".
    Step three: ???
    Step four: profit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭liberation

Roper your wrong

why should people get constantly harrassed?

I used get the same crap when I ate cottage cheese and lowfat yougurt every morning at 11 for my break.I would hear rubbish such as thats way too much dairy or your going to get a massive heart attack if you keep eating that while at the same time these people are munching on chocolate bars and coke or sausage rolls or a big fry every morning.Now Im all for eating food for pleasure occasionally a fry once a week is no harm and a few beers once a week is no big deal but to try and convince us that we are the unhealthy while continuing with their own dietery disasters is delusional.Bottom line its a free world if you leave me alone and dont comment on what I eat than you can stuff yourself with whatever crap you what.

forbesii wrote: »
    Yeah good one. 36 against 1. Get back to the office. Your missing out on priceless gossiping. And cake.

EDIT: And you heard it here first. Roper says people who drink beer and eat cocktail sausages are physically healthier than those who dont. What planet do you live on.

So many things wrong with this post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

didnt read the whole thread but just tell them they are wrong and you know what you are doing if they are interested they will ask for an explanation if they do then explain if they dont then its the end of the conversation anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Leon11

Don't kid yourselves.

I agree with the whole post but I'll add in that there is people who are ridiculously out of touch what constitutes regular healthy eating and will try to make those that try to eat healthy foods feel like ****. I've seen it happen with girls that actually care what others think, they start off good but peer pressure gets to them and they eventually give in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Don't kid yourselves.

An interesting post Roper, I think I understand what you saying however I would have mixed opinions about it as we are talking about huge generalisations. Neither of us know these beer drinking sausages eating subjects.

I spend my professional life listening to the pathological behaviours of people and eating a protein bar in a toilet certainly raised an eyebrow. All the people I treated who had eating disorders who would scoff their bars [not protein] in the toilet then following the binge vomit it up came to mind.

Maybe in some cases it is jealousy or trying to sabotage the person then again maybe not. It would seem to me that the op is "starting her professional career, also my reading is she is relatively new to her lifestyle choice [I could be wrong].

I'm old enough now to be comfortable with who I am and what I do, I have now probs taking care of someone would takes a pop at the committment my lifestyle choice entails.

It is different when you are just starting off and if your younger your maybe still developing certain life skills.

I would be careful about entering in the world of what is mentally healthly though, even with myself the committment to my training could be seen as pathological in certain lights. I would imagine correct me if I'm worng as you have you own successful MA club this would have taken a lot of hard work, staying focused with your own training. One man's focused determination is another mans [usually a psychoanalyst or psychologist] obession.

Scrath the surface on any of use and you will find a description in the ICD-10 that covers it:)

Even with my own training today, I awoke at 4.30 and plan to be out running by 7.00 for somewhere between 9-10hrs. That is certainly outside of normal range, am I comfortable with yes. I don't need to hide it from the people I work with, but one guy in work always makes a smart comment, its easy to deal with for me. However, some people need help and advise to over come here.

Whenever I ask a question here I merely just take what is usually helpful to me at that time and leave the rest, which I hope the OP does.

Odysseus wrote: »
    An interesting post Roper, I think I understand what you saying however I would have mixed opinions about it as we are talking about huge generalisations. Neither of us know these beer drinking sausages eating subjects.
    What you say is true Seamus but you also have to take my post in context. There was a lot of back slapping going on. Still is. As for obsessive behaviour, well, I suppose I could write the book on that. You're right, training hard towards a goal is obsessive. Truth is I'm not goal oriented really. I try to be the best I can be and sometimes I set performance targets. But mostly I just go with the flow, work hard, play hard and do what makes me happy. I even enjoy cocktail sausages and beer from time to time.
    forbesii wrote:
    Yes, I was very worried when so many people on the internet were agreeing with each other that disagreeing with them might put me as an outcast and I might have to endure social shame. Now I'm hanging my head, you sir, have put me in my box. Good show.
    And you heard it here first. Roper says people who drink beer and eat cocktail sausages are physically healthier than those who dont. What planet do you live on.
    I can only assume that one of two things has happened here:
    1) You've read my post and have disagreed, and so you are attempting to edit what I said into a format which benefits your stance
    or
    2) You aren't used to digesting information longer than a few words and your brain has edited my post for you.

