Things you learned the Hard Way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

emo!! wrote: »
    Guess what? I didnt :p

Looks like you got Burnt. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

DanGerMus wrote: »

Or do you mean burned?? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

Dinter wrote: »
    Or do you mean burned?? ;)

I think you're learning irony the hard way.

Any way back on topic, my little cousin learned that while on a swing using a stick is a poor method of making yourself go higher. He pushed, he went up, it got stuck in the ground, he came down.....!!!. Got him right in the scragglers. Trip too hospital and a few stitches later he knew how not to do it. He did take great joy in showing us his cool new scar though which , though really funny, was a little odd and embarassing for his parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭dblennon

Never drink water out of the freezer when hung over.

never put soluble pain killers in water from freezer.

Never trust a mate who just drank water from the freezer.

WHY!!

Water should freeze Vodka Dosen't.

I took it out of the freezer put it in a glass and added pain killers then proceeded to drink like a thirsty camel.

This was repeated ten minutes later with the glass containing the painkillers.

Decided that someone had to join in my pain so handed the bottle to my also thirsty mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

nope as Dinter pointed out, some places spell it "learnt" like where i live! no excuses on the thumb part though!:p

anywho like you said, back to the topic on hand!

I think you're learning irony the hard way.

I don't think you've learned of my post on learnt earlier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Dinter wrote: »
    I don't think you've learned of my post on learnt earlier.
    I don't think he has learned from your post on learnt earlier.

Yahtzee!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭pirelli

Razor blades are very sharp and never interfere with an electrical component with a conductive element and when in playing in parents room in daddys drawer don't put a round rubber thing in your mouth,
    but later in life to your shock and then relief you will realise headaches have their fortunate side too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

Mirror wrote: »

Yahtzee!
    never mind the Mirror he'l never learn anyway:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭jd83

at the tender age of 24 i learnt to be careful when lurking in the bgrh forum not to stumble upon a nude pic of one of its members with a spray on bikini done in ms paintbrush

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

Trust no-one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Trust no-one.
    Buzz killer! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Hellrazer wrote: »
    Dont rewire new sockets pissed and with the trip switch still on.

Dont cycle downhill on a steep slope with no brakes drunk.

Never hand feed baby Tarantulas--still have the bite marks.

Dont pick up Tarantulas without knowing if theyre calm or not--likewise still have the bite marks,only this one had half inch long fangs.
    I thought they were calm pretty much all the time? They don't bite all that often though, do they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

Rb wrote: »
    I thought they were calm pretty much all the time? They don't bite all that often though, do they?
    only if ye pick them up quickly,i have 2 tarantulas
    ye need tweezers or a palete stick and push them slowly out of the tank and let them be!
    there not to bad i tell ya!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 11,249 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Rb wrote: »

Most bites are caused by "SFE`s"

Stupid Feeding Errors--Ie putting yer hand in the cage when theyre hungry.In the case of the baby it wasnt eating so I decided to feed it using a long tweezers.It jumped,landed on my hand and sunk a fang in.
    The other bite happened when I put my hand after handling crickets.

Mirror wrote: »

Yahtzee!

Or of its existence!

Booyah!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

don't fight drunk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Alan Ford wrote: »
    only if ye pick them up quickly,i have 2 tarantulas
    ye need tweezers or a palete stick and push them slowly out of the tank and let them be!
    there not to bad i tell ya!
    Most bites are caused by "SFE`s"

Stupid Feeding Errors--Ie putting yer hand in the cage when theyre hungry.In the case of the baby it wasnt eating so I decided to feed it using a long tweezers.It jumped,landed on my hand and sunk a fang in.
    The other bite happened when I put my hand after handling crickets.

Ahh I see, cheers for that lads! I've half thought of getting one sometime in the future, hense the questions!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

transhulas :eek:

• Subscribers Posts: 32,937 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Haven't read the thread so apologies if this is there already, but the most recent thing I have (re)learned the hard way is:

Cut away from your fingers........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,388 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

Dont rewire new sockets pissed and with the trip switch still on.

Dont cycle downhill on a steep slope with no brakes drunk.

Never hand feed baby Tarantulas--still have the bite marks.

Dont pick up Tarantulas without knowing if theyre calm or not--likewise still have the bite marks,only this one had half inch long fangs.

I actually laughed out loud with that one.

Allwas raise your aces

dont fall asleep on a subway in New York , I awoke in Jersey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

funk-you wrote: »
    Never let your mates see your twiddly bits, it only leads to jealousy :pac:

-Funk
    Well, I guess this is an appropriate thread for that revelation, all right ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,159 ✭✭✭dazberry

When you're a kid, and an older kid calls you a name that you don't know - don't try it out at home - Ma your a cnut :eek:

When you go to a teen disco, and your "Da" is forced to pick your up afterwards - when normally he does fcuk all - be aware that in the presence of other parents he will attempt to make himself seem like a good parent by hopping up and down and waving and shouting your name - LOUD. This was over 20 years ago - I'm still not over it...

I've never learned to drive because my 'ol lad "gave" me my first lesson.

If you happen to be single, and your friends ask you out to dinner, and you ask who is going and you hear something like, Paul and Donna, Simon and Lisa, Michelle and Richard, oh, and Barbara - ah you know Barbara - to quote Admiral Ackbar from ROTJ - "Its a trap!"

D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

don't walk in your bedroom barefoot with up turned sockets about.

when camping in the country side, never piss on a fence especially the electric kind.

Cremo wrote: »

when camping in the country side, never piss on a fence especially the electric kind.

Your obviously a tall or heavy well built person. The average person wouldnt mind stepping on a socket as much as someone weighing 14 1/2 stone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

pirelli wrote: »
    Your obviously a tall or heavy well built person. The average person wouldnt mind stepping on a socket as much as someone weighing 14 1/2 stone.
    oops i meant a 3-pin plug not a socket. d'oh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

LEGO!! OOOOWWW!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

First thing that comes to mind is that it's a seriously good idea to take a year out between school and college, to work/travel/relax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭gaeilgegrinds

Never trust men that hunt in packs. A man should be able to approach you on their own.

Less is more regarding make-up but not clothes.

A beautiful body can be even more beautiful when left a mystery.

Money is not important, unless you don't have it.

True friends don't need to be told when something is wrong.

Mothers are always right.

Dads can smell ass-holes a mile off.

Never, ever jeopardise a friendship for a relationship.

Pouting, despite what Mrs.Beckham may think, is NOT attractive. Smiles melt hearts.

oops i meant a 3-pin plug not a socket. d'oh

Plug / Socket

If you were God it would explain all the confusion.