Pimpage Rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Judomad wrote: »
    how bloody petty of you...

That wooshing sound was my point flying over your head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Charlie, with all due respect this is, at times, one of the most bitter forums on boards.

Are you really surprised by the responses they got here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Charlie3dan

I'm suprised it's lead to a debate that spilled into two threads and has gone on this long, but then, I'm often suprised about how upset people get about who posts what where on forums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Judomad

Jon wrote: »
    That wooshing sound was my point flying over your head

no i understood exactly what your point was, i just thought it was quite petty, but then again i am in an arguementive and aggressive mood today :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

Colm's moderation should never be in question, he's one of the best mods around on this site and is perfect for this role.

The great thing about this forum is that there is about 10 people that have an opinion on everything from something that is within their considered area of expertise to something they'll even admit they know next to nothing about. Obviously, this can also lead to problems/arguments. But I think it's a good thing, an entertaining thing.

I don't think people should try and debate specific topics like

"Orlie only has 50 posts but Scotty has 30 therefore on that technicality your point is moot." Although I'll even try and counter this way of thinking and say Scotty's post was pre-emptive because regularly people ask "what pubs/is redz showing ufc this weekend", it wasn't too long ago when everyone didn't have bravo/broadband.

The bickering is never going to go away and this isn't a democracy anyway.

Colm's moderation should never be in question, he's one of the best mods around on this site and is perfect for this role.

Agreed. The fact that anyone would question Colm's ability as a Mod is a joke. Has it ever occured to people that this place has a good few Mods but only one who actively helps out in the forum?

It's because you guys can be tough to Mod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

O great divine Colom, I think that any fecker that would c0ome on here with drink taken should be barred for LIFE!!!!! ............WHOOPS that could include me now, so coold youn include tjhat it doesnt' count if your poisen was BULMERS.........if you only knew how times it took me to spell that right.:eek::o:p:pac::D:):mad::cool::confused::(:rolleyes:;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

Dave Joyce wrote: »
    O great divine Colom, I think that any fecker that would c0ome on here with drink taken should be barred for LIFE!!!!! ............WHOOPS that could include me now, so coold youn include tjhat it doesnt' count if your poisen was BULMERS.........if you only knew how times it took me to spell that right.:eek::o:p:pac::D:):mad::cool::confused::(:rolleyes:;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 scottydog

mmmm...:Dforgive me if i feel compelled to reply..or add my tuppence worth...or should that be 2 euro?:p The idea that i am giving a free plug for business benifit is mind-boggling! I have shown the ufc in Redz for several years and before that i would show it in the Turks Head when that was probably the busiest bar in the city.. why? because i was lucky to be in a position to do so:cool: and when Redz is redevolped i will show it there too!:)

All drink is sold for 2 euro..i have to pay bar staff to work...there is no cover charge...i come in myself when i could lie on my couch and watch it at home..one particurlarly unattractive ufc was watched by me, bravo, a dog, a cat, and a latvian barmaid....if i was doing this for business id be bust!:mad::eek:

I am sorry for not having so many posts but im kinda old and until last year i was still using an abacus:o

Here endeth the rant and c ya trow:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Dragan wrote: »
    Agreed. The fact that anyone would question Colm's ability as a Mod is a joke. .

I think Colm put the question into people's heads with his earlier comment, which 'tongue in cheek' or not wasn't helped when he edited his post and appear to back peddle when he was called out on it.

Dragan wrote: »
    It's because you guys can be tough to Mod.

Personally I think Colm has one of the easier forum's to Moderate, and mostly he does a fine job of it. Things do become hot sometimes, but unlike the other forum's most of us here know each other through our shared love/apprication of martial arts & discussions usually 'peter out' and find their own level without too much interference from a Moderator.

Having another Mod here might not be a bad idea.

Personally I think this forum has become somewhat stagnant, there doesn't appear to be any new idea's floating about as to how the board can grow and attract new membership. People tell me they've requested various additions to the forum and their requests went unanswered, how true or not that is I don't know. But now is the time for those same people to step up and put their stamp on things.