Either way your wrong and you should go back and read my post again. I expect that once you do you'll retract your above comment.

I've worked in places like you've all described, with guys dissecting your lunch and so on. It was banter, a bit of a laugh and occasionally a decent argument. I've seen the same thing with guys who eat crap every day, people saying things about their diet, people who ate ham sandwiches every day and so on.

If you're letting people like that do more than just slightly irritate you then just go sit at another table. I would also wager that many people like the added attention of being a "fitness freak".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭KERPAL

To be honest, having read this thread again after Ropers comments, I can see where he is coming from.
    I have never got berated in work for eating "healthy", and to be honest i wouldnt baulk at a plate of cocktail sausages or run off to the jacks for a protein bar.
    It probably isnt a huge problem, but for some people who probably arent as confident as others(eg. say the OP) having people comment on what you eat whatever it is you are eating, mightnt be the most comfortable experience in the world, especially when it happens more than once.

Maybe some people overreacted(myself), but it seems like its not only happening to OP.
    The fact is if I called the fatboy in work a fat bastard every day for eating a pack of biscuits at lunch, he might have case against me.
    If the fat bastard called me a vain bollix every day for having a protein shake, I wouldnt have a case.
    Im not saying I would "report" him orr anything, its just another way of looking at it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Don't kid yourselves.

Lol.... amazing post.

I don't see the point of trying to hide in the closet when you're eating. You should only feel ashamed or embarrassed if you think there's something actually wrong with what you're doing, a reason to feel ashamed or embarrassed like. If you're happy with what you're doing, and confident it's the right choice for you then just take the slagging on the chin and accept it. There's VERY FEW people I've ever come across who are trying to be purposely insulting when they make the little jokes. You'll know when they are, and when they try that, that's when you get nasty back. Other wise just laugh it off.

I got this all the time in college last year, but everyone in there knew what I was into so when I just said "I can't do go drinking tonight because I have to train later/tomorrow morning", it was accepted. I got a bit of a slagging over it, but once you can give some back you were fine!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Don't kid yourselves.

Good post in fairness, I mean that seriously

Roper you should bottle and distribute some of your coolness so the rest of us plebs can aspire to your greatness :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Hang on a sec, the OP ate the protein bar on the sly not because she has some sort of eating disorder but because she was being made to feel like a freak every time she did so out in the open. It seems like she might have confidence issues if she's gonna get so self conscious but other than that, it doesn't seem like she's doing anything unhealthy.
    And the cocktail sausage thing - some people who are on a cut or whatever want to keep all bad fat out of their diet.
    forbesii wrote:
    And you heard it here first. Roper says people who drink beer and eat cocktail sausages are physically healthier than those who dont.
    He said nothing of the sort. He said those who aren't freaked out by having the odd snack or the odd beer are the ones who have a greater chance of being mentally and physically healthy - as in, they don't have issues when it comes to food. They're not gonna feel guilty if they enjoy themselves once in a while.

Roper, I still find your post quite condescending though. I have no time for people who lead very healthy lifestyles looking down on those who don't - no time for that whatsoever. I think it's extremely arrogant. However, I also have no time for people commenting on the lifestyle choices of others when it doesn't affect them. And in cases such as this, it's clearly due to insecurity. If this thread was someone bitching and moaning about all the fatties they have to work with and all the crap they eat, then I'd tell them to get over themselves, but it's not. It's about people who feel uncomfortable about their unhealthy choices and their taking it out on those who are making healthy ones.

On the other hand, I worked with a grumpy, narky cow who was obsessed with her weight, and other than a diet yogurt, all I ever saw her eating was lettuce and tomatoes. And she was always talking about extreme diets and extreme exercises (e.g. one involving being wrapped in clingfilm). One day she was going on about how she'd given up bread completely. Because she was so slim anyway, I genuinely thought it might be because she had a wheat allergy (which I have myself) so I asked her if that was the case - it wasn't a comment, it was an innocent question. She got so defensive: "No, why should I have an allergy? I just gave up bread. I can do it if I want. Why should there be a reason?" etc. She was obviously so cranky because she was hungry all the time. However I wasn't gonna be commenting on her choices, because at the end of the day, they're her business.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,704 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Don't kid yourselves.

@Roper: You are overreacting. It is obvious the point the OP and others are trying to make. I took your advice and re-read the tread but cannot find anything apart from comments where posters are shooting the breeze.

You have blown it out of proportion. The same thing with your post in the recent thread where someone was asking for fitness benchmarks where you went off on one referring to the "superstuds" on this board vs an old guy squatting. Again, it was clear that the OP in that thread was asking a question aimed not exactly at silver surfers (i.e. over 65 year olds who frequent this forum).

It is clear from your recent posts on that other site that you don't care too much for this fitness board. You described the posters on here as "either very fit or very fat" (approximate quote). If you find this place so offensive then why come here if reading and replying pisses you off as much as it seems? That cannot be healthy :pac:

I'm not taking a pop at you but don't agree with your post in this thread or the other one mentioned above.

@ the OP: I usually take my lunch at my desk, which may mean having a plastic container on the desk when I unpack my bag in the morning. Here is a recent selection of comments:

Day 1 (carrots and broccoli)
    Colleague X >> Are you on a calorie controlled diet for your wedding?
    Me >> Eh, no.
    Colleague X >> My husband can only eat meat or spuds for lunch or dinner.
    Me >> ..ok...

Day 2 (nuts)
    Colleague X >> I just came over to make sure you had not choked on a nut
    Me >> Eh, ok.

Day 3 (sandwich and 3 hard boiled eggs)
    Colleague X >> You really are mad just eating eggs!
    Me >> ....

Day 4 (nuts again)
    Colleague Y >> Wow, you've got some big nuts!
    Me >> ....

Only got a sec so I'll just respond to BossArky.

The quote on the other site was more like "This is the internet, so people could either be very fit or very fat". I was referring to the internet phenomenon of Walter Mittyism. I could be 20 stone and munching on a chicken wing right now (actually I just finished some).

I actually find this site very interesting at times, and I like to think I help out with a bit of advice from time to time too. I do get extremely irritated by people who dispense incorrect advice sometimes. Don't you?

Now if a guy or girl comes on here and says they lost 2 stone, or a pound or whatever by eating right and exercising, I'd say well done etc. etc. When people come on and say oh aren't unfit people so annoying, they need a reality check.

Oh and Vegeta, I did think about bottling the coolness but there were some complaints from men about herds of women harassing them and from women about not being able to leave the house anymore :). I'll send you a bottle though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,388 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I get lots of comments, doesnt bother me, I usually twist them around to make them look odd.

I have always been puzzled as to why pigs are a breakfast animal and chicken or beef is not. If somebody questioned me eating chicken I would question them about this non-pig meat logic. And ask at what time of day to they allow themselves to eat chicken so? if they say 12, I would then ask so you would stand at the fridge at 11.50 starving and cursing yourself that you only had chicken in there?

Another guy who was fairly fit was always asking me "wheres the carbs", and "you should get some carbs in", every single meal. I would ask why? "for energy" I would just say I have plenty of energy thanks, do you think I look tired or something.

The classic "you are not going to eat all that", gets the response "I saw you eating lunch with over twice the calories of that the other week"

"nuts are full of fat you know"- reponse, "aha! that must be why I am so fat, mustn't it?" (I am not fat)

"You're wasting away"- "really, I am actually twice as strong as I used to be" and then point out a rake of thinner lads in work who nobody ever comments about. "jesus, joey must be on his last legs if I am wasting away".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

Only got a sec so I'll just respond to BossArky.