So an additional Mod might add some fresh impetus to the forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

I agree, another mod would be a good idea, 2 out of 3 mods now are inactive, or dont post on this thread anyway.

i personally wrote on a thread to the mods about getting it made a sticky and got no reply either way, i would not of even complained if they said it was a craap idea-but in this case the modding on this forum was non existant.

ps. imo get in a mod that people feel will help and will be helpful..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Mikel

scottydog wrote: »
    mmmm...:Dforgive me if i feel compelled to reply..or add my tuppence worth...or should that be 2 euro?:p The idea that i am giving a free plug for business benifit is mind-boggling!
    To be fair, I don't think the point was that you were making money out of it.
    Some of us pointed out that there is a large amount of advertising of various things in this forum, which no one has any problem with. But then one particular post drew the ire of some because it was a 'blatant advertisement'.
    When it was pointed out that a lot of people do this the replies were along the lines of 'it's ok if you're a regular poster'.
    I asked for a definition of 'regular poster' as there are some who post mostly when they're promoting something, and Jon ( I think) compared your number of posts to someone else, which is fair enough imo because it shows how inconsistent some people are being about this.

i also agree with this, i think another mod should be added, the likes of paul or somebody with a level head and somebody who wont post then edit there post when they realised they fudged up should be appointed....i think there should be a poll or something to see who the 2nd mod is, put maybe 2 or 3 lads in a poll....maybe paul(boxing background), Jon(TKD) and Mairt(just a headwrecking B@stard haha)

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 108 ✭✭conor rowan

due to the beautiful spiralling nature of arguments i think we're all losing sight of colms post.

my impression was that colm was trying to put a bit of structure on the forum to make it more user friendly and avoid unnneccessary arguments (as opposed to informative debates to which we should all aspire to)

however, structure on a forum? im gonna go with the analogy "trying to herd cats"

signature test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

i also agree with this, i think another mod should be added, the likes of paul or somebody with a level head,
    Level head! Yeah right.
    Thanks for the plug but its not for me, i prefer to be giving out without answering to people.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,859 ✭✭✭Mark Hamill

Mikel wrote: »
    I asked for a definition of 'regular poster' as there are some who post mostly when they're promoting something, and Jon ( I think) compared your number of posts to someone else, which is fair enough imo because it shows how inconsistent some people are being about this.

I already answered this in my post here. You cant just compare the number of posts of each poster, you have to compare the number of posts they've made in this (the SD&MA) forum. All of Scottys post have been made here, about 6 of Orlies have been. Also seeing as shes posted in Arts & Crafts since starting this thread (only a few days ago) and she hasn't tried to defend herself here, she obviously doesn't even look in here unless she's advertising something.
    Saying you can't advertise unless you are a regular poster might be a bit ambiguous in terms of how many posts that actually means, but a little bit of common sense should be applied when deciding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Oh will you all just stop please?

If you were all posting in other boards you'd all have been banned by now. Colm does a good job because he does very little, other people ban and delete willy nilly.

Just leave it as is and stop moaning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

maybe paul(boxing background), Jon(TKD) and Mairt(just a headwrecking B@stard haha)

Ya must be bleed'n joking, then I'd have to ban Jon & Roper from using big words and complicated replies to simple questions.

This is a pretty good forum as it is, but it could be better, however suggestions seem to go unnoticed, or we fight over the one's made public - then we all drift off to another new thread and no one remembers what the hell caused all the fuss in the first place.

to be honest guys, if half these threads started in fitness a lot of you would be banned. colm lets you guys have it pretty easy. can't believe you have an issue with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

I thought I made this very clear that this was not going to be a thread on me modding or a chance for those who have personal gripes with me, and have expressed them in the past, to get a boot in.

And for all those people who believed I edited my post after I was "caught out" I'd like to know where exactly it shows when the post was edited.

This thread is now closed.