The quote on the other site was more like "This is the internet, so people could either be very fit or very fat". I was referring to the internet phenomenon of Walter Mittyism. I could be 20 stone and munching on a chicken wing right now (actually I just finished some).

I actually find this site very interesting at times, and I like to think I help out with a bit of advice from time to time too. I do get extremely irritated by people who dispense incorrect advice sometimes. Don't you?

Now if a guy or girl comes on here and says they lost 2 stone, or a pound or whatever by eating right and exercising, I'd say well done etc. etc. When people come on and say oh aren't unfit people so annoying, they need a reality check.

Oh and Vegeta, I did think about bottling the coolness but there were some complaints from men about herds of women harassing them and from women about not being able to leave the house anymore :). I'll send you a bottle though.

I've no idea where your outburst came from based on this thread - where exactly was the back slapping? And who called unfit people annoying?! As mentioned, we're shooting the breeze and trying to boost the OP's confidence dealing with these situations - which frankly to me appear to be verging on workplace bullying. It's clear to everyone except you from reading the OP's initial post that she is probably young (maybe check her username too), maybe in her first job and getting grief from the type of pass remarkable try to bring everyone down if they see anything remotely 'different' from the norm types.

As for the 'more mentally healthy/protein bar' bit - that's just off the wall and you've done what you accused someone else of doing - taking one piece of the post you wanted and going on a mini-rant of your own!

You even on the same thread as us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Dudess wrote: »
    Hang on a sec, the OP ate the protein bar on the sly not because she has some sort of eating disorder but because she was being made to feel like a freak every time she did so out in the open. It seems like she might have confidence issues if she's gonna get so self conscious but other than that, it doesn't seem like she's doing anything unhealthy.

Dudess, as I was the one how used the term eating disorder, I just want to note that I was not saying the op has a eating disorder. Rather I was describing the thoughts that that type of behaviour [secret eating in the jacks] reminded me of.

When people come on and say oh aren't unfit people so annoying, they need a reality check.

Your jumping the gun there a bit buddy.Noone said anything about unfit people being annoying.The issue was infact about people who comment on other peoples eating preferences compared to there own.Now some people do it out of ignorance with no ill feeling intended. Alot of the food people who are trying to get in shape or who are in shape seems bland or disgusting to them and they cant see the link between the food and the result so they rationalise in their own mind why bother.Others do it because of jealous or nasty reasons.Its makes them feel down right uncomfortable that here maybe something someone is doing that may be good for me and im NOT doing it.The alternative dismissing there diet and lifestyle hence making it something there are not missing is the much more comfortable thing to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Mikel

celestial wrote: »
    I've no idea where your outburst came from based on this thread - where exactly was the back slapping?
    Sad fact is - very few people these days look after themselves. Just be glad you are one of the few who are happy looking in the mirror.
    ...while trying to contain the giggles thinking how the smile is gonna be wiped off their faces when they are handing over money to consultants to diagnosis various health issues that all come from bad diet!!
    But seemingly it's fair to hassle those who are simply leading an excellent lifestyle
    It won't be long before there is a backlash on the fat/obesity side...
    I dont have much sympathy for these lazy ignorant slobs, but i do have alot of sympathy for their children, who will know better.

Sounds pretty self congratulatory to me.
    BossArky wrote:
    It is clear from your recent posts on that other site that you don't care too much for this fitness board. You described the posters on here as "either very fit or very fat" (approximate quote). If you find this place so offensive then why come here if reading and replying pisses you off as much as it seems?
    Yes, that's the spirit... we don't like your type around here

So to recap, judging someone and looking down your nose at them because the way they eat is different to you is ignorant and inappropriate?
    Unless of course you go to a gym in which case it's ok.

Oh and Roper, you think this is backslapping? Take a look at the crossfit board.... Holy Sweet Mother of Jebus!!!!

mikel

all those quotes were used by people in self defence of there healthy dietery habbits.The thread was started by a person who got slated by a unhealthy person first otherwise there would be no issue.Healthy people can do what they want and so can unhealthy people.